DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 10 September 2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In the present case applicant argues that Yang does not teach “a phosphor layer disposed on a reflective luminous layer”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Yang teaches a phosphor layer (166 or 167) on a reflective luminous layer (164). Yang states that the photoluminescent particles in layer 166 are phosphors (Yang paragraphs 54) and that the scattering particles in the luminous layer do indeed reflect light (Yang paragraph 47).
Applicant argues that Yang does not teach “a motor, a blade, a substrate, a reflective luminous layer, a phosphor layer, and an anti-reflective layer being sequentially disposed”. The examiner disagrees. Yang teaches a motor attached to shaft 180 (paragraph 41), a heat-dissipating plate (aka a blade) attached to the back of the substrate (paragraph 41), the substrate (162), the reflective luminous layer (164), and the phosphor layer (166) sequentially disposed. The only element of the sequence missing from Yang is thus an anti-reflective layer on the front side of the phosphor layer. Ikeda teaches an anti-reflective layer (112) on the front side of the phosphor layer (110), for the purpose of minimizing surface reflection losses (Ikeda paragraph 25), thus finishing the claimed sequence and motivating one of ordinary skill to include the anti-reflective layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2020/0363709 A1) in view of Zink et al. (US 2013/0250544 A1) and Ikeda (US 2019/0250489 A1).
With respect to claim 1: Yang teaches “a phosphor wheel (160) comprising: a substrate (162); a reflective luminous layer (164) disposed on the substrate (see Fig. 1D); and a phosphor layer (166 or 167) disposed on the reflective luminous layer (see Figs. 1D, 4C, 4D); a motor to rotate the substrate (paragraph 41); a blade (‘heat dissipating plate’, paragraph 41) disposed between the motor and the substrate (paragraph 41), the blade is configured to rotate around a rotation axis (paragraph 41); wherein the phosphor layer comprises a yellow phosphor layer (paragraphs 54, 57), wherein a part of blue light incident on the phosphor layer is incident on the yellow phosphor layer for outputting the yellow light (see Fig. 1a, paragraph 57), wherein another part of the blue light transmitted through the phosphor layer is incident on a yellow phosphor (172; see paragraph 57) in the reflective luminous layer (see Fig. 1D) for outputting the yellow light; wherein the reflective luminous layer further comprises titanium dioxide (170; see paragraph 48), wherein the motor (paragraph 41; see Fig. 1a: the motor is at the other end of shaft 180), the blade (paragraph 41; see Fig. 1d; the blade is on the lower surface of the wheel 160, which is the back side of the substrate 162), the substrate (162), the reflective luminous layer (164), the phosphor layer (166), are sequentially disposed wherein the reflective luminous layer comprises: a resin (168); and a phosphor (172)”.
Yang does not specifically teach that the yellow phosphor has a higher thermal conductivity than the resin.
However, Zink teaches the use of silicone resin having a thermal conductivity of 0.17 W/m-K (paragraph 46), YAG:Ce yellow ceramic phosphor having a thermal conductivity of 13 W/m-K (paragraph 46), and explains that the more of the higher-thermal conductivity YAG is present, the better the thermal conductivity the reflective luminous layer will have (paragraphs 45-46).
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to select the high-thermal conductivity phosphor material taught by Zink for use in Yang’s phosphor wheel in order to improve the ability of the reflective luminous layer to conduct heat (Zink paragraph 8) as well as the art recognized suitability of YAG for the purpose of being a phosphor (Zink paragraph 21).
Yang does not specifically teach an anti-reflective layer disposed on the phosphor layer sequentially.
However, Ikeda teaches an anti-reflective layer (112) disposed on the phosphor layer (110) sequentially (see Fig. 1b).
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to coat a portion of the phosphor with the anti-reflective layer taught by Ikeda in order to minimize surface reflection losses (Ikeda paragraph 25).
With respect to claim 3: Yang in view of Zink and Ikeda teaches “The phosphor wheel of claim 1 (see above)”.
Yang teaches “wherein a percentage of the phosphor in the reflective luminous layer is 3 to 10% (paragraph 52)”.
With respect to claim 5: Yang in view of Zink and Ikeda teaches “The phosphor wheel of claim 1 (see above)”.
