Response to Amendment and Arguments
The amendment filed 01/21/2015 has been entered. Claims 1-8, 10-25 are currently pending in this application, and claims 18-22 are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 6-10, filed 08/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-8, 10-17 and 23-25 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and/or 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant states "…The Office Action identifies Naono '539 element 20 and/or 16 as the claimed frame element and relies on Naono '539 paragraph [0096] for the claimed relative thickness relationship. That mapping, however, does not anticipate amended claim 1. In Naono '539, fixed portion 20 is not connected to first actuator 14 through second connection portions 22. Rather, Naono '539 describes the second connection portions 22 as connecting first actuator 14 to second actuator 16, while fixed portion 20 supports second actuator 16 through third connection portions 23. (Naono '539, Abstract, claim 1, and paras. [0095] to [0096].) Thus, under the claim language requiring the frame element to be connected to the drive ring via at least one second torsion spring element, the relevant Naono structure would have to be second actuator 16, or at most second actuator 16 together with fixed portion 20, not fixed portion 20 alone. Moreover, Naono '539 paragraph [0096] does not disclose the required thickness relationship under that mapping. Paragraph [0096] teaches that the mirror portion 12, first actuator 14, second actuator 16, and connection portions 21-23 are formed with thicknesses less than the thickness of fixed portion 20. Accordingly, Naono '539 teaches that second actuator 16, the structure that is actually connected to first actuator 14 via second connection portions 22, is one of the thinner movable structures within fixed portion 20. Naono '539 therefore does not disclose that the mirror portion 12 and first actuator 14 are thinner than second actuator 16 if second actuator 16 is treated as the claimed frame element. Conversely, if fixed portion 20 is treated as the frame element, Naono '539 still fails to disclose the claimed connection of that frame element to the drive ring via the second torsion spring element, because fixed portion 20 is connected through third connection portions 23 rather than second connection portions 22…". Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, "20 and/or 16" means (case 1) 20 alone, (case 2) 16 alone, OR (case 3) both 20 and 16 together. As shown in Fig. 1 and 15 of Naono '539, the fixed portion 20 and the first actuator 14 won’t be connected to each other without the second connection portions 22. Therefore, in Naono '539, since the fixed portion 20 is indirectly connected to first actuator 14 through the second connection portions 22, the second actuator 16 and the third connection portions 23, it is very clear to the artisan of ordinary skill that (1) the fixed portion 20 is indirectly connected to the first actuator 14 through/via the second connection portions 22; (2) the second actuator 16 is connected to the first actuator 14 only through/via the second connection portions 22; and (3) a frame structure (including the fixed portion 20, the third connection portions 23 and the second actuator 16) is connected to the first actuator 14 only through/via the second connection portions 22.
Second, the language of the claims is treated as the “metes and bounds” of the subject matter for which protection is being sought. In this case, the limitation of “a frame element, which is connected to the drive ring via at least one second torsion spring element” in claim 1 is not equal to and not examined as each of (i) “a frame element, which is connected to the drive ring only via at least one second torsion spring element”, (ii) “a frame element without including any torsion spring element or piezoelectric drive ring, which is connected to the drive ring only via at least one second torsion spring element”, and (iii) “a frame element without including any torsion spring element or piezoelectric drive ring, which is connected to the drive ring via at least one second torsion spring element, wherein the at least one second torsion spring element directly contact both of the frame element and the drive ring”.
Third, dictionary.com defines “frame” as a “structure for admitting or enclosing something”. With broadest reasonable interpretation, in Naono '539, either the fixed portion 20 or the frame structure (including the fixed portion 20, the third connection portions 23 and the second actuator 16) can be interpreted as a frame element for the newly amended claim 1 submitted 08/24/2026.
When the fixed portion 20 is interpreted as a frame element, as stated in the rejection of claim 1 below, Naono '539 teaches that a frame element (20 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]), which is connected (indirectly connected as shown in Fig. 1 and 15) to the drive ring (14 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0087]) via at least one second torsion spring element (22 in Fig. 1, Fig. 15 [0074]), wherein the mirror element (12 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]) and the drive ring (14 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0087]) have a smaller thickness than ([0096], Fig. 1 and 3) at least one edge part of the frame element (the edge portion of 20 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]), and wherein the frame element (20 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]), the drive ring (14 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0087]), the mirror element (12 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]) and the torsion spring elements (21 and 22 in Fig. 1, Fig. 15, [0074]) are formed in one piece (Fig. 1-2, [0095]).
