Claim Objections
Claim 14 objected to because of the following informalities: Line 14 of the claim reads, "...second access network device and HRAQ feedback information for the downlink data returned.." "HRAQ" should read "HARQ" .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8, 10, 12, 17, and 42-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by GUPTA et al. (US 20210051495 A1, hereinafter, "GUPTA").
Regarding claim 1, GUPTA teaches a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) feedback method, performed by a terminal, the method comprising:
GUPTA writes, “A method for wireless communication at a UE is described. The method may include receiving a set of transmission beams, reporting CSI for the set of transmission beams, receiving an indication of a first transmission beam of the set of transmission beams based on the reported CSI, where the first transmission beam is configured to convey initial transmissions to the UE, identifying a second transmission beam of the set of transmission beams, wherein the second transmission beam is configured to convey retransmissions to the UE, failing to receive or decode, during a first interval, a first transmission of user data over the first transmission beam, transmitting a negative acknowledgment (NACK) message based on the failure to receive or decode the first transmission, and receiving, during a subsequent interval, a second transmission of the user data over the second transmission beam” (paragraph 0006). GUPTA adds, “Hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is one technique for increasing the likelihood that data is received correctly over a communication link 125” (paragraph 0098). GUPTA indicates a method for wireless communication at a UE and receiving feedback on transmissions. GUPTA elaborates that HARQ feedback is one technique employed over a communication link.
receiving a beam indication signaling sent by a first access network device, wherein the beam indication signaling is configured to indicate a target beam to be used by the terminal;
GUPTA writes, “For example, a base station may be capable of transmitting data to a UE (e.g., UE 215-b) from different transmission points, including first TRP 240-b and second TRP 250-b that are physically separated from one another. In some cases, a transmission to UE 215-b from first TRP 240-b may be referred to as primary transmission beam 220-b and a transmission to UE 215-b from second TRP 250-b may be referred to as fallback transmission beam 230-b. During a beam sweeping procedure, UE 215-b may receive transmissions over transmission beams including primary transmission beam 220-b and fallback transmission beam 230-b” (paragraph 0116). GUPTA adds, “After primary transmission beam 220-b and fallback transmission beam 230-b are identified, the base station may transmit an indication to UE 215-b—e.g., via one of first TRP 240-b or second TRP 250-b—indicating that subsequent initial data transmissions will be transmitted over primary transmission beam 220-b. The indication may also indicate that subsequent retransmissions will be transmitted over fallback transmission beam 230-b” (paragraph 0118). GUPTA states the base station may transmit an indication to UE 215-b—e.g., via one of first TRP 240-b or second TRP 250-b—indicating that subsequent initial data transmissions will be transmitted over primary transmission beam 220-b. The indication may also indicate that subsequent retransmissions will be transmitted over fallback transmission beam 230-b.
and in response to an access network device to which the target beam belongs being a second access network device, performing HARQ feedback for downlink data through the target beam together with the second access network device.
GUPTA writes, “After receiving the NACK message or no feedback from UE 215-b at first TRP 240-b, the base station may route retransmissions of the initial data to second TRP 250-b. Accordingly, second TRP 250-b may perform retransmissions of initial data that was not verified as being successfully received at designated UEs (including UE 215-b) over fallback transmission beam 230-b” (paragraph 0121). GUPTA continues, “In some cases, UE 215-b successfully receives and decodes the retransmission over fallback transmission beam 230-b (e.g., because there is no blockage between second TRP 250-b and UE 215-b). After successfully decoding the retransmission, UE 215-b may transmit an ACK message to second TRP 250-b and may reconfigure the antennas at UE 215-b to form a receive beam in the direction of primary transmission beam 220-b” (paragraph 0122). GUPTA indicates performing HARQ feedback through the target beam with the second access network device.
Regarding claim 5, GUPTA teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein in response to the access network device to which the target beam belongs being the second access network device, performing the HARQ feedback for the downlink data through the target beam together with the second access network device, comprises:
Additionally, GUPTA teaches in response to the access network device to which the target beam belongs being the second access network device, sending, based on a first resource scheduled by the first access network device, HARQ feedback information for the downlink data to the second access network device through the target beam, wherein the first resource scheduled by the first access network device is sent to the second access network device by the first access network device.
