DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action regarding application number 18/722,351, filed June 20, 2024, is in response to the applicants arguments and amendments filed August 13, 2026. Claims 1, 4, 10, 13, 22, 26, and 35-36 have been amended. Claim 12 has been cancelled. Claims 1-4, 7, 10, 13-14, 16-17, 20, 22, 24, 26-28, and 35-36 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 8/14/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
The applicants arguments and amendments to the application have overcome some of the objections and rejections previously set forth in the Final action mailed June 17, 2026. Applicants amendments to claims 1, 22, and 26 have been deemed sufficient to overcome the previous 35 USC 103 rejections therefore the rejections are withdrawn. However as this changes the scope of the claims, new art rejections have been made based on the changes in scope. Additionally the applicants arguments have been fully considered but are not fully persuasive for the reasons seen below.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 22, 26, and specifically the newly amended subject matter have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 10, 14, 16-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guibbert (US-20170016255) in view of Verner (US 20140125124) and further in view of Chiu (US 20200385048).
Regarding claim 1, Guibbert teaches a system for triggering a functionality of a vehicle comprising (Paragraph [0020], "the detection device according to the invention can provide reliable and robust detection of the intention to unlock or lock the vehicle")
a inductive sensor (Paragraph [0050], "the invention proposes that said contact detection element 100 comprise an inductive sensor")
a vehicle interface (Paragraph [0070], "The elastically deformable area of the handle 10 is made of a flexible material, for example the same material as the first part 52 (Bayblend®, for example), and its thickness e1 is less than the thickness e0 of the second outer surface S2 of the handle 10 located around said elastically deformable area,” here the vehicle handle with a button is an interface )
a conductive target coupled to the vehicle interface, each conductive target configured to move with the vehicle interface between a first position and a second position relative to an inductive sensor (Paragraph [0071], “The non-magnetic metal target 40 is adapted to move along the axis Y-Y′. Said non-magnetic metal target 40 is made, for example, of aluminum or any other non-magnetic metal," here the metal target moves along the y-y axis to a plurality of positions)
the first position having a first inductance and the second position having a second inductance different from the first inductance (Paragraph [0088-0089], "For example, if there is a force of 10 N exerted by the user on the locking area Z1′ of the handle 10, and an initial distance d0 of about 1 mm between the non-magnetic metal target 40 and the coil 20, the movement of the non-magnetic metal target 40 during pressing varies from about 20 μm to 100 μm, and the final distance d1 between the non-magnetic metal target 40 and the coil is then in the range from 0.9 mm to 0.98 mm. This movement from the initial distance d0 to the final distance d1 modifies the inductance of the coil 20. The variation in the inductance of said coil 20 is therefore representative of the user's pressure on the handle 10,” here the target moves between a plurality of positional distances which changes the inductance)
and a controller configured to receive respective signals indicative of respective changes between the first inductance and the second inductance (Paragraph [0078], "The control means 60′ consist of a microcontroller 60′, and the comparison means M3 are, for example, integrated into the microcontroller 60′, supplied with a voltage Vcc.")
determine a location of the force applied to the vehicle interface (Paragraph [0088], “For example, if there is a force of 10 N exerted by the user on the locking area Z1′ of the handle 10, and an initial distance d0 of about 1 mm between the non-magnetic metal target 40 and the coil 20, the movement of the non-magnetic metal target 40 during pressing varies from about 20 μm to 100 μm, and the final distance d1 between the non-magnetic metal target 40 and the coil is then in the range from 0.9 mm to 0.98 mm,” here the locking/unlocking signal is a result of a force applied to the vehicle interface/hand in the specific locking area Z1’).
However while Guibbert teaches an inductive sensor paired with a conductive target and triggering a functionality of the vehicle.
Guibbert does not explicitly teach a plurality of inductive sensors and a plurality of conductive targets coupled to the vehicle interface and a controller configured to receive respective signals from the plurality of inductive sensors indicative of respective changes between the first inductance and the second inductance, determine a location of the force applied to the vehicle interface based on relative inputs from the plurality of inductive sensors, and cause the vehicle to emit a sound in the selected broadcast direction.
