DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 06/25/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5, 8-10, 12-19 are pending claims 1-2, 8, 12-13 and 16-19 are amended
Applicant's amendment to claims 16 and 19 overcomes the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim(s) 1 and 8 are moot based on new grounds of rejection where Calabrese (US 20150378018A1) discloses the claimed features of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 11-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Lorussa (Lorusso at. al, "COSMO-SkyMed second generation SAR image focusing of spotlight data for civilian users," Proc. SPIE 10789, Image and Signal Processing for Remote Sensing XXIV, 1078917 (9 October 2018)) in view of Porfilio (Porfilio et. al., "The acquisition modes of COSMO-Skymed di Seconda Generazione: A new combined approach based on SAR and platform agility," 2016 IEEE International Geoscience and Remote Sensing Symposium (IGARSS), Beijing, China, 2016, pp. 2082-2085) and further in view of Calabrese (US 20150378018A1).
Regarding claim 1 Lorusso discloses: A method of operating a synthetic aperture radar (SAR) to acquire image data, wherein the SAR is carried on a platform travelling with respect to the surface of Earth and is directed toward the surface of Earth (Abstract: “COSMO-SkyMed di Seconda Generazione (CSG) will ensure operational continuity to the currently operating "first generation" CSK constellation. The CSG constellation will consist of two satellites in Low Earth Orbit equipped with an X-band Synthetic Aperture Radar (SAR).”), the method comprising: electronically steering the SAR beam in azimuth with respect to the direction of travel in a forward direction during a first time period to acquire image data for a first area on Earth to be imaged (Section 2: “Non-Standard Operational: a mode belonging to this class will be programmed in order to meet specific performance requirements that do not have to be guaranteed; squinted Spotlight acquisitions will belong to this class if the antenna repointing is realized by electronic steering schema simultaneously operating during mechanical pitch manoeuvres (with constant pitch rate)”). Lorusso does not teach “electronically steering the SAR beam in azimuth during one or more additional time periods to acquire image data for one or more additional areas on Earth to be; and steering the SAR beam in an azimuth in a rearward direction with respect to the direction of travel, during a time period including the first and the one or more additional time periods, to reduce the speed of travel of the beam with respect to Earth“.
However, Porfilio in the analogous arts teaches: electronically steering the SAR beam in azimuth in the forward direction during one or more additional time periods to acquire image data for one or more additional areas on Earth to be imaged (Figure 3; Both the DI2S Spotlight Multi-Swath and the Spotlight on Theatre acquisition modes, will allow to satisfy service requests which would otherwise be in direct conflict with each other (for instance, the service requests relative to targets T2 and T3 in both Figure 2 and Figure 3, which could not be both acquired with standard, zero-doppler acquisitions).”);
Lorusso does not teach “and mechanically steering the SAR beam in an azimuth in a rearward direction with respect to the direction of travel, during a time period including the first and the one or more additional time periods, to reduce the speed of travel of the beam with respect to Earth”.
However, Calabrese in the analogous arts teaches: and mechanically steering the SAR beam in an azimuth in a rearward direction with respect to the direction of travel, during a time period including the first and the one or more additional time periods, to reduce the speed of travel of the beam with respect to Earth (Para 0024: “The TOPS mode (for further details, please refer to Ref4) is also numbered among the burst modes; this mode exploits the azimuth steering capability and requires a scanning direction opposite to that of the spotlight mode, i.e. comparable to a sweep rather than a re-centring. That is, in each burst, the initial azimuth steering ensures that the SAR sensor “looks” backwards and then points forwards at the end of the burst. This ensures that, unlike the conventional ScanSAR mode, each target is illuminated by the entire antenna pattern and this enables equalizing the radiometric response and the azimuth ambiguities. As happens with the prescribed ScanSAR mode, in the TOPS mode (which is also a burst mode) as well, the targets are always seen by the sensor with a smaller delta angle (or delta time) than that typical of the stripmap mode.”)
