DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the RCE filed on 06/18/2026.
Claims 11-20, 22, 25 are cancelled.
Claims 1 and 7 are amended.
Claims 1-10, 21, 23-14, and 26 are presented for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/18/2026 regarding 35 USC 101 abstract rejections in Remarks pg. 6-7 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in essence:
[a] “The amended claim 1 is not merely directed to an abstract idea falling under the "mental process" judicial exception. The claim 1 further imposes a concrete limitation: after the first network element selects an Al network element from the Al service list, the first network element triggers the selected Al network element to perform the Al service, which enables the first network element to practically use the Al service provided by the Al network element. Stated differently, the amended claim 1 covers a practical application of the Al service.” Pg. 6 of Remarks.
In response to [a], examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 recites the concepts of generating a service list based on a total set of services based on a request, and selection of a service from the generated service list. This is a process that can be performed mentally, as a person using their mind and/or pen and paper can determine applicable services from a total set of services and then select a single service from amongst the determined services.
Secondly, applicant argues that by triggering the selected service this provides practical application of the abstract idea, however examiner respectfully disagrees. The consideration of practical application as described in the mpep goes beyond that of merely applying the result of the practical application. For example in MPEP 2106.04(d) 1. “The courts have also identified limitations that did not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application: Merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(f)”, shows that by merely applying the result of the judicial exception did not result in integration into a practical application. In this case triggering the determined service is equivalent to “apply it”, in that the determined service from the abstract idea is merely activated.
2105.06(f) (1) “By way of example, in Intellectual Ventures I v. Capital One Fin. Corp., 850 F.3d 1332, 121 USPQ2d 1940 (Fed. Cir. 2017), the steps in the claims described "the creation of a dynamic document based upon ‘management record types’ and ‘primary record types.’" 850 F.3d at 1339-40; 121 USPQ2d at 1945-46. The claims were found to be directed to the abstract idea of "collecting, displaying, and manipulating data." 850 F.3d at 1340; 121 USPQ2d at 1946. In addition to the abstract idea, the claims also recited the additional element of modifying the underlying XML document in response to modifications made in the dynamic document. 850 F.3d at 1342; 121 USPQ2d at 1947-48. Although the claims purported to modify the underlying XML document in response to modifications made in the dynamic document, nothing in the claims indicated what specific steps were undertaken other than merely using the abstract idea in the context of XML documents. The court thus held the claims ineligible, because the additional limitations provided only a result-oriented solution and lacked details as to how the computer performed the modifications, which was equivalent to the words "apply it". 850 F.3d at 1341-42; 121 USPQ2d at 1947-48 (citing Electric Power Group., 830 F.3d at 1356, 1356, USPQ2d at 1743-44 (cautioning against claims "so result focused, so functional, as to effectively cover any solution to an identified problem")).”
Similar to the case above, the claims merely state the abstract idea of selecting the service ID and afterwards triggering its activation in the context of service requesting. This is merely a result of the selection mental step, lacking details how the triggering of the service is changed or different based on the abstract idea, similar to the analysis in the example above.
Therefore because of at least the reasons above, examiner maintains the rejection under 35 USC 101 abstract idea.
[b] “Even assuming arguendo that the claim could be categorized as reciting an abstract concept, the amended claim 1 integrates the otherwise excepted abstract idea into a practical application, and recites additional technical features that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea in isolation. For the foregoing reasons, the amended claim 1 complies with the eligibility requirements set forth under 35 U.S.C. § 101.” Pg. 6 of Remarks.
In response to [b], examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding practical application, the consideration of practical application as described in the mpep goes beyond that of merely applying the result of the practical application. For example in MPEP 2106.04(d) 1. “The courts have also identified limitations that did not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application: Merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(f)”, shows that by merely applying the result of the judicial exception did not result in integration into a practical application. In this case triggering the determined service is equivalent to “apply it”, in that the determined service is merely activated.
Regarding the other features of the Claim, the steps of obtaining and feeding back, these are merely extra solution activities that are performed in order to perform the abstract idea. The obtaining step merely obtains the service that make up the candidate service list, and the feeding back step merely provides to the first network element the service list that the service is selected from. In both cases the steps amount to collecting or generally obtaining the information that the abstract idea is performed on.
Therefore examiner respectfully disagrees and maintains abstract idea rejection, explained in more detail below.
[c] “For similar reasons set forth above, the amended claim 7 likewise complies with the eligibility requirements set forth under 35 U.S.C. § 101. Amended claims 5, 9, 21, 23-24, and 26 depend either directly or indirectly from the amended claims 1 and 7. Therefore, none of the pending claims are directed solely to an abstract idea. Even assuming arguendo that any of these claims could be characterized as reciting an abstract concept, all such claims integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and include additional technical features that constitute significantly more than the abstract idea itself, rendering all pending claims eligible under 35 U.S.C. § 101.” Pg. 7 of Remarks.
In response to [c], examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues that Claim 7 is eligible under 35 USC 101 abstract idea for the same reasons as claim 1 as set forth in previous arguments, however examiner maintains rejection in view of 35 USC 101 abstract idea for claim 1 and addresses arguments above. Therefore examiner maintains rejection in view of 35 USC 101 abstract idea.
Applicant further argues each dependent claim integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and include limitations that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, however provides no specific examples or arguments regarding these limitations. Therefore examiner maintains rejection in view of the same rejection for these limitations as set forth below.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 USC 103 rejections to the claims in Remarks pg. 7-10 on 06/18/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Arguments are directed towards the functionality of “selecting an AI service that matches the AI service information from the AI service list” prior to determination of the network element that would provide that selected service, however new prior art Cai et al. (hereinafter Cai, US 2020/0028921 A1) is relied upon for this concept. Therefore arguments are moot, and updated rejection is explained in more detail below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 9, 21, 23-24, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claims 1, 21 and 23 recite in part “An artificial intelligence (Al) service providing method… generating a candidate Al service list; … generating an Al service list corresponding to the first network element based on the Al service query request and the candidate Al service list; and … wherein the first network element selects an Al service that matches required Al service information of a terminal from the Al service list, determines at least one Al network element corresponding to the Al service.”