Verner teaches a vehicle horn control assembly comprises a sensor assembly and a controller including
a plurality of inductive sensors and a plurality of conductive targets coupled to the vehicle interface (Paragraph [0022], “In this example, each of the sensor zones 40 includes a respective arrangement of sensors 42 that are electrically coupled to the controller 34. The number of sensors 42 in each of the sensor zones 40 can be a single sensor 42 up to any suitable amount of sensors 42. In this example, each of the sensor zones 40 includes five sensors 42. However, the sensor zones 40 can have different numbers of sensors 42. In this example, each of the sensor zones 40 can include one or more tactile sensors as known in the art. As understood in the art and as illustrated in FIG. 5, as the force-induced pressure applied to a tactile sensor 42 is increased, the voltage output by that tactile sensor can also be configured to increase proportionately. For instance, the sensors 42 can each be a piezoelectric element or any other suitable type of sensor (e.g., strain gauge, capacitance sensor, or force sensor) that generates a voltage when a strain is imposed on the element,” here the system is teaching the use of a plurality of sensors coupled to the vehicle interface/steering wheel, and while Verner is not explicitly reciting inductive sensors with conductive targets, Verner recites that any suitable sensor may be substituted here, such as the inductive sensors with conductive targets as taught by Guibbert)
and a controller configured to receive respective signals from the plurality of inductive sensors indicative of respective changes between the first inductance and the second inductance (Paragraph [0029], “That is, the controller 34 determines, based on the respective pressure signals output by the individual sensors 42 in the sensor zones 40 over a period of time, a touching characteristic representing a manner in which a user typically touches the sensor assembly 20 to activate the vehicle horn 24 in step 210. In step 220, the controller 32 thus sets each respective pressure threshold for each sensor zone 40, or for each specific sensor 42 in each sensor zone 40, based on the user touching characteristic,” here the system can determine a magnitude of a force applied to a sensor and the location of the force)
determine a location of the force applied to the vehicle interface (Paragraph [0022], “As understood in the art and as illustrated in FIG. 5, as the force-induced pressure applied to a tactile sensor 42 is increased, the voltage output by that tactile sensor can also be configured to increase proportionately,” here the system can determine a magnitude of a force applied based on a relative voltage of a sensor) (Paragraph [0029], “That is, the controller 34 determines, based on the respective pressure signals output by the individual sensors 42 in the sensor zones 40 over a period of time, a touching characteristic representing a manner in which a user typically touches the sensor assembly 20 to activate the vehicle horn 24 in step 210. In step 220, the controller 32 thus sets each respective pressure threshold for each sensor zone 40, or for each specific sensor 42 in each sensor zone 40, based on the user touching characteristic,” here the system can determine a magnitude of a force applied to a sensor and the location of the force)
based on relative inputs from the plurality of inductive sensors (Paragraph [0023], “Therefore, as discussed in more detail below, each of the sensor zones 40 can be configured to output a respective pressure signal having a value that is proportionate to the amount of pressure applied thereto.”) (Paragraph [0031], “if the user typically touches the sensor zones 40 located at a 2 o'clock position on the sensor assembly 20 when the user intends to activate the horn, the controller 34 can set the threshold such that even a slight pressure applied to the sensors 42 of the sensor array 32 at the 2 o'clock position will activate the horn” here the system is detecting a location and magnitude of pressure on the sensor based on the plurality of sensors)
and cause the vehicle to emit a sound in the selected broadcast direction (Paragraph [0031], “if the user typically touches the sensor zones 40 located at a 2 o'clock position on the sensor assembly 20 when the user intends to activate the horn, the controller 34 can set the threshold such that even a slight pressure applied to the sensors 42 of the sensor array 32 at the 2 o'clock position will activate the horn,” here the selected broadcast direction is simply the exterior of the vehicle).
Guibbert and Verner are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems and methods for detecting a user input to trigger a function of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include a plurality of inductive sensors, a plurality of conductive targets coupled to the vehicle interface configured to move with the vehicle interface between a first position and a second position relative to a respective one of the plurality of inductive sensors, determine at least one of a magnitude of a force applied to the vehicle interface or a location of the force applied to the vehicle interface based on weighing relative input from the plurality of inductive sensors of Verner in the system for actuating a functionality of a vehicle of Guibbert with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the user experience by preventing unintentional activation of vehicle functions (Paragraph [0031], “the controller 34 can set one of the respective pressure thresholds to be higher than a default pressure threshold for the remaining sensor zones 40 in order to reduce unintentional operation of the vehicle horn.”).
However the combination does not explicitly teach select a non-zero volume level from a plurality of non-zero volume levels based on the magnitude of the force.
Chiu teaches a steering wheel for vehicle having a steering column includes a steering wheel main body and a horn control assembly including
select a non-zero volume level from a plurality of non-zero volume levels based on the magnitude of the force (Paragraph [0007], “The preset pressure ranges are corresponding to a plurality of volume levels of the horn, and the control module controls a volume of the horn to sound after comparing the pressure sensing signal with the preset pressure ranges,” here thee system is selecting a non-zero volume level from a plurality of volume levels based on the magnitude of a force applied).
Guibbert, Verner, and Chiu are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems and methods for detecting a user input to trigger a function of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include select a non-zero volume level from a plurality of non-zero volume levels based on the magnitude of the force of Chiu in the system for actuating a functionality of a vehicle of Guibbert and Verner with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the user experience allowing a driver to select a horn volume and avoid unintentionally frightening other drivers (Paragraph [00004-0005], “However, if the driver hardly presses the horn button to apply the current to the horn relay, the loud horn volume may frighten the other drivers or cause other drivers to be considered provocative. Therefore, it is important to provide a steering wheel having a horn volume adjustable function according to the pressing force of driver, thereby achieving the desired alerting or reminding purpose and avoiding to frighten or provoke other drivers.”).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Guibbert, Verner, and Chiu teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, however Guibbert does not explicitly teach wherein the functionality includes activating a horn.