Yang teaches “wherein the phosphor layer comprises: the yellow (paragraph 54) phosphor layer (166) disposed in a first area on the reflective luminous layer (see Fig. 4a); and a green (paragraph 65) phosphor layer (167) disposed in a second area on the reflective luminous layer (see Fig. 4a)”.
With respect to claim 6: Yang in view of Zink and Ikeda teaches “The phosphor wheel of claim 5 (see above)”.
Yang suggests “wherein the yellow phosphor is disposed in the reflective luminous layer corresponding to the first area (paragraph 54), and wherein a green phosphor is disposed in the reflective luminous layer corresponding to the second area (paragraphs 54, 65)”.
With respect to claim 7: Yang in view of Zink and Ikeda teaches “The phosphor wheel of claim 5 (see above)”.
Yang teaches “wherein a size of the first area is greater than a size of the second area (see Fig. 4a)”.
With respect to claim 8: Yang in view of Zink and Ikeda teaches “The phosphor wheel of claim 5 (see above)”.
Yang teaches “further comprising a red phosphor layer disposed in a third area on the reflective luminous layer (paragraph 66)”.
With respect to claim 9: Yang in view of Zink and Ikeda teaches “The phosphor wheel of claim 8 (see above)”.
Yang teaches “wherein a red phosphor is disposed in the reflective luminous layer corresponding to the third area (paragraph 66; see Fig. 4a)”.
With respect to claim 12: Yang teaches “a phosphor wheel (160) comprising: a substrate (162); a reflective luminous layer disposed on the substrate (164); and a phosphor layer disposed on the reflective luminous layer (166 or 167) ); a motor to rotate the substrate (paragraph 41); a blade (‘heat dissipating plate’, paragraph 41) disposed between the motor and the substrate (paragraph 41), and wherein the blade is configured to rotate around a rotation axis (paragraph 41), wherein the phosphor layer comprises a yellow phosphor layer (paragraphs 54, 57), wherein a part of blue light incident on the phosphor layer is incident on the yellow phosphor layer for outputting the yellow light (see Fig. 1a, paragraph 57), wherein another part of the blue light transmitted through the phosphor layer is incident on a yellow phosphor (172; see paragraph 57) in the reflective luminous layer (see Fig. 1D) for outputting the yellow light, wherein the motor (paragraph 41; see Fig. 1a: the motor is at the other end of shaft 180), the blade (paragraph 41; see Fig. 1d; the blade is on the lower surface of the wheel 160, which is the back side of the substrate 162), the substrate (162), the reflective luminous layer (164), the phosphor layer (166), are sequentially disposed wherein the reflective luminous layer comprises: a resin (168); and a phosphor (172)”.
Yang does not specifically teach an anti-reflective layer disposed on the phosphor layer sequentially.
However, Ikeda teaches an anti-reflective layer (112) disposed on the phosphor layer (110) sequentially (see Fig. 1b).
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to coat a portion of the phosphor with the anti-reflective layer taught by Ikeda in order to minimize surface reflection losses (Ikeda paragraph 25).
With respect to claim 15: Yang teaches “an image projection device (100) comprising: a light source (110) configured to output blue light (paragraph 47); and a phosphor wheel (160) configured to output light of a plurality of colors based on the incident blue light during rotation of the phosphor wheel (paragraphs 56-57) , wherein the phosphor wheel comprises; a substrate (162); a reflective luminous layer (164) disposed on the substrate (see Fig. 1D); and a phosphor layer (166 or 167) disposed on the reflective luminous layer (see Figs. 1D, 4C, 4D); a motor (‘motor’ see paragraph 41) to rotate the substrate (paragraph 41); a blade (‘heat dissipating plate’; see paragraph 41) disposed between the motor and the substrate (paragraph 41), wherein the blade is configured to rotate around a rotation axis (paragraph 41); wherein the phosphor layer comprises a yellow phosphor layer (paragraphs 54, 57), wherein a part of blue light incident on the phosphor layer is incident on the yellow phosphor layer for outputting the yellow light (see Fig. 1a, paragraph 57), wherein another part of the blue light transmitted through the phosphor layer is incident on a yellow phosphor (172; see paragraph 57) in the reflective luminous layer (see Fig. 1D) for outputting the yellow light, wherein the motor (paragraph 41; see Fig. 1a: the motor is at the other end of shaft 180), the blade (paragraph 41; see Fig. 1d; the blade is on the lower surface of the wheel 160, which is the back side of the substrate 162), the substrate (162), the reflective luminous layer (164), the phosphor layer (166), are sequentially disposed wherein the reflective luminous layer comprises: a resin (168); and a phosphor (172), wherein the reflective luminous layer comprises: a resin (168); and a phosphor (172)”.