GUPTA writes, “UEs 115 and base stations 105 may support retransmissions of data to increase the likelihood that data is received successfully. Hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is one technique for increasing the likelihood that data is received correctly over a communication link 125. HARQ may include a combination of error detection (e.g., using a cyclic redundancy check (CRC)), forward error correction (FEC), and retransmission (e.g., automatic repeat request (ARQ)). HARQ may improve throughput at the MAC layer in poor radio conditions (e.g., low signal-to-noise conditions). In some cases, a device may support same-slot HARQ feedback, where the device may provide HARQ feedback in a specific slot for data received in a previous symbol in the slot. In other cases, the device may provide HARQ feedback in a subsequent slot, or according to some other time interval” (paragraph 0098). GUPTA adds, “First TRP 240-b may perform initial data transmission to UEs (including UE 215-b) over primary transmission beam 220-b. In some cases, first TRP 240-b schedules periodic resources for UE 215-b to receive the initial data transmission without decoding a control channel. Performing initial data transmissions over periodically scheduled resources is discussed in more detail herein and in FIG. 4” (paragraph 0119). GUPTA continues, “In some cases, blockage 225-b may enter the path of primary transmission beam 220-b, degrading a transmission to UE 215-b. In some cases, blockage 225-b causes UE 215-b to fail to receive (e.g., in a scheduled interval) or decode an initial data transmission sent over primary transmission beam 220-b. After failing to receive or decode the initial data transmission, UE 215-b may transmit a NACK message to first TRP 240-b and reconfigure antennas at UE 215-b so that a receive beam from UE 215-b corresponds with the incoming direction of fallback transmission beam 230-b. In some cases, UE 215-b may refrain from reconfiguring the antennas at UE 215-b after transmitting the NACK message—e.g., UE 215-b may use a single antenna configuration, or may not use directional antenna configurations, to receive transmissions” (paragraph 0120). After receiving the NACK message or no feedback from UE 215-b at first TRP 240-b, the base station may route retransmissions of the initial data to second TRP 250-b. Accordingly, second TRP 250-b may perform retransmissions of initial data that was not verified as being successfully received at designated UEs (including UE 215-b) over fallback transmission beam 230-b. In some cases, the retransmissions may include control channel resources that include control information scheduling data resources for designated UEs in corresponding data channel resources. Performing retransmissions of data using control channel scheduled data resources is discussed in more detail herein and in FIG. 4. By performing retransmission over a different TRP, a base station may achieve spatial diversity between transmissions and retransmission, mitigating the effects of blockages that enter a primary transmission path (paragraph 0121). GUPTA indicates HARQ feedback information for the downlink data and that the first resource scheduled by the first access network device is sent to the second access network device by the first access network device.
Regarding claim 8, GUPTA teaches the method according to claim 5, further comprising:
Additionally, GUPTA teaches in response to the HARQ feedback information being a Negative-Acknowledgment (NACK), determining a retransmission resource scheduled by the second access network device;
GUPTA writes, “After receiving the NACK message or no feedback from UE 215-b at first TRP 240-b, the base station may route retransmissions of the initial data to second TRP 250-b. Accordingly, second TRP 250-b may perform retransmissions of initial data that was not verified as being successfully received at designated UEs (including UE 215-b) over fallback transmission beam 230-b. In some cases, the retransmissions may include control channel resources that include control information scheduling data resources for designated UEs in corresponding data channel resources. Performing retransmissions of data using control channel scheduled data resources is discussed in more detail herein and in FIG. 4. By performing retransmission over a different TRP, a base station may achieve spatial diversity between transmissions and retransmission, mitigating the effects of blockages that enter a primary transmission path” (paragraph 0121).
and receiving, based on the retransmission resource, retransmitted downlink data sent by the second access network device, wherein the retransmitted downlink data and information required for retransmission are sent to the second access network device by the first access network device.
GUPTA writes, “After receiving the NACK message or no feedback from UE 215-b at first TRP 240-b, the base station may route retransmissions of the initial data to second TRP 250-b. Accordingly, second TRP 250-b may perform retransmissions of initial data that was not verified as being successfully received at designated UEs (including UE 215-b) over fallback transmission beam 230-b. In some cases, the retransmissions may include control channel resources that include control information scheduling data resources for designated UEs in corresponding data channel resources. Performing retransmissions of data using control channel scheduled data resources is discussed in more detail herein and in FIG. 4. By performing retransmission over a different TRP, a base station may achieve spatial diversity between transmissions and retransmission, mitigating the effects of blockages that enter a primary transmission path” (paragraph 0121).