When the frame structure (including the fixed portion 20, the third connection portions 23 and the second actuator 16) is interpreted as a frame element, as stated in the rejections of claims 10 and 16 below, Naono '539 teaches that a frame element (the frame structure including the fixed portion 20, the third connection portions 23 and the second actuator 16 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]), which is connected (Fig. 1 and 15) to the drive ring (14 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0087]) via at least one second torsion spring element (22 in Fig. 1, Fig. 15 [0074]), wherein the mirror element (12 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]) and the drive ring (14 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0087]) have a smaller thickness than ([0096], Fig. 1 and 3) at least one edge part (the edge part corresponding to 20 in Fig. 1 and 15) of the frame element (the frame structure including the fixed portion 20, the third connection portions 23 and the second actuator 16 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]), and wherein the frame element (the frame structure including the fixed portion 20, the third connection portions 23 and the second actuator 16 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]), the drive ring (14 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0087]), the mirror element (12 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]) and the torsion spring elements (21 and 22 in Fig. 1, Fig. 15, [0074]) are formed in one piece (Fig. 1-2, [0095]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Naono (US 2021/0223539, 1st interpretation).
Regarding claim 1, Naono (US 2021/0223539) teaches a piezoelectric mirror component (Fig. 1-33, [0003-0273]) comprising:
a mirror element (12 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]),
a piezoelectric drive ring (14 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0087]) which surrounds the mirror element (12 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]) and is connected to the mirror element (12 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]) via at least a first torsion spring element (21 in Fig. 1, Fig. 15, [0074]), and
a frame element (20 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]), which is connected (indirectly connected as shown in Fig. 1 and 15) to the drive ring (14 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0087]) via at least one second torsion spring element (22 in Fig. 1, Fig. 15 [0074]),
wherein the mirror element (12 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]) and the drive ring (14 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0087]) have a smaller thickness than ([0096], Fig. 1 and 3) at least one edge part of the frame element (20 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]), and
wherein the frame element (20 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]), the drive ring (14 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0087]), the mirror element (12 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]) and the torsion spring elements (21 and 22 in Fig. 1, Fig. 15, [0074]) are formed in one piece (Fig. 1-2, [0095]).
Regarding claims 2-4, 8 and 23-25, Naono (US 2021/0223539) also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 2) the drive ring (14 in Fig. 1, [0087]) has an elliptical shape (Fig. 1)
(Claim 3) the at least one first torsion spring element (21 in Fig. 1, [0074]) is arranged along a first direction (the direction X in Fig. 1) and the at least one second torsion spring element (22 in Fig. 1, [0074]) is arranged along the second direction (the direction Y in Fig. 1).
(Claim 4) the drive ring (14 in Fig. 1, [0087]) is connected to the mirror element (12 in Fig. 1, [0074]) via two first torsion spring elements (21 in Fig. 1, [0074]) arranged along a straight line on two opposite sides of the mirror element (Fig. 1), and the drive ring (14 in Fig. 1, [0087]) is connected to the frame element (20 in Fig. 1, [0074]) via two second torsion spring elements (22 in Fig. 1, [0074]) arranged along a straight line on two opposite sides of the drive ring (Fig. 1).
(Claim 8) the frame element (20 in Fig. 1, [0074]) surrounds the drive ring (14 in Fig. 1, [0087]) and has a recess (Fig. 1-2) penetrating the frame element (20 in Fig. 1, [0074]), in which recess the drive ring (14 in Fig. 1, [0087]) and the at least one second torsion spring element (22 in Fig. 1, [0074]) are arranged (Fig. 1-2).
(Claim 23) A projection device ([0003-0010]), comprising: a laser light source ([0003, 0128, 0198], the inherent laser light source making a laser beam incident on the mirror portion 12) and a piezoelectric mirror component (10 in Fig. 1-2).
(Claim 24) the drive ring (14 in Fig. 1, [0087]) has a first diameter (Fig. 1) along a first direction (the direction X in Fig. 1) and a second diameter (Fig. 1) along a second direction (the direction Y in Fig. 1) perpendicular to the first direction (the direction X in Fig. 1) and the first diameter is greater than the second diameter (Fig. 1).
(Claim 25) measures (the measures corresponding to the sensor electrode 51/52 in Fig. 2, [0137-0142]) are provided for achieving a position determination of the mirror element ([0137-0140]) and/or a position determination of the drive ring ([0137-0138, 0141-0142]) and/or a frequency determination of one or both torsional oscillations.
Claims 10-14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Naono (US 2021/0223539, 2nd interpretation).
