DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4 and 6-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 12/16/2025, with respect to claims 5, 9-12. And 14-21 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 5, 9-12, and 14-21 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (US10957984; hereinafter Kato) in view of Yamada et al. (US20250055197; hereinafter Yamada).
Regarding claim 1, Kato (figs. 1-2) discloses “An antenna device comprising an antenna (3a/3b/7) that has a dipole structure, and resonates and receives electric field energy of a radio wave in a frequency band to be used for space transmission wireless electric power feeding (inherent features of an antenna), wherein the antenna includes a first antenna element (3b/7) including a conductor (both parts are conductors) disposed on a contact face configured to come into contact with a metal member (14, fig. 3B), and a second antenna element (3a) including another conductor that is different from the conductor of the first antenna element (fig. 1), the second antenna element being provided in such a manner that the second antenna element does not come into contact with the human body or the metal member (see fig. 3B)”.
Kato does not disclose “wherein at least a portion of the second antenna element is disposed in a second plane, and wherein the first plane is spaced apart from the second plane along a line that is perpendicular to the first plane”.
However, Yamada teaches “wherein at least a portion of the second antenna element is disposed in a second plane (121), and wherein the first plane (121) is spaced apart from the second plane along a line that is perpendicular to the first plane (see fig. 2)”. Furthermore, applicants’ disclosure already teaches modifying the antenna structure between planar and stacked configurations (fig. 4-6 vs. 12-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Yamada and make Kato’s antenna device wherein at least a portion of the first antenna element is disposed in a first plane and wherein at least a portion of the second antenna element is disposed in a second plane, and wherein the first plane is spaced apart from the second plane along a line that is perpendicular to the first plane, in order to decrease the planar dimensions of the antenna.
Regarding claim 2, Kato (figs. 1-2) discloses “The antenna device according to claim 1, wherein the frequency band comprises a 900 MHz band or a 2 GHz band (col. 13 lines 59-64; As described above, it can be understood in the RFID tag 1 of the first exemplary embodiment that a high-frequency signal (radio signal) having UHF-band communication frequencies (900 MHz band, e.g. 920 MHz) is in a transmittable/receivable frequency band whereas the heating frequencies (2.4 to 2.5 GHz))”.
Regarding claim 3, Kato (figs. 1-2) discloses “The antenna device according to claim 1, wherein the second antenna element has a length that is shorter than 1/4 of wavelength of the frequency band (col. 18 lines 19-21; According to the exemplary aspect, each LC parallel resonant circuit S in the plurality of LC parallel resonant circuits S is set so as to resonate with frequencies in the frequency band of 2.4 to 2.5 GHz. The line length of each LC parallel resonant circuit S is set to be shorter than ½ frequency of the frequency used as the predetermined communication frequency and further to be ¼ wavelength (λ/4) or less of the frequency band of the heating electromagnetic wave (2.4 to 2.5 GHz))”.
Regarding claim 4, Kato (figs. 1-2) discloses “The antenna device according to claim 1, wherein the first antenna element has at least one of a plate-like shape, a meander-like shape, or a coil-like shape (coil/meander shape in fig. 1), and the second antenna element has at least one of a plate-like shape, a meander-like shape, or a coil-like shape (coil/meander shape in fig. 1)”.
Regarding claim 6, Kato (figs. 1-2) discloses “The antenna device according to claim 1, wherein the second antenna element is configured to allow the antenna to resonate in the frequency band regardless of whether or not the first antenna element is in contact with the human body or the metal member (at least the second antenna will resonate regardless of contact with metal since it is not contacting can 14 in fig. 3B)”.
Regarding claim 7, Kato (figs. 1-2) discloses “The antenna device according to claim 1, wherein the first antenna element includes a conductor electrode including one material or a combination of two or more materials selected from gold, silver, aluminum, copper, iron, nickel, an alloy, electrically conductive resin, or electrically conductive rubber, and the second antenna element includes a conductor electrode including one material or a combination of two or more materials selected from gold, silver, aluminum, copper, iron, nickel, an alloy, electrically conductive resin, or electrically conductive rubber (col. 8 lines 46-48; the antenna pattern 3 created by a film of a conductive material, such as aluminum foil or copper foil)”.
Regarding claim 8, Kato (figs. 1-2) discloses “The antenna device according to claim 1, further comprising a rectifier circuit that has an input terminal coupled to the first antenna element and the second antenna element and that rectifies a signal received by the antenna from an alternating-current signal to a direct-current signal (the RFID chip 9 in the antenna inherently contains a rectifier by nature of being an RFID chip)”.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 9-12, and 14-21 allowed.
Claims 5 and 9 are allowed for reciting previously indicated allowable subject matter.
Claims 6-8, 10-12, and 14-21 are allowed for their dependence.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUSTIN M BACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845