The limitations as drafted above is a process that under broadest reasonable interpretation covers performance of the limitations in the mind, but for recitation of generic computer component and extra solution activities. That is, other than the limitations of “a network repository function (NRF) network element… obtaining an Al service provided by an Al network element… receiving an Al service query request from a first network element … and feeding back the Al service list to the first network element… triggers the at least one Al network element to perform the Al service” “A communication apparatus comprising: a processor, and a memory having computer programs stored thereon, wherein when the computer programs are executed by the processor”, and “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon” the claim comprises limitations that can be performed in the human mind and/or using pen or paper. In this case, a person can reasonably determine available services, determine a subset of those services that are relevant to a request, and selecting a service among the subset of services. If a claim under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic components and extra solution activities, then it falls within “mental processes” grouping of abstract idea. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular the claims on recite the additional features of “a network repository function (NRF) network element… obtaining an Al service provided by an Al network element… receiving an Al service query request from a first network element … and feeding back the Al service list to the first network element… triggers the at least one Al network element to perform the Al service”, “A communication apparatus comprising: a processor, and a memory having computer programs stored thereon, wherein when the computer programs are executed by the processor”, and “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon”. Regarding the steps of “obtaining an Al service provided by an Al network element… receiving an Al service query request from a first network element … and feeding back the Al service list to the first network element… triggers the at least one Al network element to perform the Al service”, these are merely sending and receiving of information that are merely extra solution activities that initiate the abstract idea by obtaining the information required to perform the abstract idea and outputting the results of the abstract idea. Regarding the elements of “A communication apparatus comprising: a processor, and a memory having computer programs stored thereon, wherein when the computer programs are executed by the processor”, and “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon”, these are generic computer hardware elements recited as performing routine activities. Regarding the first network element, it is merely a generic hardware or software element that performs the extra solution activity in the network. Regarding the NRF network element it is merely a hardware or software element in the network that acts as a storage for the services, performing the abstract idea and extra solution activities in the claim. Regarding the AI services themselves, it is merely a description of the type of service that is listed in the service list, and not recited as using AI/machine learning in a meaningful way that affects the performance of the abstract idea. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are therefore directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed in respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the elements of “a network repository function (NRF) network element… obtaining an Al service provided by an Al network element… receiving an Al service query request from a first network element … and feeding back the Al service list to the first network element… triggers the at least one Al network element to perform the Al service”, “A communication apparatus comprising: a processor, and a memory having computer programs stored thereon, wherein when the computer programs are executed by the processor”, and “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon” amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to generic network elements, generic computer elements and extra solution activities. Further, the concept of an NRF is well known since at least 2016, as described in Son et al. US 2018/0103368, being described in para.0011, Mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to generic/well-known hardware/software components and extra solution activities cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 7, 24, and 26, they recite in part “An artificial intelligence (Al) service providing method, selecting an Al service that matches the Al service information from the Al service list, determining at least one Al network element corresponding to the Al service.”
The limitations as drafted above is a process that under broadest reasonable interpretation covers performance of the limitations in the mind, but for recitation of generic computer component and extra solution activities. That is, other than the limitations of “a first network element…receiving an Al service request from a terminal device, wherein the Al service request comprises required Al service information; sending an Al service query request to a network repository function (NRF) network element; receiving an Al service list fed back by the NRF network element, … sending a policy request to the Al network element… triggering the at least one Al network element to perform the Al service”, “A communication apparatus comprising: a processor, and a memory having computer programs stored thereon, wherein when the computer programs are executed by the processor”, “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon” the claim comprises limitations that can be performed in the human mind and/or using pen or paper. In this case, a person can reasonably select a service amongst a list of services, and determine a provider for that service. If a claim under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic components and extra solution activities, then it falls within “mental processes” grouping of abstract idea. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular the claims on recite the additional features of “a first network element…receiving an Al service request from a terminal device, wherein the Al service request comprises required Al service information; sending an Al service query request to a network repository function (NRF) network element; receiving an Al service list fed back by the NRF network element, … sending a policy request to the Al network element… triggering the at least one Al network element to perform the Al service”, “A communication apparatus comprising: a processor, and a memory having computer programs stored thereon, wherein when the computer programs are executed by the processor”, “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon”. Regarding the steps of “receiving an Al service request from a terminal device, wherein the Al service request comprises required Al service information; sending an Al service query request to a network repository function (NRF) network element; receiving an Al service list fed back by the NRF network element, … sending a policy request to the Al network element… triggering the at least one Al network element to perform the Al service”, these are merely sending and receiving of information that are merely extra solution activities that initiate the abstract idea by obtaining the information required to perform the abstract idea and outputting the results of the abstract idea. Regarding the elements of “first a network element”, “A communication apparatus comprising: a processor, and a memory having computer programs stored thereon, wherein when the computer programs are executed by the processor”, “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon”, these are generic computer hardware elements recited as performing routine activities. Regarding the NRF network element it is merely a hardware or software element in the network that acts as a storage for the services, performing the abstract idea and extra solution activities in the claim. Regarding the AI services themselves, it is merely a description of the type of service that is listed in the service list, and not recited as using AI/machine learning in a meaningful way that affects the performance of the abstract idea. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are therefore directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed in respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the elements of “a first network element…receiving an Al service request from a terminal device, wherein the Al service request comprises required Al service information; sending an Al service query request to a network repository function (NRF) network element; receiving an Al service list fed back by the NRF network element, … sending a policy request to the Al network element… triggering the at least one Al network element to perform the Al service”, “A communication apparatus comprising: a processor, and a memory having computer programs stored thereon, wherein when the computer programs are executed by the processor”, “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon” amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to generic network elements, generic computer elements and extra solution activities. Further, the concept of an NRF is well known since at least 2016, as described in Son et al. US 2018/0103368, being described in para.0011, Mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to generic/well-known hardware/software components and extra solution activities cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Regarding Claims, 2, 5, 9, 14 they recite in part “generating the candidate Al service list based on the registration request” “obtaining a network function and an Al service that the network function supports in the Al service query request; and generating the Al service list by performing filtering and matching on the candidate Al service list based on the network function and the Al service that the network function supports in the Al service query request”