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lorusso with Porfilio to incorporate the feature of: electronically steering the SAR beam in azimuth during one or more additional time periods to acquire image data for one or more additional areas on Earth to be; and steering the SAR beam in an azimuth in a rearward direction with respect to the direction of travel, during a time period including the first and the one or more additional time periods, to reduce the speed of travel of the beam with respect to Earth. Lorusso with Porfilio are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose methods for collecting SAR data. However, Lorusso fails to disclose a feature of steering the SAR beam in a rearward direction with respect to the direction of travel. This feature is disclosed by Porfilio. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Lorusso with Porfilio to incorporate the feature of: electronically steering the SAR beam in azimuth during one or more additional time periods to acquire image data for one or more additional areas on Earth to be; and steering the SAR beam in an azimuth in a rearward direction with respect to the direction of travel, during a time period including the first and the one or more additional time periods, to reduce the speed of travel of the beam with respect to Earth as such a feature would improve the resolution of SAR images thereby increasing the efficiency of the system.
Claim 17 recites limitations that are similar to those of claim 1, therefore claim 17 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 2 the combination of Lorusso, Calabrese and Porfilio discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Porfilio further teaches: wherein the electronic steering during the first time period is over a first range of angles and the electronic steering during the one or more additional time periods is over the same range of angles (Figure 2; Section 4.1: “DIscrete Stepped Strip (DI2S) Spotlight modes: the DI2S technique, [6] and [7], exploits the SAR capability to work at doubled PRF, in order to simultaneously acquire two different images which are (partially or totally) overlapped in azimuth: the odd impulses of the radar are used to acquire one image, the even impulses to acquire the other. Depending on what the objective is, the DI2S technique can be used to provide two different simultaneous acquisitions (Multi-Swath approach, [6] and [8]), or to improve the resolution of a Stripmap image ([7] and [9]). In the current baseline of CSG programme, the first approach has been pursued (see Figure 2) to provide 2 DI2S Spotlight Multi-Swath modes;“).
The reason for modifying Lorusso with Porfilio is the same as one given in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3 the combination of Lorusso, Calabrese and Porfilio discloses all the limitations of claim 1.Porfilio further teaches: wherein the first and the one or more additional time periods overlap angles (Figure 2; Section 4.1: “DIscrete Stepped Strip (DI2S) Spotlight modes: the DI2S technique, [6] and [7], exploits the SAR capability to work at doubled PRF, in order to simultaneously acquire two different images which are (partially or totally) overlapped in azimuth: the odd impulses of the radar are used to acquire one image, the even impulses to acquire the other. Depending on what the objective is, the DI2S technique can be used to provide two different simultaneous acquisitions (Multi-Swath approach, [6] and [8]), or to improve the resolution of a Stripmap image ([7] and [9]). In the current baseline of CSG programme, the first approach has been pursued (see Figure 2) to provide 2 DI2S Spotlight Multi-Swath modes;“).
The reason for modifying Lorusso with Porfilio is the same as one given in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4 the combination of Lorusso, Calabrese and Porfilio discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Porfilio further teaches: wherein the first and the one or more additional time periods are consecutive (Figure 3, Section 4.1: “Spotlight on Theatre, based on platform agility: thanks to the agility of CSG platform (improved with respect to CSK by means of the Control Moment Gyro attitude actuator), the satellite will be able to acquire while manoeuvring around the pitch axis (see Figure 3): this allows to acquire a greater number of images on a small area (a “theatre”). As it is apparent from Figure 3, the “theatre” mode implies that the images are not zero-doppler acquisitions: they are acquired while the satellite changes its attitude from forward-looking to rearward-looking.“).
The reason for modifying Lorusso with Porfilio is the same as one given in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 12 the combination of Lorusso, Calabrese and Porfilio discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Calabrese further teaches: wherein the mechanical steering is performed by changing the orientation of the SAR with respect to the platform (Para 0024: “The TOPS mode (for further details, please refer to Ref4) is also numbered among the burst modes; this mode exploits the azimuth steering capability and requires a scanning direction opposite to that of the spotlight mode, i.e. comparable to a sweep rather than a re-centring. That is, in each burst, the initial azimuth steering ensures that the SAR sensor “looks” backwards and then points forwards at the end of the burst. This ensures that, unlike the conventional ScanSAR mode, each target is illuminated by the entire antenna pattern and this enables equalizing the radiometric response and the azimuth ambiguities. As happens with the prescribed ScanSAR mode, in the TOPS mode (which is also a burst mode) as well, the targets are always seen by the sensor with a smaller delta angle (or delta time) than that typical of the stripmap mode.”)
