DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-6, in the reply filed on 09/16/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim(s) 7-15 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/16/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)/second paragraph
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “hydrogen atom with an alkyl group” which is vague because it appears this should be “or an alkyl group.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
If this application currently names joint inventors: in considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
When something is indicated as being “obvious” this should be taken as shorthand for “prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains before the effective filing date of the invention”.
When a range is indicated as overlapping a claimed range, unless otherwise noted, this should be taken as short hand to indicate that the claimed range is obvious in view of the overlapping range in the prior art as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki (WO 2020/203304, see US 2022/0169894), in view of Nishijima (JPWO 2020/138055, see machine translation) in view of Okazaki (U.S. 5,668,225).
Regarding claims 1-6, Yamazaki teaches a curable adhesive sheet (with a thickness as in claims 5-6) that has hot melt properties as a whole, with A ingredients overlapping the claimed A ingredients and not having hot melt properties individually, which may be solid (temperature of solid property is not disclose but it would be obvious to have solid be measured at room temperature, i.e., 25 Celsius), with a structure and amount of the A1 and A2 ingredients overlapping claims 1 and 4, with B, and C2, ingredients having overlapping structure and amount compared to the claimed B, C, and D ingredients (except the thermoplastic resin Tg, see below), as in claims 1 and 4, as well as a retarder inherently having the claimed boiling point property of claim 2 in an overlapping amount, as well as an overlapping mass loss property, as well as an overlapping amount of white inorganic filler (see claims, [0061], [0079], [0126] suggesting general thermoplastic encapsulated catalyst as claimed, [0127], [0135], [0150], the last retarder is the same as in the present application for the claimed property).
Yamazaki does not disclose the Tg of the thermoplastic that encapsulates the catalyst. However, Nishijima is also directed to platinum catalyzed silicone compositions and discloses that the catalyst may be thermoplastic encapsulated with an overlapping Tg with the benefit that it is not activated until heated to a desired temperature, as in claim 3, rendering such an encapsulated catalyst obvious in Yamazaki to achieve the benefit disclosed by Nishijima ([0043], [0077]-[0078]).
As an alternative to Nishijima, Okazaki is also directed to a sealer composition of platinum catalyzed silicone ingredients and teaches that the platinum catalyst may be encapsulated in a thermoplastic with an overlapping Tg with the benefit that it can be released upon heating to control when the catalyst is released as in claim 3 (see abstract, col. 3, line 45-col. 3, line 65), such that this manner of encapsulating the catalyst is obvious in Yamazaki to achieve the benefit disclosed by Okazaki.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,384,941 (the patent corresponding to Yamazaki cited above) in view of Nishijima (JPWO 2020/138055, see machine translation) in view of Okazaki (U.S. 5,668,225). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The patented claims overlap and render obvious the pending claims except for the thermoplastic catalyst Tg however, Nishijim and Okazaki render obvious this Tg as explained above.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/268,222 (the copending application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The copending claims overlap and render obvious the pending claims with the only difference being the claimed thermoplastic catalyst Tg and the claimed filler, however, Nishijim and Ozaki render obvious this Tg. That is, Nishijima is also directed to platinum catalyzed silicone compositions and discloses that the catalyst may be thermoplastic encapsulated with an overlapping Tg so that it is not activated until heated to a desired temperature, as in claim 3, rendering such an encapsulated catalyst obvious ([0043], [0077]-[0078]). As an alternative to Nishijima, Okazaki is also directed to a sealer composition of platinum catalyzed silicone ingredients and teaches that the platinum catalyst may be encapsulated in a thermoplastic with an overlapping Tg so that it can be released upon heating to control when the catalyst is released as in claim 3 (see abstract, col. 3, line 45-col. 3, line 65), such that this manner of encapsulating the catalyst is obvious.
Nishijima also renders obvious filler at an overlapping amount for improving adhesive strength ([0117]) as well as Okazaki rendering obvious filler for pigment with the amount and color being obvious to adjust to control the type and degree of pigmentation (col. 5, lines 5-15).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
References cited in any corresponding foreign applications have been considered but would be cumulative to the above. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL B NELSON whose direct telephone number is (571)272-9886 and whose direct fax number is (571)273-9886 and whose email address is Michael.Nelson@USPTO.GOV. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Sat, 7am - 7pm.
/MICHAEL B NELSON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787