Regarding claim 10, GUPTA teaches the method according to claim 1,
Additionally, GUPTA teaches wherein the beam indication signaling is a Downlink Control Information (DCI) signaling, or the beam indication signaling is a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE) signaling.
GUPTA writes, “Base station 605 may also indicate (e.g., dynamically) the primary transmission beam to PLC 610 and/or UE 615 in physical layer control signaling (e.g., DCI or other PDCCH signaling)” (paragraph 0179).
Claim 12 is a method claim corresponding to the method claim 1 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 12 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
Additionally, GUPTA teaches a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) feedback method, performed by a first access network device, the method comprising:
GUPTA writes, “FIG. 2B illustrates aspects of a wireless communications subsystem that supports switching to a fallback beam in accordance with various aspects of the various disclosure. Wireless communications subsystem 200-b may include first TRP 240-b and second TRP 250-b, which may be examples of access network transmission entities as described with reference to FIG. 1; and UE 215-b, which may be an example of a UE 115 as described with reference to FIGS. 1 and 2. First TRP 240-b and second TRP 250-b may communicate with UE 215-b within first coverage area 245-b and second coverage area 255-b using techniques described herein and with reference to FIGS. 1 and 2A” (paragraph 0114). GUPTA adds, “Hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is one technique for increasing the likelihood that data is received correctly over a communication link 125” (paragraph 0098).
Claim 17 is a method claim corresponding to the method claim 1 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 17 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
Additionally, GUPTA teaches a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) feedback method, performed by a second access network device, the method comprising:
GUPTA writes, “FIG. 2B illustrates aspects of a wireless communications subsystem that supports switching to a fallback beam in accordance with various aspects of the various disclosure. Wireless communications subsystem 200-b may include first TRP 240-b and second TRP 250-b, which may be examples of access network transmission entities as described with reference to FIG. 1; and UE 215-b, which may be an example of a UE 115 as described with reference to FIGS. 1 and 2. First TRP 240-b and second TRP 250-b may communicate with UE 215-b within first coverage area 245-b and second coverage area 255-b using techniques described herein and with reference to FIGS. 1 and 2A” (paragraph 0114). GUPTA adds, “Hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is one technique for increasing the likelihood that data is received correctly over a communication link 125” (paragraph 0098).
Regarding claim 42, GUPTA teaches a terminal (paragraph 0191; figure 7, device: 705), comprising:
a processor;
GUPTA writes, “Device 705 may also include a processor” (paragraph 0191). GUPTA continues, “UE communication manager 715, or its sub-components, may be implemented in hardware, code (e.g., software or firmware) executed by a processor, or any combination thereof” (paragraph 0196; figure 7, UE communication manager: 715).
and a transceiver connected to the processor,
GUPTA writes, “Receiver 710 may receive information such as packets, user data, or control information associated with various information channels (e.g., control channels, data channels, and information related to switching to a fallback beam, etc.). Information may be passed on to other components of device 705. Receiver 710 may be an example of aspects of the transceiver 915 described with reference to FIG. 9. Receiver 710 may utilize a single antenna or a set of antennas” (paragraph 0192). GUPTA adds, “Transmitter 720 may transmit signals generated by other components of device 705. In some examples, transmitter 720 may be collocated with receiver 710 in a transceiver component. For example, transmitter 720 may be an example of aspects of the transceiver 915 described with reference to FIG. 9. Transmitter 720 may utilize a single antenna or a set of antennas” (paragraph 0198).
wherein the processor is configured to load and execute executable instructions to implement the HARQ feedback method according to claim 1.
GUPTA writes, “The functions described herein may be implemented in hardware, software executed by a processor, firmware, or any combination thereof. If implemented in software executed by a processor, the functions may be stored on or transmitted over as one or more instructions or code on a computer-readable medium. Other examples and implementations are within the scope of the disclosure and appended claims. For example, due to the nature of software, functions described herein may be implemented using software executed by a processor, hardware, firmware, hardwiring, or combinations of any of these. Features implementing functions may also be physically located at various positions, including being distributed such that portions of functions are implemented at different physical locations” (paragraph 0282).
