DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-23 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. This is the first Office Action on the merits of the claims.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
Fig. 1, 5, and 6: #35
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Pg. 2, Summary, Line 6: No antecedent basis for cartridge
Pg. 12, Para 4, Line 6: "the lower support unit 4" should read "the lower support unit 7"
Pg. 13, Para. 3, Lines 1-2: Longitudinal axis L2 not shown in drawings
Pg. 17, Para. 2, Line 7: "interface with the cartridge 3B" should read "interface with the cartomizer 3B"
Pg. 17, Para. 2, Line 12: "arranged in the cartridge 3B" should read "arranged in the cartridge 3B"
Pg. 34, Para 3, Line 6: "arranged in the cartridge" should read "arranged in the cartomizer"
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 9: “arranged in the cartridge” should read “arranged in the cartomizer”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2: “configured move liquid” should read “configured to move liquid”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5, 13, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 3 recites the broad recitation “greater than 2 mm”, and the claim also recites “greater than 3 mm or greater than 4 mm” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For purposes of examining, the claim will be interpreted as “a longitudinal extent of greater than 2 mm”.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 5 recites the broad recitation “less than or equal to 4 mm”, and the claim also recites “3 mm or 2 mm” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For purposes of examining, the claim will be interpreted as “a longitudinal extent of less than or equal to 4 mm”.
Regarding claim 13, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For purposes of examining, the claim will be interpreted as “wherein the substrate of the vaporizer is formed from a non-conductive material”.
Regarding claim 14, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For purposes of examining, the claim will be interpreted as “wherein the electrically resistive layer of the vaporizer is formed from an electrically conductive material”.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the central portion" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examining, the phrase will be interpreted as “a central portion”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nerudia (EP 3821726 A1, as cited in IDS dated 06/21/2024).
With regard to Claim 1, Nerudia, directed to a smoking substitute device, teaches (i) a consumable (Fig. 3: #150) for a smoking substitute device [0041]. (ii) The consumable (Fig. 3: #150) comprises an electrical interface configured to interface with the main body (Fig. 3: #120) [0058]. (iii) The consumable comprises a wick heater (Fig. 3: #204) for heating and vaporizing e-liquid [0075], wherein the e-liquid is held in a tank (Fig. 3: #156, [0072]). (iv) The electrical interface may include one or more electrical contacts, wherein the electrical contacts may each be considered part of the heating device [0065]. In the detailed embodiment, the heating device includes the wick heater (Fig. 5a: #204, [0075]), wherein electrical contact regions of the wick heater are exposed through electrical contact holes (Fig. 5a: #213) for direct engagement with pogo pins [0081 & 0087]. Power is supplied to the electrical contact region through the electrical contacts (Claim 1).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious that the electrical contact holes and regions form part of the electrical interface since the heating body of the electrical interface includes the wick heater comprising these connections. (v) The wick heater (Fig. 3: #204) is arranged in the consumable such that the wick heater (Fig. 5a: #204) is adjacent to the electrical contact holes (Fig. 5a: #21), such that when the consumable is engaged within the device, the pogo pins are in direct contact with the wick heater (Fig. 5a: #204, [0081]).
With regard to Claim 2, Nerudia teaches wherein the wick heater (Fig. 5a: #204) is arranged such that the vaporizer extends over the electrical contact holes (Fig. 5a: #213), and wherein, when the consumable is engaged with the device, the pogo pins are in direct contact with the wick heater (Fig. 5a: #204, [0081]).
With regard to Claim 3, Nerudia teaches wherein a longitudinal length of the wick heater may be between 10 and 30 mm [0139], overlapping with the range of the claimed invention and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
With regard to Claim 4, Nerudia teaches wherein (i) the consumable comprises electrical contact regions (Fig. 6: #216) coupled to the end of the wick heater (Fig. 5a: #204, [0122]). (ii) The electrical contact regions (Fig. 6: #216) are arranged to extend over the electrical contact holes (Fig. 5a: #213, [0104]). (iii) When the consumable is with the device, the pogo pins contact the wick heater (Fig. 5a: #204) at the electrical contact regions (Fig. 6: #126, [0104]).
With regard to Claim 6, Nerudia teaches wherein the wick heater (Fig. 10: #204) has a longitudinal length (Fig. 10: #304), a central region between outwards portion of the heater (Fig. 10: "O"), and the left and right outwards portions which each contain the electrical contact regions [0135-0139].
