CTNF 18/722,448 CTNF 101843 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1,14,16,18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ZHANG et al. (US PGPUB 20240179551 A1) . Regarding claim 1, ZHANG teaches A method for generating measurement capability information, performed by a terminal device, comprising: sending the measurement capability information, wherein the measurement capability information is configured to indicate one or more terminal device capabilities of the terminal device related to at least one of a Synchronization Signal Block Measurement Timing Configuration (SMTC) or a Measurement Gap (MG) (see section [0285] “read as the network asks the UE about its measurement capability whether it needs a measurement gap, receives the response, so the network can configure measurements based on that capability”). Regarding claim 14 , ZHANG teaches all limitations of claim 1. In addition, ZHANG teaches sending information on the one or more terminal device capabilities to a network device ((see sections [0195], [0196] “The terminal device sends a first message to the network device. Correspondingly, the network device receives the first message from the terminal device, the first message includes the measurement capability information”), wherein the information on the one or more terminal device capabilities comprises at least one terminal device capability information element (IE) (see section [0175] read as “The terminal device may report a gap state or a no-gap state by using the NeedForGap information element”), wherein the measurement capability information is contained in the at least one terminal device capability IE (see section [0175] read as “The terminal device may report a gap state or a no-gap state by using the NeedForGap information element”), the measurement capability information is a terminal device capability IE; wherein the method further comprises: sending assistant information to a network device (see sections [0267], [0268] read as “the UE reports whether its measurements require measurement gaps using specific (information element) IE, so the network can configure measurement properly”), wherein the assistant information comprises the measurement capability information (see section [0267] read as “the information being reported in the message is the UE’s measurement capability information”). Regarding claim 16, ZHANG teaches all limitations of claim 1. In addition, ZHANG teaches further comprising: receiving a measurement configuration sent by a network device, (see section [0199], Fig.3 “The configuration information may be sent by the network device after the network device receives the first message”), wherein the measurement configuration is determined by the network device based on the measurement capability information (see section [0291] “the network determine the measurement configuration (NCSG or MG) based on UE capability information, indicating the configuration information includes the second configuration information for configuring the MG for the first measurement target”), wherein the method further comprises: sending an indication to the network device in response to the measurement configuration does not meet the one or more terminal device capabilities (see section [0291] “the configuration information includes second configuration information for configuring the MG for the first measurement target. Alternatively, assuming that the first capability is that an NCSG is not supported”), wherein the indication is used for requesting the network device to reconfigure the measurement configuration (See section [0285] “the indication information indicates to report measurement capability information in a first format, and the measurement capability information in the first format includes information about whether an interrupt is generated during measurement; receive a first message (request) from the terminal device by using the communication module 1001 , where the first message carries the measurement capability information of the terminal device”). Regarding claim 18, ZHANG teaches A method for a measurement configuration, performed by a network device, comprising: obtaining measurement capability information (see section [0199] and FIG. 3 “read as the UE (terminal device) send its measurement capabilities information, received this information, the network sends configuration information to UE) wherein the measurement capability information is configured to indicate one or more terminal device capabilities of a terminal device related to at least one of a Synchronization Signal Block Measurement Timing Configuration (SMTC) or a Measurement Gap (MG) (see section [0285] “read as the network asks the UE about its measurement capability whether it needs a measurement gap, receives the response, so the network can configure measurements based on that capability”), determining the measurement configuration of the terminal device based on the measurement capability information (see sections [0199], [0200] “determine different measurement manners, UE selects the appropriate way to perform measurement based on network and reported capabilities”) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2-9,12,19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. (US PGPUB 20240179551 A1) and as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, in view of Cui et al. (US PGPUB 20240413898 A1) . Regarding claim 2, ZHANG teaches all the limitations of claim 1. However, ZHANG fails to teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the measurement capability