The limitations as drafted above is a process that under broadest reasonable interpretation covers performance of the limitations in the mind, but for recitation of generic computer component and extra solution activities. That is, other than the limitations of “receiving a registration request from the Al network element, wherein the registration request comprises at least one Al service provided by the Al network element” “receiving policy information fed back by the Al network element, wherein the policy information is generated by the Al service; and sending the policy information to the terminal device” “wherein the policy information is generated;” the claims comprise limitations that can be performed in the human mind and/or using pen or paper. In this case, a person can reasonably analyze a request, determine an appropriate list of service based on the request by filtering and matching the request to known services, and determine policies in view of information. If a claim under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic components and extra solution activities, then it falls within “mental processes” grouping of abstract idea. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular the claims on recite the additional features of “receiving a registration request from the Al network element, wherein the registration request comprises at least one Al service provided by the Al network element” “receiving policy information fed back by the Al network element, wherein the policy information is generated by the Al service; and sending the policy information to the terminal device” “receiving Al service information of a terminal device sent by a first network element… and sending the policy information to the first network element.” Regarding the steps of “receiving a registration request from the Al network element, wherein the registration request comprises at least one Al service provided by the Al network element” “receiving policy information fed back by the Al network element, and sending the policy information to the terminal device” these are merely sending and receiving of information that are merely extra solution activities that initiate the abstract idea by obtaining the information required to perform the abstract idea and outputting the results of the abstract idea. Regarding the step of “wherein the policy information is generated by the Al service;”, the AI service is merely generic software that performs the abstract idea, in this case determining policy information. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are therefore directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed in respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the elements of “receiving a registration request from the Al network element, wherein the registration request comprises at least one Al service provided by the Al network element” “receiving policy information fed back by the Al network element, wherein the policy information is generated by the Al service; and sending the policy information to the terminal device” amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to generic network elements, generic computer elements and extra solution activities. Mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to generic hardware/software components and extra solution activities cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 21, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee, US 2022/0108214 A1) in view of Cai et al. (hereinafter Cai, US 2020/0028921 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses An artificial intelligence (Al) service providing method, applied to a network repository function (NRF) network element (Lee para.0008 “invoking, from an NRF device, an ML model discovery request service operation, invoking, from the NRF device, a discovery response service operation with respect to the ML model discovery request service operation” the NRF provides machine learning services to a requesting device. Examiner notes applicants specification para.0074 “For example, the Al service provided by the AI network element may include machine learning (ML)” includes machine learning as an AI service), comprising:
obtaining an Al service provided by an Al network element (Lee para.0010 “The NRF device may be configured to store an NF profile for the MTLF by invoking, from the second NWDAF device, a registration request service operation with an NF, and the registration request service operation may include at least one of (i) a list of Analytic IDs, (ii) a supported service, (iii) a serving area, (iv) S-NSSAI, and (v) ML model information including at least one of an ML model file address, an ML model file, a model ID, and a model version.” Via a registration operation, the NRF obtains a machine learning model from an NWDAF/MTLF device)
receiving an Al service query request from a first network element (Lee: para.0008 “According to an aspect, there is provided a method for discovering an ML model, the method performed by a first NWDAF device including invoking, from an NRF device, an ML model discovery request service operation,”);
generating an Al service list corresponding to the first network element based on the Al service query request and registered services (Lee: para.0238 “When the NWDAF device 801 needs to search for the NWDAF device 803 with a data collection exposure capability, the NWDAF device 801 may search for, through the NRF device 802, the NWDAF device 803 that provides an Nnwdaf DataManagement service operation and an ID of a related NF type data source or related NF set data source.” Para.0239 “In order to search for the NWDAF device 803 that performs the MTLF, the NWDAF device 801 that performs the MTLF may include at least one of analytics filter information, a trainable and providable ML model ID, an ML model version, and an ML model aggregation capability with respect to an ML model” para.0240 “During discovery of the NWDAF device 803 that performs the MTLF, the NRF device 802 may return instances of one or more candidate NWDAF devices 803 to an NF consumer, and an instance of each candidate NWDAF device 803 may include analytics filter information on an ML model of an initial model that is untrained or an ML model that is trained for each Analytic ID.” Based on the service query request from the NWDAF device, matching instances of NWDAF devices that provides a list of the NWDAF devices for the requested NFs providing Machine learning services, from the NWDAF devices that have registered with the NRF earlier in Fig. 8 in step 1-3)
feeding back the Al service list to the first network element (Lee: para.0008 “invoking, from the NRF device, a discovery response service operation with respect to the ML model discovery request service operation” para.0129 “During discovery of the NWDAF device 403 that supports the MTLF, the NRF device 402 may return instances of one or more candidate NWDAF devices 403 to an NF consumer,” each NWDAF device supports one or more machine learning models as seen in para.0010 wherein each NWDAF registers an ML model, and a discovery response, such that that of step 5 in Fig. 4, may include a plurality of instances, i.e. an AI service list.),
wherein the first network element determines at least one AI network element corresponding to the AI service, and triggers the at least one AI network element to provide the AI service (Lee: para.0008 “a discovery response service operation with respect to the ML model discovery request service operation, and selecting an NWDAF instance included in the discovery response service operation” see also para.0120-0121 “ In response to discovery, alternatively, when the NWDAF device 401 receives NWDAF device(s) 403 having an aggregation capability (for example, an ML model aggregation capability and an ML model update capability), the NWDAF device 401 may preferably select the NWDAF device 403 having an aggregation capability (for example, an ML model aggregation capability and an ML model update capability) with a large serving area.” In response to the discovery response, the device 401 selects a NWDAF providing the appropriate machine learning model service.).