With regard to Claim 7, Nerudia teaches wherein aerosol forming substrate is supplied to the wick heater at at least one feed location [0031]. The at least one feed location is located between the first electrical contact region and the second electrical contact region [0031], wherein the central region between outwards portion of the heater (Fig. 10: "O") is located between the first electrical contact region and the second electrical contact regions.
With regard to Claim 15, Nerudia teaches wherein (i) the consumable (Fig. 5a: #150) comprises a top end (Fig. 5a: "T") and a bottom end (Fig. 5a: "B") which are spaced apart a longitudinal axis of the consumable. (ii) The wick heater (Fig. 3: #204) is positioned below the tank (Fig. 3: #156) and the wick heater (Fig. 3: #204) is located between a downstream plate (Fig. 3: #208) and the upstream plate (Fig. 3: #209, [0099]), wherein the heater (Fig. 5b: #204) lays on the upstream plate (Fig. 5b: #209), as shown in Figure 5b.
With regard to Claim 16, Nerudia teaches wherein (i) the wick heater (Fig. 5b: #204) is substantially planar (Claim 2). (ii) The wick heater (Fig. 5b: #204) spans across the air inlet (Fig. 5b: #164, [0079]), wherein the air inlet (Fig. 5b: #1164) is formed through the upstream plate (Fig. 5b: #209, [0086]).
With regard to Claim 17, Nerudia teaches wherein the wick heater is substantially planar (Claim 2) and substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the device (Claim 4).
With regard to Claim 18, Nerudia teaches wherein the consumable comprises a downstream plate (Fig 5b: #208) which is moved towards the upstream plate (Fig 5b: #209) during manufacture, with the wick heater (Fig. 5b: #204) located therebetween [0099].
With regard to Claim 19, Nerudia teaches wherein (i) the consumable (Fig. 3: #150) comprises an outer tank wall (Fig. 3: #202, [0073]) and at the top end of the consumable (Fig. 3: #150) the tank wall (Fig. 3: #202) includes a mouthpiece (Fig. 3: #166, [0073]). (ii) The wick heater (Fig. 3: #204) is positioned inside the tank wall (Fig. 3: #202) at the bottom end of the consumable, as shown in Figure 3. (iii) The tank (Fig 3: #156) is positioned within the tank wall (Fig. 3: #202, [0073]) between the mouthpiece (Fig. 3: #166) and the wick heater (Fig 3: #204).
With regard to Claim 20, Nerudia teaches wherein the upstream plate (Fig. 3: #209) forms a base of the consumable [0084] and the downstream plate (Fig 3: #208) forms a lower sealing wall of the tank, reducing leakage [0083]. During manufacture, the downstream plate (Fig. 3: #208) is moved towards the upstream plate (Fig. 5b: #209, [0099]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious that the downstream and upstream plates function as a plug as they both provide closure for certain parts of the device.
With regard for Claim 21, Nerudia teaches wherein the upstream plate (Fig. 5a: #209) comprises two electrical contact holes (Fig. 5a: #213), wherein each through hole is configured to receive pogo pins as electrical contacts [0081 & 0087]. Power is supplied to the electrical contact region through the electrical contacts (Claim 1).
With regard to Claim 23, Nerudia teaches a consumable for use in a smoking substitute device [0041].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nerudia (EP 3821726 A1, as cited in IDS dated 06/21/2024), as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Niebuhr (KR 20210126686 A, hereinafter citations referring to English language equivalent US 20220134026 A1).
With regard to Claim 5, Nerudia teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however Nerudia is silent to:
Wherein the vaporizer has a longitudinal extent of less than or equal to 4 mm
Niebuhr, directed to a consumption unit, teaches wherein an edge lengths of a heating body may be in a range between 0.75 and 4 mm [0085] to provide compactness while providing functional vaporization [0086] and reliable high vaporization performance [0088]. The range of Niebuhr overlaps with the claimed values and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vaporizer of Nerudia to have a longitudinal extent of less than or equal to 4 mm because both Nerudia and Niebuhr are directed to aerosol generating devices comprising porous heating structures. Niebuhr teaches a heating body with an edge length from 0.75 to 4 mm to provide compactness while providing high vaporization performance [0086, 0088] and this merely involves applying known dimensions to a known heating structure, ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claims 8, 9, 10, 11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nerudia (EP 3821726 A1, as cited in IDS dated 06/21/2024), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shi (WO 2021142786 A1, hereinafter citations referring to English language equivalent US 20220338543 A1).
