DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/21/2024, 10/01/2025, and 01/16/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do use the word “means” and “step,” and are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “assembly-connecting means” in 8; “connector means” in claim 10; “actuating means” and “operating means” in claim 13; “steps” in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “particularly” in claims 7 and 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “particularly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Moreover, the specification of the instant application does not provide a definition for said term.
The term “types” in claim 7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “types” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-8, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bernate et al. (US 2020/0080045 A1-hereafter “Bernate”).
Regarding claim 1, Bernate discloses a reservoir element for a tank of a bio-pharma process line (reservoir assembly 1250, para. [0078], Fig. 1Q to be used in a tangential flow assembly; further, Bernate discloses an invention relating to a cell growth, concentration and medium exchange device/module for growing and concentrating cells and automated cell processing, para. [0043]).
“a body element and at least one shell element”: Fig. 1Q of Bernate shows a housing or body element of the assembly 1250 and the outer structural component of assembly 1250—the shell.
“the body element having a first end and a second end, being opposite the first end,”: Fig. 1Q of Bernate shows an upper end and an opposing lower end of the housing of assembly 1250.
“each of the first and second ends including an orifice, and wherein the body element tapers from the first end to the second end, wherein an inner volume is defined between the first and second ends,”: Fig. 1Q of Bernate shows an opening disposed on the top of the housing of assembly 1250 and an opening disposed at the bottom of housing 1250, the inner volume is defined between the opposing ends via retentate reservoirs 1252. Further, the body of reservoirs 1252 tapers from the upper end to the lower of assembly 1250.
“and wherein the body element and/or the at least one shell element include at least one groove”: Bernate discloses grooves 1232 (para. [0078], Fig. 1Q). It should be noted that that the term “and/or” in the claim is being interpreted to indicate that one of the clauses needs to be met by the prior art in order to anticipate or render the instant claim obvious.
“wherein the at least one shell element is fixedly attached to the body element so that the body element and the at least one shell element sandwich the groove in between forming at least one channel,”: Fig. 1Q of Bernate shows the housing of assembly 1250 includes a portion attached to the shell or outer portion or sides of assembly 1250 form a channel of reservoirs 1252 to accommodate pneumatic ports (now shown, para. [0078], Fig. 1Q).
“the at least one channel being adapted for guiding at least one biochemical medium and/or an operating medium.”: Bernate discloses ports 1228 of reservoir assembly 1250 (para. [0078], Fig. 1Q). It should be noted that that the term “and/or” in the claim is being interpreted to indicate that one of the clauses needs to be met by the prior art in order to anticipate or render the instant claim obvious.
Regarding claim 2, a portion of reservoir assembly 1250 has a polygonal shape of the cross-section (reservoir 1254, which has more than one side, Fig. 1Q of Bernate).
Regarding claim 4, Fig. 1Q of Bernate shows plate element (shown below in annotated Fig. 1Q below, where the plate element is attached to a first end of the body of assembly 1250); the plate element shown in annotated Fig. 1Q, has a groove which can form a channel (also discussed above in claim 1); the port assembly 1250 form a channel of reservoirs 1252 to accommodate pneumatic ports (now shown, para. [0078], Fig. 1Q).
Regarding claim 7, Bernate discloses reservoir assembly 1250 includes a port with a respective channel, shown in Fig. 1Q. Further, Bernate discloses various ports (ports 1226 and 1228) of the reservoir assembly 1250 (para. [0078]); at least one filter (filters or membranes appropriate for use in the TFF device/module are those that are solvent resistant, are contamination free during filtration, and are able to retain the types and sizes of cells of interest, para. [0057]). Also, Bernate discloses the material used to fabricate the TFF device/module is thermally-conductive so that the cell culture may be heated or cooled to a desired temperature (para. 0063]). Further, Bernate discloses various valve types such solenoid 3-way valves, two pressure sensors, two proportional valves, a pump capable of delivering pressures of –5 to 30 psi and filters positioned in between the pneumatics and the reservoirs and where the 3-way solenoid valves (para. [0072]); Bernate discloses a pneumatic actuator with fluid transfer ports 1242 and pneumatic ports 1230 (para. [0093]).
Regarding claim 8, Bernate discloses a means to couple the retentate member, the membrane, the permeate member, and the reservoir assembly (para. [0009]). It should be noted that that the term “and/or” in the claim is being interpreted to indicate that one of the clauses needs to be met by the prior art in order to anticipate or render the instant claim obvious.