The reason for modifying Lorusso with Porfilio is the same as one given in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 13 the combination of Lorusso, Calabrese and Porfilio discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Calabrese further teaches: wherein the mechanical steering is performed by changing the orientation of the platform with respect to the surface of Earth (Para 0024: “The TOPS mode (for further details, please refer to Ref4) is also numbered among the burst modes; this mode exploits the azimuth steering capability and requires a scanning direction opposite to that of the spotlight mode, i.e. comparable to a sweep rather than a re-centring. That is, in each burst, the initial azimuth steering ensures that the SAR sensor “looks” backwards and then points forwards at the end of the burst. This ensures that, unlike the conventional ScanSAR mode, each target is illuminated by the entire antenna pattern and this enables equalizing the radiometric response and the azimuth ambiguities. As happens with the prescribed ScanSAR mode, in the TOPS mode (which is also a burst mode) as well, the targets are always seen by the sensor with a smaller delta angle (or delta time) than that typical of the stripmap mode.”).
The reason for modifying Lorusso with Porfilio is the same as one given in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 16 the combination of Lorusso, Calabrese and Porfilio discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Lorusso further teaches: further comprising A method of forming images of different areas on Earth (Abstract: “COSMO-SkyMed di Seconda Generazione (CSG) will ensure operational continuity to the currently operating "first generation" CSK constellation. The CSG constellation will consist of two satellites in Low Earth Orbit equipped with an X-band Synthetic Aperture Radar (SAR).”).
Porfilio teaches: the method comprising: receiving requests for images of multiple areas on Earth (Section 4.1: “Both the DI2S Spotlight Multi-Swath and the Spotlight on Theatre acquisition modes, will allow to satisfy service requests which would otherwise be in direct conflict with each other (for instance, the service requests relative to targets T2 and T3 in both Figure 2 and Figure 3, which could not be both acquired with standard, zero-doppler acquisitions). “), identifying a subset of the multiple areas on Earth that are sufficiently close for image data relating to those multiple areas on Earth to be acquired during a dwell time over a larger area on Earth including the multiple identified areas on Earth (Section 4.1: “Both the DI2S Spotlight Multi-Swath and the Spotlight on Theatre acquisition modes, will allow to satisfy service requests which would otherwise be in direct conflict with each other (for instance, the service requests relative to targets T2 and T3 in both Figure 2 and Figure 3, which could not be both acquired with standard, zero-doppler acquisitions). “)
Lorusso teaches: and determining a sequence of steering operations to be performed by a satellite to enable image data relating to the subset of the multiple areas to be acquired during the dwell time (Section 2: “ Non-Standard Operational: a mode belonging to this class will be programmed in order to meet specific performance requirements that do not have to be guaranteed; squinted Spotlight acquisitions will belong to this class if the antenna repointing is realized by electronic steering schema simultaneously operating during mechanical pitch manoeuvres (with constant pitch rate);”), wherein the steering operations comprise: electronically steering the SAR beam in azimuth with respect to the direction of travel during a first time period to acquire image data for a first area on Earth to be imaged imaged (Section 2: “Non-Standard Operational: a mode belonging to this class will be programmed in order to meet specific performance requirements that do not have to be guaranteed; squinted Spotlight acquisitions will belong to this class if the antenna repointing is realized by electronic steering schema simultaneously operating during mechanical pitch manoeuvres (with constant pitch rate)”)
Porfilio teaches: electronically steering the SAR beam in azimuth during one or more additional time periods to acquire image data for one or more additional areas on Earth to be imaged (Figure 3; Both the DI2S Spotlight Multi-Swath and the Spotlight on Theatre acquisition modes, will allow to satisfy service requests which would otherwise be in direct conflict with each other (for instance, the service requests relative to targets T2 and T3 in both Figure 2 and Figure 3, which could not be both acquired with standard, zero-doppler acquisitions).”); and steering the SAR beam in an azimuth in a rearward direction with respect to the direction of travel, during a time period including the first and the one or more additional time periods, to reduce the speed of travel of the beam with respect to Earth (Figure 3; Section 4.1: “Spotlight on Theatre, based on platform agility: thanks to the agility of CSG platform (improved with respect to CSK by means of the Control Moment Gyro attitude actuator), the satellite will be able to acquire while manoeuvring around the pitch axis (see Figure 3): this allows to acquire a greater number of images on a small area (a “theatre”). As it is apparent from Figure 3, the “theatre” mode implies that the images are not zero-doppler acquisitions: they are acquired while the satellite changes its attitude from forward-looking to rearward-looking.”), communicating the determined sequence of steering operations to SAR control equipment on the satellite (Section 4: “The Non-Standard Acquisition Modes are divided in 2 classes, the Operational and the Experimental, and will be dealt with in the following sub-sections. Some of these modes are defined in Figure 1 as “offline” modes, meaning that the relevant service requests will be prepared by the authorised users utilising a dedicated tool which is not connected to the rest of system.”).
