Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5, 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the deflection device" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the focusing optics" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the region" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "said device" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the final cutting surface" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the final position" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05I. In the present instance, claim 9 recites the broad recitation “arranged on the cutting device”, and the claim also recites “in particular on a rotary bearing” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
In the present instance, claim 9 recites the broad recitation “arranged on the cutting device”, and the claim also recites “in particular in the region of a outlet nozzle” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
In the present instance, claim 10 recites the broad recitation “arranged on the cutting device”, and the claim also recites “in particular on a rotary bearing” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
In the present instance, claim 11 recites the broad recitation “said device has a second suction device”, and the claim also recites “in particular as a component of the flushing device” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-10, 12-14, 16, 18-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piccioli et al (US 4,539,463).
Regarding claim 1, Piccioli discloses, a cutting device (shown in Fig. 1) for processing a container (10) (depending on the laser power, the cutting device is also suitable for fiber-based containers, in particular for carrying out a method according to any one of claims 1 to 11, wherein the cutting device comprises a holding device (22) for holding the fiber-based container (10) and a cutting laser (a laser beam generated by the beam generator 62) for producing a laser beam, wherein the laser beam from the cutting laser (62) and the container (10) are movable relative to each other in order to sever an excess portion (12) from the container (10) by means of the laser beam (page 3, lines 6 to 14; page 4, line 32 to page 5, line 6).
The “for manufacturing and for holding the fiber-based container” is an intended use. The fiber-based container is not positively recited and would not add any structural limitations to the cutting device.
It would have been obvious to adapt Piccioli to provide the use of the device on a fiber based container as the container does not produce any technical effect or structural difference of the device and selecting the appropriate parameters for the type of material or desired use of the laser is within the skill of a person in the art, and only involves routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 3, the beam is deflected by a deflecting device (deflecting prism) which also contains a focusing lens. (See Column 2, Lines 53-64) Regarding claim 4, Fig 1 shows the focusing lens being at a 90 degree angle to the axis of the container. Regarding claim 5, the head member 86, which contains the focusing member, is movable away from the container 10. (See Column 2, Lines 64-69). Regarding claim 6, the laser would be guided through a nozzle. Regarding claims 7-8, the safety device is a metal plate. The prism 72 and deflecting prism (as discussed in claim 3) are considered a plurality of deflecting devices and the path contains at least one metal plate at 70, or protective housing with the deflection devices being located inside tubes as shown in Fig 3.. Regarding claim 9, a first suction device 96 is arranged on the cutting device. Regarding claim 10 a flushing device 90 is arranged on the cutting device. Regarding claim 12, two grippers 56 and 22 are provided. Regarding claim 13, the deflection device is on the housing portion and is adjustable along the X-axis via the screw adjustment as shown in Figure 1. (See Column 2, Lines 53-69)
Regarding claim 14, Piccioli discloses, a method for finishing a fiber-based container (10) using a cutting device specifically, a cutting device (100) according to any one of claims 12 to 15—comprising the following steps: - providing a container (10) in a holding device (50), - providing a laser beam (21) from a cutting laser (20), - severing an excess portion (11) of the container (10) by means of the laser beam (21), wherein the fiber-based container (10) and the laser beam (21) are moved relative to each other to sever the excess portion (11).
Processing a fiber-based container, as opposed to a container made of conventional plastic, may merely require a slight adjustment of the processing parameters. Selecting appropriate parameters can be regarded as a routine task that a person skilled in the art would be capable of performing
The “for manufacturing and for holding the fiber-based container” is an intended use.
It would have been obvious to adapt Piccioli to provide the use of the device on a fiber based container as the container would not affect the method in a manipulative sense and selecting the appropriate parameters for the type of material or desired use of the laser is within the skill of a person in the art, and only involves routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 16, the beam is deflected by a deflecting device (deflecting prism) which also contains a focusing lens. (See Column 2, Lines 53-64) Regarding claim 19, the head member 86, which contains the focusing member, is movable away from the container 10. (See Column 2, Lines 64-69). Regarding claim 22-24, a first suction device 96 is arranged on the cutting device for extracting air, a flushing device 90 is arranged on the cutting device for blowing gas into the container during cutting. (See Column 3, Lines 24-39)
Regarding claims 19-21, it would have been obvious to provide the specific parameter and distance since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and these limitations would involve maintaining a continuous and uniform cut around the entire surface of the container.
Claim(s) 2, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piccioli et al (US 4,539,463) in view of Knetsch et al (DE 102014109550).
The teachings of Piccioli have been discussed above. Regarding claims 2 and , Piccioli disclose a rotary bearing for rotating the container around it’s longitudinal axis with the beam remaining stationary. Piccioli fails to disclose “wherein the cutting device (100) has a rotary bearing (31), a deflection device (30) for guiding the laser beam (21) being arranged on the rotary bearing (31) so that the deflection device (30) is rotatable about a longitudinal axis (X) of the fiber-based container (10).”
However, Knetsch discloses a laser cutting device having a rotary bearing (See Fig 2) and a deflection device 12, with the bearing rotating the deflection device around the axis of the element being machined. (See Fig 3, Abstract).
It would have been obvious to adapt Piccioli in view of Knetsch to provide a rotary bearing for rotating the container around its longitudinal axis with the beam remaining stationary. Piccioli fails to disclose “wherein the cutting device has a rotary bearing, a deflection device for guiding the laser beam being arranged on the rotary bearing so that the deflection device is rotatable about a longitudinal axis (X) of the fiber-based container as Knetsch disclose the container being stationary and the laser rotating is an obvious variant of the container rotating and the laser being stationary.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BRIAN W JENNISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761