CTNF 18/722,622 CTNF 88479 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This action is in response to the application filed on 6/21/2024. Claims 19-29 are cancelled. Claims 30-31 are amended. The IDS filed on 6/21/2024 and 12/12/2025 are both considered. Claims 1-18 and 30-31 are examined and rejected. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: Cross-Link Interference measurement between Base Stations . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 3-8, 11, 13-18, 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghozlan (US20220103333 A1, hereinafter “Ghozlan”) in view of Ibrahim (US 20230179382 A1, hereinafter “Ibrahim”) . Regarding Claim 1, Ghozlan teaches a method for cross-link interference measurement, performed by a first base station, and comprising: transmitting a cross-link interference measurement request message, wherein the cross-link interference measurement request message is configured to request an inter- base-station cross-link interference measurement with a second base station, and the second base station is a neighboring base station of the first base station (see FIG. 2. paras 39-40, the CLI INFORMATION REQUEST message can be sent by a gNB1 node to a neighboring gNB2 to request information for CLI coordination), receiving measurement configuration information, wherein the measurement configuration information is information for the first base station to perform the inter- base-station cross-link interference measurement (see para 41, FIG. 2, the CLI INFORMATION RESPONSE message can be sent by a gNB2 to a neighboring gNB1 node to provide information relevant to CLI-RS configurations (CLI-reference signal)/i.e., representing measurement configuration information), a nd Ghozlan teaches in FIG. 2. That gNB1 and gNB2 exchange CLI information request and the corresponding CLI response including CLI-RS configurations or measurement configuration information. Ghozlan does not specify details regarding: performing, based on the measurement configuration information, the inter-base- station cross-link interference measurement to determine a measurement result In the same field of endeavor, Ibrahim teaches this limitation: see para 99, Wireless communications system supports measuring a CLI channel between an aggressor base station and a victim base station to perform interference cancellation procedures…. The dominant aggressor base station transmits one or more reference signals to the victim base station. The victim base station performs CLI channel measurements using these reference signals, and the CLI channel measurements may be transmitted to the dominant aggressor base station (e.g., via a backhaul link); see para 102, To mitigate the CLI between the base station 105- a and the base station 105- b , the base station 105- a (e.g., the victim base station) may measure a CLI channel and perform interference cancellation procedures; and at para 105, The base station 105- a transmits a measurement report indicating the CLI channel measurements to the base station 105- b via the backhaul link 235. The measurement report may explicitly indicate the CLI channel measurements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CLI information response including CLI-RS configurations of Ghozlan, so as to specify measuring the reference signals to determine inter-base-station cross-link interference as taught by Ibrahim, the motivation being victim base station and the dominant aggressor base station may use the CLI channel measurements to perform interference mitigation, including beamforming nulling, digital interference cancellation, among other mitigation techniques (see Ibrahim, para 4). Regarding Claims 3, 13, Ghozlan teaches: the transmitting the cross-link interference measurement request message comprises: transmitting, via an interface between the first base station and a core network device (see para 68, the CN 320 may be a 5GC (referred to as “5GC 320” or the like), and the RAN 310 may be connected with the CN 320 via an NG interface 313), the cross-link interference measurement request message to the core network device, wherein the cross-link interference measurement request message is forwarded by the core network device to the second base station (see FIG. 2. paras 39-40, the CLI INFORMATION REQUEST message can be sent by a gNB1 node to a neighboring gNB2 to request information for CLI coordination), the receiving the measurement configuration information comprises: receiving, via the interface between the first base station and the core network device (see para 68, the CN 320 may be a 5GC (referred to as “5GC 320” or the like), and the RAN 310 may be connected with the CN 320 via an NG interface 313), the measurement configuration information transmitted by the core network device, wherein the measurement configuration information is transmitted by the second base station to the core network device (see para 41, FIG. 2, the CLI INFORMATION RESPONSE message can be sent by a gNB2 to a neighboring gNB1 node to provide information relevant to CLI-RS configurations/i.e., measurement configuration information). Regarding Claims 4, 14, Ghozlan does not teach details regarding: the measurement configuration information comprises at least one of : a downlink reference signal of the second base station measured by the first base station when the first base station performs the inter-base-station cross-link interference measurement; or resource configuration information for the downlink reference signal. Ibrahim teaches this limitation: the measurement configuration information comprises at least one of : a downlink reference signal of the second base station measured by the first base station when the first base station performs the inter-base-station cross-link interference measurement (see para 104, FIG. 2., the base station 105- b may transmit one or more reference signals from a reference signal set associated with the CLI channel measurements to the base station 105- a . The set of reference signals 230 may include one or more of a CSI-RS, an SSB, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), or any combination thereof. The base station 105- a measures the set of reference signals 230 to obtain the CLI channel measurements) ; or r esource configuration information for the downlink reference signal . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CLI information response including CLI-RS configurations of Ghozlan, so as to specify measuring the reference signals to determine inter-base-station cross-link interference as taught by Ibrahim, the motivation being victim base station and the dominant aggressor base station may use the CLI channel measurements to perform interference mitigation, including beamforming nulling, digital interference cancellation, among other mitigation techniques (see Ibrahim, para 4). Regarding Claims 5, 15, Ghozlan does not teach details regarding: the downlink reference signal comprises at least one of: a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB); a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS); or a positioning reference signal (PRS) . Ibrahim teaches this limitation: see para 104, FIG. 2., the base station 105- b may transmit one or more reference signals from a reference signal set associated with the CLI channel measurements to the base station 105- a . The set of reference signals 230 may include one or more of a CSI-RS, an SSB, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), or any combination thereof. The base station 105- a measures the set of reference signals 230 to obtain the CLI channel measurements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CLI information response including CLI-RS configurations of Ghozlan, so as to specify measuring the reference signals to determine inter-base-station cross-link interference as taught by Ibrahim, the motivation being victim base station and the dominant aggressor base station may use the CLI channel measurements to perform interference mitigation, including beamforming nulling, digital interference cancellation, among other mitigation techniques (see Ibrahim, para 4). Regarding Claims 6, 16, Ghozlan teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach details regarding: receiving reporting configuration information, wherein the reporting configuration information is information for the first base station to report the measurement result; and reporting, based on the reporting configuration information, the measurement result. In the same field of endeavor, Ibrahim teaches this limitation: see para 99, measuring a CLI channel between an aggressor base station and a victim base station to perform interference cancellation procedures…. The dominant aggressor base station transmits one or more reference signals to the victim base station. The victim base station performs CLI channel measurements using these reference signals, and the CLI channel measurements may be transmitted to the dominant aggressor base station (e.g., via a backhaul link); see para 102, To mitigate the CLI between the base station 105- a and the base station 105- b , the base station 105- a (e.g., the victim base station) may measure a CLI channel and perform interference cancellation procedures; and at para 105, The base station 105- a transmits a measurement report indicating the CLI channel measurements to the base station 105- b via the backhaul link 235. The measurement report may explicitly indicate the CLI channel measurements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CLI information response including CLI-RS configurations of Ghozlan, so as to specify measuring the reference signals to determine inter-base-station cross-link interference as taught by Ibrahim, the motivation being victim base station and the dominant aggressor base station may use the CLI channel measurements to perform interference mitigation, including beamforming nulling, digital interference cancellation, among other mitigation techniques (see Ibrahim, para 4). Regarding Claims 7, 17, Ghozlan does not teach details regarding: the reporting configuration information comprises at least of a reporting condition or a reporting mode ; the reporting, based on the reporting configuration information, the measurement result comprises at least one of: reporting, in response to the reporting condition being met, the measurement result; or reporting, based on the reporting mode, the measurement result . In the same field of endeavor, Ibrahim teaches this limitation: see para 105, the measurement report includes channel statistics such as CLI metrics, a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), a reference signal received power (RSRP), or any combination thereof. In some cases, the base station 105- a and the base station 105- b use the CLI channel measurements to perform one or more CLI mitigation procedures, which may include receive nulling (e.g., beamforming nulling and digital interference cancellation) among other mitigation techniques; also see paras 120, 202, 225. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CLI information response including CLI-RS configurations of Ghozlan, so as to specify a reporting condition as taught by Ibrahim, the motivation being the two conflicting base stations can use the CLI channel measurements for interference cancellation (see Ibrahim, para 105). Regarding Claims 8, 18, Ghozlan does not teach details regarding: the reporting condition is configured to indicate a minimum threshold value for reporting the measurement result; and/ or , the reporting mode comprises at least one of: reporting indication information for indicating that the measurement result meets the reporting condition; or reporting a measurement value corresponding to the measurement result . In the same field of endeavor, Ibrahim teaches this limitation: see FIG. 14., para 198-202, inter-base station CLI channel measurements… the method may include transmitting, to a second base station, a first set of reference signals associated with CLI channel measurements, the second base station being identified based on a second set of reference signals, where the first base station is from a set of one or more aggressor base stations that each transmit downlink signals that interfere with uplink signals at the second base station… receiving, from the second base station, one or more reference signals of the second set of reference signals based on an uplink signal of the first base station being affected by CLI from downlink signals from the first base station… transmitting, to the second base station, one or more additional reference signals of the second set of reference signals in response to the received one or more reference signals… the method may include receiving, from the second base station and based on one or more additional reference signals transmitted to the second base station satisfying a threshold interference level , a measurement report including an indication of CLI channel measurements that are based on the first set of reference signals. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CLI information response including CLI-RS configurations of Ghozlan, so as to specify a reporting condition to indicate a threshold being satisfied as taught by Ibrahim, the motivation being the two conflicting base stations can use the CLI channel measurements for interference cancellation (see Ibrahim, para 105). Regarding Claim 11, Ghozlan teaches a method for cross-link interference measurement, performed by a second base station, and comprising: receiving a cross-link interference measurement request message, wherein the cross-link interference measurement request message is for a first base station to request an inter-base-station cross-link interference measurement with the second base station, and the first base station is a neighboring base station of the second base station (see FIG. 2. paras 39-40, the CLI INFORMATION REQUEST message can be sent by a gNB1 node to a neighboring gNB2/i.e., receiving CLI measurement request message, to request information for CLI coordination) ; and transmitting, based on the cross-link interference measurement request message, measurement configuration information (see para 41, FIG. 2, the CLI INFORMATION RESPONSE message can be sent by a gNB2 to a neighboring gNB1 node to provide information relevant to CLI-RS configurations (CLI-reference signal)/i.e., representing measurement configuration information), a nd Ghozlan teaches in FIG. 2. That gNB1 and gNB2 exchange CLI information request and the corresponding CLI response including CLI-RS configurations or measurement configuration information. Ghozlan does not specify details regarding: the measurement configuration information is information for the first base station to perform the inter-base-station cross-link interference measurement. In the same field of endeavor, Ibrahim teaches this limitation: see para 99, Wireless communications system supports measuring a CLI channel between an aggressor base station and a victim base station to perform interference cancellation procedures…. The dominant aggressor base station transmits one or more reference signals to the victim base station. The victim base station performs CLI channel measurements using these reference signals, and the CLI channel measurements may be transmitted to the dominant aggressor base station (e.g., via a backhaul link); see para 102, To mitigate the CLI between the base station 105- a and the base station 105- b , the base station 105- a (e.g., the victim base station) may measure a CLI channel and perform interference cancellation procedures; and at para 105, The base station 105- a transmits a measurement report indicating the CLI channel measurements to the base station 105- b via the backhaul link 235. The measurement report may explicitly indicate the CLI channel measurements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CLI information response including CLI-RS configurations of Ghozlan, so as to specify measuring the reference signals to determine inter-base-station cross-link interference as taught by Ibrahim, the motivation being victim base station and the dominant aggressor base station may use the CLI channel measurements to perform interference mitigation, including beamforming nulling, digital interference cancellation, among other mitigation techniques (see Ibrahim, para 4). Regarding Claim 30, Ghozlan teaches a f irst base station (see FIG. 6., para 96), comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to: transmit a cross-link interference measurement request message, wherein the cross-link interference measurement request message is configured to request an inter- base-station cross-link interference measurement with a second base station, and the second base station is a neighboring base station of the first base station (see FIG. 2. paras 39-40, the CLI INFORMATION REQUEST message can be sent by a gNB1 node to a neighboring gNB2 to request information for CLI coordination), receive