However Lee does not explicitly disclose generating a candidate Al service list; generating an Al service list corresponding to the first network element based on the Al service query request and the candidate Al service list; wherein the first network element selects an AI service that matches required AI service information of a terminal from the AI service list; triggers the at least one AI network element to perform the AI service.
Cai discloses generating a candidate service list (Cai: para.0042 “Para.0042 “In some embodiments, after discovering various NFs providable by each NF provider, the NRF device establishes a mapping relationship between the service ID of each NF and the ID of the NF provider through data filtering and the like. In this case, after the NRF device receives the service discovery request, the NRF device may quickly determine the NF providers capable of providing the service requested by the NF requester by querying the mapping relationship.” The NRF generates a mapping relationship between NF providers and their service IDs, i.e. a candidate service list);
generating an service list corresponding to the first network element based on the service list query request and the candidate service list (Cai: para.0123 “In operation S3, the NF requester sends a service discovery request; here, the service discovery request carries a service ID of the target service A (optionally, carrying the type of the NF provider).” Para.0124 “ In operation S4, the NRF queries, based on the service ID of the target service A, for an ID or a type of an NF provider capable of providing a corresponding service and a service ID list providable by the NF provider, and returns the ID or type of the NF provider and the service ID list to the NF requester.” Para.0045 “After the NRF queries that the service requested by the NF requester can be provided by an NF provider, the NRF provides the NF requester with the ID of the NF provider. The ID of the NF provider may be used for the NF requester to directly or indirectly access the NF provider, thereby obtaining a corresponding NF. In the present embodiment, a service ID list of the NFs providable by the NF provider may also be sent to the NF requester. In this case, the NF requester will receive a service ID list of all available NFs at the NF provider.” Based on the request from the NF requester and the mapping of service IDs to NFs in the mapping relationship, a service ID list may be generated.);
feeding back the service list to the first network element (Cai: Para.0124 “ In operation S4, the NRF queries, based on the service ID of the target service A, for an ID or a type of an NF provider capable of providing a corresponding service and a service ID list providable by the NF provider, and returns the ID or type of the NF provider and the service ID list to the NF requester.” para.0045 “In the present embodiment, a service ID list of the NFs providable by the NF provider may also be sent to the NF requester. In this case, the NF requester will receive a service ID list of all available NFs at the NF provider.” The service ID list is sent to the NF requester),
wherein the first network element selects a service that matches required service information of a terminal from the service list (Cai: Para.0045 “After receiving the service discovery response, the NF requester stores the service ID list, so that if the NF requester needs the NF next time, it can be queried whether the locally stored service ID list has a corresponding NF service ID. If there is a corresponding NF service ID in the locally stored service ID list, it is considered that the NF provider can provide the corresponding NF.” Para.0136 “ In operation S18, the NF requester looks up the service ID list to determine whether the service ID list includes the ID of the target service A, and determine whether to request a service from the NF provider.” The NF requester selects a service ID from the service ID list that matches the service ID in the original request. Fig. 7. Para.0049 “In some embodiments, the service discovery request further includes predetermined information. The predetermined information includes at least one of related information of the NF requester or related information of user equipment (UE) connected to the NF requester. The related information of the NF requester includes at least one of an ID of the NF requester, a type of the NF requester, or a type of a network slicing to which the NF requester belong” The service ID request is in view of a particular UE, and therefore the service ID is information of a terminal, and that same service ID is used to determine a matching service ID from the service ID list.),
determines at least one network element corresponding to the service, and triggers the at least one network element to perform the service (Cai: para.0126 “In operation S6, the NF requester sends a service request carrying the ID of the target service A to the NF provider based on the ID of the NF provider to request the corresponding NF service from the NF provider.” Para.0045 “After receiving the service discovery response, the NF requester stores the service ID list, so that if the NF requester needs the NF next time, it can be queried whether the locally stored service ID list has a corresponding NF service ID. If there is a corresponding NF service ID in the locally stored service ID list, it is considered that the NF provider can provide the corresponding NF. The NF provider may be accessed again by the NF requester based on the ID of the NF provider previously received from the NRF, and it is requested to provide the NF required by the NF requester.” After selecting the service ID, corresponding NF provider is determined and requested to provide the NF, i.e. perform the service).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Lee with Cai in order to incorporate generating a candidate service list; generating an service list corresponding to the first network element based on the service list query request and the candidate service list; feeding back the service list to the first network element; wherein the first network element selects a service that matches required service information of a terminal from the service list; determines at least one network element corresponding to the service, and triggers the at least one network element to perform the service, and apply this concept to AI services, AI network element, and SI service information as in Lee.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of reducing the number of times an NRF may be queried for information by providing each service that an NF provider provides in addition to the services requested and reducing the burden at the NF provider by requesting the NF provider to perform the service (Cai: para.0045)
Regarding Claim 5, Lee-Cai discloses claim 1 as set forth above.
