DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Applicant’s amendment filed 6/20/2024 is acknowledged. Claims 1-14 have been amended. Claim 15 has been added. Claims 1-15 are under examination.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/FR2022/052335 filed 12/13/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/22/2025 and 6/20/2024 are acknowledged. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings (Figures 1-3) are objected to because the drawings are difficult to read and interpret, perhaps due to copy machine artifacts in that the shading makes interpretation difficult.
Specification
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
Content of Specification
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION: See 37 CFR 1.72(a) and MPEP § 606. The title of the invention should be placed at the top of the first page of the specification unless the title is provided in an application data sheet. The title of the invention should be brief but technically accurate and descriptive, preferably from two to seven words. It may not contain more than 500 characters.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCES TO RELATED APPLICATIONS: See 37 CFR 1.78 and MPEP § 211 et seq.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT: See MPEP § 310.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT. See 37 CFR 1.71(g).
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM: The specification is required to include an incorporation-by-reference of electronic documents that are to become part of the permanent United States Patent and Trademark Office records in the file of a patent application. See 37 CFR 1.77(b)(5) and MPEP § 608.05. See also the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System posted on the USPTO website (https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2019LegalFrameworkPES.pdf) and MPEP § 502.05
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR. See 35 U.S.C. 102(b) and 37 CFR 1.77.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(c). The specification should set forth the Background of the Invention in two parts:
(1) Field of the Invention: A statement of the field of art to which the invention pertains. This statement may include a paraphrasing of the applicable U.S. patent classification definitions of the subject matter of the claimed invention. This item may also be titled “Technical Field.”
(2) Description of the Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98: A description of the related art known to the applicant and including, if applicable, references to specific related art and problems involved in the prior art which are solved by the applicant’s invention. This item may also be titled “Background Art.”
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(d). A brief summary or general statement of the invention as set forth in 37 CFR 1.73. The summary is separate and distinct from the abstract and is directed toward the invention rather than the disclosure as a whole. The summary may point out the advantages of the invention or how it solves problems previously existent in the prior art (and preferably indicated in the Background of the Invention). In chemical cases it should point out in general terms the utility of the invention. If possible, the nature and gist of the invention or the inventive concept should be set forth. Objects of the invention should be treated briefly and only to the extent that they contribute to an understanding of the invention.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S): See MPEP § 608.01(f). A reference to and brief description of the drawing(s) as set forth in 37 CFR 1.74.
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(g). A description of the preferred embodiment(s) of the invention as required in 37 CFR 1.71. The description should be as short and specific as is necessary to describe the invention adequately and accurately. Where elements or groups of elements, compounds, and processes, which are conventional and generally widely known in the field of the invention described, and their exact nature or type is not necessary for an understanding and use of the invention by a person skilled in the art, they should not be described in detail. However, where particularly complicated subject matter is involved or where the elements, compounds, or processes may not be commonly or widely known in the field, the specification should refer to another patent or readily available publication which adequately describes the subject matter.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS: See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP § 608.01(m). The claim or claims must commence on a separate sheet or electronic page (37 CFR 1.52(b)(3)). Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. There may be plural indentations to further segregate sub-combinations or related steps. See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP 608.01(i) - (p).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE: See 37 CFR 1.72 (b) and MPEP § 608.01(b). The abstract is a brief narrative of the disclosure as a whole, as concise as the disclosure permits, in a single paragraph preferably not exceeding 150 words, commencing on a separate sheet following the claims. In an international application which has entered the national stage (37 CFR 1.491(b)), the applicant need not submit an abstract commencing on a separate sheet if an abstract was published with the international application under PCT Article 21. The abstract that appears on the cover page of the pamphlet published by the International Bureau (IB) of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the abstract that will be used by the USPTO. See MPEP § 1893.03(e).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING: See 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825 and MPEP §§ 2421 - 2431. The requirement for a sequence listing applies to all sequences disclosed in a given application, whether the sequences are claimed or not. See MPEP § 2422.01.
Claim Objections
6. Claims 1-5, 9, and 14 objected to because of the following informalities:
(a) Claim 1-4, 6, 9 and 14 are objected for the recitation of “selected from among”. It is suggested amending the claim to recite ---selected from the group consisting of---.
(b) Claims 1,-5 and 9 are objected at “polymerisable”, “polymerises”, and “polymerise”. It is suggested amending the claims to recite –polymerizable--, --polymerizes-- and ---polymerize---.
(c) Claim 9 is objected at “analysed”. It is suggested amending the claim to recited ---analyzed--.