Regarding claim 43, GUPTA teaches an access network device (paragraph 0221; figure 10, device: 1005), comprising:
a processor;
GUPTA writes, “Device 1005 may also include a processor” (paragraph 0222). GUPTA adds, “The base station communication manager 1015, or its sub-components, may be implemented in hardware, code (e.g., software or firmware) executed by a processor, or any combination thereof” (paragraph 0224; figure 10, base station communication manager: 1015).
and a transceiver connected to the processor,
GUPTA writes, “Receiver 1010 may receive information such as packets, user data, or control information associated with various information channels (e.g., control channels, data channels, and information related to switching to a fallback beam, etc.). Information may be passed on to other components of device 1005. Receiver 1010 may be an example of aspects of the transceiver 1220 described with reference to FIG. 12. Receiver 1010 may utilize a single antenna or a set of antennas” (paragraph 0222). GUPTA adds, “The transmitter 1020 may transmit signals generated by other components of the device 1005. In some examples, the transmitter 1020 may be collocated with a receiver 1010 in a transceiver component. For example, the transmitter 1020 may be an example of aspects of the transceiver 1220 described with reference to FIG. 12. The transmitter 1020 may utilize a single antenna or a set of antennas” (paragraph 0226).
wherein the processor is configured to load and execute executable instructions to implement the HARQ feedback method according to claim 12.
GUPTA writes, “The functions described herein may be implemented in hardware, software executed by a processor, firmware, or any combination thereof. If implemented in software executed by a processor, the functions may be stored on or transmitted over as one or more instructions or code on a computer-readable medium. Other examples and implementations are within the scope of the disclosure and appended claims. For example, due to the nature of software, functions described herein may be implemented using software executed by a processor, hardware, firmware, hardwiring, or combinations of any of these. Features implementing functions may also be physically located at various positions, including being distributed such that portions of functions are implemented at different physical locations” (paragraph 0282).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUPTA as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of PARK et al. (US 20220167315 A1, hereinafter, "PARK") and DA SILVA et al. (US 20230007499 A1, hereinafter, "DA SILVA").
Regarding claim 2, GUPTA teaches the method according to claim 1,
GUPTA fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the beam indication signaling comprises a Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) state, and the TCI state comprises at least one of:”, “wherein the beam indication signaling comprises a Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) state, and the TCI state comprises at least one of:”, and “Distributed Unit (DU) identification information, configured to indicate a DU to which the target beam belongs; or Centralized Unit (CU) identification information, configured to indicate a CU to which the target beam belongs.”
However, in analogous art, PARK teaches wherein the beam indication signaling comprises a Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) state, and the TCI state comprises at least one of:
PARK writes, “In an example, the base station may determine, based on the reported measurement results, one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states comprising a number of reference signals. In an example, the base station may indicate one or more TCI states to the UE (e.g., via RRC signaling, a MAC CE, and/or a DCI)” (paragraph 0175).
Distributed Unit (DU) identification information, configured to indicate a DU to which the target beam belongs; or Centralized Unit (CU) identification information, configured to indicate a CU to which the target beam belongs.
PARK writes, “A base station may comprise at least one gNB Central Unit (gNB-CU) and at least one a gNB Distributed Unit (gNB-DU) (paragraph 0056). A gNB, such as gNBs 160 in FIG. 1B, may be split in two parts: a central unit (gNB-CU), and one or more distributed units (gNB-DU). A gNB-CU may be coupled to one or more gNB-DUs using an F1 interface. The gNB-CU may comprise the RRC, the PDCP, and the SDAP. A gNB-DU may comprise the RLC, the MAC, and the PHY” (paragraph 0121). PARK adds, “In an example, the network information may comprise at least one of: ... a base station identifier (e.g., gNB identifier, eNB identifier, gNB-DU identifier, gNB-CU identifier, etc.) of a serving base station (e.g., the second base station) of the second wireless device...” (paragraph 0276).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of GUPTA to include aspects described by PARK according to the abstract, “A first wireless device receives, from a second wireless device, at least one parameter indicating assistance information for time domain resource allocation for a sidelink between the first wireless device and the second wireless device. The first wireless device transmits, to a base station, a message comprising the at least one parameter.” The prior art of PARK includes information regarding the TCI state and gNB-CU and gNB-DU (paragraphs 0056, 0121, 0175, and 0276).
