DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
Status of Claims as of the Non-Final Rejection mailed May 4, 2026:
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 8, 9, 10, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1). Claim(s) 4, 7, 11, and 14, were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of ABEDINI (US 20230119750 A1). Claim(s) 7 and 14, were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of KAZMI (WO 2012096605 A1, cited in IDS received December 20, 2024). Claim(s) 5 and 12 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of HE (US 20250007592 A1). Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of HE (US 20250007592 A1) in view of JI (US 20230023719 A1).
Applicants’ Response to the Non-Final Rejection
Responsive to the Non-Final Rejection, Applicants have amended each of independent claim(s) 1, 8, and 17. Claim 1 has been amended by incorporating limitations from its child claim 2. Claim 8 has been amended by incorporating limitations found from its child claim 9. Claim 17 has been amended by incorporating limitations from its child claim 21. Each of the claims 1, 8, and 17 have also been amended to include a limitation at least, “…such that the network device allocates appropriate communication resources to user equipment according to device capability information…” or “…so as to allocate appropriate communication resources to user equipment according to device capability information…”. Claim(s) 2-5, 9-12, and 21-22 have also been amended. Further responsive to the Non-Final Rejection, Applicants have presented arguments in light of the amendments made to the claims. The arguments are addressed below.
Response to Arguments/ Amendments
Applicants argue that the prior art of record, FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1), fails to anticipate the features of amended claim(s) 1. Specifically, Applicants (See Remarks, Page(s) 12-15) argue that FUJISHIRO does not teach
“…sending device capability information to a network device, such that the network device allocates communication resources to user equipment according to device capability information…” and
“…wherein each of the groups of frequency response parameters comprises at least one of following frequency-related parameters: a supported frequency band combination; a supported maximum number of contiguous carrier aggregations; a supported maximum cumulative bandwidth of contiguous carrier aggregations; a supported frequency separation between non-contiguous carrier aggregations; a supported passband; or a supported frequency shifting capability; wherein the supported frequency band combination, the supported maximum number of contiguous carrier aggregations, and the supported maximum cumulative bandwidth of contiguous carrier aggregations are defined for each frequency band ; and the supported frequency separation between non-contiguous carrier aggregations, the supported passband, and the supported frequency shifting capability are defined for each frequency band in each frequency band combination or for each feature set.”
In response to the Applicants arguments it is first noted that FUJISHIRO is believed to teach (1) “…sending device capability information to a network device, such that the network device allocates communication resources to user equipment according to device capability information…”, see where FUJISHIRO teaches sending device capability, SR control configuration, to a network device, gNB, such that the gNB, allocates communications resources, center frequency, to user equipment, SR-UE, according to the SR control configuration (“[0083] As illustrated in FIG. 10, the SR control configuration may include frequency configuration information to configure a center frequency of a radio wave (for example, a component carrier) to be relayed by the SR device 500. When the SR control configuration received from the gNB 200 includes the frequency configuration information, the SR-UE 100B (controller 130) controls the SR device 500 such that the SR device 500 relays a radio wave as a target whose center frequency is indicated by the frequency configuration information. The SR control configuration may include a plurality of pieces of frequency configuration information to configure center frequencies to be different from each other. Since the SR control configuration includes the frequency configuration information, the gNB 200 can designate the center frequency of the radio wave to be relayed by the SR device 500 via the SR-UE 100B. [0084] The SR control configuration may include mode configuration information to configure an operation mode of the SR device 500. The mode configuration information may be associated with the frequency configuration information (center frequency). ”). Thus the argument that FUJISHIRO does not teach (1) is not persuasive.
Regarding the argument that FUJISHIRO does not teach (2) “…wherein each of the groups of frequency response parameters comprises at least one of following frequency-related parameters: a supported frequency band combination; a supported maximum number of contiguous carrier aggregations; a supported maximum cumulative bandwidth of contiguous carrier aggregations; a supported frequency separation between non-contiguous carrier aggregations; a supported passband; or a supported frequency shifting capability; wherein the supported frequency band combination, the supported maximum number of contiguous carrier aggregations, and the supported maximum cumulative bandwidth of contiguous carrier aggregations are defined for each frequency band ; and the supported frequency separation between non-contiguous carrier aggregations, the supported passband, and the supported frequency shifting capability are defined for each frequency band in each frequency band combination or for each feature set.”, it is agreed that FUJISHIRO does not teach (2). Consequently, the rejection of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) is withdrawn. Furthermore, as claim(s) 8 and 17 were amended in a manner like that of claim 1, the rejections of claim(s) 8 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) are also withdrawn. The prior art rejection(s) of claim(s) 2-7, 9-14, and 18-22 are also withdrawn by virtue of dependency on any one of independent claim(s) 1, 8, and 17. However, as necessitated by the amendments made to the independent claims, a new ground of rejections has been made in view of LIANG (US 20200336889 A1).
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1
With respect to the claimed “appropriate communication resources”, communication resources that are allocated according to/based on a communication capability of a device are regarded as appropriate communication resources.
Claim 8
With respect to the claimed “appropriate communication resources”, communication resources that are allocated according to/based on a communication capability of a device are regarded as appropriate communication resources.
Claim 17
With respect to the claimed “appropriate communication resources”, communication resources that are allocated according to/based on a communication capability of a device are regarded as appropriate communication resources.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1, 3-14, and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Refer to independent claim 1, which has been presently amended to recite the limitation, “feature set”. The limitation “feature set” does not appear to be a term of the art. The specification does not appear to define the term “feature set”. Therefore it is unclear as to what qualifies as a ”feature” and/or “feature set”. Independent claim(s) 8 and 17, also recite the limitation, “feature set” and are regarded as indefinite for the reasons explained with respect to claim 1. All remaining claims are regarded as indefinite by virtue of dependency on any one of the independent claim(s) and also further due to failing to resolve the indefiniteness issues raised with regard to the independent claims.
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1, 8, and 17, each recite the limitation(s) "each frequency band" and “each feature set”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims.
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 17 also recite, “each frequency band combination”. Although, each of the claim(s) previously recites the limitation “frequency band combination”, the claims make the limitation optional. See claim(s) 1, 8, and 17 where the claims, “…wherein each of the groups of frequency response parameters comprises at least one of following frequency related parameters...a supported frequency band combination; a supported maximum number of contiguous carrier aggregations; a supported maximum cumulative bandwidth of contiguous carriers…”. Thus it is unclear, with respect to claims 1, 8, and 17, whether claimed frequency related parameters are necessarily intended to include, a supported frequency band combination, thus the claims are regarded as indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 8, 9, 10, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of LIANG (US 20200336889 A1).