The reason for modifying Lorusso with Porfilio is the same as one given in claim 1 above.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Lorusso (Lorusso at. al, "COSMO-SkyMed second generation SAR image focusing of spotlight data for civilian users," Proc. SPIE 10789, Image and Signal Processing for Remote Sensing XXIV, 1078917 (9 October 2018)) in view of Porfilio (Porfilio et. al., "The acquisition modes of COSMO-Skymed di Seconda Generazione: A new combined approach based on SAR and platform agility," 2016 IEEE International Geoscience and Remote Sensing Symposium (IGARSS), Beijing, China, 2016, pp. 2082-2085) and further in view of Goodwin (US4336540A).
Regarding claim 5 the combination of Lorusso, Calabrese and Porfilio discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Lorusso does not teach “wherein the steering of the beam in an azimuth to acquire image data is periodic during the time period including the first and the one or more additional time periods “.
However, Goodwin in the analogous arts teaches: wherein the steering of the beam in an azimuth to acquire image data is periodic during the time period including the first and the one or more additional time periods (Description 13: “The reflected RF signals or echo signals from targets in pattern 26b are picked up at the array 16, are then coupled to the receiver via the phase shifters 40a through 40j, the divide-by-N divider 43 and switch 44. At time t.sub.4, the transmitter 46 is again energized to transmit the same pattern 28 with the same phase shift values at 38a through 38j to array 12 until time t.sub.5. At time t.sub.5, the signal on lead 56 again goes low, disabling the transmitter 46 and enabling the receiver 48 while at the same time providing a third low level signal to beam steering controller 50, which in response thereto provides a third set of ten beam steering signals via the drivers 54 to the phase shifters 40a through 40j. This third set moves or steers the direction of the beam 26 to that illustrated in position 26c in FIG. 8. This process of transmitting the same fixed fan beam or pattern from array 12 and sending a different set of beam steering signals to provide the narrow pattern 26 adjacent to the previous pattern from antenna array 16 continues for N period of times, or N set of beam steering signals so as to scan the beam 26 across the entire azimuth beamwidth of the transmitted fan beam 28 to and including pattern 26n.”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lorusso with Goodwin to incorporate the feature of: wherein the steering of the beam in an azimuth to acquire image data is periodic during the time period including the first and the one or more additional time periods. Lorusso with Goodwin are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose methods for beam steering in radar imaging. However, Lorusso fails to disclose periodic beam steering. This feature is disclosed by Goodwin. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Lorusso with Goodwin to incorporate the feature of: : wherein the steering of the beam in an azimuth to acquire image data is periodic during the time period including the first and the one or more additional time periods as such a feature would increase the efficiency of the system.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Lorusso (Lorusso at. al, "COSMO-SkyMed second generation SAR image focusing of spotlight data for civilian users," Proc. SPIE 10789, Image and Signal Processing for Remote Sensing XXIV, 1078917 (9 October 2018)) in view of Porfilio (Porfilio et. al., "The acquisition modes of COSMO-Skymed di Seconda Generazione: A new combined approach based on SAR and platform agility," 2016 IEEE International Geoscience and Remote Sensing Symposium (IGARSS), Beijing, China, 2016, pp. 2082-2085) and further in view of Wehner (US6184825).
Regarding claim 8 the combination of Lorusso, Calabrese and Porfilio discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Lorusso does not teach “wherein the electronic steering is performed using a phased array antenna“.