With regard to Claim 8, Nerudia teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Nerudia is silent to:
Wherein the vaporizer comprises a substrate and an electrically resistive layer disposed on a first surface of the substrate
Wherein one or more capillary tubes extend from another surface of the substrate and through the electrically resistive layer disposed on the first surface of the substrate
Shi, directed to an electronic atomization apparatus, teaches (i) a heating body comprising a substrate layer having a first surface and a heating layer formed on the substrate layer [0071], wherein the heating layer is electrically resistive [0075]. (ii) The apparatus includes a plurality of elongated through holes (Fig. 2: #25) that extend from an isolation layer (Fig. 2: #24) formed on a second surface of the substrate layer (Fig. 2: #21) and through an outer surface of a protective layer (Fig. 2: #23) formed on a surface the heating layer (Fig. 2: #22, [0071]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the wick heater of Nerudia with the components of Shi to provide more accurately controllable porosity, thereby improving consistency of atomization [0005].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vaporizer of Nerudia to wherein the vaporizer comprises a substrate and an electrically resistive layer disposed on a first surface of the substrate and wherein one or more capillary tubes extend from another surface of the substrate and through the electrically resistive layer disposed on the first surface of the substrate because both Nerudia and Shi are directed to aerosol generating devices comprising wick heaters. Shi teaches a heating body comprising a substrate and resistive heating layer with elongated through holes to provide more accurately controllable porosity, thereby improving consistency of atomization [0005] and this merely involves applying a known heater configuration to a known aerosol generating device, ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 9, modified Nerudia teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Nerudia is silent to:
Wherein the another surface of the vaporizer is provided in fluid communication with the reservoir of the cartomizer
Shi teaches wherein the accommodating cavity store the aerosol-generating substrate, and the cavity is connected to the upper side of the heating body for liquid conduction [0069], wherein an upper side of the heating body includes the second surface of the substrate layer [0071] The ends of the through holes are directly in contact with the aerosol generating substrate to absorb substrate to the heating body [0075] to provide consistent vaporization effects in the device [0005].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vaporizer of Nerudia to wherein the another surface of the vaporizer is provided in fluid communication with the reservoir of the cartomizer because both Nerudia and Shi are directed to aerosol generating devices comprising wick heaters. Shi teaches wherein liquid is communicated with a heating body through through holes to absorb substrate to the heating body [0075] to provide consistent vaporization effects in the device [0005] and this merely involves applying a known liquid communication technique to a known aerosol generating device, ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 10, modified Nerudia teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Nerudia is silent to:
Wherein the one or more capillary tubes have a diameter such that a liquid aerosol-generating material held in the reservoir of the cartomizer is able to move, via capillary forces, along the one or more capillary tubes
Shi teaches wherein the elongated through holes, preferably with a diameter of 1 um- 200 um [0075]. Ends of the through holes directly contact the e-liquid in the accommodation cavity so as to adsorb the aerosol-generating substrate through capillary force towards the heating body [0075]. Shi further teaches that changing the sizes of the through holes changes the e-liquid guiding rate and can improve the consistency and dry burning resistance of the heating body [0077].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vaporizer of Nerudia to wherein the one or more capillary tubes have a diameter such that a liquid aerosol-generating material held in the reservoir of the cartomizer is able to move, via capillary forces, along the one or more capillary tubes because both Nerudia and Shi are directed to aerosol generating devices comprising wick heaters. Shi teaches wherein the size of the elongated through holes allows e-liquid to be adsorbed towards the heating body and can improve the consistency and dry burning resistance of the heating body [0077] and this merely involves applying a known sizing technique to a known aerosol generating device, ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 11, modified Nerudia teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Nerudia is silent to:
Wherein the capillary tubes are configured to move liquid aerosol-generating material held in the reservoir of the cartomizer to the electrically resistive layer of the vaporizer
Shi teaches wherein the elongated through holes are configured to contact the e-liquid in the accommodating cavity, relating to the reservoir of the claimed invention, and absorb it through capillary force to the upper side of the heating body [0069 & 0075], wherein the elongated through holes may further extend to the heating layer [0028] to supply aerosol-generating liquid to the heat generating region and promote uniform heating [0074-0075].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vaporizer of Nerudia to wherein the capillary tubes are configured to move liquid aerosol-generating material held in the reservoir of the cartomizer to the electrically resistive layer of the vaporizer because both Nerudia and Shi are directed to aerosol generating devices comprising wick heaters. Shi teaches wherein the elongated through holes allows e-liquid to be adsorbed towards the heating body, to the heating layer to supply aerosol-generating liquid to the heat generating region and promote uniform heating [0074-0075] and this merely involves applying a known liquid guiding technique to a known aerosol generating device, ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 13, modified Nerudia teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Nerudia is silent to:
Wherein the substrate of the vaporizer is formed from a non-conductive material
Shi teaches wherein the substrate may be a quartz glass layer for better control and calculation of parameters, such as porosity [0073]. One of ordinary skill in the art would know that quartz glass is made from an amorphous form of silicon dioxide, which is non-conductive material.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vaporizer of Nerudia to wherein the substrate of the vaporizer is formed from a non-conductive material because both Nerudia and Shi are directed to aerosol generating devices comprising wick heaters. Shi teaches wherein the substrate layer me made of quartz glass for better control and calculation of parameters, such as porosity [0073] and this merely involves applying a known material to a known vaporizer, ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 14, modified Nerudia teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Nerudia is silent to:
Wherein the electrically resistive layer of the vaporizer is formed from an electrically conductive material
Shi teaches wherein the heating layer may be a metal such as nickel, chromium, silver, palladium, ruthenium, platinum, or an alloy formed by two or more metals to promote efficient heat generation [0074]. One of ordinary skill in the art would know that all metals are electrical conductors.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vaporizer of Nerudia to wherein the electrically resistive layer of the vaporizer is formed form an electrically conductive material because both Nerudia and Shi are directed to aerosol generating devices comprising wick heaters. Shi teaches wherein the heating layer may be made of various metals to promote efficient heat generation [0074] and this merely involves applying a known material type to a known vaporizer, ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nerudia (EP 3821726 A1, as cited in IDS dated 06/21/2024) and Shi (WO 2021142786 A1, hereinafter citations referring to English language equivalent US 20220338543 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Atkins (US 20190373953 A1).
With regard to Claim 12, modified Nerudia teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Nerudia is silent to:
Wherein the one or more capillary tubes are formed by a laser drilling process
Atkins, directed to cartridges for vaporizer devices, teaches a porous substrate comprising a plurality of voids or spaces that may be formed from laser drilled holes [0106]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply the same process to modified Nerudia as a way to provide liquid transporting holes with a selected porosity suitable for absorption and transport [0106].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cartomizer of modified Nerudia to wherein the one or more capillary tubes are formed by a laser drilling process because both Nerudia and Atkins are directed to vaporizers with wicking elements for transporting liquid through capillary action. Atkins teaches wherein voids or spaces of a substrate are forms from laser drilled holes as a way to provide liquid transporting holes with a selected porosity suitable for absorption and transport [0106] and this merely involves the use of a known drilling technique to improve similar vaporization devices in the same way.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nerudia (EP 3821726 A1, as cited in IDS dated 06/21/2024), as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Hatch (US 20150072566 A1).
With regard to Claim 22, Nerudia teaches wherein the upstream plate (Fig. 5a: #209) comprises two electrical contact holes (Fig. 5a: #213). The electrical contact holes run through the bottom of the upstream plate (Fig. 5a: #209) through to the wick heater (Fig. 5a: #204) positioned on top of the upstream plater (Fig. 5a: #209, [0087]). Nerudia teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Nerudia is silent to:
Wherein each through hole is tapered from having a wider width at the bottom surface of the lower support unit to having a narrower width at the top surface of the lower support unit
Hatch, directed to a dual contact pogo pin assembly, teaches an aperture (Fig. 3: #36) having a wide mouth (Fig. 3: #38) and a funnel shaped body leading to a narrow through hole (Fig. 3: #40, [0025]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the electrical contact holes of Nerudia with the sizing and dimensions of the aperture of Hatch to help guide an external connector element (Fig. 3: #42) through the aperture, enabling proper alignment of the pin during insertion [0026, 0045].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the through holes of Nerudia to wherein each through hole is tapered from having a wider width at the bottom surface of the lower support unit to having a narrower width at the top surface of the lower support unit because both Nerudia and Hatch are directed to electrical connection arrangements using conductive pins. Hatch teaches a funnel shaped aperture to help guide an external connector element (Fig. 3: #42) through the aperture, enabling proper alignment of the pin during insertion [0026, 0045] and this merely involves applying a known alignment technique to a known electrical connection arrangement, ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/O.O.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755