DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed on 06/20/2024.
Claims 10-18 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11-12, 14-16, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 11 and 15 recite “RRC_INNACTIVE”. It is believed that this is a typographical error and should read “RRC_INACTIVE”.
The first time an acronym appears in a claim it should be spelled out before being referred to by the acronym.
BWP in claims 1, 14, and 18.
PCell in claims 1, 14, and 18.
CORESET in claims 1, 14, and 18.
RRC in claims 1, 14, and 18.
PDCCH in claims 1, 14, and 18.
MIB in claims 12 and 16.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi (Pub. No.: US 2021/0274535 A1) in view of Jung (Pub. No.: US 2019/0223145 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Yi teaches
A user equipment (UE) (Yi [0104]: wireless device (e.g., user equipment UE)), comprising:
reception circuitry configured to receive, from a base station (Yi [0250], [0245], [0161], and fig. 15B: reception circuitry for receiving from a base station (BS)), system information including a first initial downlink (DL) BWP configuration providing a first initial DL BWP for a PCell, a second initial DL BWP configuration providing a second initial DL BWP for the PCell (Yi [0136] and [0368]: system information messages; Yi [0386]: first DL BWP and second DL BWP for a cell where the cell is a primary cell (PCell)), wherein the second initial DL BWP does not include a CORESET with index 0 in frequency domain (Yi [0368]: the first DL BWP is the DL BWP that has a CORESET with index 0; [0387]: the second BWP index=the first BWP index+an offset, meaning the second has an index of at least 1 since it is the first plus an offset, making it not 0; [0160] and [0156]: resource configuration in frequency domain); and
control circuitry configured to determine whether a first RRC parameter indicating a common search space (CSS) for paging is present in the second initial DL BWP configuration or not, wherein (Yi fig. 15B and [0250]: control circuitry; Yi [0160]: “a group of wireless devices with a common search space, on a PCell or on a primary secondary cell (PSCell), in an active downlink BWP”; [0215]: PDCCH may be mapped in a common search space (e.g., a Type1-PDCCH common search space) configured by an RRC message; [0445] and [0468]: second DL BWP with a first CORESET associated with common search space if cross-carrier scheduling is enabled (determining whether parameter indicating CSS is present in the second initial DL BWP configuration))
While Yi does teach cases where the first DL BWP is associated with the first RRC parameter and a case where the second DL BWP is associated with the first RRC parameter (Yi [0445] and [0468]), Yi does not appear to teach the recited cases explicitly.
However, Jung, in the analogous art of utilizing multiple DL BWPs, teaches
in a first case that the first RRC parameter is not present in the second initial DL BWP configuration and a second RRC parameter indicating a CSS for paging is present in the first initial DL BWP configuration, the control circuitry is further configured to determine, to monitor a PDCCH for paging in the first initial DL BWP (Jung [0097-0099]: C-SS (common search space) for paging messages (RRC) not received (present) in second DL BWP, first DL BWP is used in monitoring for paging messages; [0101] and [0053-0054]: PDCCH signaling is what is monitored); and
in a second case that the first RRC parameter is present in the second initial DL BWP configuration, the control circuitry is further configured to determine to monitor PDCCH for paging in the second initial DL BWP (Jung [0097-0099]: C-SS (common search space) for paging messages (RRC) present in second DL BWP, second DL BWP is used in monitoring for paging messages; [0101] and [0053-0054]: PDCCH signaling is what is monitored).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yi to incorporate the teachings of Jung and in a first case that the first RRC parameter is not present in the second initial DL BWP configuration and a second RRC parameter indicating a CSS for paging is present in the first initial DL BWP configuration, the control circuitry is further configured to determine, to monitor a PDCCH for paging in the first initial DL BWP; and in a second case that the first RRC parameter is present in the second initial DL BWP configuration, the control circuitry is further configured to determine to monitor PDCCH for paging in the second initial DL BWP. Doing so would improve acquiring system information and/or receiving a paging message, e.g., of system information modification (Jung [0002]).
Regarding claim 11, Yi modified by Jung teaches
The UE according to claim 10 (the limitations of parent claim 10 as indicated above), wherein
Yi further teaches
in the first case, the control circuitry is configured to determine to:
in a case that the UE is in RRC_IDLE state or in RRC_INNACTIVE state, monitor a PDCCH for paging in the first initial DL BWP (Yi [0374] and [0362-0363]: first initial DL BWP associated with the initial RRC Idle state); and
in a case that the UE is in RRC_CONNECTED state, not monitor the PDCCH for paging in the first initial DL BWP (Yi [0445] and [0468]: second DL BWP with a first CORESET associated with common search space if cross-carrier scheduling is enabled (determining whether parameter indicating CSS is present in the second initial DL BWP configuration); [0374]: cross-carrier scheduling enabled if in RRC connected state, so in the case where the UE is in RRC connected state, the second DL BWP is monitored not the first).