In regards to claim 1, FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) teaches a method for reporting device capability information, performed by a smart repeater, comprising: sending device capability information to a network device, such that the network device allocates appropriate communication resources to user equipment according to the device capability information, wherein the device capability information indicates frequency response capability of the smart repeater and comprises one or more groups of frequency response parameters, where each of the frequency response parameters are defined on per frequency basis (“[0083] As illustrated in FIG. 10, the SR control configuration may include frequency configuration information to configure a center frequency of a radio wave (for example, a component carrier) to be relayed by the SR device 500. When the SR control configuration received from the gNB 200 includes the frequency configuration information, the SR-UE 100B (controller 130) controls the SR device 500 such that the SR device 500 relays a radio wave as a target whose center frequency is indicated by the frequency configuration information. The SR control configuration may include a plurality of pieces of frequency configuration information to configure center frequencies to be different from each other. Since the SR control configuration includes the frequency configuration information, the gNB 200 can designate the center frequency of the radio wave to be relayed by the SR device 500 via the SR-UE 100B. [0084] The SR control configuration may include mode configuration information to configure an operation mode of the SR device 500. The mode configuration information may be associated with the frequency configuration information (center frequency). The operation mode may be any one of a mode in which the SR device 500 performs non-directional transmission and/or reception, a mode in which the SR device 500 performs fixed-directional transmission and/or reception, a mode in which the SR device 500 performs transmission and/or reception with a variable directional beam, and a mode in which the SR device 500 performs Multiple Input Multiple Output (MIMO) relay transmission. The operation mode may be either a beamforming mode (that is, a mode in which improvement of a desired wave is emphasized) and a null steering mode (that is, a mode in which suppression of an interference wave is emphasized). When the SR control configuration received from the gNB 200 includes the mode configuration information, the SR-UE 100B (controller 130) controls the SR device 500 such that the SR device 500 operates in the operation mode indicated by the mode configuration information. Since the SR control configuration includes the mode configuration information, the gNB 200 can designate the operation mode of the SR device 500 via the SR-UE 100B… [0091] The SR control configuration may include the beam configuration information to configure a transmission direction, a transmission weight, or a beam pattern for the SR device 500 to perform directional transmission. The beam configuration information may be associated with the frequency configuration information (center frequency). The beam configuration information may include a Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI). Since the SR control configuration includes the beam configuration information, the gNB 200 can designate a transmission directivity of the SR device 500 via the SR-UE 100B. [0092] The SR control configuration may include amplification degree configuration information to configure a degree for the SR device 500 to amplify a radio wave (amplification gain) or transmission output power. The amplification degree configuration information may be associated with the frequency configuration information (center frequency). The amplification degree configuration information may be information to configure any one of an amplification gain, a beamforming gain, and an antenna gain of the SR device 500. The amplification degree configuration information may be information to configure the transmission output power of the SR device 500.”),
(“[0098] As illustrated in FIG. 13, the SR device capability information may include supported frequency information indicating a frequency supported by the SR device 500. The supported frequency information may be a numerical value or index indicating a center frequency of the frequencies supported by the SR device 500 and/or a numerical value or index indicating a range of the frequencies supported by the SR device 500. When the SR device capability information received from the SR-UE 100B includes the supported frequency information, the gNB 200 (controller 230) can grasp the frequency supported by the SR device 500, based on the supported frequency information. The gNB 200 (controller 230) may configure the center frequency of the radio wave targeted by the SR device 500 within the range of the frequencies supported by the SR device 500.”).
FUJISHIRO differs from claim 1, in that FUJISHIRO is silent on wherein each of the groups of frequency response parameters comprises at least one of following frequency-related parameters: a supported frequency band; a supported frequency band combination; a supported maximum number of contiguous carrier aggregations; a supported maximum cumulative bandwidth of contiguous carrier aggregations; a supported frequency separation between non-contiguous carrier aggregations; a supported passband; or a supported frequency shifting capability; wherein the supported frequency band combination, the supported maximum number of contiguous carrier aggregations, and the supported maximum cumulative bandwidth of contiguous carrier aggregations are defined for each frequency band ; and the supported frequency separation between non-contiguous carrier aggregations, the supported passband, and the supported frequency shifting capability are defined for each frequency band in each frequency band combination or for each feature set. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art concerning the communicating of wireless device capability information.
LIANG (USPGPub No. 2020/0336889) teaches device capability information that indicates frequency response capability of the smart repeater and comprises one or more groups of frequency response parameters, wherein each of the groups of frequency response parameters comprises at least one of following frequency-related parameters: a supported frequency band combination; a supported maximum number of contiguous carrier aggregations; a supported maximum cumulative bandwidth of contiguous carrier aggregations; a supported frequency separation between non-contiguous carrier aggregations; a supported passband; or a supported frequency shifting capability; wherein the supported frequency band combination, the supported maximum number of contiguous carrier aggregations, and the supported maximum cumulative bandwidth of contiguous carrier aggregations are defined for each frequency band ; and the supported frequency separation between non-contiguous carrier aggregations, the supported passband, and the supported frequency shifting capability are defined for each frequency band in each frequency band combination or for each feature set (“[0003] In a wireless communication network, a network side determines how to schedule a terminal according to capability of the terminal. Accordingly, the terminal needs to report the capability of the terminal when accessing a network. Under a carrier aggregation scenario, a concept of Band Combination (BC) is introduced to the capability of a terminal. That is, a terminal reports according to the BC. In a dual connection (i.e., EN-DC) between a Long Term Evolution (LTE) and New Radio (NR), it has been determined that a capability indication about whether single transmission (1 UL Tx) needs to be supported is required to be reported according to the BC, and a concept of Channel Combination (CC), i.e., a plurality of channels within a band, is introduced at the same time, and is finer granularity than the band. FIG. 1 shows a diagram of architecture of capability reporting of a terminal. As shown in FIG. 1, granularities of capability reporting of the terminal are sequentially from the largest to the smallest: per BC, per band, per Downlink (DL)/Uplink (UL), Multiple Input Multiple Output (MIMO)/bandwidth class.
[0004] In a current procedure of reporting terminal capability, since a terminal makes a report to the network side according to the BC, an indication of whether the terminal must support uplink dual-transmission needs also to be reported to the network side together with other radio frequency parameters.”)
Thus based upon the teachings of LIANG, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless device capability reporting feature of FUJISHIRO, by incorporating an ability to report a frequency-related parameters, such as a supported frequency band combination, as seen in the wireless device capability reporting feature of LIANG, to thus arrive at claim 1, in order to provide additional capabilities that can be used by a network side for a network configuration of a wireless device/smart repeater.