Verner further teaches wherein the functionality includes activating a horn (Paragraph [0031], “if the user typically touches the sensor zones 40 located at a 2 o'clock position on the sensor assembly 20 when the user intends to activate the horn, the controller 34 can set the threshold such that even a slight pressure applied to the sensors 42 of the sensor array 32 at the 2 o'clock position will activate the horn”).
Guibbert and Verner are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems and methods for detecting a user input to trigger a function of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein the functionality includes activating a horn of Verner in the system for actuating a functionality of a vehicle of Guibbert with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the user experience by preventing unintentional activation of vehicle functions (Paragraph [0031], “the controller 34 can set one of the respective pressure thresholds to be higher than a default pressure threshold for the remaining sensor zones 40 in order to reduce unintentional operation of the vehicle horn.”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Guibbert, Verner, and Chiu teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, however Guibbert does not explicitly teach wherein the vehicle interface comprises a steering wheel assembly that includes an airbag module.
Verner further teaches wherein the vehicle interface comprises a steering wheel assembly that includes an airbag module (Paragraph [0017], “As further shown in FIG. 2, the steering assembly 16 of the vehicle 10 will typically include an airbag assembly 22 mounted to a steering housing 23.”).
Guibbert and Verner are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems and methods for detecting a user input to trigger a function of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein the vehicle interface comprises a steering wheel assembly that includes an airbag module of Verner in the system for actuating a functionality of a vehicle of Guibbert with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the user experience by preventing unintentional activation of vehicle functions (Paragraph [0031], “the controller 34 can set one of the respective pressure thresholds to be higher than a default pressure threshold for the remaining sensor zones 40 in order to reduce unintentional operation of the vehicle horn.”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Guibbert, Verner, and Chiu teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Guibbert further teaches wherein at least one of the plurality of the conductive targets includes Cu tape (Paragraph [0071], “The non-magnetic metal target 40 is adapted to move along the axis Y-Y′. Said non-magnetic metal target 40 is made, for example, of aluminum or any other non-magnetic metal,” here the target is made of any non-magnetic metal such as Copper).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Guibbert, Verner, and Chiu teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Verner further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to determine a magnitude of the force based on the relative inputs from the plurality of inductive sensors (Paragraph [0029], “That is, the controller 34 determines, based on the respective pressure signals output by the individual sensors 42 in the sensor zones 40 over a period of time, a touching characteristic representing a manner in which a user typically touches the sensor assembly 20 to activate the vehicle horn 24 in step 210. In step 220, the controller 32 thus sets each respective pressure threshold for each sensor zone 40, or for each specific sensor 42 in each sensor zone 40, based on the user touching characteristic,” here the system can determine a magnitude of a force applied to a sensor and the location of the force)
Chiu further teaches select a non-zero volume level from a plurality of non-zero volume levels based on the magnitude of the force and cause the vehicle to emit the sound at the selected non-zero volume level (Paragraph [0007], “The preset pressure ranges are corresponding to a plurality of volume levels of the horn, and the control module controls a volume of the horn to sound after comparing the pressure sensing signal with the preset pressure ranges,” here thee system is selecting a non-zero volume level from a plurality of volume levels based on the magnitude of a force applied)
wherein the selected non-zero volume level is proportional to the magnitude of the force (Paragraph [0029], “The preset pressure ranges are corresponding to a plurality of volume levels of the horn 123, and the control module 122 controls a volume of the horn 123 after comparing the pressure sensing signal with the preset pressure ranges.”).
Guibbert, Verner, and Chiu are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems and methods for detecting a user input to trigger a function of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include select a non-zero volume level from a plurality of non-zero volume levels based on the magnitude of the force and cause the vehicle to emit the sound at the selected non-zero volume level wherein the selected non-zero volume level is proportional to the magnitude of the force of Chiu in the system for actuating a functionality of a vehicle of Guibbert and Verner with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the user experience allowing a driver to select a horn volume and avoid unintentionally frightening other drivers (Paragraph [00004-0005], “However, if the driver hardly presses the horn button to apply the current to the horn relay, the loud horn volume may frighten the other drivers or cause other drivers to be considered provocative. Therefore, it is important to provide a steering wheel having a horn volume adjustable function according to the pressing force of driver, thereby achieving the desired alerting or reminding purpose and avoiding to frighten or provoke other drivers.”).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Guibbert, Verner, and Chiu teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Guibbert further teaches further comprising a memory configured to store values or settings related to the functionality (Paragraph [0004], “The detection device is connected to the computer of the vehicle or ECU (English abbreviation for “Electronic Control Unit”), and sends it a presence detection signal. The vehicle's computer has previously identified the user as being authorized to access the vehicle; alternatively, it proceeds to perform this identification after receiving this presence detection signal,” here the detection device is connected to a vehicle computer which stores values or settings).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Guibbert, Verner, and Chiu teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Guibbert further teaches further comprising a buffer disposed between at least one of the plurality of inductive sensors and a respective one of the plurality of the conductive targets (Paragraph [0051], “a compressible prestressed element 30, located between the target 40 and the coil 20”).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Guibbert, Verner, and Chiu teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Guibbert further teaches wherein the buffer comprises a rubber buffer (Paragraph [0051], “a compressible prestressed element 30, located between the target 40 and the coil 20”) (Paragraph [0080], “The compressible prestressed element 30 is located between the non-magnetic metal target 40 and the coil 20, and is made, for example, of EPDM (ethylene propylene diene monomer),” here EPDM is a synthetic rubber).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Guibbert, Verner, and Chiu teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, however Guibbert does not explicitly teach further comprising a steering wheel assembly having a center portion and wherein the vehicle interface is sized and shaped so that at least a portion of the vehicle interface fits within the center portion.
