DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-26, 29-33, 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inés Moreno et al. Selective oxidation of benzyl alcohol using in situ generated H2O2 over hierarchical Au–Pd titanium silicalite catalysts. Catal. Sci. Technol. 2013; 3 (9): 2425–2434. in view of Xia et al. (US 2015/0118149 A1).
Regarding claims 21-23 Moreno et al. teaches Au-Pd titanium silicate catalysts (abstract). The catalysts have a secondary porous system within the supermicro/mesopore range (corresponding to mesopore). The pore volume of the micropores for TS-1 was 0.222 cm3/g, the secondary porosity volume was 0.075 cm3/g, the micropore surface area was 416 m2/g, and the second porosity surface area was 53 m2/g (Table 2). This would result in a micropore surface area accounting for 89% of the total surface area. The TS-1 particle was 100-180 nm (pg. 2428; col 2). The synthesis of the TS-1 was performed according to the literature technique taught by Serrano et al (pg. 2426, col. 2). Moreno et al. does not teach the ratio of the surface to bulk phase.
However, Xia et al. teaches a titanium silicate molecular sieve (TS-1) (paragraph [0002]). The micropore volume was 0.12-0.19 mL/g (paragraph [0012]). The crystal grain has a size of 140 nm to 2 µm (paragraph [0146]). In example one the micropore volume was 0.166 mL/g and the mesopore volume was 0.086 mL/g (paragraph [0027]). The ratio of the (surface Si/Ti): (bulk Si/Ti) is 1.2-4:1, which would result in a range of 120-400%, which satisfies the equation of 145%< 120-400% < 200% (paragraph [0014]). The Ti/Si molar ratio is (0.005-0.03):1 (paragraph [0014]).The SBET was 426 m2/g in example 1 (paragraph [0227]). Xia et al. teaches the crystal grain of the titanium silicate molecular sieve is rich of silicon on the surface, by teaching the surface to bulk ratio of the molecular sieve (paragraph [0009]). Additionally, this higher ratio has a higher oxidation activity, for example, when the catalyst is used in an oxidation reaction in which H2O2 is involved, the decomposing effect of Ti in the surface layer on H2O2 can be reduced, which is favorable for reducing the activity of the side reaction in which H2O2 is decomposed ineffectively, and increasing the utilization rate of the starting material (paragraph [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Moreno et al. with Xia et al. and use the ratio of the surface to bulk phase of the TS-1 molecular sieve with the TS-1 molecular sieve and mesopore volume taught by Moreno et al., for the purpose as suggested by Xia et al. to increase the amount of silicon on the surface in order to produce a catalyst with a higher oxidation activity due to reducing side reactions with the oxidant H2O2. Xia et al. teaches the TS-1 molecular sieve has a higher micropore volume and a lower mesopore volume. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 24 and 25 Moreno et al. teaches the titanium molecular sieve has a Ti/Si molar ratio of 0.016:1 (pg. 2426; col. 2).
Regarding claim 26, Moreno et al. teaches Au-Pd titanium silicate catalysts (abstract). The catalysts have a secondary porous system within the supermicro/mesopore range. The pore volume of the micropores for TS-1 was 0.222 cm3/g, the secondary porosity volume was 0.075 cm3/g, the micropore surface area was 416 m2/g, and the second porosity surface area was 53 m2/g (Table 2). This would result in a micropore surface area accounting for 89% of the total surface area. The TS-1 particle was 100-180 nm (pg. 2428; col 2). The synthesis of the TS-1 was performed according to the literature technique taught by Serrano et al (pg. 2426, col. 2). A SiO2-TiO2 xerogel was synthesized, and was impregnated with a tetra-propylammonium hydroxide aqueous solution (corresponding to subjecting the molecular sieve to an aliphatic amine solution) (pg. 2426, col. 2). The titanium silicate molecular sieve was then impregnated with a gold catalyst (pg. 2426, col 2). Moreno et al. does not teach the ratio of the surface to bulk phase.
However, Xia et al. teaches a titanium silicate molecular sieve (TS-1) (paragraph [0002]). The micropore volume was 0.12-0.19 mL/g (paragraph [0012]). The crystal grain has a size of 140 nm to 2 µm (paragraph [0146]). In example one the micropore volume was 0.166 mL/g and the mesopore volume was 0.086 mL/g (paragraph [0027]). The ratio of the (surface Si/Ti): (bulk Si/Ti) is 1.2-4:1, which would result in a range of 120-400%, which satisfies the equation of 145%< 120-400% < 200% (paragraph [0014]). The Ti/Si molar ratio is (0.005-0.03):1 (paragraph [0014]).The SBET was 426 m2/g in example 1 (paragraph [0227]). Xia et al. teaches the crystal grain of the titanium silicate molecular sieve is rich of silicon on the surface, by teaching the surface to bulk ratio of the molecular sieve (paragraph [0009]). Additionally, this higher ratio has a higher oxidation activity, for example, when the catalyst is used in an oxidation reaction in which H2O2 is involved, the decomposing effect of Ti in the surface layer on H2O2 can be reduced, which is favorable for reducing the activity of the side reaction in which H2O2 is decomposed ineffectively, and increasing the utilization rate of the starting material (paragraph [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Moreno et al. with Xia et al. and use the ratio of the surface to bulk phase of the TS-1 molecular sieve with the TS-1 molecular sieve taught by Moreno et al., for the purpose as suggested by Xia et al. to increase the amount of silicon on the surface in order to produce a catalyst with a higher oxidation activity due to reducing side reactions with the oxidant H2O2. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 29, Moreno et al. does not teach the ratio of the surface to bulk phase.