In regards to claim 17, FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) teaches a communication device, comprising: a transceiver; a memory; a processor, connected to the transceiver and the memory, respectively, and configured to control radio signal transmission and reception of the transceiver by executing computer-executable instructions on the memory, and configured to (“[0062] In an embodiment, configurations of the SR-UE 100B (SR wireless terminal) and the SR device 500 are described. FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating the configurations of the SR-UE 100B and the SR device 500 according to an embodiment. [0063] As illustrated in FIG. 7, the SR-UE 100B includes a receiver 110, a transmitter 120, a controller 130, and an interface 140. [0064] The receiver 110 performs various types of reception under control of the controller 130. The receiver 110 includes an antenna and a reception device. The reception device converts a radio wave received through the antenna (radio signal) into a baseband signal (a reception signal) and outputs the resulting signal to the controller 130. The transmitter 120 performs various types of transmission under control of the controller 130. The transmitter 120 includes an antenna and a transmission device. The transmission device converts a baseband signal (a transmission signal) output by the controller 130 into a radio signal and transmits the resulting signal through the antenna. [0065] The controller 130 performs various types of control in the SR-UE 100B. The controller 130 includes at least one processor and at least one memory. The memory stores a program to be executed by the processor and information to be used for processing by the processor. The processor may include a baseband processor and a Central Processing Unit (CPU). The baseband processor performs modulation and demodulation, coding and decoding, and the like of a baseband signal. The CPU executes the program stored in the memory to thereby perform various types of processing. The controller 130 performs a function of at least one layer of the PHY, the MAC, the RRC, and the F1-AP.”): send device capability information to a network device, such that the network device allocates appropriate communication resources to user equipment according to device capability information, wherein the device capability information indicates frequency response capability of the communication device and comprises one or more groups of frequency response parameters, where each of the frequency response parameters are defined on per frequency basis (“[0083] As illustrated in FIG. 10, the SR control configuration may include frequency configuration information to configure a center frequency of a radio wave (for example, a component carrier) to be relayed by the SR device 500. When the SR control configuration received from the gNB 200 includes the frequency configuration information, the SR-UE 100B (controller 130) controls the SR device 500 such that the SR device 500 relays a radio wave as a target whose center frequency is indicated by the frequency configuration information. The SR control configuration may include a plurality of pieces of frequency configuration information to configure center frequencies to be different from each other. Since the SR control configuration includes the frequency configuration information, the gNB 200 can designate the center frequency of the radio wave to be relayed by the SR device 500 via the SR-UE 100B. [0084] The SR control configuration may include mode configuration information to configure an operation mode of the SR device 500. The mode configuration information may be associated with the frequency configuration information (center frequency). The operation mode may be any one of a mode in which the SR device 500 performs non-directional transmission and/or reception, a mode in which the SR device 500 performs fixed-directional transmission and/or reception, a mode in which the SR device 500 performs transmission and/or reception with a variable directional beam, and a mode in which the SR device 500 performs Multiple Input Multiple Output (MIMO) relay transmission. The operation mode may be either a beamforming mode (that is, a mode in which improvement of a desired wave is emphasized) and a null steering mode (that is, a mode in which suppression of an interference wave is emphasized). When the SR control configuration received from the gNB 200 includes the mode configuration information, the SR-UE 100B (controller 130) controls the SR device 500 such that the SR device 500 operates in the operation mode indicated by the mode configuration information. Since the SR control configuration includes the mode configuration information, the gNB 200 can designate the operation mode of the SR device 500 via the SR-UE 100B… [0091] The SR control configuration may include the beam configuration information to configure a transmission direction, a transmission weight, or a beam pattern for the SR device 500 to perform directional transmission. The beam configuration information may be associated with the frequency configuration information (center frequency). The beam configuration information may include a Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI). Since the SR control configuration includes the beam configuration information, the gNB 200 can designate a transmission directivity of the SR device 500 via the SR-UE 100B. [0092] The SR control configuration may include amplification degree configuration information to configure a degree for the SR device 500 to amplify a radio wave (amplification gain) or transmission output power. The amplification degree configuration information may be associated with the frequency configuration information (center frequency). The amplification degree configuration information may be information to configure any one of an amplification gain, a beamforming gain, and an antenna gain of the SR device 500. The amplification degree configuration information may be information to configure the transmission output power of the SR device 500.”); w
FUJISHIRO differs from claim 17, in that FUJISHIRO is silent on wherein each of the groups of frequency response parameters comprises at least one of following frequency-related parameters: a supported frequency band; a supported frequency band combination; a supported maximum number of contiguous carrier aggregations; a supported maximum cumulative bandwidth of contiguous carrier aggregations; a supported frequency separation between non-contiguous carrier aggregations; a supported passband; or a supported frequency shifting capability; wherein the supported frequency band combination, the supported maximum number of contiguous carrier aggregations, and the supported maximum cumulative bandwidth of contiguous carrier aggregations are defined for each frequency band ; and the supported frequency separation between non-contiguous carrier aggregations, the supported passband, and the supported frequency shifting capability are defined for each frequency band in each frequency band combination or for each feature set. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art concerning the communicating of wireless device capability information.
LIANG (USPGPub No. 2020/0336889) teaches device capability information that indicates frequency response capability of the smart repeater and comprises one or more groups of frequency response parameters, wherein each of the groups of frequency response parameters comprises at least one of following frequency-related parameters: a supported frequency band combination; a supported maximum number of contiguous carrier aggregations; a supported maximum cumulative bandwidth of contiguous carrier aggregations; a supported frequency separation between non-contiguous carrier aggregations; a supported passband; or a supported frequency shifting capability; wherein the supported frequency band combination, the supported maximum number of contiguous carrier aggregations, and the supported maximum cumulative bandwidth of contiguous carrier aggregations are defined for each frequency band ; and the supported frequency separation between non-contiguous carrier aggregations, the supported passband, and the supported frequency shifting capability are defined for each frequency band in each frequency band combination or for each feature set (“[0003] In a wireless communication network, a network side determines how to schedule a terminal according to capability of the terminal. Accordingly, the terminal needs to report the capability of the terminal when accessing a network. Under a carrier aggregation scenario, a concept of Band Combination (BC) is introduced to the capability of a terminal. That is, a terminal reports according to the BC. In a dual connection (i.e., EN-DC) between a Long Term Evolution (LTE) and New Radio (NR), it has been determined that a capability indication about whether single transmission (1 UL Tx) needs to be supported is required to be reported according to the BC, and a concept of Channel Combination (CC), i.e., a plurality of channels within a band, is introduced at the same time, and is finer granularity than the band. FIG. 1 shows a diagram of architecture of capability reporting of a terminal. As shown in FIG. 1, granularities of capability reporting of the terminal are sequentially from the largest to the smallest: per BC, per band, per Downlink (DL)/Uplink (UL), Multiple Input Multiple Output (MIMO)/bandwidth class.
[0004] In a current procedure of reporting terminal capability, since a terminal makes a report to the network side according to the BC, an indication of whether the terminal must support uplink dual-transmission needs also to be reported to the network side together with other radio frequency parameters.”)
Thus based upon the teachings of LIANG, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless device capability reporting feature of FUJISHIRO, by incorporating an ability to report a frequency-related parameters, such as a supported frequency band combination, as seen in the wireless device capability reporting feature of LIANG, to thus arrive at claim 17, in order to provide additional capabilities that can be used by a network side for a network configuration of a wireless device/smart repeater.
In regards to claim 19, the combination of FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of LIANG (US 20200336889 A1) teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer readable storage medium stores computer executable instructions; after the computer executable instructions are executed by a processor (See FUJISHIRO where “[0062] In an embodiment, configurations of the SR-UE 100B (SR wireless terminal) and the SR device 500 are described. FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating the configurations of the SR-UE 100B and the SR device 500 according to an embodiment. [0063] As illustrated in FIG. 7, the SR-UE 100B includes a receiver 110, a transmitter 120, a controller 130, and an interface 140. [0064] The receiver 110 performs various types of reception under control of the controller 130. The receiver 110 includes an antenna and a reception device. The reception device converts a radio wave received through the antenna (radio signal) into a baseband signal (a reception signal) and outputs the resulting signal to the controller 130. The transmitter 120 performs various types of transmission under control of the controller 130. The transmitter 120 includes an antenna and a transmission device. The transmission device converts a baseband signal (a transmission signal) output by the controller 130 into a radio signal and transmits the resulting signal through the antenna. [0065] The controller 130 performs various types of control in the SR-UE 100B. The controller 130 includes at least one processor and at least one memory. The memory stores a program to be executed by the processor and information to be used for processing by the processor. The processor may include a baseband processor and a Central Processing Unit (CPU). The baseband processor performs modulation and demodulation, coding and decoding, and the like of a baseband signal. The CPU executes the program stored in the memory to thereby perform various types of processing. The controller 130 performs a function of at least one layer of the PHY, the MAC, the RRC, and the F1-AP.”), the processor performs the method according to claim 1.