Regarding claim 10, Bernate discloses a top plate element shown Fig. 1Q of reservoir 1250 (the plate-like structure of assembly 1250 disposed on the upper portion and lower portion); reservoir assembly 1250 includes a sidewall, a top plate element and a bottom plate element (shown in Fig. 1Q and discussed above). Further, Bernate discloses reservoirs 1252 are used to contain the cells and medium as the cells are transferred through the flow channel and into the retentate reservoirs during cell concentration and/or growth (para. [0078]); flow channel disposed in permeate member (para. [0078]). It should be noted that that the term “and/or” in the claim is being interpreted to indicate that one of the clauses needs to be met by the prior art in order to anticipate or render the instant claim obvious.
Regarding claim 15, Bernate discloses automated multi-module cell processing system (para. [0018]). Further, Bernate discloses a tank discussed above in claim 10; a top plate and a bottom plate and side wall (shown above in annotated Fig. 1Q), where the sidewall, top and bottom plate of assembly 1250 form a reservoir 1252 for receiving a medium).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6, 9, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernate et al. (US 2020/0080045 A1-hereafter “Bernate”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Goral (US 2023/0009199 A1-hereafter “Goral”, has an earlier effective date as of the provisional application).
Regarding claims 3, 6, 9, and 11, Bernate discloses the invention discussed above in claim 1. Also, Bernate discloses multiple reservoir elements, and Bernate discloses first ends and second ends of the reservoir assembly 1250 (annotated Fig. 1Q above shows the first and second ends of the reservoirs have the same size and shape), discussed above. Bernate does not explicitly teach stackable reservoir elements.
Goral discloses a modular and stacked cell culture system that includes a standalone cell culture subunit with an interior cavity to house a cell culture substrate in a cell culture space (Abstract) and Goral discloses a stacked configuration of multiple units 50 interlocked by using threaded connections (the sealing face for claim 6, para. [0029], Fig. 4). It should be noted that that the term “and/or” in the claim is being interpreted to indicate that one of the clauses needs to be met by the prior art in order to anticipate or render the instant claim obvious.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the reservoir assembly of Bernate to include multiple reservoir elements stackable within each other as taught by Goral, because Goral teaches simultaneously running identical bioreactors while having a flexibility of maintaining different cell culture conditions will allow end users to quickly identify the optimal bioprocess conditions (para. [0037]).
Regarding claim 12, a different embodiment of Bernate discloses a support rail adapted to support two at least two tanks (shown below in annotated Fig. 1S). It should be noted that that the term “and/or” in the claim is being interpreted to indicate that one of the clauses needs to be met by the prior art in order to anticipate or render the instant claim obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Moreover, It should be noted that that the term “and/or” in the claim is being interpreted to indicate that one of the clauses needs to be met by the prior art in order to anticipate or render the instant claim obvious.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: for dependent claim 13, the prior art fails to suggest or singly or in combination teach the following claim limitations: a clean room bag that comprises at least one foil portion, wherein the clean room bag is configured to receive at least one tank and to provide a clean room environment for the at least one tank when the at least one tank is received in the clean room bag, wherein the at least one tank is accessible with a handling manipulator from the outside of the clean room bag, the system optionally further comprising at least one adaptor plate element, wherein the adaptor plate element is associated with at least one tank and can be installed on the at least one tank, so that one of the at least one foil portions of the clean room bag is sandwiched between an access plate element of the tank and the adaptor plate element, wherein at least one of the top plate element, the at least one sidewall element and the bottom plate element is said access plate element, wherein the adaptor plate element is configured to define at least one access point to provide access to the tank from the outside of the clean room bag, via the access plate element, wherein further optionally the adaptor plate element is configured to cover a filter and/or a port of the tank at least partially, and wherein the foil portion is provided removably and/or pierceably in an area of the filter and/or port of the tank to provide access to the tank and/or, wherein the adaptor plate element is configured to support an actuating means of a valve and/or an operating means of the tank, and wherein the foil portion is provided removably and/or pierceably in an area of the actuating means of a valve and/or an operating means of the tank to provide access to the tank, where these limitations are in combination with the claim as a whole.