GUPTA and PARK fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the beam indication signaling comprises a Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) state, and the TCI state comprises at least one of:”.
However, in analogous art, DA SILVA teaches wherein the beam indication signaling comprises a Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) state, and the TCI state comprises at least one of:
DA SILVA writes, “In terms of RRC signaling, TCI states are currently configured as part of the so-called CellGroupConfig, which is a Distributed Unit (DU) configuration (i.e. decided by the baseband unit) in a Central Unit (CU)-DU split architecture, and conveyed to the UE via for example an RRCResume (i.e. during transition from Inactive to Connected) or RRCReconfiguration (e.g. during handovers, intra-cell reconfigurations or transitions from Idle to Connected)...” (paragraph 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of GUPTA and PARK to include aspects described by DA SILVA that “relate to a User Equipment (UE), a network node and methods therein. In some aspects, they relate to handling of SpCells in a wireless communications network.” The insight into the TCI state and CU-DU split architecture is the motivation to include the prior art of DA SILVA (paragraph 0038).
Claim(s) 3-4, 6, 9, 14-15, and 46-48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUPTA as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of DUTTA et al. (US 20230254068 A1, hereinafter, "DUTTA").
Regarding claim 3, GUPTA teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein in response to the access network device to which the target beam belongs being the second access network device, performing the HARQ feedback for the downlink data through the target beam together with the second access network device, comprises:
GUPTA fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “in response to the access network device to which the target beam belongs being the second access network device, preventing sending of HARQ feedback information for the downlink data.”
However, in analogous art, DUTTA teaches in response to the access network device to which the target beam belongs being the second access network device, preventing sending of HARQ feedback information for the downlink data.
DUTTA writes, “A method for wireless communication at a UE is described. The method may include transmitting, via a first TRP, a first SCI scheduling a first sidelink transmission from the UE, the first SCI including an indication that a first HARQ process associated with the first sidelink transmission is enabled, transmitting, via a second TRP different from the first TRP, a second SCI scheduling a second sidelink transmission from the UE, the second SCI including an indication that a second HARQ process associated with the second sidelink transmission is disabled, transmitting, via the first TRP, the first sidelink transmission based on transmitting the first SCI, transmitting, via the second TRP, the second sidelink transmission based on transmitting the second SCI, and monitoring, via the first TRP, for a feedback message based on transmitting the first sidelink transmission” (paragraph 0006).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of GUPTA to include aspects described by DUTTA that “relates to, including techniques for directional sidelink transmissions with multi-transmission-reception point (TRP) user equipments (UEs).” DUTTA provides the motivation for modification stating, “In this regard, techniques for directional sidelink transmission with multi-TRPs are disclosed. In particular, techniques described herein may enable sidelink transmissions to be performed independently via separate TRPs, where each TRP may be configured to perform the respective sidelink transmissions with varying quantities of retransmissions and different sets of parameters” (paragraph 0077).
Regarding claim 4, GUPTA and DUTTA teach the method according to claim 3, further comprising:
Additionally, GUPTA teaches determining a retransmission resource scheduled by the second access network device;
GUPTA writes, “Accordingly, second TRP 250-b may perform retransmissions of initial data that was not verified as being successfully received at designated UEs (including UE 215-b) over fallback transmission beam 230-b. In some cases, the retransmissions may include control channel resources that include control information scheduling data resources for designated UEs in corresponding data channel resources” (paragraph 0121). GUPTA adds, “FIG. 4 illustrates aspects of exemplary communication resources that support switching to a fallback beam in accordance with various aspects of the various disclosure. Communication resources 400 may include downlink data resources (e.g., first UE resource 405 and second UE resource 410); a first set of uplink feedback resources (e.g., first feedback resource 415 and second feedback resource 420); control channel resources 425; data channel resources (e.g., data channel resource 430); and a second set of uplink feedback resources (e.g., third feedback resource 440). In some cases, control information in control channel resources 425 may be used to schedule data channel resources for a receiving device” (paragraph 0135).
