Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsumiya (JP2013180527 A).
Regarding claim 1, Matsumiya discloses a droplet discharge device (10), comprising:
a droplet discharge head (71) configured to discharge droplets of a coloring liquid;
a supply unit (50) configured to supply the coloring liquid to the droplet discharge head;
and a controller configured to control each unit, wherein during at least a part of a maintenance period after a discharge period in which droplets of the coloring liquid are discharged from the droplet discharge head, the controller controls the supply unit to supply the coloring liquid having a lower viscosity than that of the coloring liquid in the discharge period to the droplet discharge head (implicitly describes a controller in pg. 6 paragraph 5, and lowering the viscosity in (pg. 5 paragraphs 6, 8-9)).
Regarding claim 2, Matsumiya teaches wherein the coloring liquid is a pseudoplastic fluid whose viscosity decreases as a shear rate increases (MPEP 2115 states material or article worked upon my does not limit apparatus claims),
the supply unit (55) is a circulation mechanism configured to supply the coloring liquid to the droplet discharge head while controlling a circulation flow rate of the coloring liquid circulating between the supply unit and the droplet discharge head (pg. 4 paragraph 6)
and during at least a part of the maintenance period, the controller controls the circulation mechanism to increase the circulation flow rate of the coloring liquid to be higher than the circulation flow rate of the coloring liquid in the discharge period (the prior art discloses the claimed structural features hence, the prior art is capable of operating with any of the claimed material).
Regarding claims 3-6, Applicant’s claims are directed to intended use. It is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). The manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself, In re Casey 152 USPQ 235. Further, the Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities.
Regarding claim 11, Matsumiya discloses wherein the droplet discharge head comprises: a discharge unit comprising a nozzle (71), a pressurizing chamber connected to the nozzle, and a pressurizing unit (59) configured to apply pressure to the pressurizing chamber to discharge droplets of the coloring liquid from the nozzle; a supply manifold (50) connected to the pressurizing chamber and configured to supply the coloring liquid to the pressurizing chamber; and a recovery manifold (30) connected to the pressurizing chamber and configured to recover the coloring liquid from the pressurizing chamber, and during at least a part of the maintenance period, the controller controls the circulation mechanism to cause the pressurizing unit to apply pressure to the pressurizing chamber while increasing the circulation flow rate of the coloring liquid (implicitly describes a controller in pg. 6 paragraph 5 and paragraph 4 second to last paragraph and further, the prior art discloses the claimed structural features hence, the prior art is capable of operating with any of the claimed material).
Regarding claim 13, Matsumiya discloses a maintenance method for a droplet discharge device comprising: a droplet discharge head (71) configured to discharge droplets of a coloring liquid; and a supply mechanism (50) configured to supply the coloring liquid to the droplet discharge head, the maintenance method comprising: during at least a part of a maintenance period after a discharge period in which droplets of the coloring liquid are discharged from the droplet discharge head, controlling the supply mechanism to supply the coloring liquid having a lower viscosity than that of the coloring liquid in the discharge period to the droplet discharge head (the viscosity is disclosed in (pg. 5 paragraphs 6, 8-9)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumiya (JP2013180527 A) in view of Kobayashi (WO2021/085501 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Matsumiya does not explicitly disclose a robotic arm on which the droplet discharge head is mounted such that the posture of the droplet discharge head is changeable, wherein during at least a part of the maintenance period, the controller controls the circulation mechanism to increase the circulation flow rate of the coloring liquid and controls the robotic arm to change the posture of the droplet discharge head. However, analogous art, Kobayashi, discloses a robotic arm that controls the discharge head and the controller controls the discharge head [abstract]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a robotic arm in order to have a 6-axis articulated robot (pg.3 paragraph 2) and "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 8, Applicant’s claims are directed to intended use. It is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). The manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself, In re Casey 152 USPQ 235. Further, the Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities.
Regarding claim 9, Matsumiya discloses wherein the droplet discharge head comprises: a supply port (55) for supplying the coloring liquid to the inside of the droplet discharge head;
and a recovery port (30) for recovering the coloring liquid from the inside of the droplet discharge head,
and the controller changes the posture of the droplet discharge head to a posture in which one of the supply port and the recovery port is located higher than the other (the Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities).
Regarding claim 10, Applicant’s claims are directed to intended use. It is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). The manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself, In re Casey 152 USPQ 235. Further, the Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumiya (JP2013180527 A).
Regarding claim 12, Matsumiya discloses wherein the coloring liquid is a pseudoplastic fluid whose viscosity decreases as a shear rate increases (MPEP 2115 states material or article worked upon my does not limit apparatus claims),
the supply unit (55) is a circulation mechanism configured to supply the coloring liquid to the droplet discharge head while controlling a circulation flow rate of the coloring liquid circulating between the supply unit and the droplet discharge head,
the droplet discharge head comprises: a discharge unit comprising a nozzle (71), a pressurizing chamber (42) connected to the nozzle,
and a pressurizing unit (44) configured to apply pressure to the pressurizing chamber to discharge droplets of the coloring liquid from the nozzle;
a supply manifold (40) connected to the pressurizing chamber and configured to supply, to the pressurizing chamber, the coloring liquid supplied from a supply port side of the droplet discharge head;
and a recovery manifold (20) connected to the pressurizing chamber and configured to recover the coloring liquid from the pressurizing chamber and send out the coloring liquid to a recovery port side of the droplet discharge head,
the pressurizing chamber and the supply manifold are connected to each other via a separate supply channel (46),
Matsumiya does not explicitly disclose the pressurizing chamber and the recovery manifold are connected to each other via a separate recovery channel, a channel resistance of the separate recovery channel is smaller than a channel resistance of the separate supply channel, and during at least a part of the maintenance period. However, MPEP 2144.04 VI discloses In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) The court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have duplicated the channel since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
As for the controller controls the circulation mechanism to circulate the coloring liquid from the recovery port toward the supply port, the Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Jackson et al (US 2022/0339931 A1).
/FARAH TAUFIQ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754