Lee further discloses wherein generating the Al service list corresponding to the first network element based on the Al service query request and the registered services, comprises: obtaining a network function and an Al service that the network function supports in the Al service query request (Lee: para.0245 “In operation 4, the NWDAF device 801 may invoke, from the NRF device 802, a request service operation (Nnrf_NFDiscovery_Request) for searching for the NWDAF device 803. At this time, the request service operation may include at least one of (i) a list of supported Analytic IDs, (ii) a service supported by the NWDAF device 803 (for example, an Nnwdaf_MLModelProvision service and an Nnwdaf_MLModelInfo service), (iii) a serving area where an ML model is provided, (iv) S-NSSAI, (v) ML model information including at least one of an ML model file address, an ML model file, a model ID, and a model version, and (vi) a federation learning capability (aggregation capability for a result of training an ML model (for example, an ML model update capability)).” Para.0134 “An Analytic ID, A supportable service for each Analytic ID (for example, an ML model provision/training service)” The network function of the machine learning model is the analytic ID, and supportable services for each analytic id, is provided in the request service operation); and
generating the Al service list by performing filtering and matching on the registered services based on the network function and the Al service that the network function supports in the Al service query request (Lee: para.0238 “When the NWDAF device 801 needs to search for the NWDAF device 803 with a data collection exposure capability, the NWDAF device 801 may search for, through the NRF device 802, the NWDAF device 803 that provides an Nnwdaf DataManagement service operation and an ID of a related NF type data source or related NF set data source.” Para.0239 “In order to search for the NWDAF device 803 that performs the MTLF, the NWDAF device 801 that performs the MTLF may include at least one of analytics filter information, a trainable and providable ML model ID, an ML model version, and an ML model aggregation capability with respect to an ML model” para.0240 “During discovery of the NWDAF device 803 that performs the MTLF, the NRF device 802 may return instances of one or more candidate NWDAF devices 803 to an NF consumer, and an instance of each candidate NWDAF device 803 may include analytics filter information on an ML model of an initial model that is untrained or an ML model that is trained for each Analytic ID.” Based on the service query request from the NWDAF device, matching instances of NWDAF devices that provides a list of the NWDAF devices for the requested NFs providing Machine learning services, from the NWDAF devices that have registered with the NRF earlier in Fig. 8 in step 1-3 that matches the query).
However Lee does not explicitly disclose generating the Al service list by performing filtering and matching on the candidate Al service list based on the network function and the Al service that the network function supports in the Al service query request.
Cai discloses generating the service list by performing filtering and matching on the candidate service list based on the network function and the service that the network function supports in the service query request (Cai: para.0123 “In operation S3, the NF requester sends a service discovery request; here, the service discovery request carries a service ID of the target service A (optionally, carrying the type of the NF provider).” Para.0124 “ In operation S4, the NRF queries, based on the service ID of the target service A, for an ID or a type of an NF provider capable of providing a corresponding service and a service ID list providable by the NF provider, and returns the ID or type of the NF provider and the service ID list to the NF requester.” Para.0045 “After the NRF queries that the service requested by the NF requester can be provided by an NF provider, the NRF provides the NF requester with the ID of the NF provider. The ID of the NF provider may be used for the NF requester to directly or indirectly access the NF provider, thereby obtaining a corresponding NF. In the present embodiment, a service ID list of the NFs providable by the NF provider may also be sent to the NF requester. In this case, the NF requester will receive a service ID list of all available NFs at the NF provider.” Based on the request from the NF requester and the mapping of service IDs to NFs in the mapping relationship, a service ID list may be generated, involving filtering those service IDs that do not match, and matching the service IDs of the NFs to the service ID of the request..).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Lee with Cai in order to incorporate generating the service list by performing filtering and matching on the candidate service list based on the network function and the service that the network function supports in the service query request and apply this concept to AI services, AI network element, and SI service information as in Lee.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of reducing the number of times an NRF may be queried for information by providing each service that an NF provider provides in addition to the services requested and reducing the burden at the NF provider by requesting the NF provider to perform the service (Cai: para.0045)
Regarding Claim 21, Lee-Cai discloses the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Lee further discloses A communication apparatus comprising: a processor, and a memory having computer programs stored thereon, wherein when the computer programs are executed by the processor, the communication apparatus is caused to perform the method (Lee: para.0382-0383).
Regarding Claim 23, Lee-Cai discloses claim 1 as set forth above.
Lee further discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon, wherein when the instructions are executed, the method (Lee: para.0383-0384).
Claim(s) 2-4, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee, US 2022/0108214 A1) in view of Cai et al. (hereinafter Cai, US 2020/0028921 A1) in view of Sapra et al. (hereinafter Sapra, US 2022/0286949 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee-Cai discloses claim 1 as set forth above.
Lee further discloses wherein obtaining the Al service provided by the Al network element comprise: receiving a registration request from the Al network element, wherein the registration request comprises at least one Al service provided by the Al network element (Lee para.0010 “The NRF device may be configured to store an NF profile for the MTLF by invoking, from the second NWDAF device, a registration request service operation with an NF, and the registration request service operation may include at least one of (i) a list of Analytic IDs, (ii) a supported service, (iii) a serving area, (iv) S-NSSAI, and (v) ML model information including at least one of an ML model file address, an ML model file, a model ID, and a model version.” Via a registration operation, the NRF obtains a machine learning model from an NWDAF/MTLF device via a registration operation including the ML model file and information regarding the ML model).
However Lee-Cai does not explicitly disclose wherein generating the candidate Al service list, comprise: generating the candidate Al service list based on the registration request.