and receiving, based on the retransmission resource, retransmitted downlink data sent by the second access network device through the target beam,
GUPTA writes, “After receiving the NACK message or no feedback from UE 215-b at first TRP 240-b, the base station may route retransmissions of the initial data to second TRP 250-b. Accordingly, second TRP 250-b may perform retransmissions of initial data that was not verified as being successfully received at designated UEs (including UE 215-b) over fallback transmission beam 230-b” (paragraph 0121). GUPTA continues, “In some cases, UE 215-b successfully receives and decodes the retransmission over fallback transmission beam 230-b (e.g., because there is no blockage between second TRP 250-b and UE 215-b). After successfully decoding the retransmission, UE 215-b may transmit an ACK message to second TRP 250-b and may reconfigure the antennas at UE 215-b to form a receive beam in the direction of primary transmission beam 220-b” (paragraph 0122). GUPTA adds, “Retransmission 470 may include control channel resources 425, the data channel resources, and the second set of uplink feedback resources. Retransmission 470 may be transmitted within second slot 480, which may also extend 0.5 ms. In some cases, retransmission 470 includes data for UEs that was initially transmitted in initial transmission 465 but failed—e.g., due to a blockage. In some cases, retransmission 470 is transmitted over a second transmission beam. In some cases, first slot 475 and second slot 480 may make up a subframe” (paragraph 0138).
wherein the second access network device sends the retransmitted downlink data in response to that the first access network device does not receive the HARQ feedback information for the downlink data, and the retransmitted downlink data and information required for retransmission are sent to the second access network device by the first access network device.
GUPTA writes, “After receiving the NACK message or no feedback from UE 215-b at first TRP 240-b, the base station may route retransmissions of the initial data to second TRP 250-b. Accordingly, second TRP 250-b may perform retransmissions of initial data that was not verified as being successfully received at designated UEs (including UE 215-b) over fallback transmission beam 230-b” (paragraph 0121). GUPTA continues, “In some cases, UE 215-b successfully receives and decodes the retransmission over fallback transmission beam 230-b (e.g., because there is no blockage between second TRP 250-b and UE 215-b). After successfully decoding the retransmission, UE 215-b may transmit an ACK message to second TRP 250-b and may reconfigure the antennas at UE 215-b to form a receive beam in the direction of primary transmission beam 220-b” (paragraph 0122).
Regarding claim 6, GUPTA teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein in response to the access network device to which the target beam belongs being the second access network device, performing the HARQ feedback for the downlink data through the target beam together with the second access network device, comprises:
GUPTA fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “in response to the access network device to which the target beam belongs being the second access network device, receiving scheduling information sent by the second access network device, wherein the scheduling information is configured to schedule a second resource;” and “and sending, based on the second resource, HARQ feedback information for the downlink data to the second access network device.”
However, in analogous art, DUTTA teaches in response to the access network device to which the target beam belongs being the second access network device, receiving scheduling information sent by the second access network device, wherein the scheduling information is configured to schedule a second resource;
DUTTA writes, “For example, the multi-TRP UE may transmit separate SCI messages from a first TRP and a second TRP, where the SCI messages schedule sidelink transmissions from the respective TRPs...Indications of the HARQ process state (e.g., enabled/disabled) may be indicated via separate values of a bit field within the SCI” (paragraph 0005). DUTTA adds, “In some aspects, the second SCI 315-b may include an indication of a second set of resources for transmitting/receiving the second sidelink transmission 320-b. The second set of resources may include a set of time resources, a set of frequency resources, a set of spatial resources, or any combination thereof” (paragraph 0091).
and sending, based on the second resource, HARQ feedback information for the downlink data to the second access network device.
DUTTA writes, “Some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein may further include operations, features, means, or instructions for monitoring, via the second TRP, for a second feedback message based on transmitting the second sidelink transmission and receiving, via the second TRP, the second feedback message based on the monitoring via the second TRP” (paragraph 0024).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of GUPTA to include aspects described by DUTTA that “relates to, including techniques for directional sidelink transmissions with multi-transmission-reception point (TRP) user equipments (UEs).” DUTTA provides the motivation for modification stating, “In this regard, techniques for directional sidelink transmission with multi-TRPs are disclosed. In particular, techniques described herein may enable sidelink transmissions to be performed independently via separate TRPs, where each TRP may be configured to perform the respective sidelink transmissions with varying quantities of retransmissions and different sets of parameters” (paragraph 0077).