Regarding claim 10, Naono (US 2021/0223539) teaches a piezoelectric mirror component (Fig. 1-33, [0003-0273]) comprising:
a mirror element (12 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]),
a piezoelectric drive ring (14 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0087]) which surrounds the mirror element (12 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]) and is connected to the mirror element (12 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]) via at least a first torsion spring element (21 in Fig. 1, Fig. 15, [0074]), and
a frame element (the frame structure including the fixed portion 20, the third connection portions 23 and the second actuator 16 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]), which is connected (Fig. 1 and 15) to the drive ring (14 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0087]) via at least one second torsion spring element (22 in Fig. 1, Fig. 15 [0074]),
wherein the mirror element (12 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]) and the drive ring (14 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0087]) have a smaller thickness than ([0096], Fig. 1 and 3) at least one edge part (the edge part corresponding to 20 in Fig. 1 and 15) of the frame element (the frame structure including the fixed portion 20, the third connection portions 23 and the second actuator 16 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]), and
wherein the frame element (the frame structure including the fixed portion 20, the third connection portions 23 and the second actuator 16 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]), the drive ring (14 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0087]), the mirror element (12 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]) and the torsion spring elements (21 and 22 in Fig. 1, Fig. 15, [0074]) are formed in one piece (Fig. 1-2, [0095]), and
wherein a first electrode (the lower electrode 31 in Fig. 3, [0088-0089]) and a second electrode (the upper electrode 33 in Fig. 2-3 and Fig. 15, [0088-0089]) patterned into a plurality of actuation regions (the regions corresponding to 34A/34B/36A/36B in Fig. 2 and 1A-1D/2A-2D in Fig. 15) are applied to the drive ring (14 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0087]) and a piezoelectric layer (32 in Fig. 2-3 and Fig. 15, [0088-0089]) is arranged between the first and second electrodes (Fig. 2-3 and Fig. 15, [0088-0089]).
Regarding claims 11-14, Naono (US 2021/0223539) also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 11) the first electrode (the lower electrode 31 in Fig. 3, [0088-0089]) and at least partially the piezoelectric layer (32 in Fig. 2-3 and Fig. 15, [0088-0089]) are applied to (Fig. 2-3, [0088-0089]) the frame element (the frame structure including the fixed portion 20, the third connection portions 23 and the second actuator 16 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]).
(Claim 12) the second electrode (the upper electrode 33 in Fig. 2-3 and Fig. 15, [0088-0089]) is applied in an actuation region (the regions corresponding to 36A/36B in Fig. 2 and 2A-2D in Fig. 15) of the frame element (the frame structure including the fixed portion 20, the third connection portions 23 and the second actuator 16 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]) surrounded by an edge part (the edge part corresponding to 20 in Fig. 2 and 15) and the actuation region (the region corresponding to 36A/36B in Fig. 2 and 2A-2D in Fig. 15) has a smaller thickness than ([0096], Fig. 1 and 3) the edge part (the edge part corresponding to 20 in Fig. 2 and 15).
(Claim 13) the actuation region (the region corresponding to 36A/36B in Fig. 2 and 2A-2D in Fig. 15) is partially separated from (Fig. 1-2 and Fig. 15) the edge part (the edge part corresponding to 20 in Fig. 2 and 15) by means of at least one cut-out (the cutout between 16 and 20 in Fig. 1-2, [0095]).
(Claim 14) there are contact elements (the contact elements for 33 and 31, which are corresponding to 42A, 42B and/or 48 in Fig. 2, [0088]) on the frame element (the frame structure including the fixed portion 20, the third connection portions 23 and the second actuator 16 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]) for controlling the first and second electrodes (31 and 33 in Fig. 2-3, [0088-0089]), and actuation regions (the regions corresponding to 34A and 34B in Fig. 2) of the second electrode (the upper electrode 33 in Fig. 2-3, [0088-0089]) are connected to contact elements (the contact elements for 33, which are corresponding to 48 in Fig. 2, [0088]) via conductor tracks (the wirings 45 in Fig. 2) that run over the at least one second torsion spring element (22 in Fig. 1, [0074]).