Verner further teaches further comprising a steering wheel assembly having a center portion and wherein the vehicle interface is sized and shaped so that at least a portion of the vehicle interface fits within the center portion (See Figures 1 and 2 showing a steering assembly 16, 18 which a vehicle interface which fits in the center portion 20).
Guibbert and Verner are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems and methods for detecting a user input to trigger a function of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein the conductive target is disposed upon a surface of the airbag module and the inductive sensor is disposed upon the steering wheel assembly of Verner in the system for actuating a functionality of a vehicle of Guibbert with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the functionality of the vehicle by incorporating inconspicuous methods while still being easily accessible by a passenger for triggering functionality of the vehicle (Paragraph [0017], “Also, portions along the perimeter of the sensor assembly 20 can be integrally formed with the steering housing 23 or otherwise configured to mate with the steering housing 23 such that any seams are inconspicuous or concealed.”).
Claims 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guibbert (US-20170016255) in view of Verner (US 20140125124) further in view of Chiu (US 20200385048) and further in view of Kandler (US 20200036411).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Guibbert, Verner, and Chiu teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, however Guibbert does not explicitly teach wherein at least one of the plurality of the conductive target is disposed upon a surface of the airbag module a respective one of the plurality of inductive sensors is disposed upon the steering wheel assembly.
Kandler further teaches wherein at least one of the plurality of the conductive target is disposed upon a surface of the airbag module a respective one of the plurality of inductive sensors is disposed upon the steering wheel assembly (Paragraph [0017], “In particular, the vehicle component is a steering wheel, in particular, an airbag module of a steering wheel.”) (Paragraph [0022], “In particular, it is possible that the switch is arranged in a steering wheel, wherein the switch is used to trigger a horn signal.”) (See also figure 10).
Guibbert, Verner, Chiu and Kandler are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems and methods for detecting a user input to trigger a function of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein the conductive target is disposed upon a surface of the airbag module and the inductive sensor is disposed upon the steering wheel assembly of Kandler in the system for actuating a functionality of a vehicle of Guibbert, Verner, and Chiu with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the functionality of the vehicle by incorporating inconspicuous methods while still being easily accessible by a passenger for triggering functionality of the vehicle (Paragraph [0010], “which is as inconspicuous as possible, of the NFC antenna into the vehicle takes place, wherein, nevertheless, the antenna can be easily accessible for a vehicle passenger”).
Claim 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guibbert (US-20170016255) in view of Verner (US 20140125124) and further in view of Chiu (US 20200385048) and further in view of Yang (KR-20180127825).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Guibbert, Verner, and Chiu teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, however the combination does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is further configured to adjust the selected broadcast direction based on a rotational position of the steering wheel assembly.
Yang teaches a steering wheel input apparatus and a method for processing an input including
wherein the controller is further configured to adjust the selected broadcast direction based on a rotational position of the steering wheel assembly (Paragraph [0029-0030], “The processor 150 senses the rotation of the steering wheel 10 via the steering angle sensor 110. At this time, the processor 150 acquires the rotation angle of the steering wheel 10 from the steering angle sensor 110. The processor 150 receives input data generated from the input unit 120 when the rotation of the steering wheel 10 is sensed. The processor 150 corrects the input data based on the rotation angle of the steering wheel 10. [ For example, the processor 150 corrects the input data using the rotation transformation.”).
Guibbert, Verner, Chiu and Yang are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems and methods for detecting a user input to trigger a function of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein the controller is further configured to adjust the selected broadcast direction based on a rotational position of the steering wheel assembly of Yang in the system for actuating a functionality of a vehicle of Guibbert, Verner, and Chiu with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the user convenience (Paragraph [0016], “The present invention aims to improve user convenience by ensuring that the operation direction (input angle), etc., of a control system (input device) physically fixed to the steering wheel is consistently maintained centered on the operator even when the steering wheel is rotated”).
Claims 22, 24 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guibbert (US-20170016255) in view of Verner (US 20140125124) further in view of Kandler (US 20200036411) and further in view of Raz (US 20130261887).