However, Wehner in the analogous arts teaches: wherein the electronic steering is performed using a phased array antenna (Detailed Description of the Invention (26): “The electronic beam pointing technique of the present invention corrects for the inherent mechanical pointing errors and may be used to immediately correct the initial beam pointing location 802 to the desired pointing location 806. The electronic beam angular pointing range may be made very narrow, covering only the angular region required to make up for the initial pointing errors. For example, as shown in FIG. 2, the angular region may be as small as 0.1 degree. Such an angular region may be covered by the backscanning capabilities of a SAR phased array antenna radar system that primarily uses mechanical slew for azimuth control and electronic steering for elevation control, but which allows a small amount of electronic steering in azimuth. Such a system may be implemented using known phased array antenna theory.”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lorusso with Wehner to incorporate the feature of: wherein the electronic steering is performed using a phased array antenna. Lorusso and Wehner are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose methods for SAR data acquisition. However, Lorusso fails to disclose a feature of data acquisition using a phased antenna array. This feature is disclosed by Wehner. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Lorusso with Wehner to incorporate the feature of: wherein the electronic steering is performed using a phased array antenna as such a feature would increasing the beam steering efficiency of the system.
Regarding claim 9 the combination of Lorusso, Calabrese and Porfilio discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Lorusso does note teach “further comprising steering the SAR beam in elevation between successive data acquisitions “.
However, Wehner in the analogous arts teaches: further comprising steering the SAR beam in elevation between successive data acquisitions (Summary of Invention: “The attitude reference system may accept input from, for example, a star tracker, a sun sensor or an inertial reference unit. The electronic beam pointing system typically includes variable time delay modules for steering the antenna in azimuth and variable time delay modules for steering the antenna in elevation. In one embodiment of the present invention, the antenna is primarily steerable in a single dimension (e.g, elevation), but includes a degree of backscanning steering capacity in a second dimension (e.g., azimuth) that is able to compensate for dynamic settling pointing errors.”).
The reason for modifying Lorusso with Wehner is the same as one given in claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 10 the combination of Lorusso, Calabrese, Porfilio and Wehner discloses all the limitations of claim 9. Wehner further teaches: wherein the SAR beam is steered electronically in elevation acquisitions (Summary of Invention: “The attitude reference system may accept input from, for example, a star tracker, a sun sensor or an inertial reference unit. The electronic beam pointing system typically includes variable time delay modules for steering the antenna in azimuth and variable time delay modules for steering the antenna in elevation. In one embodiment of the present invention, the antenna is primarily steerable in a single dimension (e.g, elevation), but includes a degree of backscanning steering capacity in a second dimension (e.g., azimuth) that is able to compensate for dynamic settling pointing errors.”).
The reason for modifying Lorusso with Wehner is the same as one given in claim 8 above.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Lorusso (Lorusso at. al, "COSMO-SkyMed second generation SAR image focusing of spotlight data for civilian users," Proc. SPIE 10789, Image and Signal Processing for Remote Sensing XXIV, 1078917 (9 October 2018)) in view of Porfilio (Porfilio et. al., "The acquisition modes of COSMO-Skymed di Seconda Generazione: A new combined approach based on SAR and platform agility," 2016 IEEE International Geoscience and Remote Sensing Symposium (IGARSS), Beijing, China, 2016, pp. 2082-2085) and further in view of Li (Li et. al., "Processing Sliding Mosaic Mode Data With Modified Full-Aperture Imaging Algorithm Integrating Scalloping Correction," in IEEE Journal of Selected Topics in Applied Earth Observations and Remote Sensing, vol. 10, no. 5, pp. 1804-1812, May 2017).
Regarding claim 14 the combination of Lorusso, Calabrese and Porfilio discloses all the limitations of claim 2. Lorusso does not disclose “wherein the first range of angles is at least from +8 degrees from -8 degrees“.
However, Li in the analogous arts teaches: wherein the first range of angles is at least from +8 degrees from -8 degrees (Section VI: “As stated in the previous section, one subswath for sliding Mosaic mode is easily simulated by cutting off certain bulk of azimuth data periodically. Hence, most SAR systems do not specially design a sliding Mosaic mode for data acquisition. Thus, the analysis of the performance of modified full-aperture imaging algorithm is carried out based on the sliding-spotlight data with high azimuth scanning angle. These data are collected by an experimental airborne radar developed by the Institute of Electronics, Chinese Academy of Sciences. A number of key radar parameters are listed as follows: the carrier frequency is C-band (5.4 GHz) with a bandwidth of 200 MHz; the average speed of the plane is 133 m/s; the azimuth scanning angle is from +11.7° to –11.7°; the PRF is 2123 Hz.”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lorusso with Li to incorporate the feature of: wherein the first range of angles is at least from +8 degrees from -8 degrees. Lorusso and Li are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose methods for SAR imaging. However, Lorusso fails to disclose the numerical range of azimuth scan angles. This feature is disclosed by Li. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Lorusso with Li to incorporate the feature of: wherein the first range of angles is at least from +8 degrees from -8 degrees as such a feature would increase the efficiency of the system.