In regards to claim 8, FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) teaches a method for acquiring device capability information, performed by a network device, comprising: receiving device capability information reported by a smart repeater, so as to allocate appropriate communication resources to user equipment according to device capability information, wherein the device capability information indicates frequency response capability of the smart repeater and comprises one or more groups of frequency response parameters where each of the frequency response parameters are defined on per frequency basis (“[0083] As illustrated in FIG. 10, the SR control configuration may include frequency configuration information to configure a center frequency of a radio wave (for example, a component carrier) to be relayed by the SR device 500. When the SR control configuration received from the gNB 200 includes the frequency configuration information, the SR-UE 100B (controller 130) controls the SR device 500 such that the SR device 500 relays a radio wave as a target whose center frequency is indicated by the frequency configuration information. The SR control configuration may include a plurality of pieces of frequency configuration information to configure center frequencies to be different from each other. Since the SR control configuration includes the frequency configuration information, the gNB 200 can designate the center frequency of the radio wave to be relayed by the SR device 500 via the SR-UE 100B. [0084] The SR control configuration may include mode configuration information to configure an operation mode of the SR device 500. The mode configuration information may be associated with the frequency configuration information (center frequency). The operation mode may be any one of a mode in which the SR device 500 performs non-directional transmission and/or reception, a mode in which the SR device 500 performs fixed-directional transmission and/or reception, a mode in which the SR device 500 performs transmission and/or reception with a variable directional beam, and a mode in which the SR device 500 performs Multiple Input Multiple Output (MIMO) relay transmission. The operation mode may be either a beamforming mode (that is, a mode in which improvement of a desired wave is emphasized) and a null steering mode (that is, a mode in which suppression of an interference wave is emphasized). When the SR control configuration received from the gNB 200 includes the mode configuration information, the SR-UE 100B (controller 130) controls the SR device 500 such that the SR device 500 operates in the operation mode indicated by the mode configuration information. Since the SR control configuration includes the mode configuration information, the gNB 200 can designate the operation mode of the SR device 500 via the SR-UE 100B… [0091] The SR control configuration may include the beam configuration information to configure a transmission direction, a transmission weight, or a beam pattern for the SR device 500 to perform directional transmission. The beam configuration information may be associated with the frequency configuration information (center frequency). The beam configuration information may include a Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI). Since the SR control configuration includes the beam configuration information, the gNB 200 can designate a transmission directivity of the SR device 500 via the SR-UE 100B. [0092] The SR control configuration may include amplification degree configuration information to configure a degree for the SR device 500 to amplify a radio wave (amplification gain) or transmission output power. The amplification degree configuration information may be associated with the frequency configuration information (center frequency). The amplification degree configuration information may be information to configure any one of an amplification gain, a beamforming gain, and an antenna gain of the SR device 500. The amplification degree configuration information may be information to configure the transmission output power of the SR device 500.”),
FUJISHIRO differs from claim 8, in that FUJISHIRO is silent on wherein each of the groups of frequency response parameters comprises at least one of following frequency-related parameters: a supported frequency band; a supported frequency band combination; a supported maximum number of contiguous carrier aggregations; a supported maximum cumulative bandwidth of contiguous carrier aggregations; a supported frequency separation between non-contiguous carrier aggregations; a supported passband; or a supported frequency shifting capability; wherein the supported frequency band combination, the supported maximum number of contiguous carrier aggregations, and the supported maximum cumulative bandwidth of contiguous carrier aggregations are defined for each frequency band ; and the supported frequency separation between non-contiguous carrier aggregations, the supported passband, and the supported frequency shifting capability are defined for each frequency band in each frequency band combination or for each feature set. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art concerning the communicating of wireless device capability information.
LIANG (USPGPub No. 2020/0336889) teaches device capability information that indicates frequency response capability of the smart repeater and comprises one or more groups of frequency response parameters, wherein each of the groups of frequency response parameters comprises at least one of following frequency-related parameters: a supported frequency band combination; a supported maximum number of contiguous carrier aggregations; a supported maximum cumulative bandwidth of contiguous carrier aggregations; a supported frequency separation between non-contiguous carrier aggregations; a supported passband; or a supported frequency shifting capability; wherein the supported frequency band combination, the supported maximum number of contiguous carrier aggregations, and the supported maximum cumulative bandwidth of contiguous carrier aggregations are defined for each frequency band ; and the supported frequency separation between non-contiguous carrier aggregations, the supported passband, and the supported frequency shifting capability are defined for each frequency band in each frequency band combination or for each feature set (“[0003] In a wireless communication network, a network side determines how to schedule a terminal according to capability of the terminal. Accordingly, the terminal needs to report the capability of the terminal when accessing a network. Under a carrier aggregation scenario, a concept of Band Combination (BC) is introduced to the capability of a terminal. That is, a terminal reports according to the BC. In a dual connection (i.e., EN-DC) between a Long Term Evolution (LTE) and New Radio (NR), it has been determined that a capability indication about whether single transmission (1 UL Tx) needs to be supported is required to be reported according to the BC, and a concept of Channel Combination (CC), i.e., a plurality of channels within a band, is introduced at the same time, and is finer granularity than the band. FIG. 1 shows a diagram of architecture of capability reporting of a terminal. As shown in FIG. 1, granularities of capability reporting of the terminal are sequentially from the largest to the smallest: per BC, per band, per Downlink (DL)/Uplink (UL), Multiple Input Multiple Output (MIMO)/bandwidth class.
[0004] In a current procedure of reporting terminal capability, since a terminal makes a report to the network side according to the BC, an indication of whether the terminal must support uplink dual-transmission needs also to be reported to the network side together with other radio frequency parameters.”)
Thus based upon the teachings of LIANG, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless device capability reporting feature of FUJISHIRO, by incorporating an ability to report a frequency-related parameters, such as a supported frequency band combination, as seen in the wireless device capability reporting feature of LIANG, to thus arrive at claim 8, in order to provide additional capabilities that can be used by a network side/network device for a network configuration of a wireless device/smart repeater.
In regards to claim 18, the combination of FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of in view of LIANG (US 20200336889 A1) teaches a communication device, comprising: a transceiver; a memory; a processor, connected to the transceiver and the memory, respectively, and configured to control radio signal transmission and reception of the transceiver by executing computer-executable instructions on the memory (See FUJISHIRO “[0071] A configuration of the gNB 200 (base station) in an embodiment is described. FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating a configuration of the gNB 200 according to an embodiment. [0072] As illustrated in FIG. 8, the gNB 200 includes a transmitter 210, a receiver 220, a controller 230, and a backhaul communicator 240. [0073] The transmitter 210 performs various types of transmission under control of the controller 230. The transmitter 210 includes an antenna and a transmission device. The transmission device converts a baseband signal (a transmission signal) output by the controller 230 into a radio signal and transmits the resulting signal through the antenna. The receiver 220 performs various types of reception under control of the controller 230. The receiver 220 includes an antenna and a reception device. The reception device converts a radio signal received through the antenna into a baseband signal (a reception signal) and outputs the resulting signal to the controller 230. The transmitter 210 and the receiver 220 may be capable of beamforming using a plurality of antennas. [0074] The controller 230 performs various types of controls for the gNB 200. The controller 230 includes at least one processor and at least one memory. The memory stores a program to be executed by the processor and information to be used for processing by the processor. The processor may include a baseband processor and a CPU. The baseband processor performs modulation and demodulation, coding and decoding, and the like of a baseband signal. The CPU executes the program stored in the memory to thereby perform various types of processing.”), and realizes the method according to claim 8.