Sapra discloses wherein generating the candidate service list, comprise: generating the candidate service list based on the registration request (Sapra: para.0036 “For example, producer NF 240 can send a NF register message (not shown) to NRF 200 that indicates the producer NF's provided network service 210, PLMN, network slice (if applicable), locality, and other NF specific information. NRF 200 may be configured to store the NF registration information as NF profile objects in a local NF profile repository (NFPR) 208.” Para.0060 “In some embodiments, the NRF accesses a NF profile repository containing a list of NF profiles corresponding to producer NFs that have previously registered with the NRF.” When an NF register message is received, it is recorded into the NF profile repository, thereby generating the candidate service list. For example the new NF can be added to an existing list, generating a candidate service list, or this may be the first NF to register, also generating a candidate service list).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lee-Cai and Sapra in order to incorporate wherein generating the candidate service list, comprise: generating the candidate service list based on the registration request, and apply this concept to the AI services of Lee.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improving NF service discovery (Sapra: para.0001).
Regarding Claim 3, Lee-Cai-Sapra discloses claim 2 as set forth above.
Lee further discloses wherein the registration request is an Nnrf_NFManagement_NFRegister request (Lee: para.0242 “In operation 1, the NWDAF device 803 may invoke, from the NRF device 802, a registration service operation (Nnrf_NFManagement_NFRegister request) for the NWDAF device 803. ” Fig. 8, and Fig. 4 shows the Nnrf_NFManagement_NFRegister request).
Regarding Claim 4, Lee-Cai-Sapra discloses claim 2 as set forth above.
Lee further discloses wherein after receiving the registration request from the Al network element, the method further comprises: sending an Nnrf_NFManagementNFRegister response to the Al network element (Lee: para.0244 “In operation 3, the NRF device 802 may invoke, from the NWDAF device 803, a registration response service operation (Nnrf_NFManagement_NFRegister response).” An Nnrf_NFManagement_NFRegister response is sent in response to the registration).
Regarding Claim 6, Lee-Cai-Sapra discloses claim 1 as set forth above.
However Lee-Cai does not explicitly disclose wherein the Al service query request is received via an HTTP GET message, and the Al service list is sent to the first network element via an HTTP RESPONSE message.
Sapra discloses wherein the service query request is received via an HTTP GET message (Sapra: para.0038 “In particular, consumer NF 202 can send a single NFdiscovery request message that requests discovery of a plurality of producer NF types. Notably, the single NF discover request message includes an indication or notation (e.g., a “multiple NF discovery requests” tag) in a customized header portion of the message. In some embodiments, the NF discovery request message comprises an HTTP GET request message that is sent by the NF service consumer to the NRF.” The service discovery is send via an HTTP GET request message),
and the service list is sent to the first network element via an HTTP RESPONSE message (Sapra: para.0056 “FIG. 5 also illustrates an NF discovery response message 509 that may be generated by an NRF in response to receiving an NF discovery request message 501 or 505. In some embodiments, discovery response message 509 is an HTTP response message generated by the NRF. Notably, message portion 510 is a customer header portion of the discovery response message 509 and includes an indication that the “MultipleDiscoveryRequests” feature is indeed supported by the sending entity (e.g., the NRF). NF discovery response message 509 further includes body portion 512 that contains a plurality of NF profiles.” In response to the discovery request, an HTTP response message may be received comprising a plurality of NF profiles, i.e. the service list.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lee-Cai with Sapra to incorporate wherein the service query request is received via an HTTP GET message, and the service list is sent to the first network element via an HTTP RESPONSE message, and apply this technique to the AI services in Lee, and thereby perform the simple substitution of (using NNRF discovery requests and responses with an NRF) in Lee with (using HTTP get and response messages with an NRF) in Sapra.
The simple substitution of (using NNRF discovery requests and responses with an NRF) for another (using HTTP get and response messages with an NRF) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because the substitution would have yielded predictable results, namely, obtaining services registered at the NRF (Lee: para.0242-0244, and Sapra: para.0038, para.0056).
Claim(s) 7, 9, 24, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karampatsis et al. (hereinafter Kar, US 2023/0345297 A1) in view of Cai et al. (hereinafter Cai, US 2020/0028921 A1) in view of Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee2, US 2020/0396678 A1) in view of Li (US 2022/0408280 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Kar discloses An artificial intelligence (Al) service providing method, applied to a first network element (Kar: Fig. 3A para.0076 method of Fig. 3A providing ML services by AGF-NWDAF 255, the first network element), comprising:
receiving an Al service request from a terminal device, wherein the Al service request comprises required Al service information (Kar: para.0079 “At Step 1, a consumer NF 210 requests analytics from an AGF-NWDAF 255 (see messaging 319). In some embodiments, the consumer NF 210 may subscribe to notifications of Analytic Output feedback, i.e. provide feedback whether previously provided analytics validity time or confidence level changes.” Para.0081 “ At Step 2, the AGF-NWDAF 255 determines the training ML model required based on the requested Analytic ID (see block 321)” Consumer NF sends to the AGF-NWDAF required ai service information, i.e. regarding the ML model, such as analytic ID);
sending an Al service query request to a network repository function (NRF) network element (Kar: para.0083 “At Step 4, the AGF-NWDAF 255 sends an Nnrf_discovery request including the NF-type set to the NRF 301 and may also include the Analytic ID for the requested ML model (see messaging 325).” The AGF sends to the NRF a discovery request for the ML model);
receiving an Al service list fed back by the NRF network element (Kar: para.0084 “At Step 5, the NRF 301 provides a list of MMTF-NWDAFs 260 that contains trained ML models for this Analytic ID (see messaging 327).” A list of the NWDAFs comprising the ML models is received, i.e. the ai service list.); and
determining at least one Al network element corresponding to the Al service (Kar: para.0084 “At Step 5, the NRF 301 provides a list of MMTF-NWDAFs 260 that contains trained ML models for this Analytic ID (see messaging 327).” para.0085 “At Step 6, the AGF-NWDAF 255 requests the ML model from the MMTF-NWDAF 260 using a new service-based Nnwdaf procedure, e.g., sending a Nnwdaf_Model_Request message (see messaging 329).” An MMTF NWDAF is selected from the list received in step 5, and a request is sent in step 6.).
