Claims 1-15 are pending and examined herein on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention. The claims recite a Table reference in the claims which is considered an improper incorporation by reference. The claims must have the relevant information from the Table recited within the claim where possible.
2173.05(s) Reference to Figures or Tables [R-08.2012]
Where possible, claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table "is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant’s convenience." Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (citations omitted).
Reference characters corresponding to elements recited in the detailed description and the drawings may be used in conjunction with the recitation of the same element or group of elements in the claims. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Johnson et al (US Patent 8093453).
The claims are drawn to methods of producing maize grain comprising contacting a pollen recipient plant with a pollen formulation and harvesting grain comprising at least one genetically modified locus which confers an improved grain fuel trait including amylase as in corn event 3272 (in Table 1 of the instant specification), wherein the pollen formulation is a blend of pollen donor sources wherein the formulation is adapted for storage OR for fertilization, and wherein the pollen recipient is an F1 hybrid.
Johnson et al teach transgenic corn event 3272 which alters the amylose composition and improves a grain fuel trait and teach crossing the plant with itself or another corn plant, specifically it was crossed to inbred corn lines NP911x and NP2222x, which were then self-pollinated, this means that the event was crossed in F1 pollen donor seeds which would inherently comprise a blend of pollen sources as F1 progeny would have independent assortment and also would constitute a cross to an F1 recipient (see example 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Witherspoon et al (USPGPUB 20200230215).
The claims are drawn to a grain lot which is a population of grain comprising harvested grain comprising grain (which is seed) comprising a recipient plant genome and a paternal plant genome wherein the paternal plant genome comprises at least one modified locus conferring an improved grain fuel trait including corn even 3272 contained within Table 1 of the instant specification. It is noted that in the case of claims 12-14, the recipient locus could also be of event 3272 as there are no limitations against this and accordingly, read on corn event 3272 seed. It is also noted that claims 11 and 15 do not actually require any modified grain at all as through natural Mendelian inheritance and crossing over, it encompasses grain that would not possess the 3272 event or otherwise modified corn.
Witherspoon et al teach animal feed and a method utilizing said animal feed wherein a portion of the population of grains (a grain lot) is corn modified by transgenic event 3272, the same even contained in Table 1 of the instant specification and a portion that is non-event grain. In addition to meeting the limitation of the claims as written, as discussed above, it is further noted that there is no requirement in Witherspoon for the transgenic event to be homozygous and therefore would inherently also read just on the event itself on grain produced by the method of claims 1-3 at least and therefore read on the claims drawn to the grain lot. It is further revealed in Witherspoon et al, that the event reads on the amylase limitations of the instant claims as well (see claim 1 as well as background).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al (US Patent 8093453) in view of Streatfield et al (USPGPUB20110091976), in view of Witherspoon et al Witherspoon et al (USPGPUB 20200230215).
The claims are drawn to methods of producing maize grain comprising contacting a pollen recipient plant with a pollen formulation and harvesting grain comprising at least one genetically modified locus which confers an improved grain fuel trait including amylase as in corn event 3272 (in Table 1 of the instant specification), wherein the pollen formulation is a blend of pollen donor sources wherein the pollen donor is located at more than at least 200, 400, 600, 800 or 1,000 meters from the pollen recipient, wherein the contact is mechanically mediated, wherein the formulation is adapted for storage OR for fertilization, wherein the pollen recipient is an F1 hybrid and processing the grain as well as grain lots as outlined above.
Johnson et al teach transgenic corn event 3272 which alters the amylose composition and improves a grain fuel trait and teach crossing the plant with itself or another corn plant, specifically it was crossed to inbred corn lines NP911x and NP2222x, which were then self-pollinated such that the event was crossed then to an F1 recipient (see example 1).
Johnson et al do not explicitly teach mechanical pollination or a specific distance between plants.
Streatfield et al teach that it is routine in the art at the time of filing to include mechanical means of pollination as a means of pollination in corn breeding (see 42nd paragraph under Description of Embodiments). It is also noted that plant distance would be an obvious design choice when choosing to use mechanical means for pollination since the pollen is applied by mechanical means.
Witherspoon et al teach animal feed and a method utilizing said animal feed wherein a portion of the population of grains (a grain lot) is corn modified by transgenic event 3272, the same even contained in Table 1 of the instant specification and a portion that is non-event grain. In addition to meeting the limitation of the claims as written, as discussed above, it is further noted that there is no requirement in Witherspoon for the transgenic event to be homozygous and therefore would inherently also read just on the event itself on grain produced by the method of claims 1-3 at least and therefore read on the claims drawn to the grain lot. It is further revealed in Witherspoon et al, that the event reads on the amylase limitations of the instant claims as well (see claim 1 as well as background).
Given the state of the art, the disclosures by Johnson et al, Streatfield et al and Witherspoon et al it would have been obvious for one of skill in the art to practice the instantly claimed methods by normative use of corn for corn event 3272 and crossing it with recipient corn varieties including F1 as taught by Johnson et al using mechanical pollination as taught by Streatfield et al and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to prevent cross contamination of pollen as taught by Streatfield et al. The grain lots would have been an automatic result of these crosses and harvesting of seed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18722517. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they have overlapping subject matter both being drawn to methods and grain lots comprising modified corn wherein amylase may be modified.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
No claims are allowed.
/BRENT T PAGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1663