However, Xia et al. teaches a titanium silicate molecular sieve (TS-1) (paragraph [0002]). The micropore volume was 0.12-0.19 mL/g (paragraph [0012]). The crystal grain has a size of 140 nm to 2 µm (paragraph [0146]). In example one the micropore volume was 0.166 mL/g and the mesopore volume was 0.086 mL/g (paragraph [0027]). The ratio of the (surface Si/Ti): (bulk Si/Ti) is 1.2-4:1, which would result in a range of 120-400%, which satisfies the equation of 145%< 120-400% < 200% (paragraph [0014]). The Ti/Si molar ratio is (0.005-0.03):1 (paragraph [0014]).The SBET was 426 m2/g in example 1 (paragraph [0227]). Xia et al. teaches the crystal grain of the titanium silicate molecular sieve is rich of silicon on the surface, by teaching the surface to bulk ratio of the molecular sieve (paragraph [0009]). Additionally, this higher ratio has a higher oxidation activity, for example, when the catalyst is used in an oxidation reaction in which H2O2 is involved, the decomposing effect of Ti in the surface layer on H2O2 can be reduced, which is favorable for reducing the activity of the side reaction in which H2O2 is decomposed ineffectively, and increasing the utilization rate of the starting material (paragraph [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Moreno et al. with Xia et al. and use the ratio of the surface to bulk phase of the TS-1 molecular sieve with the TS-1 molecular sieve taught by Moreno et al., for the purpose as suggested by Xia et al. to increase the amount of silicon on the surface in order to produce a catalyst with a higher oxidation activity due to reducing side reactions with the oxidant H2O2. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 30, Moreno et al. teaches depositing gold (HAuCl4·3 H2O) in the TS-1 molecular sieve (pg. 2426, col. 2). The catalyst is then calcined in static air, and further modification does not occur (pg., 2427, col. 1). Therefore, based on the synthesis method, then nanogold would have a valency of zero. Regarding composition claims, if the composition is the same, it must have the same properties (see MPEP § 2112.01, II.).
Regarding claim 31, Moreno et al. teaches the TS-1 with secondary porosity decreases the average particle size to 2-3 nm for impregnation synthesis method and 4-8 nm for the deposition precipitation synthesis method (pg. 2428, col. 2).
Regarding claim 32 and 33, Moreno et al. teaches the titanium molecular sieve has a Ti/Si molar ratio of 0.016:1 (pg. 2426; col. 2).
Regarding claims 35-40, the process limitations are noted. However, when the examiner has found a substantially similar product as in the applied prior art, the burden of proof is shifted to applicant to establish that their product is patentably distinct and not the examiner to show the same process of making. In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685 and In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moreno and Xia as applied to claims 21-26, 29-33, 35-40 above, and further in view of Naixu Li et al. TS-1 supported highly dispersed sub-5 nm gold nanoparticles toward direct propylene epoxidation using H2 and O2, Journal of Solid State Chemistry, 2018, 261, 92-102.
Regarding claim 27, Moreno et al. teaches Au-Pd titanium silicate catalysts (abstract). The catalysts have a secondary porous system within the supermicro/mesopore range. The pore volume of the micropores for TS-1 was 0.222 cm3/g, the secondary porosity volume was 0.075 cm3/g, the micropore surface area was 416 m2/g, and the second porosity surface area was 53 m2/g (Table 2). The TS-1 particle was 100-180 nm (pg. 2428; col 2).
However, Li et al. teaches TS-1 supported gold nanoparticles for propylene epoxidation. Table 1 shows the surface area of the loaded TS-1, with the surface area ranging from 336.4-440.7 m2/g (pg. 94). The surface area depended on the mass of the HAuCl4 in solution, with higher amounts of gold resulting in a smaller surface area (pg. 94; Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Moreno et al. with Li et al. and use the trend taught by Li et al. that increasing the amount of gold loaded on the molecular sieve results in a smaller surface area, and apply this to the gold loaded molecular sieve taught by Moreno et al. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moreno and Xia as applied to claims 21-26, 29-33, 35-40 above, and further in view of Shigeo et al. (WO 2008/108398 A1) (reference made to machine translation).
Regarding claim 34, Moreno et al. teaches 2.5 wt% of gold (pg. 2426, col. 2).
However, Shigeo et al. teaches a gold titanium silicate catalyst, with the proportion of gold is 0.05-5 wt% (paragraphs [0096]-[0097]). The catalyst uses a micromeso hybrid substrate in which seed crystals are contained in the wall material having a mesoporous structure, and fine gold particles are dispersed and supported thereon, which makes it possible to achieve an improvement in the raw material conversion rate and improvement in the catalyst life (paragraph [0080]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Moreno et al. with Shigeo et al. and use the wt% of Au in the catalyst composition taught by Moreno et al. for the purpose as suggested by Shigeo et al. in order to improve the catalyst lifecycle.
Conclusion
/H.E.K./ Examiner, Art Unit 1742 /CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1742