Regarding claim 15 the combination of Lorusso, Calabrese and Porfilio discloses all the limitations of claim 2. Lorusso does not disclose “wherein the steering in the rearward direction is over a range of angles at least from -10 degrees to +10 degrees “.
However, Li in the analogous arts teaches: wherein the steering in the rearward direction is over a range of angles at least from -10 degrees to +10 degrees ((Section VI: “As stated in the previous section, one subswath for sliding Mosaic mode is easily simulated by cutting off certain bulk of azimuth data periodically. Hence, most SAR systems do not specially design a sliding Mosaic mode for data acquisition. Thus, the analysis of the performance of modified full-aperture imaging algorithm is carried out based on the sliding-spotlight data with high azimuth scanning angle. These data are collected by an experimental airborne radar developed by the Institute of Electronics, Chinese Academy of Sciences. A number of key radar parameters are listed as follows: the carrier frequency is C-band (5.4 GHz) with a bandwidth of 200 MHz; the average speed of the plane is 133 m/s; the azimuth scanning angle is from +11.7° to –11.7°; the PRF is 2123 Hz.”).
The reason for modifying Lorusso with Li is the same as one given in claim 14 above.
Claim 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Lorusso (Lorusso at. al, "COSMO-SkyMed second generation SAR image focusing of spotlight data for civilian users," Proc. SPIE 10789, Image and Signal Processing for Remote Sensing XXIV, 1078917 (9 October 2018)) in view of Porfilio (Porfilio et. al., "The acquisition modes of COSMO-Skymed di Seconda Generazione: A new combined approach based on SAR and platform agility," 2016 IEEE International Geoscience and Remote Sensing Symposium (IGARSS), Beijing, China, 2016, pp. 2082-2085) and further in view of Cao (CN111766579A).
Regarding claim 19 the combination of Lorusso, Calabrese and Porfilio discloses all the limitations of claim 18. Lorusso does not disclose “further comprising a ground station, wherein the ground station is configured for implementing one or more of the following operations: receiving requests for images of multiple areas on Earth, identifying a subset of the multiple areas on Earth that are sufficiently close for image data relating to those multiple areas on Earth to be acquired during a dwell time over a larger area on Earth including the multiple areas on Earth, determining a sequence of steering operations to be performed by a satellite to enable image data relating to the subset of the multiple areas to be acquired during the dwell time, and communicating the determined sequence of steering operations to SAR control equipment on the satellite “.
However, Cao in the analogous arts teaches: further comprising a ground station (Description: “Another aspect of the present disclosure provides a ground controller), wherein the ground station is configured for implementing one or more of the following operations: receiving requests for images of multiple areas on Earth, identifying a subset of the multiple areas on Earth that are sufficiently close for image data relating to those multiple areas on Earth to be acquired during a dwell time over a larger area on Earth including the multiple areas on Earth (Description: “Another aspect of the present disclosure provides a ground controller, comprising: a first instruction sending module, used for sending the first mode instruction to the airborne SAR according to the user requirement, making the airborne SAR according to the first mode instruction, obtaining the first image of the detection target; a first image receiving module for receiving the first image”), determining a sequence of steering operations to be performed by a satellite to enable image data relating to the subset of the multiple areas to be acquired during the dwell time (Description: “Another aspect of the present disclosure provides a ground controller, comprising: a first instruction sending module, used for sending the first mode instruction to the airborne SAR according to the user requirement, making the airborne SAR according to the first mode instruction, obtaining the first image of the detection target; a first image receiving module for receiving the first image; a first image analysis module for analyzing the first image, generating a second mode instruction; a second instruction sending module for sending the second mode instruction to the airborne SAR; making the airborne SAR according to the second mode instruction; performing real time fine imaging or ISAR processing to the target area of interest in the user in the first image; obtaining the second image of the target area; and a second image receiving module for receiving the second image.”), and communicating the determined sequence of steering operations to SAR control equipment on the satellite (Description: “Another aspect of the present disclosure provides a ground controller, comprising: a first instruction sending module, used for sending the first mode instruction to the airborne SAR according to the user requirement, making the airborne SAR according to the first mode instruction”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lorusso with Cao to incorporate the feature of: further comprising a ground station, wherein the ground station is configured for implementing one or more of the following operations: receiving requests for images of multiple areas on Earth, identifying a subset of the multiple areas on Earth that are sufficiently close for image data relating to those multiple areas on Earth to be acquired during a dwell time over a larger area on Earth including the multiple areas on Earth, determining a sequence of steering operations to be performed by a satellite to enable image data relating to the subset of the multiple areas to be acquired during the dwell time, and communicating the determined sequence of steering operations to SAR control equipment on the satellite. Lorusso and Cao are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose methods of SAR data acquisition. However, Lorusso fails to disclose a feature of ground station sending target area imaging request to an airborne platform. This feature is disclosed by Cao. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Lorusso with Cao to incorporate the feature of: further comprising a ground station, wherein the ground station is configured for implementing one or more of the following operations: receiving requests for images of multiple areas on Earth, identifying a subset of the multiple areas on Earth that are sufficiently close for image data relating to those multiple areas on Earth to be acquired during a dwell time dwell over a larger area on Earth including the multiple areas on Earth, determining a sequence of steering operations to be performed by a satellite to enable image data relating to the subset of the multiple areas to be acquired during the dwell time, and communicating the determined sequence of steering operations to SAR control equipment on the satellite. Such a feature would the system’s efficiency in imaging target areas on the ground.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 18-19 are allowed.
Regarding claim 16 Lorusso teaches: further comprising A method of forming images of different areas on Earth (Abstract: “COSMO-SkyMed di Seconda Generazione (CSG) will ensure operational continuity to the currently operating "first generation" CSK constellation. The CSG constellation will consist of two satellites in Low Earth Orbit equipped with an X-band Synthetic Aperture Radar (SAR).”).
Porfilio teaches: the method comprising: receiving requests for images of multiple areas on Earth (Section 4.1: “Both the DI2S Spotlight Multi-Swath and the Spotlight on Theatre acquisition modes, will allow to satisfy service requests which would otherwise be in direct conflict with each other (for instance, the service requests relative to targets T2 and T3 in both Figure 2 and Figure 3, which could not be both acquired with standard, zero-doppler acquisitions). “), identifying a subset of the multiple areas on Earth that are sufficiently close for image data relating to those multiple areas on Earth to be acquired during a dwell time over a larger area on Earth including the multiple identified areas on Earth (Section 4.1: “Both the DI2S Spotlight Multi-Swath and the Spotlight on Theatre acquisition modes, will allow to satisfy service requests which would otherwise be in direct conflict with each other (for instance, the service requests relative to targets T2 and T3 in both Figure 2 and Figure 3, which could not be both acquired with standard, zero-doppler acquisitions). “)
Lorusso teaches: and determining a sequence of steering operations to be performed by a satellite to enable image data relating to the subset of the multiple areas to be acquired during the dwell time (Section 2: “ Non-Standard Operational: a mode belonging to this class will be programmed in order to meet specific performance requirements that do not have to be guaranteed; squinted Spotlight acquisitions will belong to this class if the antenna repointing is realized by electronic steering schema simultaneously operating during mechanical pitch manoeuvres (with constant pitch rate);”), wherein the steering operations comprise: electronically steering the SAR beam in azimuth with respect to the direction of travel in a forward direction during a first time period to acquire image data for a first area on Earth to be imaged imaged (Section 2: “Non-Standard Operational: a mode belonging to this class will be programmed in order to meet specific performance requirements that do not have to be guaranteed; squinted Spotlight acquisitions will belong to this class if the antenna repointing is realized by electronic steering schema simultaneously operating during mechanical pitch manoeuvres (with constant pitch rate)”)
Porfilio teaches: electronically steering the SAR beam in azimuth in a forward direction in a forward direction during one or more additional time periods to acquire image data for one or more additional areas on Earth to be imaged (Figure 3; Both the DI2S Spotlight Multi-Swath and the Spotlight on Theatre acquisition modes, will allow to satisfy service requests which would otherwise be in direct conflict with each other (for instance, the service requests relative to targets T2 and T3 in both Figure 2 and Figure 3, which could not be both acquired with standard, zero-doppler acquisitions).”); and mechanically steering the SAR beam in an azimuth in a rearward direction with respect to the direction of travel , during a time period including the first and the one or more additional time periods corresponding to the dwell time, to reduce the speed of travel of the beam with respect to Earth, communicating the determined sequence of steering operations to SAR control equipment on the satellite.