In regards to claim 20, the combination of FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of LIANG (US 20200336889 A1) teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer readable storage medium stores computer executable instructions; after the computer executable instructions are executed by a processor (“[0071] A configuration of the gNB 200 (base station) in an embodiment is described. FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating a configuration of the gNB 200 according to an embodiment. [0072] As illustrated in FIG. 8, the gNB 200 includes a transmitter 210, a receiver 220, a controller 230, and a backhaul communicator 240. [0073] The transmitter 210 performs various types of transmission under control of the controller 230. The transmitter 210 includes an antenna and a transmission device. The transmission device converts a baseband signal (a transmission signal) output by the controller 230 into a radio signal and transmits the resulting signal through the antenna. The receiver 220 performs various types of reception under control of the controller 230. The receiver 220 includes an antenna and a reception device. The reception device converts a radio signal received through the antenna into a baseband signal (a reception signal) and outputs the resulting signal to the controller 230. The transmitter 210 and the receiver 220 may be capable of beamforming using a plurality of antennas. [0074] The controller 230 performs various types of controls for the gNB 200. The controller 230 includes at least one processor and at least one memory. The memory stores a program to be executed by the processor and information to be used for processing by the processor. The processor may include a baseband processor and a CPU. The baseband processor performs modulation and demodulation, coding and decoding, and the like of a baseband signal. The CPU executes the program stored in the memory to thereby perform various types of processing.”), the processor performs the method according to claim 8.
In regards to claim 2, FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of LIANG suggests the method according to claim 1, wherein each of the groups of frequency response parameters further comprises: a supported frequency band, wherein the supported frequency band is defined for each frequency band; (See where FUJISHIRO at least recites “[0098] As illustrated in FIG. 13, the SR device capability information may include supported frequency information indicating a frequency supported by the SR device 500. The supported frequency information may be a numerical value or index indicating a center frequency of the frequencies supported by the SR device 500 and/or a numerical value or index indicating a range of the frequencies supported by the SR device 500. When the SR device capability information received from the SR-UE 100B includes the supported frequency information, the gNB 200 (controller 230) can grasp the frequency supported by the SR device 500, based on the supported frequency information. The gNB 200 (controller 230) may configure the center frequency of the radio wave targeted by the SR device 500 within the range of the frequencies supported by the SR device 500.”).
In regards to claim 9, FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of LIANG teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein each of the groups of frequency response parameters further comprises: wherein each of the groups of frequency response parameters further comprises: a supported frequency band, wherein the supported frequency band is defined for each frequency band; (See where FUJISHIRO at least recites “[0098] As illustrated in FIG. 13, the SR device capability information may include supported frequency information indicating a frequency supported by the SR device 500. The supported frequency information may be a numerical value or index indicating a center frequency of the frequencies supported by the SR device 500 and/or a numerical value or index indicating a range of the frequencies supported by the SR device 500. When the SR device capability information received from the SR-UE 100B includes the supported frequency information, the gNB 200 (controller 230) can grasp the frequency supported by the SR device 500, based on the supported frequency information. The gNB 200 (controller 230) may configure the center frequency of the radio wave targeted by the SR device 500 within the range of the frequencies supported by the SR device 500.”).
In regards to claim 21, FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of LIANG teaches the communication device according to claim 17, wherein each of the groups of frequency response parameters further comprises: wherein each of the groups of frequency response parameters further comprises: a supported frequency band, wherein the supported frequency band is defined for each frequency band(See where FUJISHIRO at least recites “[0098] As illustrated in FIG. 13, the SR device capability information may include supported frequency information indicating a frequency supported by the SR device 500. The supported frequency information may be a numerical value or index indicating a center frequency of the frequencies supported by the SR device 500 and/or a numerical value or index indicating a range of the frequencies supported by the SR device 500. When the SR device capability information received from the SR-UE 100B includes the supported frequency information, the gNB 200 (controller 230) can grasp the frequency supported by the SR device 500, based on the supported frequency information. The gNB 200 (controller 230) may configure the center frequency of the radio wave targeted by the SR device 500 within the range of the frequencies supported by the SR device 500.”).
In regards to claim 3, FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of LIANG teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the frequency-related parameter is indicated by one or more fixed values or range values (See where FUJISHIRO at least recites “[0098] As illustrated in FIG. 13, the SR device capability information may include supported frequency information indicating a frequency supported by the SR device 500. The supported frequency information may be a numerical value or index indicating a center frequency of the frequencies supported by the SR device 500 and/or a numerical value or index indicating a range of the frequencies supported by the SR device 500. When the SR device capability information received from the SR-UE 100B includes the supported frequency information, the gNB 200 (controller 230) can grasp the frequency supported by the SR device 500, based on the supported frequency information. The gNB 200 (controller 230) may configure the center frequency of the radio wave targeted by the SR device 500 within the range of the frequencies supported by the SR device 500.”).
In regards to claim 10, FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of LIANG teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein the frequency-related parameter is indicated by one or more fixed values or range values(See where FUJISHIRO at least recites “[0098] As illustrated in FIG. 13, the SR device capability information may include supported frequency information indicating a frequency supported by the SR device 500. The supported frequency information may be a numerical value or index indicating a center frequency of the frequencies supported by the SR device 500 and/or a numerical value or index indicating a range of the frequencies supported by the SR device 500. When the SR device capability information received from the SR-UE 100B includes the supported frequency information, the gNB 200 (controller 230) can grasp the frequency supported by the SR device 500, based on the supported frequency information. The gNB 200 (controller 230) may configure the center frequency of the radio wave targeted by the SR device 500 within the range of the frequencies supported by the SR device 500.”).
In regards to claim 22, FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of LIANG teaches the communication device according to claim 17, wherein the frequency-related parameter is indicated by one or more fixed values or range values (See where FUJISHIRO at least recites “[0098] As illustrated in FIG. 13, the SR device capability information may include supported frequency information indicating a frequency supported by the SR device 500. The supported frequency information may be a numerical value or index indicating a center frequency of the frequencies supported by the SR device 500 and/or a numerical value or index indicating a range of the frequencies supported by the SR device 500. When the SR device capability information received from the SR-UE 100B includes the supported frequency information, the gNB 200 (controller 230) can grasp the frequency supported by the SR device 500, based on the supported frequency information. The gNB 200 (controller 230) may configure the center frequency of the radio wave targeted by the SR device 500 within the range of the frequencies supported by the SR device 500.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 7, 11, and 14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of LIANG (US 20200336889 A1) in view of ABEDINI (US 20230119750 A1).
In regards to claim 4, the combination in view of FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of LIANG (US 20200336889 A1) is silent on method according to claim 1, wherein the supported frequency shifting capability comprises at least one of: information indicating that the smart repeater performs frequency modulation in-band or out-of-band; information indicating an adjustable frequency range of the smart repeater; or information indicating a frequency modulation step size of the smart repeater. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving use of a repeater to support wireless communication.
ABEDINI (US 20230119750 A1) discloses a feature where a base station transmits signaling to control the operation of a repeater based upon repeater capability information (“[0083]…In some aspects, the repeater may transmit an indication of support for (e.g., a capability) receiving control signaling or additional information from the base station 502, at 512. The base station 502 may send the control signaling based on the capability of the repeater device 506.”). ABEDINI further teaches where capabilities controlled by the base station include a frequency shifting capability and an adjustable frequency range of the repeater (i.e. the frequency range being, FR1, FR2, see where it recites, “[0091] If the base station 602 determines that the phase noise level is below a threshold, the base station 602 may continue to use the frequency shifting repeater 606, and may continue to use an FR2-FR1 frequency shifting configuration for the forwarding operation of the repeater 606. [0092] If the base station determines, e.g., at 613, that the phase noise meets or exceeds the threshold, the base station 602 may, in first aspects or a first option 650, change a configuration of the repeater 606. For example, the repeater 606 may support a configuration to perform FR2-FR1 frequency shifting, e.g., as described in connection with FIG. 5 and may support an amplify and forward operation without frequency shifting. The operation without frequency shifting may be referred to as FR1-FR1 operation, and the amplify ad forward operation with frequency shifting may be referred to as FR2-FR1 operation. In some aspects, the repeater 606 may signal support, at 612, for one or more types of operation, and may indicate to the base station 602 that the repeater 606 supports FR2-FR1 operation, FR1-FR1 operation, and/or that the repeater supports a configuration change between FR2-FR1 and FR1-FR1 operation.”)