Regarding claim 12, Yi modified by Jung teaches
The UE according to claim 10 (the limitations of parent claim 10 as indicated above),
Yi further teaches
the CORESET with index 0 is a CORESET configured in MIB (Yi [0368] and [0136]: DL BWP defined by CORESET with index of 0, based on (configured in) the MIB; [0368]: Initial DL BWP, being the first DL BWP has a CORESET with index of 0; Yi [0183], [0354]: one or more parameters of the MIB to monitor a PDCCH, SIB1 to access the cell).
Regarding claim 13, Yi modified by Jung teaches
The UE according to claim 10 (the limitations of parent claim 10 as indicated above),
Yi further teaches
wherein
the first initial DL BWP includes the CORESET with index 0 in frequency domain (Yi [0368] and [0233]: initial DL BWP defined by CORESET with index of 0; [0368]: Initial DL BWP, being the first DL BWP has a CORESET with index of 0).
Regarding claim 14, Yi teaches
A base station (Yi 15B and [0250]: base station), comprising:
transmission circuitry configured to transmit (Yi 15B and [0250]: transmission circuitry), to a user equipment (UE) (Yi [0142], [0004], and [0030]), system information including a first initial downlink (DL) BWP configuration providing a first initial DL BWP for a Pcell, a second initial DL BWP configuration providing a second initial DL BWP for the Pcell (Yi [0136] and [0368]: system information messages; Yi [0386]: first DL BWP and second DL BWP for a cell where the cell is a primary cell (PCell)), wherein the second initial DL BWP does not include a CORESET with index 0 in frequency domain (Yi [0368]: the first DL BWP is the DL BWP that has a CORESET with index 0; [0387]: the second BWP index=the first BWP index+an offset, meaning the second has an index of at least 1 since it is the first plus an offset, making it not 0; [0160] and [0156]: resource configuration in frequency domain); and
control circuitry configured to determine whether to include a first RRC parameter indicating a common search space (CSS) for paging in the second initial DL BWP configuration or not (Yi fig. 15B and [0250]: control circuitry; Yi [0160]: “a group of wireless devices with a common search space, on a PCell or on a primary secondary cell (PSCell), in an active downlink BWP”; [0215]: PDCCH may be mapped in a common search space (e.g., a Type1-PDCCH common search space) configured by an RRC message; [0445] and [0468]: second DL BWP with a first CORESET associated with common search space if cross-carrier scheduling is enabled (determining whether parameter indicating CSS is present in the second initial DL BWP configuration)), and
While Yi does teach cases where the first DL BWP is associated with the first RRC parameter and a case where the second DL BWP is associated with the first RRC parameter (Yi [0445] and [0468]), Yi does not appear to teach the recited cases explicitly.
However, Jung, in the analogous art of utilizing multiple DL BWPs, teaches
in a first case that the first RRC parameter is not included in the second initial DL BWP configuration and a second RRC parameter indicating a CSS for paging is included in the first initial DL BWP configuration, the control circuitry is further configured to determine, to transmit a PDCCH for paging in the first initial DL BWP (Jung [0097-0099]: C-SS (common search space) for paging messages (RRC) not received (present) in second DL BWP, first DL BWP is used in monitoring for paging messages; [0101] and [0053-0054]: PDCCH signaling is what is monitored); and
in a second case that the first RRC parameter is included in the second initial DL BWP configuration, the control circuitry is further configured to determine to transmit the PDCCH for paging in the second initial DL BWP (Jung [0097-0099]: C-SS (common search space) for paging messages (RRC) present in second DL BWP, second DL BWP is used in monitoring for paging messages; [0101] and [0053-0054]: PDCCH signaling is what is monitored).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yi to incorporate the teachings of Jung and in a first case that the first RRC parameter is not present in the second initial DL BWP configuration and a second RRC parameter indicating a CSS for paging is present in the first initial DL BWP configuration, the control circuitry is further configured to determine, to monitor a PDCCH for paging in the first initial DL BWP; and in a second case that the first RRC parameter is present in the second initial DL BWP configuration, the control circuitry is further configured to determine to monitor PDCCH for paging in the second initial DL BWP. Doing so would improve acquiring system information and/or receiving a paging message, e.g., of system information modification (Jung [0002]).
Regarding claim 15, Yi modified by Jung teaches
The base station according to claim 14 (the limitations of parent claim 14 as indicated above),
Yi further teaches
wherein
in the first case, the control circuitry is configured to determine to:
in a case that the UE is in RRC_IDLE state or in RRC_INNACTIVE state, transmit a PDCCH for paging in the first initial DL BWP (Yi [0374] and [0362-0363]: first initial DL BWP associated with the initial RRC Idle state); and
in a case that the UE is in RRC_CONNECTED state, not transmit the PDCCH for paging in the first initial DL BWP (Yi [0445] and [0468]: second DL BWP with a first CORESET associated with common search space if cross-carrier scheduling is enabled (determining whether parameter indicating CSS is present in the second initial DL BWP configuration); [0374]: cross-carrier scheduling enabled if in RRC connected state, so in the case where the UE is in RRC connected state, the second DL BWP is monitored not the first).