Yang does not specifically teach that the yellow phosphor has a higher thermal conductivity than the resin.
However, Zink teaches the use of silicone resin having a thermal conductivity of 0.17 W/m-K (paragraph 46), YAG:Ce yellow ceramic phosphor having a thermal conductivity of 13 W/m-K (paragraph 46), and explains that the more of the higher-thermal conductivity YAG is present, the better the thermal conductivity the reflective luminous layer will have (paragraphs 45-46).
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to select the high-thermal conductivity phosphor material taught by Zink for use in Yang’s phosphor wheel in order to improve the ability of the reflective luminous layer to conduct heat (Zink paragraph 8) as well as the art recognized suitability of YAG for the purpose of being a phosphor (Zink paragraph 21).
Yang does not specifically teach an anti-reflective layer disposed on the phosphor layer sequentially.
However, Ikeda teaches an anti-reflective layer (112) disposed on the phosphor layer (110) sequentially (see Fig. 1b).
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to coat a portion of the phosphor with the anti-reflective layer taught by Ikeda in order to minimize surface reflection losses (Ikeda paragraph 25).
With respect to claim 16: Yang in view of Zink and Ikeda teaches “The image projection device of claim 15 (see above)”.
Yang does not specifically teach “further comprising a color filter placed after an output end of the phosphor wheel and configured to sequentially output yellow light, green light, and red light through rotation”.
However, Ikeda teaches “further comprising a color filter (3) placed after an output end of the phosphor wheel (1) and configured to sequentially output yellow light, green light, and red light through rotation (paragraphs 55, 56)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the projector of Yang with the color filter of Ikeda in order to sequentially obtain red, green, yellow and blue light while filtering out wavelengths that aren’t wanted at specific times in the sequence (Ikeda paragraphs 56-57).
With respect to claim 17: Yang in view of Zink and Ikeda teaches “The image projection device of claim 15 (see above)”.
Yang does not specifically teach “wherein the color filter is further configured to output blue light”.
However, Ikeda teaches “wherein the color filter is further configured to output blue light (paragraph 57)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the projector of Yang with the color filter of Ikeda in order to sequentially obtain red, green, yellow and blue light while filtering out wavelengths that aren’t wanted at specific times in the sequence (Ikeda paragraphs 56-57).
With respect to claim 18: Yang in view of Zink and Ikeda teaches “The image projection device of claim 15 (see above)”.
Yang does not specifically teach “wherein the color filter comprises: a yellow area for yellow light output; a green area for green light output; a red area for red light output; and a blue area for blue light output”.
However, Ikeda teaches “wherein the color filter comprises: a yellow area for yellow light output; a green area for green light output; a red area for red light output; and a blue area for blue light output (paragraph 57)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the projector of Yang with the color filter of Ikeda in order to sequentially obtain red, green, yellow and blue light while filtering out wavelengths that aren’t wanted at specific times in the sequence (Ikeda paragraphs 56-57).
With respect to claim 19: Yang in view of Zink and Ikeda teaches “The image projection device of claim 18 (see above)”.
Yang in view of Ikeda suggests “wherein a size of the yellow area or the blue area is less than a size of the red area or the green area (Ikeda teaches that the color filter is synchronized with the phosphor wheel (Ikeda paragraph 55), which necessitates the regions on the filter to have the same size as corresponding regions on the phosphor wheel. Since the red region 166 of Yang is substantially larger than the rest (see Yang Fig. 4a), a corresponding color filter would have to have that feature as well for the two wheels to be synchronized)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the projector of Yang with the color filter of Ikeda in order to sequentially obtain red, green, yellow and blue light while filtering out wavelengths that aren’t wanted at specific times in the sequence (Ikeda paragraphs 56-57).
With respect to claim 20: Yang in view of Zink and Ikeda teaches “The phosphor wheel of claim 1 (see above)”.