Thus based upon the teachings of ABEDINI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify smart repeater capability feature of FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of LIANG (US 20200336889 A1), by taking into consideration features pertaining to a frequency shift capability of the repeater, and in particular wherein the supported frequency shifting capability comprises at least one of: information indicating that the smart repeater performs frequency modulation in-band or out-of-band; information indicating an adjustable frequency range of the smart repeater; or information indicating a frequency modulation step size of the smart repeater, as similarly seen in ABEDINI, to thus arrive at claim 4, in order to provide a benefit of additional capability information to more effectively control the operation of a smart repeater.
In regards to claim 11, the combination of FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of LIANG (US 20200336889 A1) is silent on method according to claim 8, wherein the supported frequency shifting capability comprises at least one of: information indicating that the smart repeater performs frequency modulation in-band or out-of-band; information indicating an adjustable frequency range of the smart repeater; or information indicating a frequency modulation step size of the smart repeater. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving use of a repeater to support wireless communication.
ABEDINI (US 20230119750 A1) discloses a feature where a base station transmits signaling to control the operation of a repeater based upon repeater capability information (“[0083]…In some aspects, the repeater may transmit an indication of support for (e.g., a capability) receiving control signaling or additional information from the base station 502, at 512. The base station 502 may send the control signaling based on the capability of the repeater device 506.”). ABEDINI further teaches where capabilities controlled by the base station include a frequency shifting capability and an adjustable frequency range of the repeater (i.e. the frequency range being, FR1, FR2, see where it recites, “[0091] If the base station 602 determines that the phase noise level is below a threshold, the base station 602 may continue to use the frequency shifting repeater 606, and may continue to use an FR2-FR1 frequency shifting configuration for the forwarding operation of the repeater 606. [0092] If the base station determines, e.g., at 613, that the phase noise meets or exceeds the threshold, the base station 602 may, in first aspects or a first option 650, change a configuration of the repeater 606. For example, the repeater 606 may support a configuration to perform FR2-FR1 frequency shifting, e.g., as described in connection with FIG. 5 and may support an amplify and forward operation without frequency shifting. The operation without frequency shifting may be referred to as FR1-FR1 operation, and the amplify ad forward operation with frequency shifting may be referred to as FR2-FR1 operation. In some aspects, the repeater 606 may signal support, at 612, for one or more types of operation, and may indicate to the base station 602 that the repeater 606 supports FR2-FR1 operation, FR1-FR1 operation, and/or that the repeater supports a configuration change between FR2-FR1 and FR1-FR1 operation.”)
Thus based upon the teachings of ABEDINI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify smart repeater capability feature of FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of LIANG (US 20200336889 A1), by taking into consideration features pertaining to a frequency shift capability of the repeater, and in particular wherein the supported frequency shifting capability comprises at least one of: information indicating that the smart repeater performs frequency modulation in-band or out-of-band; information indicating an adjustable frequency range of the smart repeater; or information indicating a frequency modulation step size of the smart repeater, as similarly seen in ABEDINI, to thus arrive at claim 11, in order to provide a benefit of additional capability information to more effectively control the operation of a smart repeater.
In regards to claim 7, the combination of FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of LIANG (US 20200336889 A1) teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the smart repeater comprises a mobile terminal part and a repeater part (See FUJISHIRO [Fig. 5 – Fig. 7] which illustrate where the smart repeater comprises a mobile terminal part, SR-UE, and a repeater part, SR-device),The smart repeater feature of FUJISHURO in view of LIANG differs from that of claim 7, in that FUJISHIRO in view of LIANG is silent on the method of claim 1, where the one or more groups of frequency response parameters comprises more than one group of frequency response parameters, wherein at least one group in the more than one group of frequency response parameters is configured for the mobile terminal part and at least another group in the more than one group of frequency response parameters is configured for the repeater part. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving use of a repeater for wireless communication.
ABEDINI [Fig. 6], teaches a feature for a repeater, where the repeater operates in different frequency ranges for a mobile terminal part of the repeater (i.e. supporting communication over link between the repeater and the mobile terminal via FR1 frequency range) and a repeater part of the repeater (i.e. supporting communication over link between the repeater and the base station via FR1 and FR2, frequency range) in order to provide more effective communication depending on conditions in a communication environment (“[0083]…In some aspects, the repeater may transmit an indication of support for (e.g., a capability) receiving control signaling or additional information from the base station 502, at 512. The base station 502 may send the control signaling based on the capability of the repeater device 506…[0091] If the base station 602 determines that the phase noise level is below a threshold, the base station 602 may continue to use the frequency shifting repeater 606, and may continue to use an FR2-FR1 frequency shifting configuration for the forwarding operation of the repeater 606. [0092] If the base station determines, e.g., at 613, that the phase noise meets or exceeds the threshold, the base station 602 may, in first aspects or a first option 650, change a configuration of the repeater 606. For example, the repeater 606 may support a configuration to perform FR2-FR1 frequency shifting, e.g., as described in connection with FIG. 5 and may support an amplify and forward operation without frequency shifting. The operation without frequency shifting may be referred to as FR1-FR1 operation, and the amplify ad forward operation with frequency shifting may be referred to as FR2-FR1 operation. In some aspects, the repeater 606 may signal support, at 612, for one or more types of operation, and may indicate to the base station 602 that the repeater 606 supports FR2-FR1 operation, FR1-FR1 operation, and/or that the repeater supports a configuration change between FR2-FR1 and FR1-FR1 operation.”)
Thus based upon the teachings of ABEDINI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify smart repeater capability feature of FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of LIANG, by taking into consideration a repeater operating capability such as different operating frequency ranges for a mobile terminal part of the repeater (i.e. supporting communication over link between the repeater and the mobile terminal via FR1 frequency range) and a repeater part of the repeater (i.e. supporting communication over link between the repeater and the base station via FR1 and FR2, frequency range), to thus arrive the method according to claim 1, wherein the smart repeater comprises a mobile terminal part and a repeater part and the one or more groups of frequency response parameters comprises more than one group of frequency response parameters, wherein at least one group in the more than one group of frequency response parameters is configured for the mobile terminal part and at least another group in the more than one group of frequency response parameters is configured for the repeater part. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a benefit of additional capability information to more effectively control the operation of a smart repeater depending on a condition of a communication environment.
In regards to claim 14, the combination of FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of in view of LIANG (US 20200336889 A1) teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein the smart repeater comprises a mobile terminal part and a repeater part (See [Fig. 5 – Fig. 7] which illustrate where the smart repeater comprises a mobile terminal part, SR-UE, and a repeater part, SR-device), The smart repeater feature of FUJISHURO in view of LIANG differs from that of claim 14, in that FUJISHIRO in view of LIANG is silent on the method of claim 8, where the one or more groups of frequency response parameters comprises more than one group of frequency response parameters, wherein at least one group in the more than one group of frequency response parameters is configured for the mobile terminal part and at least another group in the more than one group of frequency response parameters is configured for the repeater part. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving use of a repeater for wireless communication.