information comprises at least one of: first capability information, configured to indicate a number of SMTCs supported by the terminal device, a number of MGs supported by the terminal device, or a number of STMCs and MGs supported by the terminal device; second capability information, configured to indicate whether the terminal device supports a first number of SMTCs, a first number of MGs, or a first number of SMTCs and MGs; third capability information, configured to indicate whether the terminal device supports an additional SMTC, an additional MG, or an additional SMTC and an additional MG; fourth capability information, configured to indicate a duration between adjacent MGs supported by the terminal device; fifth capability information, configured to indicate whether the terminal device supports to access a non-terrestrial network (NTN); sixth capability information, configured to indicate maximum total length information of the SMTC supported by the terminal device, maximum total length information of the MG, or the maximum total length information of the SMTC and the MG; or seventh capability information, configured to indicate whether the terminal device supports an activation of an SMTC configuration, an activation of an MG configuration, an activation of the SMTC configuration and the MG configuration, a deactivation of an SMTC configuration, a deactivation of an MG configuration, or a deactivation of the SMTC configuration and the MG configuration. Cui teaches fifth capability information, configured to indicate whether the terminal device supports to access a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (see section [0053] Fig. 1 & 2 “read as UE in NTN (Non-Terrestrial Network) when it needs to measure neighbor cells”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify ZHANG with Cui to include fifth capability information, configured to indicate whether the terminal device supports to access a non-terrestrial network (NTN) thereby, minimize unnecessary interruptions and reduce power usage while maintaining measurement accuracy. Regarding claim 3 and as applied to claim 2 , Combination of ZHANG and Cui teaches wherein the first capability information is at least configured to indicate at last one of: a number of parallel configured SMTCs supported by the terminal device; a number of parallel configured MGs supported by the terminal device; a number of parallel configured SMTCs and MGs supported by the terminal device; a number of parallel used SMTCs supported by the terminal device; a number of parallel used MGs supported by the terminal device; or a number of parallel used SMTCs and MGs supported by the terminal device. (Since the claim (i.e. claim 2) upon which this claim depends, recites option for steps written in the alternative way (i.e. at least on of first capability information… to seventh capability information….) and the option to which this claim is directed (i.e. “first capability information...”) is not the one for the prior art is cited, no art needs to be cited for in the rejection of this claim.). Regarding claim 4 and as applied to claim 2 , Combination of ZHANG and Cui teaches wherein the second capability information is at least configured to indicate at least one of: whether the terminal device supports to configure in parallel the first number of SMTCs; whether the terminal device supports to configure in parallel the first number of MGs; whether the terminal device supports to configure in parallel the first number of SMTCs and MGs; whether the terminal device supports to use in parallel the first number of SMTCs; whether the terminal device supports to use in parallel the first number of MGs; or whether the terminal device supports to use in parallel the first number of SMTCs and MGs (Since the claim (i.e. claim 2) upon which this claim depends, recites option for steps written in the alternative way (i.e. at least on of first capability information… to seventh capability information….) and the option to which this claim is directed (i.e. “second capability information...”) is not the one for the prior art is cited, no art needs to be cited for in the rejection of this claim.). Regarding claim 5 and as applied to claim 2 , Combination of ZHANG and Cui teaches wherein the third capability information is at least configured to indicate at least one of: whether the terminal device supports to configure in parallel the additional SMTC; whether the terminal device supports to configure in parallel the additional MG; whether the terminal device supports to configure in parallel the additional SMTC and the additional MG; whether the terminal device supports to use in parallel the additional SMTC; whether the terminal device supports to use in parallel the additional MG; whether the terminal device supports to use in parallel the additional SMTC and the additional MG. (Since the claim (i.e. claim 2) upon which this claim depends, recites option for steps written in the alternative way (i.e. at least on of first capability information… to seventh capability information….) and the option to which this claim is directed (i.e. “third capability information...”) is not the one for the prior art is cited, no art needs to be cited for in the rejection of this claim.). Regarding claim 6 and as applied to claim 3 , Combination of ZHANG and Cui teaches wherein the first capability information is further configured to indicate at least one of: a number of SMTCs supported by the terminal device corresponding to at least one type of SMTC period supported by the terminal device; a