Regarding claim 16, Yi modified by Jung teaches
The base station according to claim 14 (the limitations of parent claim 14 as indicated above),
Yi further teaches
the CORESET with index 0 is a CORESET configured in MIB (Yi [0368] and [0136]: DL BWP defined by CORESET with index of 0, based on (configured in) the MIB; [0368]: Initial DL BWP, being the first DL BWP has a CORESET with index of 0; Yi [0183], [0354]: one or more parameters of the MIB to monitor a PDCCH, SIB1 to access the cell).
Regarding claim 17, Yi modified by Jung teaches
The base station according to claim 14 (the limitations of parent claim 14 as indicated above),
Yi further teaches
wherein
the first initial DL BWP includes the CORESET with index 0 in frequency domain (Yi [0368] and [0233]: initial DL BWP defined by CORESET with index of 0; [0368]: Initial DL BWP, being the first DL BWP has a CORESET with index of 0).
Regarding claim 18, Yi teaches
A communication method performed by a user equipment (UE) (Yi [0104] and [0142]: wireless device (e.g., user equipment UE), communication between UE and BS), comprising:
receiving, from a base station (Yi [0250], [0245], [0161], and fig. 15B: receiving from a base station (BS)), system information including a first initial downlink (DL) BWP configuration providing a first initial DL BWP for a Pcell, a second initial DL BWP configuration providing a second initial DL BWP for the Pcell (Yi [0136] and [0368]: system information messages; Yi [0386]: first DL BWP and second DL BWP for a cell where the cell is a primary cell (PCell)), wherein the second initial DL BWP does not include a CORESET with index 0 in frequency domain (Yi [0368]: the first DL BWP is the DL BWP that has a CORESET with index 0; [0387]: the second BWP index=the first BWP index+an offset, meaning the second has an index of at least 1 since it is the first plus an offset, making it not 0; [0160] and [0156]: resource configuration in frequency domain);
determining whether a first RRC parameter indicating a common search space (CSS) for paging is present in the second initial DL BWP configuration or not (Yi [0160]: “a group of wireless devices with a common search space, on a PCell or on a primary secondary cell (PSCell), in an active downlink BWP”; [0215]: PDCCH may be mapped in a common search space (e.g., a Type1-PDCCH common search space) configured by an RRC message; [0445] and [0468]: second DL BWP with a first CORESET associated with common search space if cross-carrier scheduling is enabled (determining whether parameter indicating CSS is present in the second initial DL BWP configuration));
While Yi does teach cases where the first DL BWP is associated with the first RRC parameter and a case where the second DL BWP is associated with the first RRC parameter (Yi [0445] and [0468]), Yi does not appear to teach the recited cases explicitly.
However, Jung, in the analogous art of utilizing multiple DL BWPs, teaches
in a first case that the first RRC parameter is not present in the second initial DL BWP configuration and a second RRC parameter indicating a CSS for paging is present in the first initial DL BWP configuration, determining, to monitor a PDCCH for paging in the first initial DL BWP (Jung [0097-0099]: C-SS (common search space) for paging messages (RRC) not received (present) in second DL BWP, first DL BWP is used in monitoring for paging messages; [0101] and [0053-0054]: PDCCH signaling is what is monitored); and
in a second case that the first RRC parameter is present in the second initial DL BWP configuration, determining to monitor PDCCH for paging in the second initial DL BWP (Jung [0097-0099]: C-SS (common search space) for paging messages (RRC) present in second DL BWP, second DL BWP is used in monitoring for paging messages; [0101] and [0053-0054]: PDCCH signaling is what is monitored).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yi to incorporate the teachings of Jung and in a first case that the first RRC parameter is not present in the second initial DL BWP configuration and a second RRC parameter indicating a CSS for paging is present in the first initial DL BWP configuration, the control circuitry is further configured to determine, to monitor a PDCCH for paging in the first initial DL BWP; and in a second case that the first RRC parameter is present in the second initial DL BWP configuration, the control circuitry is further configured to determine to monitor PDCCH for paging in the second initial DL BWP. Doing so would improve acquiring system information and/or receiving a paging message, e.g., of system information modification (Jung [0002]).
Conclusion
The following prior art is considered relevant to applicant’s disclosure and not relied upon.
Lee (Pub. No.: US 2024/0407046 A1) teaches first-PDCCH-MonitoringOccasionOfPO is signaled in SIB1 for paging in initial DL BWP. For paging in a DL BWP other than the initial DL BWP [second DL BWP], the parameter first- PDCCH-MonitoringOccasionOfPO is signaled in the corresponding BWP configuration.
Agiwal (Pub. No.: US 2024/0284403 A1) teaches in the RRC idle/inactive mode UE monitors PO in initial DL BWP.
/R.E.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412