Regarding claim 22, Guibbert teaches inductive sensor, each inductive sensor (Paragraph [0050], "the invention proposes that said contact detection element 100 comprise an inductive sensor")
adapted to generate a respective signal in response to changes in a measure inductance caused by a change in distance between the respective inductive sensor and a target surface (Paragraph [0088-0089], "For example, if there is a force of 10 N exerted by the user on the locking area Z1′ of the handle 10, and an initial distance d0 of about 1 mm between the non-magnetic metal target 40 and the coil 20, the movement of the non-magnetic metal target 40 during pressing varies from about 20 μm to 100 μm, and the final distance d1 between the non-magnetic metal target 40 and the coil is then in the range from 0.9 mm to 0.98 mm. This movement from the initial distance d0 to the final distance d1 modifies the inductance of the coil 20. The variation in the inductance of said coil 20 is therefore representative of the user's pressure on the handle 10,” here the target moves between a plurality of positional distances which changes the inductance).
a controller configured to determine a location of a force (Paragraph [0088], “For example, if there is a force of 10 N exerted by the user on the locking area Z1′ of the handle 10, and an initial distance d0 of about 1 mm between the non-magnetic metal target 40 and the coil 20, the movement of the non-magnetic metal target 40 during pressing varies from about 20 μm to 100 μm, and the final distance d1 between the non-magnetic metal target 40 and the coil is then in the range from 0.9 mm to 0.98 mm,” here the locking/unlocking signal is a result of a force applied to the vehicle interface/hand in the specific locking area Z1’).
However Guibbert does not explicitly teach a plurality of inductive sensors, one of the plurality of target surfaces, a steering wheel assembly for a vehicle comprising at least one target surface disposed on an airbag module.
Verner teaches a vehicle horn control assembly comprises a sensor assembly and a controller including
a plurality of inductive sensors (Paragraph [0022], “In this example, each of the sensor zones 40 includes a respective arrangement of sensors 42 that are electrically coupled to the controller 34. The number of sensors 42 in each of the sensor zones 40 can be a single sensor 42 up to any suitable amount of sensors 42. In this example, each of the sensor zones 40 includes five sensors 42. However, the sensor zones 40 can have different numbers of sensors 42. In this example, each of the sensor zones 40 can include one or more tactile sensors as known in the art. As understood in the art and as illustrated in FIG. 5, as the force-induced pressure applied to a tactile sensor 42 is increased, the voltage output by that tactile sensor can also be configured to increase proportionately. For instance, the sensors 42 can each be a piezoelectric element or any other suitable type of sensor (e.g., strain gauge, capacitance sensor, or force sensor) that generates a voltage when a strain is imposed on the element,” here the system is teaching the use of a plurality of sensors coupled to the vehicle interface/steering wheel, and while Verner is not explicitly reciting inductive sensors with conductive targets, Verner recites that any suitable sensor may be substituted here, such as the inductive sensors with conductive targets as taught by Guibbert)
one of the plurality of target surfaces (Paragraph [0022], “In this example, each of the sensor zones 40 includes a respective arrangement of sensors 42 that are electrically coupled to the controller 34. The number of sensors 42 in each of the sensor zones 40 can be a single sensor 42 up to any suitable amount of sensors 42. In this example, each of the sensor zones 40 includes five sensors 42. However, the sensor zones 40 can have different numbers of sensors 42. In this example, each of the sensor zones 40 can include one or more tactile sensors as known in the art,” here each of the sensor zones is a target surface)
a steering wheel assembly for a vehicle comprising (Paragraph [0017], “As further shown in FIG. 2, the steering assembly 16 of the vehicle 10 will typically include an airbag assembly 22 mounted to a steering housing 23.”)
a plurality of target surfaces disposed on an airbag module (Paragraph [0022], “In this example, each of the sensor zones 40 includes a respective arrangement of sensors 42 that are electrically coupled to the controller 34. The number of sensors 42 in each of the sensor zones 40 can be a single sensor 42 up to any suitable amount of sensors 42. In this example, each of the sensor zones 40 includes five sensors 42. However, the sensor zones 40 can have different numbers of sensors 42. In this example, each of the sensor zones 40 can include one or more tactile sensors as known in the art,” here each of the sensor zones is a target surface)
a controller configured to determine a location of a force applied based on relative inputs represented by the respective signals (Paragraph [0022], “As understood in the art and as illustrated in FIG. 5, as the force-induced pressure applied to a tactile sensor 42 is increased, the voltage output by that tactile sensor can also be configured to increase proportionately,” here the system can determine a magnitude of a force applied based on a relative voltage of a sensor) (Paragraph [0029], “That is, the controller 34 determines, based on the respective pressure signals output by the individual sensors 42 in the sensor zones 40 over a period of time, a touching characteristic representing a manner in which a user typically touches the sensor assembly 20 to activate the vehicle horn 24 in step 210. In step 220, the controller 32 thus sets each respective pressure threshold for each sensor zone 40, or for each specific sensor 42 in each sensor zone 40, based on the user touching characteristic,” here the system can determine a magnitude of a force applied to a sensor and the location of the force)
and cause the vehicle to emit a sound in the selected broadcast direction (Paragraph [0029], “That is, the controller 34 determines, based on the respective pressure signals output by the individual sensors 42 in the sensor zones 40 over a period of time, a touching characteristic representing a manner in which a user typically touches the sensor assembly 20 to activate the vehicle horn 24 in step 210. In step 220, the controller 32 thus sets each respective pressure threshold for each sensor zone 40, or for each specific sensor 42 in each sensor zone 40, based on the user touching characteristic,”).