ABEDINI [Fig. 6], teaches a feature for a repeater, where the repeater operates in different frequency ranges for a mobile terminal part of the repeater (i.e. supporting communication over link between the repeater and the mobile terminal via FR1 frequency range) and a repeater part of the repeater (i.e. supporting communication over link between the repeater and the base station via FR1 and FR2, frequency range) in order to provide more effective communication depending on conditions in a communication environment (“[0083]…In some aspects, the repeater may transmit an indication of support for (e.g., a capability) receiving control signaling or additional information from the base station 502, at 512. The base station 502 may send the control signaling based on the capability of the repeater device 506…[0091] If the base station 602 determines that the phase noise level is below a threshold, the base station 602 may continue to use the frequency shifting repeater 606, and may continue to use an FR2-FR1 frequency shifting configuration for the forwarding operation of the repeater 606. [0092] If the base station determines, e.g., at 613, that the phase noise meets or exceeds the threshold, the base station 602 may, in first aspects or a first option 650, change a configuration of the repeater 606. For example, the repeater 606 may support a configuration to perform FR2-FR1 frequency shifting, e.g., as described in connection with FIG. 5 and may support an amplify and forward operation without frequency shifting. The operation without frequency shifting may be referred to as FR1-FR1 operation, and the amplify ad forward operation with frequency shifting may be referred to as FR2-FR1 operation. In some aspects, the repeater 606 may signal support, at 612, for one or more types of operation, and may indicate to the base station 602 that the repeater 606 supports FR2-FR1 operation, FR1-FR1 operation, and/or that the repeater supports a configuration change between FR2-FR1 and FR1-FR1 operation.”)
Thus based upon the teachings of ABEDINI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify smart repeater capability feature of FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of LIANG, by taking into consideration a repeater operating capability such as different operating frequency ranges for a mobile terminal part of the repeater (i.e. supporting communication over link between the repeater and the mobile terminal via FR1 frequency range) and a repeater part of the repeater (i.e. supporting communication over link between the repeater and the base station via FR1 and FR2, frequency range), to thus arrive the method according to claim 8, wherein the smart repeater comprises a mobile terminal part and a repeater part and the one or more groups of frequency response parameters comprises more than one group of frequency response parameters, wherein at least one group in the more than one group of frequency response parameters is configured for the mobile terminal part and at least another group in the more than one group of frequency response parameters is configured for the repeater part. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a benefit of additional capability information to more effectively control the operation of a smart repeater depending on a condition of a communication environment.
Claim(s) 7 and 14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of LIANG (US 20200336889 A1) in view of KAZMI (WO 2012096605 A1, cited in IDS received December 20, 2024).
In regards to claim 7, the combination of FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of LIANG (US 20200336889 A1) teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the smart repeater comprises a mobile terminal part and a repeater part (See FUJISHIRO [Fig. 5 – Fig. 7] which illustrate where the smart repeater comprises a mobile terminal part, SR-UE, and a repeater part, SR-device),The smart repeater feature of FUJISHURO in view of in view of LIANG (US 20200336889 A1) differs from that of claim 7, in that FUJISHIRO is silent on the method of claim 1, where the one or more groups of frequency response parameters comprises more than one group of frequency response parameters, wherein at least one group in the more than one group of frequency response parameters is configured for the mobile terminal part and at least another group in the more than one group of frequency response parameters is configured for the repeater part. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving use of a repeater for wireless communication.
KAZMI (WO 2012096605 A1O) [Fig. 6], teaches a feature for a repeater/relay, where the relay reports more than one group of frequency response parameters, wherein at least one group in the more than one group of frequency response parameters is configured for the mobile terminal part (i.e. access part) and at least another group in the more than one group of frequency response parameters is configured for the repeater part in order to enable a network to more effectively configure the relay (See [Page 2] where “In various embodiments of the present invention, an out-of-band relay node reports its composite operating band capability to a donor node, such as a donor base station, or to another network node. The reported information indicates separate frequency band support for each of the backhaul and access links, which may operate over different frequency bands. In some embodiments, a network node that is controlling the relay node (for example, a donor base station, an O&M node, an OSS node, a SON node, or another relay node in multi-hop relay) requests the relay node to report its backhaul link and access link operating frequency band capabilities to the controlling node or to another network node. Correspondingly, other embodiments include a relay node that reports its frequency band capabilities for the backhaul link and access link to a network node, perhaps, but not necessarily, in response to a request. In some embodiments, a network node that receives the reported frequency capability information selects appropriate frequency bands for access and backhaul link operations, based on the reported band capability, and configures the relay node to operate its access link and backhaul link over the carrier frequencies that belong to the selected frequency bands. In these and other embodiments, the received relay frequency band capability information and/or the selected bands for the backhaul and access links may also be used for one or more other network management functions such as radio resources management, network planning, dimensioning, coverage enhancement, etc…”, See [Page 12] where it recites, “Consider that an out-of-band FDD relay node supports three frequency bands: band 1 (2 GHz), band 7 (2.6 GHz) and band 8 (900 MHz). However, while the relay node may support backhaul link operation over frequency bands 1 and 7, the access link can operate only over the frequency band 8. In another example, the relay node supports band 1 and band 8 for the backhaul and access links, respectively. In either of these configurations, the inventive techniques disclosed herein enable the relay node to explicitly indicate to the controlling network node (e.g., the donor eNodeB) the separate supported frequency bands for the backhaul and access link operations… Reporting of band identifiers mapped to different links - According to one approach, the relay node simply reports to the network node the identifiers of the frequency bands (i.e., band numbers) over which the relay node can support backhaul link and access link operations. This is illustrated in Table 2. The mapping between available frequency bands and the frequency band identifiers or the band numbers used to report are pre-defined, so that the relay node and the network node receiving the report are in agreement as to the meaning of the report.”)
Thus based upon the teachings of KAZMI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify smart repeater capability feature of FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of in view of LIANG (US 20200336889 A1), by taking into consideration a repeater operating capability such as different operating frequency ranges for a mobile terminal part of the repeater and a repeater part of the repeater, to thus arrive at the method according to claim 1, wherein the smart repeater comprises a mobile terminal part and a repeater part and the one or more groups of frequency response parameters comprises more than one group of frequency response parameters, wherein at least one group in the more than one group of frequency response parameters is configured for the mobile terminal part and at least another group in the more than one group of frequency response parameters is configured for the repeater part. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a benefit of additional capability information to more effectively control the operation of a smart repeater in a scenario where the smart repeater is operable in various differing frequency bands in a mobile terminal part and a repeater part.
In regards to claim 14, the combination of FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of LIANG (US 20200336889 A1) teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein the smart repeater comprises a mobile terminal part and a repeater part (See FUJISHIRO [Fig. 5 – Fig. 7] which illustrate where the smart repeater comprises a mobile terminal part, SR-UE, and a repeater part, SR-device), The smart repeater feature of FUJISHURO differs from that of claim 14, in that FUJISHIRO is silent on the method of claim 8, where the one or more groups of frequency response parameters comprises more than one group of frequency response parameters, wherein at least one group in the more than one group of frequency response parameters is configured for the mobile terminal part and at least another group in the more than one group of frequency response parameters is configured for the repeater part. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving use of a repeater for wireless communication.