The closest prior art is Bernate et al. (US 2020/0080045 A1-hereafter “Bernate”) and Goral (US 2023/0009199 A1-hereafter “Goral”). Bernate discloses a disclosure providing a cell growth, buffer exchange, and/or cell concentration/filtration device that may be used as a stand- alone device or as a module configured to be used in an automated multi-module cell processing environment. Goral discloses a modular and stacked cell culture system that includes a standalone cell culture subunit with an interior cavity to house a cell culture substrate in a cell culture space, a fluid inlet to supply fluid to the cell culture space, and a fluid outlet to remove fluid from the cavity. The cavity is arranged for fluid to flow in from the fluid inlet, then through the cell culture space, and then out through the fluid outlet. However, Bernate and Goral do not teach or fairly suggest a clean room bag that comprises at least one foil portion, wherein the clean room bag is configured to receive at least one tank and to provide a clean room environment for the at least one tank when the at least one tank is received in the clean room bag, wherein the at least one tank is accessible with a handling manipulator from the outside of the clean room bag, the system optionally further comprising at least one adaptor plate element, wherein the adaptor plate element is associated with at least one tank and can be installed on the at least one tank, so that one of the at least one foil portions of the clean room bag is sandwiched between an access plate element of the tank and the adaptor plate element, wherein at least one of the top plate element, the at least one sidewall element and the bottom plate element is said access plate element, wherein the adaptor plate element is configured to define at least one access point to provide access to the tank from the outside of the clean room bag, via the access plate element, wherein further optionally the adaptor plate element is configured to cover a filter and/or a port of the tank at least partially, and wherein the foil portion is provided removably and/or pierceably in an area of the filter and/or port of the tank to provide access to the tank and/or, wherein the adaptor plate element is configured to support an actuating means of a valve and/or an operating means of the tank, and wherein the foil portion is provided removably and/or pierceably in an area of the actuating means of a valve and/or an operating means of the tank to provide access to the tank.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: for dependent claim 14, the prior art fails to suggest or singly or in combination teach the following claim limitations: a clean room bag, for being used in system according to claim 10, the clean room bag being configured to receive at least one tank and to provide a clean room environment for the at least one tank when the at least one tank is received in the clean room bag, wherein the clean room bag comprises at least one foil portion, that is adapted to be sandwiched between an access plate element of the tank and an adaptor plate element, so as to define at least one access point to provide access to the tank from the outside of the clean room bag, via the access plate element, the clean room bag further comprising at least one support rail for guiding at least one received assembled tank within the clean room bag, the support rail being adapted to support at least two tanks, wherein the support rail may engage with the top plate elements and/or the sidewall elements of the respective tanks, so that the top plate elements of tanks with different height dimensions are arranged on the same level, when the tanks are supported by the support rail, wherein the support rail may be formed from multiple support rail sections, so that the clean room bag is foldable, where these limitations are in combination with the claim as a whole.
The closest prior art is Bernate et al. (US 2020/0080045 A1-hereafter “Bernate”) and Goral (US 2023/0009199 A1-hereafter “Goral”). Bernate discloses a disclosure providing a cell growth, buffer exchange, and/or cell concentration/filtration device that may be used as a stand- alone device or as a module configured to be used in an automated multi-module cell processing environment. Goral discloses a modular and stacked cell culture system that includes a standalone cell culture subunit with an interior cavity to house a cell culture substrate in a cell culture space, a fluid inlet to supply fluid to the cell culture space, and a fluid outlet to remove fluid from the cavity. The cavity is arranged for fluid to flow in from the fluid inlet, then through the cell culture space, and then out through the fluid outlet. However, Bernate and Goral do not teach or fairly suggest a clean room bag, for being used in system according to claim 10, the clean room bag being configured to receive at least one tank and to provide a clean room environment for the at least one tank when the at least one tank is received in the clean room bag, wherein the clean room bag comprises at least one foil portion, that is adapted to be sandwiched between an access plate element of the tank and an adaptor plate element, so as to define at least one access point to provide access to the tank from the outside of the clean room bag, via the access plate element, the clean room bag further comprising at least one support rail for guiding at least one received assembled tank within the clean room bag, the support rail being adapted to support at least two tanks, wherein the support rail may engage with the top plate elements and/or the sidewall elements of the respective tanks, so that the top plate elements of tanks with different height dimensions are arranged on the same level, when the tanks are supported by the support rail, wherein the support rail may be formed from multiple support rail sections, so that the clean room bag is foldable.
Conclusion
/LENORA A ABEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/MICHAEL L HOBBS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799