(d) Claim 14 is objected at the “dimerisation”. It is suggested amending the claim to recite –dimerization--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
(a) Claims 1-8 and 15 are indefinite in the claim 1 at “under the influence” because neither the specification nor claims provide a limiting definition of the term and thus the metes and bounds of the limitation in the context of the claims is unclear. Clarification is required.
(b) Claims 1-15 are indefinite in the claim 1 at the recitation of “locally encapsulating” because the specification does not provide a limiting definition of the term, it is unclear how the limitation “locally’ further defines the term “encapsulating” and therefore the metes and bounds of the limitation is unclear.
(e) Claims 3-4 is indefinite and lacks proper antecedent basis for “the class of PEGs, it is unclear as to what is intended to be represented by “class of PEGs”. It is unclear the abbreviation “PEGs” because abbreviations often have more than one meaning in the art. Finally, the limitation lacks proper antecedent basis because no prior recitation of any “class of PEG” is recited in the claim 1 from which the claim depends. Clarification is required.
(f) Claim 4 is indefinite at the phrase "such as" because it is unclear whether the
limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
(g) Claim 5 is indefinite at the phrase “preferably” because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP
§ 2173.05(d).
(h) Claims 9-14 are indefinite in the claim 9 at “exposing the hydrogel to an amplification reaction of acid sequence” because it is unclear what is encompassed by an “amplification reaction of acid sequence”. Likewise, it is unclear how merely exposing a hydrogel to an amplification reaction of acid sequences results in “amplifying nucleic acid sequences” because exposing hydrogel to an amplification reaction can triggers structural changes in the hydrogel that could hinder amplification results leading to incomplete amplification and reduce efficiency. Thus, a clear interpretation cannot be ascertained.
(i) Claim 10 is indefinite and lacks proper antecedent basis at the recitation of “wherein the provision step (i) is maintained….” because it is unclear what “provision of step (i) Applicant is making reference too because the step (i) of claim 9 from which the claim depends reciting “providing a composition according to claim 1. It cannot be determined if applicant is suggesting that the providing the composition is maintained for specific time period or something entirely different. In either case, the limitation is confusing.
Claim Interpretation
9. The claims are sufficiently broad and ambiguous for the reasons noted above. The specification does not provide limiting definition for terminologies recited in the instant claims. In the instant clams the limitation “selected from among” is being interpreted as “selected from the group consisting of”. For the purpose of application of prior art over the instant invention, the claims are being given the broadest reasonable interpretation by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claim(s) 1- 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al {Ma used interchangeably herein} (US 20210239683, effective filing date May 3, 2018) in view of Chen et al {Chen used interchangeably herein} (US 20190360044, effective filing date May 2018).
Regarding claims 1-6, 8 and 15, Ma teaches a premixed (materbatch) composition [0085] comprising scaffold polyethylene glycol (see abstract, [0065], and Table 1A) which polymerizes in the presence of a photo-initiator, which initiates crosslinking after exposure to UV and//or visible light, wherein the photo-initiator may be Lithium phenyl-2,4,6-trimethylbenzoylphosphinate [0073]. Ma teaches wherein the polymerizing agent is present in a content from 5% to 100% which encompass up to 25% [0023], [0026]- [0027] and the crosslinking agent (photo-initiator) is in a concentration of about 0.1% - 1% w/v ([0029], [0030] and [0031]). Ma teaches incubation with UV for no more than a 5-minute exposure [0050].
While Ma broadly mentions amplification in association with the presence of an enzyme or a fluorescent dye, Ma does not expressly teach wherein the composition comprises reagents and nucleic acid amplification enzymes or a method for amplifying nucleic acid sequences in the presence of the composition, wherein the reaction is PCR
Regarding claims 1-15, Chen teaches method of amplifying a desired target nucleic acid, wherein reagents for amplification including primer and probes and enzymes which are encapsulated in hydrogels ([[0058], [0060] – [0061], [0066], [0092], [0110], [0111], [0113], [0114], [0116], [0123], [0126], [0353], [0361] wherein the amplification is PCR [0228], and further wherein strategies for orthogonal cleavable primer linkers are incorporated into the amplification step ([0527]). Chen teaches that an advantage of the method is the ability to analyze a desire target in discrete volume or space and increase amplification sensitivity ([0301] and [0531]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have been motivated to have modified the hydrogel composition of Ma et al to encompass reagents for amplification along with a target molecule as taught by Chen for the obvious benefit of performing PCR amplification with increased sensitivity as suggested by Chen with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
14. No claims are allowed. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CYNTHIA B WILDER whose telephone number is (571)272-0791. The examiner can normally be reached Flexible.
/CYNTHIA B WILDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681