measurement configuration information, wherein the measurement configuration information is information for the first base station to perform the inter- base-station cross-link interference measurement (see para 41, FIG. 2, the CLI INFORMATION RESPONSE message can be sent by a gNB2 to a neighboring gNB1 node to provide information relevant to CLI-RS configurations (CLI-reference signal)/i.e., representing measurement configuration information), a nd Ghozlan teaches in FIG. 2. That gNB1 and gNB2 exchange CLI information request and the corresponding CLI response including CLI-RS configurations or measurement configuration information. Ghozlan does not specify details regarding: perform, based on the measurement configuration information, the inter-base- station cross-link interference measurement to determine a measurement result In the same field of endeavor, Ibrahim teaches this limitation: see para 99, Wireless communications system supports measuring a CLI channel between an aggressor base station and a victim base station to perform interference cancellation procedures…. The dominant aggressor base station transmits one or more reference signals to the victim base station. The victim base station performs CLI channel measurements using these reference signals, and the CLI channel measurements may be transmitted to the dominant aggressor base station (e.g., via a backhaul link); see para 102, To mitigate the CLI between the base station 105- a and the base station 105- b , the base station 105- a (e.g., the victim base station) may measure a CLI channel and perform interference cancellation procedures; and at para 105, The base station 105- a transmits a measurement report indicating the CLI channel measurements to the base station 105- b via the backhaul link 235. The measurement report may explicitly indicate the CLI channel measurements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CLI information response including CLI-RS configurations of Ghozlan, so as to specify measuring the reference signals to determine inter-base-station cross-link interference as taught by Ibrahim, the motivation being victim base station and the dominant aggressor base station may use the CLI channel measurements to perform interference mitigation, including beamforming nulling, digital interference cancellation, among other mitigation techniques (see Ibrahim, para 4). Regarding Claim 31, Ghozlan teaches a second base station (see FIG. 6., para 96), comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 11 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghozlan in view of Ibrahim, in view of Pedersen (WO 2021160407 A1, hereinafter “Pederson”) . Regarding Claims 2, 12, Ghozlan teaches: the transmitting/receiving the cross-link interference measurement request message comprises: transmitting, via an inter-base-station interface between the first base station and the second base station, the cross-link interference measurement request message to the second base station (see FIG. 2. paras 39-40, the CLI INFORMATION REQUEST message can be sent by a gNB1 node to a neighboring gNB2 to request information for CLI coordination), the receiving the measurement configuration information comprises: receiving, via the inter-base-station interface between the first base station and the second base station, the measurement configuration information transmitted by the second base station (see para 41, FIG. 2, the CLI INFORMATION RESPONSE message can be sent by a gNB2 to a neighboring gNB1 node to provide information relevant to CLI-RS configurations/i.e., measurement configuration information). Ghozlan teaches that gNB1 and gNB2 exchange CLI information request and the corresponding CLI response including CLI-RS configurations or measurement configuration information, and at para 65, The Xn interface is defined between two or more RAN nodes. Ghozlan in view of Ibrahim do not teach transmit/receive via an inter-base station interface the CLI measurement request and receive via an inter-base station interface the measurement configuration information. In the same field of endeavor, Pederson teaches this limitation: see page 11, third paragraph, For example, in case of a measurement of inter-frequency cells, each serving node (of a PCell) informs other nodes, e.g. via a Xn interface , about its configured inter-frequency CLI measurement resources. The CLI resources may be provided in an inter node message which provides SSTD (SSB timing related information) to the other nodes. When a source node configures RRM inter-frequency measurements for a cell, it includes the CLl-resource information received from the node. For example, a node gNB1 knows the SSB information of serving cells of a node gNB2 via an Xn Interface message. This information is used to configure the contents of a measurement object NR for inter-frequency measurement. gNB2 also provides its CLI-RSSI resource information which is configured for its own inter-frequency CLI measurement or selected resources wit within these measurement resources which is having most interfering resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of Ghozlan and Ibrahim, so as to specify the inter-base-station interface as taught by Pederson, so as to provide a plurality of different interfaces for different network elements (see Pederson, page 27) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghozlan in view of Ibrahim, in view of Xu (US20230188229 A1, hereinafter “Xu”) . Regarding Claim 9, Ghozlan in view of Ibrahim do not teach details regarding: determining, based on the measurement result, a time unit for uplink service scheduling adjustment; and performing the uplink service