Guibbert and Verner are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems and methods for detecting a user input to trigger a function of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include a plurality of inductive sensors, one of the plurality of target surfaces, a steering wheel assembly for a vehicle comprising at least one target surface disposed on an airbag module of Verner in the system for actuating a functionality of a vehicle of Guibbert with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the user experience by preventing unintentional activation of vehicle functions (Paragraph [0031], “the controller 34 can set one of the respective pressure thresholds to be higher than a default pressure threshold for the remaining sensor zones 40 in order to reduce unintentional operation of the vehicle horn.”).
However the combination does not explicitly teach wherein a location of a force applied to the airbag module.
Kandler further teaches a location of a force applied to the airbag module (Paragraph [0017], “In particular, the vehicle component is a steering wheel, in particular, an airbag module of a steering wheel.”) (Paragraph [0022], “In particular, it is possible that the switch is arranged in a steering wheel, wherein the switch is used to trigger a horn signal.”) (See also figure 10).
Guibbert, Verner and Kandler are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems and methods for detecting a user input to trigger a function of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include a location of a force applied to the airbag module of Kandler in the system for actuating a functionality of a vehicle of Guibbert and Verner with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the functionality of the vehicle by incorporating inconspicuous methods while still being easily accessible by a passenger for triggering functionality of the vehicle (Paragraph [0010], “which is as inconspicuous as possible, of the NFC antenna into the vehicle takes place, wherein, nevertheless, the antenna can be easily accessible for a vehicle passenger”).
However the combination does not explicitly teach select a broadcast direction from a plurality of broadcast directions based on the location.
Raz teaches a directional horn may include at least one group of a plurality of speakers or audio emitters including
select a broadcast direction from a plurality of broadcast directions based on the location (Paragraph [0023], “In some embodiments of the invention, the driver 204 may indicate a direction to focus the horn system's sound by exerting pressure on a particular location on the steering wheel. For the biker at 135.degree., for example, the driver may exert pressure on the steering wheel at the corresponding angle on the steering wheel's pressure pad.”).
Guibbert, Verner, Kandler, and Raz are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems and methods for detecting a user input to trigger a function of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to select a broadcast direction from a plurality of broadcast directions based on the location of Raz in the system for actuating a functionality of a vehicle of Guibbert, Verner, and Kandler with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce excess noise pollution by directing a horn noise only where necessary (Paragraph [0003], “In many areas, such as highways and urban environments, heavy car usage may result in a high level of ambient noise or noise pollution from an increased amount of honking horns. Noise pollution may negatively affect the health of individuals living near noisy and high-traffic areas. A constant backdrop of noise may elevate stress, causing an increase in blood pressure or a change in heart rhythm, and may increase the pace of hearing loss. Further, pedestrians and other road user may be less alert to horns directed at them. Noise pollution may also negatively impact nearby wildlife.”).
Regarding claim 24, claim 24 is similar in scope to claim 16, and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Guibbert, Verner and Raz teaches the method as discussed in claim 26, Kandler further teaches wherein the plurality of target surfaces are disposed on an airbag module, and the plurality of inductive sensors are disposed upon a steering wheel assembly (Paragraph [0017], “In particular, the vehicle component is a steering wheel, in particular, an airbag module of a steering wheel.”) (Paragraph [0022], “In particular, it is possible that the switch is arranged in a steering wheel, wherein the switch is used to trigger a horn signal.”) (See also figure 10).
Guibbert, Verner and Kandler are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems and methods for detecting a user input to trigger a function of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein the conductive target is disposed upon a surface of the airbag module and the inductive sensor is disposed upon the steering wheel assembly of Kandler in the system for actuating a functionality of a vehicle of Guibbert with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the functionality of the vehicle by incorporating inconspicuous methods while still being easily accessible by a passenger for triggering functionality of the vehicle (Paragraph [0010], “which is as inconspicuous as possible, of the NFC antenna into the vehicle takes place, wherein, nevertheless, the antenna can be easily accessible for a vehicle passenger”).
Claims 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guibbert (US-20170016255) in view of Verner (US 20140125124) and further in view of Raz (US 20130261887).