However, while Kar discloses a PCF, policy control function, Kar does not explicitly disclose selecting an Al service that matches the Al service information from the Al service list, sending a policy request to the Al network element, and triggering the at least one AI network element to perform the AI service.
Cai discloses selecting a service that matches the service information from the service list (Cai: Para.0045 “After receiving the service discovery response, the NF requester stores the service ID list, so that if the NF requester needs the NF next time, it can be queried whether the locally stored service ID list has a corresponding NF service ID. If there is a corresponding NF service ID in the locally stored service ID list, it is considered that the NF provider can provide the corresponding NF.” Para.0136 “ In operation S18, the NF requester looks up the service ID list to determine whether the service ID list includes the ID of the target service A, and determine whether to request a service from the NF provider.” The NF requester selects a service ID from the service ID list that matches the service ID in the original request. Fig. 7. Para.0049 “In some embodiments, the service discovery request further includes predetermined information. The predetermined information includes at least one of related information of the NF requester or related information of user equipment (UE) connected to the NF requester. The related information of the NF requester includes at least one of an ID of the NF requester, a type of the NF requester, or a type of a network slicing to which the NF requester belong” The service ID request is in view of a particular UE, and therefore the service ID is information of a terminal, and that same service ID is used to determine a matching service ID from the service ID list.),
determining at least one network element corresponding to the service, and triggering the at least one network element to perform the service (Cai: para.0126 “In operation S6, the NF requester sends a service request carrying the ID of the target service A to the NF provider based on the ID of the NF provider to request the corresponding NF service from the NF provider.” Para.0045 “After receiving the service discovery response, the NF requester stores the service ID list, so that if the NF requester needs the NF next time, it can be queried whether the locally stored service ID list has a corresponding NF service ID. If there is a corresponding NF service ID in the locally stored service ID list, it is considered that the NF provider can provide the corresponding NF. The NF provider may be accessed again by the NF requester based on the ID of the NF provider previously received from the NRF, and it is requested to provide the NF required by the NF requester.” After selecting the service ID, corresponding NF provider is determined and requested to provide the NF, i.e. perform the service).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Lee with Cai in order to incorporate selecting a service that matches the service information from the service list; determining at least one network element corresponding to the service, and triggering the at least one network element to perform the service and apply this concept to AI services, AI network element, and SI service information as in Lee.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of reducing the number of times an NRF may be queried for information by providing each service that an NF provider provides in addition to the services requested and reducing the burden at the NF provider by requesting the NF provider to perform the service (Cai: para.0045)
However Kar-Cai does not explicitly disclose sending a policy request to the Al network element,
Lee2 discloses selecting a service that matches the terminal device information from the service list (Lee2: para.0055 “For example, in operation 227a, in the case where the AMF 120 requests discovering a PCF capable of performing DNN replacement for the UE 100, the NRF 300 may select one or more PCFs capable of performing DNN replacement among PCFs registered in the NRF 300. In addition, the NRF 300 may select one or more PCFs, close to the current location of the UE 100 and/or the location of the AMF 120, among one or more PCFs capable of performing DNN replacement. The Nnrf_NFDiscovery response message, which is transmitted by the NRF 300 to the AMF 120 in operation 227c, may include one or more pieces of PCF information selected by the NRF 300 (for example, the NF ID of the PCF, and NF services supported by the PCF… The AMF 120 may select one PCF based on PCF information received from the NRF 300…. Alternatively, in the case where multiple pieces of PCF information are received from the NRF 300, the AMF 120 may select a PCF based on the local configuration of the AMF 120, the location of the UE 100, and the location of the PCF and the like.” A plurality of PCFs and services provided by each PCF is obtained. The AMF then selects a PCF based on the information provided, i.e. including the service information, based on the information of the UE that the AMF serves.)
sending a policy request to the network element (Lee: para.0057 “In operations 230a to 236ba, Npcf_AMPolicyControl_Create to Npcf_UEPolicyControl_Create message, transmitted by the AMF 120 to the PCF 140” a policy request is then sent to the selected PCF)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Kar with Lee2 in order to incorporate sending a policy request to the network element, and apply this concept to the AI services and the AI network element of Kar-Cai, such that the requesting device may have access to the PCF 134 in Fig. 1 of Kar.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit improving communication (Lee2: para.0003, para.0011-0012).
However Kar-Cai-Lee2 does not explicitly disclose sending a policy request to the Al network element, in other words Kar-Cai-Lee2 does not explicitly disclose an AI network element that provides a policy.
Li discloses the Al network element (Li: para.0044 “In a first version of the fifth-generation (5G) standard, an NWDAF entity based on machine learning is used by the third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) as a basis for a network slice selection function and a policy control function. In other words, execution of the network slice selection function and the policy control function depends on the NWDAF entity.” The NWDAF entity is machine learning based, and implements a policy control function.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Kar-Cai-Lee2 with Li in order to incorporate the AI network element of a PCF.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit that comes with machine learning such as learning and improving based on collected metrics (Li: para.0044).
Regarding Claim 9, Kar-Cai-Lee2-Li discloses claim 7 as set forth above.
However Kar-Cai does not explicitly disclose receiving policy information fed back by the Al network element, wherein the policy information is generated by the Al service; and sending the policy information to the terminal device.