scheduling adjustment on a terminal which is within a coverage region of the first base station in the time unit. In the same field of endeavor, Xu teaches this limitation: see para 121, Base station uses the reported CLI for multiple receive beams to improve communication quality. For example, base station determines how CLI impacts potential downlink transmission over different transmit beams or beam pairs, and may thus be able to select a preferred transmit beam, receive beam, beam pair, for communicating with UE. The selected or preferred beams or beam pairs may result in improved communication quality, decreased system latency, improved system reliability, and improved user experience. In some examples, base station determines interference conditions for UE (e.g., instead of identifying only interference from a particular direction), and base station adjusts TDD configurations, adjust scheduling, based on the determined interference conditions. Such scheduling and transmit power adjustments or updates may result in improved system efficiency, decreased interference, decreased system latency, and improved user experience; see para 79, A subframe, a slot, a mini-slot, or a symbol may be the smallest scheduling unit (e.g., in the time domain). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of Ghozlan and Ibrahim, so as to adjust scheduling based on the determined CLI conditions as taught by Xu, the motivation being improved system efficiency, decreased interference, decreased system latency, and improved user experience (see Xu, para 121) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghozlan in view of Ibrahim, in view of Xu, further in view of Su (EP 4668905 A2) . Regarding Claim 10, Ghozlan in view of Ibrahim, in view of Xu do not teach: the performing the uplink service scheduling adjustment on the terminal which is within the coverage region of the first base station in the time unit comprises: stopping uplink service scheduling for the terminal. Su teaches this limitation: see FIG. 9c, para 157-158, according to a result of the interference measurement, the terminal may perform the uplink or downlink data transmission, or not perform the data transmission… the terminal compares the measured interference with a preset interference threshold, and in response to the measured interference being less than the preset interference threshold, the terminal may perform the data transmission according to the acquired configuration information for the uplink or downlink data transmission. Otherwise, in response to the measured interference being not less than the preset interference threshold, the terminal may not perform the data transmission… Specifically, if the configuration information for the uplink or downlink data transmission is the uplink or downlink scheduling grant information, the not performing of the data transmission may include: transmitting, after the at least one time domain symbol for the interference measurement, feedback information on terminating transmission of uplink or downlink shared channel within a scheduled time slot (as shown in FIG. 9c uplink control information may be transmitted after the time domain symbol for the interference measurement, and in this case, the uplink control information includes the feedback information on terminating the transmission of uplink or downlink shared channel within the scheduled time slot)… para 163, data transmission according to the result of the interference measurement, for example, the terminal may receive the reference signal for the interference measurement, measure the interference according to the received reference signal, and perform the data transmission only when the interference is less than the preset threshold. Thus, it is possible to effectively avoid data transmission interference and improve communication quality. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of Ghozlan, Ibrahim and Xu, so as to terminating transmission of uplink or downlink shared channel within a scheduled time slot as taught by Xu, the motivation being effectively avoid data transmission interference and improve communication quality. (see Xu, para 121). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DEEPA BELUR whose telephone number is (571)270-3722. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8 am - 4:30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kevin Bates can be reached at 571-272-3980. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DEEPA BELUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/722,622 Page 2 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/722,622 Page 4 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/722,622 Page 5 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/722,622 Page 6 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/722,622 Page 7 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/722,622 Page 8 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/722,622 Page 9 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/722,622 Page 10 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/722,622 Page 11 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/722,622 Page 12 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/722,622 Page 13 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/722,622 Page 14 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/722,622 Page 15 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/722,622 Page 16 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/722,622 Page 17 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/722,622 Page 18 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/722,622 Page 19 Art Unit: 2472