number of MGs supported by the terminal device corresponding to at least one type of MG period supported by the terminal device; a number of SMTCs supported by the terminal device corresponding to at least one type of SMTC length supported by the terminal device; or a number of MGs supported by the terminal device corresponding to at least one type of MG length supported by the terminal device. (Since the claim (i.e. claim 2 via claim 3) upon which this claim depends, recites option for steps written in the alternative way (i.e. at least on of first capability information… to seventh capability information….) and the option to which this claim is directed (i.e. “first capability information...”) is not the one for the prior art is cited, no art needs to be cited for in the rejection of this claim.). Regarding claim 7 and as applied to claim 4 , Combination of ZHANG and Cui wherein the second capability information is further configured to indicate at least one of: whether the terminal device supports the first number of SMTCs per type of SMTC period of at least one type of SMTC period supported by the terminal device; whether the terminal device supports the first number of MGs per type of MG period of at least one type of MG period supported by the terminal device; whether the terminal device supports the first number of SMTCs per type of SMTC length of at least one type of SMTC length supported by the terminal device; or whether the terminal device supports the first number of MGs per type of MG length of at least one type of MG length supported by the terminal device. (Since the claim (i.e. claim 2 via claim 4) upon which this claim depends, recites option for steps written in the alternative way (i.e. at least on of first capability information… to seventh capability information….) and the option to which this claim is directed (i.e. “second capability information...”) is not the one for the prior art is cited, no art needs to be cited for in the rejection of this claim.). Regarding claim 8 and as applied to claim 5 , Combination of ZHANG and Cui teaches wherein the third capability information is further configured to indicate at least one of: whether the terminal device supports the additional SMTC per type of SMTC period of at least one type of SMTC period supported by the terminal device; whether the terminal device supports the additional MG per type of MG period of at least one type of MG period supported by the terminal device; whether the terminal device supports the additional SMTC per type of SMTC length of at least one type of SMTC length supported by the terminal device; or whether the terminal device supports the additional MG per type of MG length of at least one type of MG length supported by the terminal device. (Since the claim (i.e. claim 2 via claim 5) upon which this claim depends, recites option for steps written in the alternative way (i.e. at least on of first capability information… to seventh capability information….) and the option to which this claim is directed (i.e. “third capability information...”) is not the one for the prior art is cited, no art needs to be cited for in the rejection of this claim.). Regarding claim 9 and as applied to claim 2 , Combination of ZHANG and Cui teaches wherein the sixth capability information is at least configured to indicate at least one of: the maximum total length information of parallel configured SMTCs supported by the terminal device; the maximum total length information of parallel configured MGs supported by the terminal device; the maximum total length information of parallel configured SMTCs and MGs supported by the terminal device; the maximum total length information of parallel used SMTCs supported by the terminal device; the maximum total length information of parallel used MGs supported by the terminal device; or the maximum total length information of parallel used SMTCs and MGs supported by the terminal device; wherein total length information comprises at least one of a total length or a total length proportion; wherein the total length proportion is configured to indicate a proportion of the maximum total length of the SMTC or MG supported by the terminal device to a specified duration. (Since the claim (i.e. claim 2) upon which this claim depends, recites option for steps written in the alternative way (i.e. at least on of first capability information… to seventh capability information….) and the option to which this claim is directed (i.e. “sixth capability information...”) is not the one for the prior art is cited, no art needs to be cited for in the rejection of this claim.). Regarding claim 12 and as applied to claim 2 , Combination of ZHANG and Cui teaches wherein the seventh capability information is at least configured to indicate at least one of: whether the terminal device supports a network device-configured activation of the SMTC configuration; whether the terminal device supports the network device-configured activation of the MG configuration; whether the terminal device supports the network device-configured activation of the SMTC configuration and the MG configuration: whether the terminal device supports a network device-configured deactivation of the SMTC configuration; whether the terminal device supports the network device-configured deactivation of the MG configuration; whether the terminal device supports the network device-configured deactivation of the SMTC configuration and the MG configuration; whether the terminal device supports a self-activation of the SMTC configuration; whether the terminal