Regarding claim 26, Guibbert teaches a method for triggering a functionality of a vehicle, the vehicle comprising (Paragraph [0020], "the detection device according to the invention can provide reliable and robust detection of the intention to unlock or lock the vehicle")
a target surface (Paragraph [0071], “The non-magnetic metal target 40 is adapted to move along the axis Y-Y′. Said non-magnetic metal target 40 is made, for example, of aluminum or any other non-magnetic metal," here the metal target moves along the y-y axis to a plurality of positions)
an inductive sensor (Paragraph [0050], "the invention proposes that said contact detection element 100 comprise an inductive sensor")
each inductive sensor disposed relative to a respective one of the plurality of target surfaces to sense movement of the target surface (Paragraph [0088-0089], "For example, if there is a force of 10 N exerted by the user on the locking area Z1′ of the handle 10, and an initial distance d0 of about 1 mm between the non-magnetic metal target 40 and the coil 20, the movement of the non-magnetic metal target 40 during pressing varies from about 20 μm to 100 μm, and the final distance d1 between the non-magnetic metal target 40 and the coil is then in the range from 0.9 mm to 0.98 mm. This movement from the initial distance d0 to the final distance d1 modifies the inductance of the coil 20. The variation in the inductance of said coil 20 is therefore representative of the user's pressure on the handle 10,” here the target moves between a plurality of positional distances which changes the inductance)
the method comprising, moving at least one of the plurality of target surfaces to change a distance between at least one of the plurality of target surfaces and a respective one of the plurality of inductive sensors (Paragraph [0071], “The non-magnetic metal target 40 is adapted to move along the axis Y-Y′. Said non-magnetic metal target 40 is made, for example, of aluminum or any other non-magnetic metal," here the metal target moves along the y-y axis to a plurality of positions)
generating signals from the inductive sensor in response to changes in measured inductance caused by the change in the distance (Paragraph [0089], “This movement from the initial distance d0 to the final distance d1 modifies the inductance of the coil 20. The variation in the inductance of said coil 20 is therefore representative of the user's pressure on the handle 10.”)
determining a location of the force (Paragraph [0088], “For example, if there is a force of 10 N exerted by the user on the locking area Z1′ of the handle 10, and an initial distance d0 of about 1 mm between the non-magnetic metal target 40 and the coil 20, the movement of the non-magnetic metal target 40 during pressing varies from about 20 μm to 100 μm, and the final distance d1 between the non-magnetic metal target 40 and the coil is then in the range from 0.9 mm to 0.98 mm,” here the locking/unlocking signal is a result of a force applied to the vehicle interface/hand in the specific locking area Z1’)
However while Guibbert teaches an inductive sensor paired with a conductive target and triggering a functionality of the vehicle.
Guibbert does not explicitly teach a plurality of target surfaces, a plurality of inductive sensors, each inductive sensor disposed relative to a respective one of the plurality of target surfaces, generating signals from the plurality of sensors, determining at least one of a magnitude of a force or a location of the force based on weighing relative input from the plurality of inductive sensors and triggering the functionality of the vehicle based on the at least one of the magnitude of the force or the location of the force.
Verner teaches a vehicle horn control assembly comprises a sensor assembly and a controller including
a plurality of target surfaces (Paragraph [0022], “In this example, each of the sensor zones 40 includes a respective arrangement of sensors 42 that are electrically coupled to the controller 34. The number of sensors 42 in each of the sensor zones 40 can be a single sensor 42 up to any suitable amount of sensors 42. In this example, each of the sensor zones 40 includes five sensors 42. However, the sensor zones 40 can have different numbers of sensors 42. In this example, each of the sensor zones 40 can include one or more tactile sensors as known in the art,” here each of the sensor zones is a target surface)
a plurality of inductive sensors (Paragraph [0022], “In this example, each of the sensor zones 40 includes a respective arrangement of sensors 42 that are electrically coupled to the controller 34. The number of sensors 42 in each of the sensor zones 40 can be a single sensor 42 up to any suitable amount of sensors 42. In this example, each of the sensor zones 40 includes five sensors 42. However, the sensor zones 40 can have different numbers of sensors 42. In this example, each of the sensor zones 40 can include one or more tactile sensors as known in the art. As understood in the art and as illustrated in FIG. 5, as the force-induced pressure applied to a tactile sensor 42 is increased, the voltage output by that tactile sensor can also be configured to increase proportionately. For instance, the sensors 42 can each be a piezoelectric element or any other suitable type of sensor (e.g., strain gauge, capacitance sensor, or force sensor) that generates a voltage when a strain is imposed on the element,” here the system is teaching the use of a plurality of sensors coupled to the vehicle interface/steering wheel, and while Verner is not explicitly reciting inductive sensors, Verner recites that any suitable sensor may be substituted here, such as the inductive sensors with conductive targets as taught by Guibbert)
each inductive sensor disposed relative to a respective one of the plurality of target surfaces (Paragraph [0022], “In this example, each of the sensor zones 40 includes a respective arrangement of sensors 42 that are electrically coupled to the controller 34.”) (While Verner is not explicitly reciting inductive sensors, Verner recites that any suitable sensor may be substituted here, such as the inductive sensors with conductive targets as taught by Guibbert)
generating signals from the plurality of sensors (Paragraph [0023], “Therefore, as discussed in more detail below, each of the sensor zones 40 can be configured to output a respective pressure signal having a value that is proportionate to the amount of pressure applied thereto.”)