Yang further teaches “wherein the reflective luminous layer further comprises titanium dioxide (paragraph 48), wherein after a shape of the ceramic phosphor is processed, the processed ceramic phosphor is bonded to upper part of the reflective luminous layer including printed titanium dioxide (see Fig. 1D) and then cured”.
Yang does not specifically teach that the yellow phosphor has a higher thermal conductivity than the resin and titanium oxide or that it is ceramic.
However, Zink teaches the use of silicone resin having a thermal conductivity of 0.17 W/m-K (paragraph 46), YAG:Ce yellow ceramic phosphor having a thermal conductivity of 13 W/m-K (paragraph 46), which is higher than the thermal conductivity of TiO2 (11-13 W/m-K, as evidenced by Zink paragraph 44; also admitted in the instant specification page 25 lines 19-22 to be lower than the thermal conductivity of YAG) and explains that the more of the higher-thermal conductivity YAG is present, the better the thermal conductivity the reflective luminous layer will have (paragraphs 45-46).
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to select the high-thermal conductivity phosphor material taught by Zink for use in Yang’s phosphor wheel in order to improve the ability of the reflective luminous layer to conduct heat (Zink paragraph 8) as well as the art recognized suitability of YAG for the purpose of being a phosphor (Zink paragraph 21).
Yang does not specifically teach “a reflective film coating is formed on a portion of the ceramic phosphor”.
However, Ikeda teaches “a reflective film coating (105) is formed on a portion of the ceramic phosphor (110)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to coat a portion of the phosphor in the reflective film taught by Ikeda in order to return a portion of the blue excitation light from the phosphor wheel (Ikeda paragraph 23).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Ikeda.
With respect to claim 12: Yang teaches “a phosphor wheel (160) comprising: a substrate (162); a reflective luminous layer disposed on the substrate (164); and a phosphor layer disposed on the reflective luminous layer (166 or 167) ); a motor to rotate the substrate (paragraph 41); a blade (‘heat dissipating plate’, paragraph 41) disposed between the motor and the substrate (paragraph 41), and wherein the blade is configured to rotate around a rotation axis (paragraph 41), wherein the phosphor layer comprises a yellow phosphor layer (paragraphs 54, 57), wherein a part of blue light incident on the phosphor layer is incident on the yellow phosphor layer for outputting the yellow light (see Fig. 1a, paragraph 57), wherein another part of the blue light transmitted through the phosphor layer is incident on a yellow phosphor (172; see paragraph 57) in the reflective luminous layer (see Fig. 1D) for outputting the yellow light wherein the motor (paragraph 41; see Fig. 1a: the motor is at the other end of shaft 180), the blade (paragraph 41; see Fig. 1d; the blade is on the lower surface of the wheel 160, which is the back side of the substrate 162), the substrate (162), the reflective luminous layer (164), the phosphor layer (166), are sequentially disposed wherein the reflective luminous layer comprises: a resin (168); and a phosphor (172), wherein the reflective luminous layer comprises: a resin (168); and a phosphor (172)”.
Yang does not specifically teach an anti-reflective layer disposed on the phosphor layer sequentially.
However, Ikeda teaches an anti-reflective layer (112) disposed on the phosphor layer (110) sequentially (see Fig. 1b).
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to coat a portion of the phosphor with the anti-reflective layer taught by Ikeda in order to minimize surface reflection losses (Ikeda paragraph 25).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Ikeda as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Zink.
With respect to claim 13: Yang in view of Ikeda“The phosphor wheel of claim 12 (see above)”.
Yang further teaches “wherein the reflective luminous layer comprises a resin (168), a phosphor (172), and titanium dioxide (170)”.
Yang does not specifically teach that the phosphor has a higher thermal conductivity than the resin.
However, Zink teaches the use of silicone resin having a thermal conductivity of 0.17 W/m-K (paragraph 46), YAG:Ce phosphor having a thermal conductivity of 13 W/m-K (paragraph 46) and explains that the more of the higher-thermal conductivity YAG is present, the better the thermal conductivity the reflective luminous layer will have (paragraphs 45-46).
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to select the high-thermal conductivity phosphor material taught by Zink for use in Yang’s phosphor wheel in order to improve the ability of the reflective luminous layer to conduct heat (Zink paragraph 8).
Contact Information
/NATHANIEL J LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/EVAN P DZIERZYNSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875