In reference to depend/independent claim 16, the prior arts made of record individually or in any combination, failed to teach, render obvious, or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the combination of the claimed features of claim 16. Specifically, the prior arts made of record fail to disclose the limitation: “and mechanically steering the SAR beam in an azimuth in a rearward direction with respect to the direction of travel, during a time period including the first and the one or more additional time periods corresponding to the dwell time, to reduce the speed of travel of the beam with respect to Earth, communicating the determined sequence of steering operations to SAR control equipment on the satellite.”.
Regarding claim 18 Lorusso: A multi-spot imaging system comprising a satellite for operation in orbit around Earth (Abstract: “COSMO-SkyMed di Seconda Generazione (CSG) will ensure operational continuity to the currently operating "first generation" CSK constellation. The CSG constellation will consist of two satellites in Low Earth Orbit equipped with an X-band Synthetic Aperture Radar (SAR).”). Lorusso does not teach “the satellite comprising: a propulsion system an attitude determination and control system (ADCS) configured for steering the SAR beam in a rearward direction one or more radar antennas or antenna arrays configured for steering the SAR beam in azimuth over the first range of angles synthetic aperture radar (SAR) image data acquisition apparatus a communication system configured to send and receive signals to and from one or more ground stations on Earth “.
However Porfilio in the analogous arts teaches: the satellite comprising: a propulsion system an attitude determination and control system (ADCS) configured for steering the SAR beam in a rearward direction one or more radar antennas or antenna arrays configured for steering the SAR beam in azimuth over the first range of angles synthetic aperture radar (SAR) image data acquisition apparatus a communication system configured to send and receive signals to and from one or more ground stations on Earth (Section 4.1: “Spotlight on Theatre, based on platform agility: thanks to the agility of CSG platform (improved with respect to CSK by means of the Control Moment Gyro attitude actuator), the satellite will be able to acquire while manoeuvring around the pitch axis (see Figure 3): this allows to acquire a greater number of images on a small area (a “theatre”). As it is apparent from Figure 3, the “theatre” mode implies that the images are not zero-doppler acquisitions: they are acquired while the satellite changes its attitude from forward-looking to rearward-looking.“).
Lorusso teaches: and a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer processor executable instructions which when executed by a computer processor in a computing system cause the computing system to operate the satellite to (a) steer the SAR beam in azimuth with respect to the direction of travel during a first time period to acquire image data for a first area on Earth to be imaged imaged (Section 2: “Non-Standard Operational: a mode belonging to this class will be programmed in order to meet specific performance requirements that do not have to be guaranteed; squinted Spotlight acquisitions will belong to this class if the antenna repointing is realized by electronic steering schema simultaneously operating during mechanical pitch manoeuvres (with constant pitch rate)”)
Porfilio teaches: (b) steer the SAR beam in azimuth during one or more additional time periods to acquire image data for one or more additional areas on Earth to be imaged Earth (Figure 3; Section 4.1: “Spotlight on Theatre, based on platform agility: thanks to the agility of CSG platform (improved with respect to CSK by means of the Control Moment Gyro attitude actuator), the satellite will be able to acquire while manoeuvring around the pitch axis (see Figure 3): this allows to acquire a greater number of images on a small area (a “theatre”). As it is apparent from Figure 3, the “theatre” mode implies that the images are not zero-doppler acquisitions: they are acquired while the satellite changes its attitude from forward-looking to rearward-looking.”), and (c) steer the SAR beam in azimuth in a rearward direction with respect to the direction of travel, during a time period including the first and the one or more additional time periods corresponding to a dwell time, to reduce the speed of travel of the beam with respect to Earth
In reference to depend/independent claim 18, the prior arts made of record individually or in any combination, failed to teach, render obvious, or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the combination of the claimed features of claim 18. Specifically, the prior arts made of record fail to disclose the limitation: “and (c) steer the SAR beam in azimuth in a rearward direction with respect to the direction of travel, during a time period including the first and the one or more additional time periods corresponding to a dwell time, to reduce the speed of travel of the beam with respect to Earth.”.
Claim 19 is allowed due to being depended on allowed claim 18.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BONGANI JABULANI MASHELE/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/TIMOTHY A BRAINARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648