Regarding claim 9, GUPTA and DUTTA teach the method according to claim 4,
Additionally, DUTTA teaches wherein an HARQ process identifier corresponding to the retransmitted downlink data is the same as an HARQ process identifier corresponding to the downlink data sent by the first access network device,
DUTTA writes, “For example, the first UE 115-d may determine a HARQ process identifier (e.g., HARQ process ID) associated with sidelink transmissions performed by the first UE 115-d. In some aspects, the HARQ process identifier may be associated with sidelink transmissions 320 performed by the first TRP 305-a and the second TRP 305-b of the first UE 115-d” (paragraph 0082).
and the retransmitted downlink data corresponds to a target value configured to indicate that the retransmitted downlink data is downlink data that needs to be retransmitted.
DUTTA writes, “In some examples, the sidelink transmission manager 730 may be configured to provide or support a means for retransmitting the first sidelink transmission, via the first TRP, based on the first quantity of retransmissions. In some examples, the sidelink transmission manager 730 may be configured to provide or support a means for retransmitting the second sidelink transmission, via the second TRP, based on the second quantity of retransmissions” (paragraph 0154).
Claim 14 is a method claim corresponding to the method claim 3 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 3. Claim 14 is rejected under the same rational as claim 3.
Regarding claim 15, GUPTA teaches the method according to claim 12,
GUPTA fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein in response to the access network device to which the target beam belongs being the second access network device, indicating to the second access network device to enable the second access network device to perform the HARQ feedback for the downlink data through the target beam together with the terminal, comprises:” and “in response to the access network device to which the target beam belongs being the second access network device, sending a scheduled first resource to the second access network device to enable the second access network device to receive, based on the scheduled first resource, HARQ feedback information sent by the terminal.”
However, in analogous art, DUTTA teaches wherein in response to the access network device to which the target beam belongs being the second access network device, indicating to the second access network device to enable the second access network device to perform the HARQ feedback for the downlink data through the target beam together with the terminal, comprises:
DUTTA writes, “A method for wireless communication at a UE is described. The method may include transmitting, via a first TRP, a first SCI scheduling a first sidelink transmission from the UE, the first SCI including an indication that a first HARQ process associated with the first sidelink transmission is enabled, transmitting, via a second TRP different from the first TRP, a second SCI scheduling a second sidelink transmission from the UE, the second SCI including an indication that a second HARQ process associated with the second sidelink transmission is disabled, transmitting, via the first TRP, the first sidelink transmission based on transmitting the first SCI, transmitting, via the second TRP, the second sidelink transmission based on transmitting the second SCI, and monitoring, via the first TRP, for a feedback message based on transmitting the first sidelink transmission” (paragraph 0006).
in response to the access network device to which the target beam belongs being the second access network device, sending a scheduled first resource to the second access network device to enable the second access network device to receive, based on the scheduled first resource, HARQ feedback information sent by the terminal.
DUTTA writes, “A method for wireless communication at a UE is described. The method may include transmitting, via a first TRP, a first SCI scheduling a first sidelink transmission from the UE, the first SCI including an indication that a first HARQ process associated with the first sidelink transmission is enabled, transmitting, via a second TRP different from the first TRP, a second SCI scheduling a second sidelink transmission from the UE, the second SCI including an indication that a second HARQ process associated with the second sidelink transmission is disabled, transmitting, via the first TRP, the first sidelink transmission based on transmitting the first SCI, transmitting, via the second TRP, the second sidelink transmission based on transmitting the second SCI, and monitoring, via the first TRP, for a feedback message based on transmitting the first sidelink transmission” (paragraph 0006).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of GUPTA to include aspects described by DUTTA that “relates to, including techniques for directional sidelink transmissions with multi-transmission-reception point (TRP) user equipments (UEs).” DUTTA provides the motivation for modification stating, “In this regard, techniques for directional sidelink transmission with multi-TRPs are disclosed. In particular, techniques described herein may enable sidelink transmissions to be performed independently via separate TRPs, where each TRP may be configured to perform the respective sidelink transmissions with varying quantities of retransmissions and different sets of parameters” (paragraph 0077).