KAZMI (WO 2012096605 A1O) [Fig. 6], teaches a feature for a repeater/relay, where the relay reports more than one group of frequency response parameters, wherein at least one group in the more than one group of frequency response parameters is configured for the mobile terminal part (i.e. access part) and at least another group in the more than one group of frequency response parameters is configured for the repeater part in order to enable a network to more effectively configure the relay (See [Page 2] where “In various embodiments of the present invention, an out-of-band relay node reports its composite operating band capability to a donor node, such as a donor base station, or to another network node. The reported information indicates separate frequency band support for each of the backhaul and access links, which may operate over different frequency bands. In some embodiments, a network node that is controlling the relay node (for example, a donor base station, an O&M node, an OSS node, a SON node, or another relay node in multi-hop relay) requests the relay node to report its backhaul link and access link operating frequency band capabilities to the controlling node or to another network node. Correspondingly, other embodiments include a relay node that reports its frequency band capabilities for the backhaul link and access link to a network node, perhaps, but not necessarily, in response to a request. In some embodiments, a network node that receives the reported frequency capability information selects appropriate frequency bands for access and backhaul link operations, based on the reported band capability, and configures the relay node to operate its access link and backhaul link over the carrier frequencies that belong to the selected frequency bands. In these and other embodiments, the received relay frequency band capability information and/or the selected bands for the backhaul and access links may also be used for one or more other network management functions such as radio resources management, network planning, dimensioning, coverage enhancement, etc…”, See [Page 12] where it recites, “Consider that an out-of-band FDD relay node supports three frequency bands: band 1 (2 GHz), band 7 (2.6 GHz) and band 8 (900 MHz). However, while the relay node may support backhaul link operation over frequency bands 1 and 7, the access link can operate only over the frequency band 8. In another example, the relay node supports band 1 and band 8 for the backhaul and access links, respectively. In either of these configurations, the inventive techniques disclosed herein enable the relay node to explicitly indicate to the controlling network node (e.g., the donor eNodeB) the separate supported frequency bands for the backhaul and access link operations… Reporting of band identifiers mapped to different links - According to one approach, the relay node simply reports to the network node the identifiers of the frequency bands (i.e., band numbers) over which the relay node can support backhaul link and access link operations. This is illustrated in Table 2. The mapping between available frequency bands and the frequency band identifiers or the band numbers used to report are pre-defined, so that the relay node and the network node receiving the report are in agreement as to the meaning of the report.”)
Thus based upon the teachings of KAZMI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify smart repeater capability feature of FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of LIANG (US 20200336889 A1), by taking into consideration a repeater operating capability such as different operating frequency ranges for a mobile terminal part of the repeater and a repeater part of the repeater, to thus arrive at the method according to claim 8, wherein the smart repeater comprises a mobile terminal part and a repeater part and the one or more groups of frequency response parameters comprises more than one group of frequency response parameters, wherein at least one group in the more than one group of frequency response parameters is configured for the mobile terminal part and at least another group in the more than one group of frequency response parameters is configured for the repeater part. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a benefit of additional capability information to more effectively control the operation of a smart repeater in a scenario where the smart repeater is operable in various differing frequency bands in a mobile terminal part and a repeater part.
Claim(s) 5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of LIANG (US 20200336889 A1) in view of HE (US 20250007592 A1)
In regards to claim 5, FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of LIANG (US 20200336889 A1) is silent on the method according to claim 1, wherein each of the groups of frequency response parameters further comprises one or more power-related parameters, and the one or more power-related parameters comprise at least one of following parameters: a supported transmission power class; a supported maximum transmission power value; a supported target receiving power value; or a supported target receiving power class. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art concerning the capability information of a smart repeater.
HE (US 20250007592 A1) for example teaches a feature where capability information of a smart repeater includes one or more power-related parameters, and the one or more power-related parameters comprise at least one of following parameters: a supported transmission power class; a supported maximum transmission power value; a supported target receiving power value; or a supported target receiving power class, in order to provide a benefit of coordinating power control within a cell served by a network device (i.e. base station), “[0137] The SMR capability may include a maximum transmission power parameter. This maximum transmission power parameter may be given in the form of a power class indication for a power class of the SMR. In some cases, if no maximum transmission power parameter is given, the base station may default to treating the SMR as having a power class that is pre-defined in a specification for the wireless communication system. The maximum transmission power parameter allows the base station to appropriately set an Energy-Per-RE (EPRE) setting for SSB and/or CSI-RS transmission(s) by the SMR, such that PL calculations to determine SMR-UE power control are appropriately facilitated at any SMR-UEs, in the case that these signals are used at the SMR UEs as DL RSs for power control of PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS, beam management, beam failure detection (BFD), and/or cell selection, etc.”
Thus, based upon the teachings of HE (US 20250007592 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feature for providing frequency response capability information of a smart repeater taught by FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of LIANG (US 20200336889 A1), by taking into account power-related parameters for the groups of frequency response parameters, to thus arrive at the method according to claim 2, wherein each of the groups of frequency response parameters further comprises one or more power-related parameters, and the one or more power-related parameters comprise at least one of following parameters: a supported transmission power class; a supported maximum transmission power value; a supported target receiving power value; or a supported target receiving power class, in order to provide a benefit of coordinating power control for given frequencies within a cell served by a network device (i.e. network device such as the gNB discussed throughout the disclosure of FUJISHIRO),
In regards to claim 12, the combination of FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of LIANG (US 20200336889 A1) is silent on the method according to claim 8, wherein each of the groups of frequency response parameters further comprises one or more power-related parameters, and the one or more power-related parameters comprise at least one of following parameters: a supported transmission power class; a supported maximum transmission power value; a supported target receiving power value; or a supported target receiving power class. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art concerning the capability information of a smart repeater.
HE (US 20250007592 A1) for example teaches a feature where capability information of a smart repeater includes one or more power-related parameters, and the one or more power-related parameters comprise at least one of following parameters: a supported transmission power class; a supported maximum transmission power value; a supported target receiving power value; or a supported target receiving power class, in order to provide a benefit of coordinating power control within a cell served by a network device (i.e. base station), “[0137] The SMR capability may include a maximum transmission power parameter. This maximum transmission power parameter may be given in the form of a power class indication for a power class of the SMR. In some cases, if no maximum transmission power parameter is given, the base station may default to treating the SMR as having a power class that is pre-defined in a specification for the wireless communication system. The maximum transmission power parameter allows the base station to appropriately set an Energy-Per-RE (EPRE) setting for SSB and/or CSI-RS transmission(s) by the SMR, such that PL calculations to determine SMR-UE power control are appropriately facilitated at any SMR-UEs, in the case that these signals are used at the SMR UEs as DL RSs for power control of PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS, beam management, beam failure detection (BFD), and/or cell selection, etc.”
Thus, based upon the teachings of HE (US 20250007592 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feature for providing frequency response capability information of a smart repeater taught by FUJISHIRO (US 20240147550 A1) in view of LIANG (US 20200336889 A1), by taking into account power-related parameters for the groups of frequency response parameters, to thus arrive at the method according to claim 9, wherein each of the groups of frequency response parameters further comprises one or more power-related parameters, and the one or more power-related parameters comprise at least one of following parameters: a supported transmission power class; a supported maximum transmission power value; a supported target receiving power value; or a supported target receiving power class, in order to provide a benefit of coordinating power control for given frequencies within a cell served by a network device (i.e. network device such as the gNB discussed throughout the disclosure of FUJISHIRO),
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 6 and 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TARELL A HAMPTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476