Lee2 discloses receiving policy information fed back by the network element, wherein the policy information is generated by the service (Lee: para.0091 “In operation 509, the PCF 140 may transmit a Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer message to the AMF 120. The policy container included in the Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer message may include at least one of DNN information associated with an application (for example, identified by a combination of OSId and OSAppId), a DNN priority, equivalent DNN information that can be used in the same manner as the DNN, and the identifier of the UE 100 (e.g., SUPI, 5G-GUTI, and the like).” Policy information is received from the PCF); and
sending the policy information to the terminal device (Lee: para.0093 “ In operation 515, the AMF 120 may transmit a policy container received from the PCF 140 to the UE 100.” Policy is fed back to the terminal device 100.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kar-Cai-Lee2-Li in order to incorporate receiving policy information fed back by the network element, wherein the policy information is generated by the service, and apply this concept to the AI network element and the AI service as set forth in Kar-Lee2-Li.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of implementing required updates (Park: para.0573).
Regarding Claim 24, Kar-Cai-Lee2-Li discloses the method of claim 7 as set forth above.
Kar further discloses A communication apparatus comprising: a processor, and a memory having computer programs stored thereon, wherein when the computer programs are executed by the processor, the communication apparatus is caused to perform the method (Kar: para.0024 para.0102-0103).
Regarding Claim 26, Kar-Cai-Lee2-Li discloses claim 7 as set forth above.
Kar further discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon, wherein when the instructions are executed, the method (Kar: para.0018).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karampatsis et al. (hereinafter Kar, US 2023/0345297 A1) in view of Cai et al. (hereinafter Cai, US 2020/0028921 A1) in view of Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee2, US 2020/0396678 A1) in view of Li (US 2022/0408280 A1) in view of Sapra et al. (hereinafter Sapra, US 2022/0286949 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Kar-Cai-Lee2-Li discloses claim 1 as set forth above.
However Kar-Cai-Lee2-Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the Al service query request is sent to the NRF network element via an HTTP GET message, and the Al service list fed back by the NRF network element is received via an HTTP RESPONSE message.
Sapra discloses wherein the service query request is sent to the NRF network element via an HTTP GET message (Sapra: para.0038 “In particular, consumer NF 202 can send a single NFdiscovery request message that requests discovery of a plurality of producer NF types. Notably, the single NF discover request message includes an indication or notation (e.g., a “multiple NF discovery requests” tag) in a customized header portion of the message. In some embodiments, the NF discovery request message comprises an HTTP GET request message that is sent by the NF service consumer to the NRF.” The service discovery is send via an HTTP GET request message),
the service list fed back by the NRF network element is received via an HTTP RESPONSE message (Sapra: para.0056 “FIG. 5 also illustrates an NF discovery response message 509 that may be generated by an NRF in response to receiving an NF discovery request message 501 or 505. In some embodiments, discovery response message 509 is an HTTP response message generated by the NRF. Notably, message portion 510 is a customer header portion of the discovery response message 509 and includes an indication that the “MultipleDiscoveryRequests” feature is indeed supported by the sending entity (e.g., the NRF). NF discovery response message 509 further includes body portion 512 that contains a plurality of NF profiles.” In response to the discovery request, an HTTP response message may be received comprising a plurality of NF profiles, i.e. the service list.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kar-Cai-Lee2-Li with Sapra to incorporate wherein the service query request is sent to the NRF network element via an HTTP GET message, and the service list fed back by the NRF network element is received via an HTTP RESPONSE message, and apply this technique to the AI services in Kar, and thereby perform the simple substitution of (using NNRF discovery requests and responses with an NRF) in Kar with (using HTTP get and response messages with an NRF) in Sapra.
The simple substitution of (using NNRF discovery requests and responses with an NRF) for another (using HTTP get and response messages with an NRF) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because the substitution would have yielded predictable results, namely, obtaining services registered at the NRF (Kar: Fig. 3A step 4-5, para.0083-0084, and Sapra: para.0038, para.0056).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karampatsis et al. (hereinafter Kar, US 2023/0345297 A1) in view of Cai et al. (hereinafter Cai, US 2020/0028921 A1) in view of Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee2, US 2020/0396678 A1) in view of Li (US 2022/0408280 A1) in view of Xu et al. (hereinafter Xu, US 2022/0272068 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Kar-Cai-Lee2-Li discloses claim 9 as set forth above.
However Kar-Cai-Lee2-Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the Al service information of the terminal device is sent to the Al network element via an HTTP POST message, and the policy information fed back by the Al network element is received via an HTTP RESPONSE message.
Xu discloses wherein the service information of the terminal device is sent to the network element via an HTTP POST message (Xu: para.0125 “For example, when requesting the PCF to create an Individual Application Session Context resource, the NF service consumer shall indicate the optional features the NF service consumer supports for the Npcf_PolicyAuthorization service by including the “suppFeat” attribute in the “App SessionContextReqData” data type of the HTTP POST request.” The NF service consumer information is sent via HTTP Post information), and
the policy information fed back by the network element is received via an HTTP RESPONSE message (Xu: para.0126 “The PCF shall determine the supported features for the created Individual Application Session Context resource as specified in subclause 6.6.2 of 3GPP TS 29.500 V16.0.0. The PCF shall indicate the supported features in the HTTP response confirming the creation of the Individual Application Session Context resource by including the “suppFeat” attribute in the “App SessionContextRespData” data type.” The policy information is fed back at an HTTP response message).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kar-Cai-Lee2-Li with Xu in order to incorporate wherein the service information of the terminal device is sent to the network element via an HTTP POST message, the policy information fed back by the network element is received via an HTTP RESPONSE message, and apply this concept to the AI service information and the AI network element of Kar-Sapra-Li-Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the known benefits of the simplicity and easy of use of HTTP in data transfer (Xu: para.0125-0126).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yang et al. US 2022/0191294 see Fig. 3 regarding registration and discovery para.0037 using HTTP get requests
/EUI H KIM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2453
/KAMAL B DIVECHA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2453