Regarding claim 16, Naono (US 2021/0223539) teaches a piezoelectric mirror component (Fig. 1-33, [0003-0273]) comprising:
a mirror element (12 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]),
a piezoelectric drive ring (14 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0087]) which surrounds the mirror element (12 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]) and is connected to the mirror element (12 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]) via at least a first torsion spring element (21 in Fig. 1, Fig. 15, [0074]), and
a frame element (the frame structure including the fixed portion 20, the third connection portions 23 and the second actuator 16 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]), which is connected (Fig. 1 and 15) to the drive ring (14 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0087]) via at least one second torsion spring element (22 in Fig. 1, Fig. 15 [0074]),
wherein the mirror element (12 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]) and the drive ring (14 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0087]) have a smaller thickness than ([0096], Fig. 1 and 3) at least one edge part (the edge part corresponding to 20 in Fig. 1 and 15) of the frame element (the frame structure including the fixed portion 20, the third connection portions 23 and the second actuator 16 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]), and
wherein the frame element (the frame structure including the fixed portion 20, the third connection portions 23 and the second actuator 16 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]), the drive ring (14 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0087]), the mirror element (12 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]) and the torsion spring elements (21 and 22 in Fig. 1, Fig. 15, [0074]) are formed in one piece (Fig. 1-2, [0095]), and
wherein at least two third actuation regions (the regions corresponding to two adjacent electrodes of 2A-2D in Fig. 15) are arranged on the frame element (the frame structure including the fixed portion 20, the third connection portions 23 and the second actuator 16 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]) on a same side (Fig. 15) with respect to the at least one first torsion spring element (21 in Fig. 15) or the at least one second torsion spring element (22 in Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 17, Naono (US 2021/0223539) also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 17) the third driving regions (the regions corresponding to two adjacent electrodes of 2A-2D in Fig. 15) are arranged in one or more regions of the frame element (20 and 16 in Fig. 1-2 and Fig. 15, [0074]) which have a smaller thickness ([0096], Fig. 1 and 3) compared to at least one edge portion (the edge portion corresponding to 20 in Fig. 2 and 15) of the frame element (the frame structure including the fixed portion 20, the third connection portions 23 and the second actuator 16 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 15, [0074]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naono (US 2021/0223539, 1st interpretation) as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Naono (US 2017/0199375).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Naono (US 2021/0223539) teaches that the mirror element (12 in Fig. 1, [0074]) has a mirror region (the region corresponding to 12a in Fig. 2) and an edge region (the region surrounding 12a in Fig. 2) surrounding the mirror region (the region corresponding to 12a in Fig. 2), and a reflective coating ([0075]) is applied to the mirror region (the region corresponding to 12a in Fig. 2). Naono (US 2021/0223539) does not teach the following elements.
Naono (US 2017/0199375) teaches the following elements (Fig. 2, [0079]):
(Claim 5) the edge region (the region surrounding 12C/12D in Fig. 2) is partially separated from (Fig. 2) the mirror region (the region corresponding to 12C/12D in Fig. 2) by means of two cut-outs (13A and 13B in Fig. 2), and the edge region is connected to the mirror region via two connection regions (Fig. 2).
(Claim 6) the edge region (the region surrounding 12C/12D in Fig. 2) and the connection regions (Fig. 2) are free of the reflective surface material (Fig. 2, [0079]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Naono (US 2017/0199375) for the system of Naono (US 2021/0223539) such that in the system of Naono (US 2021/0223539),
(Claim 5) the edge region is partially separated from the mirror region by means of two cut-outs, and the edge region is connected to the mirror region via two connection regions.
(Claim 6) the edge region and the connection regions are free of the reflective coating.
The motivation is to suppresses dynamic deformation of the reflecting surface during scan driving (Naono (US 2017/0199375), [0079]).
Regarding claim 7, Naono (US 2021/0223539) also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 7) the mirror region (the region corresponding to 12a in Fig. 2) is circular (Fig. 2) or elliptical.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naono (US 2021/0223539, 1st interpretation) as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Keilaf (CN109997057A).
Regarding claim 15, Naono (US 2021/0223539) does not teach the following elements.
Keilaf teaches the following elements (Fig. 62, Pages 144-145 of English translation of CN109997057A):
(Claim 15) at least two electrode elements (the portions of 90611 and 90612 forming the capacitor 9061 in Fig. 62, Pages 144-145) are present which form a capacitor (Fig. 62, Pages 144-145) having a variable capacitance upon movement of the mirror element (the mirror corresponding to 9002 in Fig. 62) or the drive ring..
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Keilaf for the system of Naono (US 2021/0223539) such that in the system of Naono (US 2021/0223539),
(Claim 15) at least two electrode elements are present which form a capacitor having a variable capacitance upon movement of the mirror element or the drive ring..
The motivation is to monitor the mirror by sensing variable capacitor provided to the controller, and estimate the MEMS reflector orientation/facing (Keilaf, Page 144, Paragraph 4-5, Page 145, Paragraph 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Naono (US 2022/0043257, at least Fig. 1-4) teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as the following: a piezoelectric mirror component (Fig. 1-4) comprising: a mirror element (12 in Fig. 1 and 3-4), a piezoelectric drive ring (14 in Fig. 1 and 3-4, [0078]) which surrounds the mirror element and is connected to the mirror element via at least a first torsion spring element (21 in Fig. 1 and 3-4), and a frame element (20 in Fig. 1 and 3-4), which is connected to the drive ring (14 in Fig. 1 and 3-4, [0078]) via at least one second torsion spring element (22 in Fig. 1 and 3-4), wherein the mirror element and the drive ring have a smaller thickness than at least one edge part of the frame element ([0077], The fixing part 20 is thicker than the mirror part 12, the actuator 14, the first connecting part 21, and the second connecting part 22), and wherein the frame element, the drive ring, the mirror element, and the torsion spring elements are formed in one piece ([0076], the mirror part 12, the actuator 14, the fixing part 20, the first connecting part 21, and the second connecting part 22 are integrally formed).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAN LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871