Claim 46 is a method claim corresponding to the method claim 8 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 8. Claim 46 is rejected under the same rational as claim 8.
Claim 47-48 are method claims corresponding to the method claim 9 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 9. Claims 47-48 are rejected under the same rational as claim 9.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUPTA as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of GANESAN et al. (US 20200260231 A1, hereinafter, "GANESAN").
Regarding claim 7, GUPTA teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
GUPTA fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “in response to the access network device to which the target beam belongs being different from the access network device to which a currently used beam belongs, saving HARQ feedback information for the downlink data.”
However, in analogous art, GANESAN teaches in response to the access network device to which the target beam belongs being different from the access network device to which a currently used beam belongs, saving HARQ feedback information for the downlink data.
GANESAN writes, “In some embodiments, the memory 810 stores data related to groupcast with beamformed selective transmission/retransmission. For example, the memory 810 may store beam indices, CSI information, HARQ feedback, groupcast data, and the like. In certain embodiments, the memory 810 also stores program code and related data, such as an operating system or other controller algorithms operating on the remote unit 105” (paragraph 0108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of GUPTA to include aspects described by GANESAN that “relates generally to wireless communications and more particularly relates to groupcast with beamformed selective transmission/retransmission.” GANESAN provides the motivation by disclosing information concerning storing data in regards to the HARQ feedback (paragraph 0108).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUPTA as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of PARK.
Regarding claim 11, GUPTA teaches the method according to claim 1,
GUPTA fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the access network device to which the target beam belongs being the second access network device, comprises any of following cases where:” and “a DU corresponding to the second access network device is different from a DU corresponding to the first access network device, and the access network device to which the target beam belongs is the second access network device; or a CU corresponding to the second access network device is different from a CU corresponding to the first access network device, and the access network device to which the target beam belongs is the second access network device.”
However, in analogous art, PARK teaches wherein the access network device to which the target beam belongs being the second access network device, comprises any of following cases where:
PARK writes, “In an example, as shown in FIG. 17 and/or FIG. 20, a first wireless device (e.g., UE1, a first vehicle, a first sidelink wireless device, a first device-to-device communication wireless device, etc.) may communicate with a second wireless device (e.g., UE2, a second vehicle, a second sidelink wireless device, a second device-to-device communication wireless device, etc.). The first wireless device may have a PC5-RRC connection with the second wireless device. The first wireless device may have a direct connection (e.g., sidelink direct communication connection), a PC5 connection, a sidelink connection, and/or the like with the second wireless device. In an example, the second wireless device may communicate with a network node (e.g., a fourth wireless device, a second base station, another node, one or more network nodes, base station, wireless device, etc.)” (paragraph 0248).
a DU corresponding to the second access network device is different from a DU corresponding to the first access network device, and the access network device to which the target beam belongs is the second access network device; or a CU corresponding to the second access network device is different from a CU corresponding to the first access network device, and the access network device to which the target beam belongs is the second access network device.
PARK writes, “In an example, as shown in FIG. 21 and/or FIG. 22, the second wireless device may be served by a second base station (e.g., gNB2, gNB, eNB, RNC, IAB-node, IAB-donor, gNB-DU, gNB-CU, access node, etc.) (paragraph 0251). A gNB, such as gNBs 160 in FIG. 1B, may be split in two parts: a central unit (gNB-CU), and one or more distributed units (gNB-DU). A gNB-CU may be coupled to one or more gNB-DUs using an F1 interface. The gNB-CU may comprise the RRC, the PDCP, and the SDAP. A gNB-DU may comprise the RLC, the MAC, and the PHY” (paragraph 0121).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of GUPTA to include aspects described by PARK according to the abstract, “A first wireless device receives, from a second wireless device, at least one parameter indicating assistance information for time domain resource allocation for a sidelink between the first wireless device and the second wireless device. The first wireless device transmits, to a base station, a message comprising the at least one parameter.” The prior art of PARK includes information regarding the TCI state and gNB-CU and gNB-DU (paragraphs 0056, 0121, 0175, and 0276).
Claims 13, 16, 18-41, and 44-45 have been canceled by the applicant, respectfully.
Conclusion
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 8/1/2026
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475