device supports the self-configured activation of the MG configuration; whether the terminal device supports the self-configured activation of the SMTC configuration and the MG configuration; whether the terminal device supports a self-configured deactivation of the SMTC configuration; whether the terminal device supports the self-configured deactivation of the MG configuration; or whether the terminal device supports the self-configured deactivation of the SMTC configuration and the MG configuration (Since the claim (i.e. claim 2) upon which this claim depends, recites option for steps written in the alternative way (i.e. at least on of first capability information… to seventh capability information….) and the option to which this claim is directed (i.e. “seventh capability information...”) is not the one for the prior art is cited, no art needs to be cited for in the rejection of this claim.). Regarding claim 19 and as applied to claim 18 , Zhang teaches all of the limitations of claim 18. However, Zhang fails to teach wherein the measurement capability information comprises at least one of: first capability information, configured to indicate a number of SMTCs supported by the terminal device, a number of MGs supported by the terminal device, or a number of STMCs and MGs supported by the terminal device; second capability information, configured to indicate whether the terminal device supports a first number of SMTCs, a first number of MGs, or a first number of SMTCs and MGs; third capability information, configured to indicate whether the terminal device supports an additional SMTC, an additional MG, or an additional SMTC and an additional MG; fourth capability information, configured to indicate a duration between adjacent MGs supported by the terminal device; fifth capability information, configured to indicate whether the terminal device supports to access a Non-terrestrial network (NTN); sixth capability information, configured to indicate maximum total length information of the SMTC supported by the terminal device, maximum total length information of the MG, or the maximum total length information of the SMTC and the MG; or seventh capability information, configured to indicate whether the terminal device supports an activation of an SMTC configuration, an activation of an MG configuration, an activation of the SMTC configuration and the MG configuration, a deactivation of an SMTC configuration, a deactivation of an MG configuration, or a deactivation of the SMTC configuration and the MG configuration. Cui teaches fifth capability information, configured to indicate whether the terminal device supports to access a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (see section [0053] Fig. 1 & 2 “read as UE in NTN (Non-Terrestrial Network) when it needs to measure neighbor cells”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify ZHANG with Cui to include fifth capability information, configured to indicate whether the terminal device supports to access a non-terrestrial network (NTN) thereby, minimize unnecessary interruptions and reduce power usage while maintaining measurement accuracy. Regarding claim 20 and as applied to claim 19 , Combination of ZHANG and Cui teaches wherein the first capability information is at least configured to indicate at least one of: a number of parallel configured SMTCs supported by the terminal device; a number of parallel configured MGs supported by the terminal device; a number of parallel configured SMTCs and MGs supported by the terminal device; a number of parallel used SMTCs supported by the terminal device; a number of parallel used MGs supported by the terminal device; or a number of parallel used SMTCs and MGs supported by the terminal device. (Since the claim (i.e. claim 19) upon which this claim depends, recites option for steps written in the alternative way (i.e. at least on of first capability information… to seventh capability information….) and the option to which this claim is directed (i.e. “first capability information...”) is not the one for the prior art is cited, no art needs to be cited for in the rejection of this claim.). Regarding claim 21 and as applied to claim 19 , Combination of ZHANG and Cui teaches wherein the second capability information is at least configured to indicate at least one of: whether the terminal device supports to configured in parallel the first number of SMTCs; whether the terminal device supports to configure in parallel the first number of MGs; whether the terminal device supports to configure in parallel the first number of SMTCs and MGs; whether the terminal device supports to use in parallel the first number of SMTCs; whether the terminal device supports to use in parallel the first number of MGs; or whether the terminal device supports to use in parallel the first number of SMTCs and MGs. (Since the claim (i.e. claim 19) upon which this claim depends, recites option for steps written in the alternative way (i.e. at least on of first capability information… to seventh capability information….) and the option to which this claim is directed (i.e. “second capability information...”) is not the one for the prior art is cited, no art needs to be cited for in the rejection of this claim.). Regarding claim 22 and as applied to claim 19. Combination of ZHANG and Cui teaches , wherein the third capability information is at least configured to indicate at least one of: whether the terminal device supports to configure in parallel the additional SMTC; whether the terminal device supports to configure in parallel the additional MG; whether the terminal device supports to configure in parallel the additional SMTC and the additional MG; whether the terminal device supports to use in parallel the additional SMTC; whether the terminal device supports to use in parallel the additional MG; or whether the terminal device supports to use in parallel the additional SMTC and the additional MG (Since the claim (i.e. claim 19) upon which this claim depends, recites option for steps written in the alternative way (i.e. at least on of first capability information… to seventh capability information….) and the option to which this claim is directed (i.e. “third capability information...”) is not the one for the prior art is cited, no art needs to be cited for in the rejection of this claim.) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. (US PGPUB 20240179551 A1) and as applied to claims 1 and further in view of YIU et al. (US PGPUB 20220052828 A1) . Regarding claim 13, ZHANG teaches all the limitations of claim 1. However, ZHANG fails to teaches wherein a number of SMTCs is configured per measured object or per measurement frequency; or a number of MGs is configured per terminal device; or the number of MGs is configured for a frequency range (FR1) or another frequency range (FR2). YIU teaches a number of MGs is configured per terminal device; or the number of MGs is configured for a frequency range (FR1) or another frequency range (FR2) (see section [0025] “UE may be configured with more than one measurement gap according to different frequencies at which the UE may operate. For example, a UE may comply with respective measurement gaps while operating at FR1 and FR2 to accommodate different operations at different frequency ranges.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify ZHANG with YIU to include a number of MGs is configured per terminal device; or the number of MGs is configured for a frequency range (FR1) or another frequency range (FR2) thereby, reduced unnecessary measurements and/or reduce power consumptions of the UE and improve UE and/or network efficiency (see section [0059]) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 59,60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. (US PGPUB 20240179551 A1) and Cui et al. (US PGPUB 20240413898 A1) as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Huang et al. (US PGPUB 20230109017 A1) . Regarding claim 59 ZHANG and Cui teaches all the limitations of claim 2. However, ZHANG and Cui fail to teach wherein the first number of SMTCs is 4 SMTCs, or the first number of MGs is 2 MGs, or the first number of SMTCs is 4 SMTCs and the first number of MGs is 2 MGs Huang teaches wherein the first number of SMTCs is 4 SMTCs (see sections [0063]- [0067] read as SMTC activation/deactivation via RRC configuration, Measurement Gap MG minimize of gaps depend on gap length and UE capability and network can configure up to 2 MSTCS simultaneously) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify ZHANG and Cui with Huang to include wherein the first number of SMTCs is 4 SMTCs thereby, reduce the signaling overhead should be considered (see section 0091). Regarding claim 60 ZHANG and Cui teaches all the limitations of claim 2. However, ZHANG and Cui fail to teach wherein the second capability information is configured to indicate whether the terminal device supports the first number of parallel MGs or the first number of SMTCs for NTN, wherein the first number of MGs is 2 MGs and the first number of SMTCs is 4 SMTCs Huang teaches the first number of SMTCs for NTN (see sections [0063]- [0067] read as NTN (non-terrestrial network) for how measurement timing (SMTC) should be handled for satellite delays and mobility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify ZHANG and Cui with Huang to include the first number of SMTCs for NTN thereby, reduce the signaling overhead should be considered (see section 0091). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ARTIBEN PATEL whose telephone number is (571)272-9554. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 7:30 to 5:00 alternate Friday off. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Addy Anthony can be reached at (571) 272-7795. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ARTIBEN JAIMIN PATEL/ Examiner, Art Unit 2645 /ANTHONY S ADDY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/722,448 Page 2 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/722,448 Page 3 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/722,448 Page 4 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/722,448 Page 5 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/722,448 Page 6 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/722,448 Page 7 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/722,448 Page 8 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/722,448 Page 9 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/722,448 Page 10 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/722,448 Page 11 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/722,448 Page 12 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/722,448 Page 13 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/722,448 Page 14 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/722,448 Page 15 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/722,448 Page 16 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/722,448 Page 17 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/722,448 Page 18 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/722,448 Page 19 Art Unit: 2645