determining a location of the force (Paragraph [0022], “As understood in the art and as illustrated in FIG. 5, as the force-induced pressure applied to a tactile sensor 42 is increased, the voltage output by that tactile sensor can also be configured to increase proportionately,” here the system can determine a magnitude of a force applied based on a relative voltage of a sensor) (Paragraph [0029], “That is, the controller 34 determines, based on the respective pressure signals output by the individual sensors 42 in the sensor zones 40 over a period of time, a touching characteristic representing a manner in which a user typically touches the sensor assembly 20 to activate the vehicle horn 24 in step 210. In step 220, the controller 32 thus sets each respective pressure threshold for each sensor zone 40, or for each specific sensor 42 in each sensor zone 40, based on the user touching characteristic,” here the system can determine a magnitude of a force applied to a sensor and the location of the force)
based on weighing relative input from the plurality of inductive sensors (Paragraph [0023], “Therefore, as discussed in more detail below, each of the sensor zones 40 can be configured to output a respective pressure signal having a value that is proportionate to the amount of pressure applied thereto.”) (Paragraph [0031], “if the user typically touches the sensor zones 40 located at a 2 o'clock position on the sensor assembly 20 when the user intends to activate the horn, the controller 34 can set the threshold such that even a slight pressure applied to the sensors 42 of the sensor array 32 at the 2 o'clock position will activate the horn” here the system is detecting a location and magnitude of pressure on the sensor based on the plurality of sensors) (While Verner is not explicitly reciting inductive sensors, Verner recites that any suitable sensor may be substituted here, such as the inductive sensors with conductive targets as taught by Guibbert)
and causing the vehicle to emit a sound in the selected broadcast direction (Paragraph [0029], “That is, the controller 34 determines, based on the respective pressure signals output by the individual sensors 42 in the sensor zones 40 over a period of time, a touching characteristic representing a manner in which a user typically touches the sensor assembly 20 to activate the vehicle horn 24 in step 210. In step 220, the controller 32 thus sets each respective pressure threshold for each sensor zone 40, or for each specific sensor 42 in each sensor zone 40, based on the user touching characteristic,”).
Guibbert and Verner are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems and methods for detecting a user input to trigger a function of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include a plurality of target surfaces, a plurality of inductive sensors, each inductive sensor disposed relative to a respective one of the plurality of target surfaces, generating signals from the plurality of sensors, determining at least one of a magnitude of a force or a location of the force based on weighing relative input from the plurality of inductive sensors and triggering the functionality of the vehicle based on the at least one of the magnitude of the force or the location of the force of Verner in the system for actuating a functionality of a vehicle of Guibbert with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the user experience by preventing unintentional activation of vehicle functions (Paragraph [0031], “the controller 34 can set one of the respective pressure thresholds to be higher than a default pressure threshold for the remaining sensor zones 40 in order to reduce unintentional operation of the vehicle horn.”).
However the combination does not explicitly teach selecting, from a plurality of broadcast directions, a broadcast direction based on the location of the force.
Raz teaches a directional horn may include at least one group of a plurality of speakers or audio emitters including
selecting, from a plurality of broadcast directions, a broadcast direction based on the location of the force (Paragraph [0023], “In some embodiments of the invention, the driver 204 may indicate a direction to focus the horn system's sound by exerting pressure on a particular location on the steering wheel. For the biker at 135.degree., for example, the driver may exert pressure on the steering wheel at the corresponding angle on the steering wheel's pressure pad.”).
Guibbert, Verner, and Raz are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems and methods for detecting a user input to trigger a function of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to selecting, from a plurality of broadcast directions, a broadcast direction based on the location of the force of Raz in the system for actuating a functionality of a vehicle of Guibbert and Verner with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce excess noise pollution by directing a horn noise only where necessary (Paragraph [0003], “In many areas, such as highways and urban environments, heavy car usage may result in a high level of ambient noise or noise pollution from an increased amount of honking horns. Noise pollution may negatively affect the health of individuals living near noisy and high-traffic areas. A constant backdrop of noise may elevate stress, causing an increase in blood pressure or a change in heart rhythm, and may increase the pace of hearing loss. Further, pedestrians and other road user may be less alert to horns directed at them. Noise pollution may also negatively impact nearby wildlife.”).
Regarding claim 27, claim 27 is similar in scope to claim 2, and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guibbert (US-20170016255) in view of Verner (US 20140125124) further in view of Kandler (US 20200036411) and further in view of Raz (US 20130261887) and further in view of Chiu (US 20200385048).
Regarding claim 35, claim 35 is similar in scope to claim 10, and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guibbert (US-20170016255) in view of Verner (US 20140125124) further in view of Kandler (US 20200036411) and further in view of Raz (US 20130261887) and further in view of Chiu (US 20200385048) and further in view of Yang (KR-20180127825).
Regarding claim 36, claim 36 is similar in scope to claim 13, and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jung (US-20210019009) teaches a touch force sensor and a method of operating the same. Abt (US-20190212910) teaches a method for operating a human-machine interface (30) for a vehicle having a control unit (34) and at least one operating surface (32) which is constructed as a touch-sensitive surface. Gray (US-20210255730) teaches a touch sensor device (TSD) includes TSD electrodes associated with a surface of the TSD.
/CHRISTOPHER GEORGE FEES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662