DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 21 June 2024. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) was/were submitted on 21 June 2024. The submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Information Disclosure Statement(s) is/are being considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Request for priority to Provisional App. No. 63/293,293 is acknowledged. Examiner notes that the current claims do not appear to be fully supported by the provisional application and further notes that the Applicant may be requested to perfect one or more of the claims in the situation where applied prior art has priority falling between the filing date of the non-provisional application (371 of PCT/IB2022/059857) dated 14 October 2022 and the provisional application dated 23 December 2021. No action on the part of the Applicant is requested at this time.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 13, 15-16, and 19 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: The limitation “and a DC bus” should be “and a direct current (DC)
Claim 5: “adjust the at least one parameter in response” should be “adjust the at least one parameter of the powertrain in response”;
Claim 6: “wherein the parameter is at least one of” should be “wherein the at least one parameter of the powertrain is at least one of”;
Claim 13: “the adjustment of the parameter comprises” should be “the adjustment of the at least one parameter of the powertrain comprises”;
Claim 15 and 16: “indicates that the load on the DC bus” should be “indicates that the electrical load on the DC bus”;
Claim 19: “adjust the at least one parameter when” should be “adjust the at least one parameter of the powertrain system when”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 0046: reference character “28” has been used to designate both “electrical accessories” and “vehicle accessories”. Reference character 28 designates “vehicle accessories” in FIG. 1 and “electrical accessories” in FIG. 2-6 (see the objections to the drawings section, below). Reference character 28 only designates “electrical accessories” in paragraphs 0050, 0052, 0054, 0055, 0057, 0058, 0060, 0061, 0067, 0068, 0076, 0088, and 0094.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “28” has been used to designate both “vehicle accessories” and “electrical accessories” (see FIG. 1 and FIG. 2-6). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “190” (FIG. 11). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the power reserve measures". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US-20100102763-A1, hereinafter “Kagoshima”.
Regarding claim 1, and analogous claims 18 and 20, Kagoshima discloses A control system for controlling a powertrain of a hybrid electric vehicle (Kagoshima, para. 0012: “When it is detected by the electric-storage-device breakdown detector that the electric storage device is unusable, the controller unit [i.e., A control system] is configured to perform emergency evacuation control that suppresses the power consumption of the rotation motor to be less than or equal to the power generation of the generator while maintaining voltage of a direct current bus greater than or equal to a normal operation voltage of a control system of the hybrid working machine [i.e., for controlling a powertrain of a hybrid electric vehicle].”), the powertrain comprising an engine, a motor/generator, a battery and a DC bus, wherein the control system is configured to:
Regarding claim 18, Kagoshima discloses a powertrain for a hybrid electric vehicle, the powertrain comprising: an engine; a motor/generator; a DC bus; a battery configured to supply power to the DC bus; and a control system (Kagoshima, FIG. 1; para. 0012: “A hybrid working machine according to an aspect of the present invention includes the following elements [i.e., a powertrain for a hybrid electric vehicle]: an engine serving as a power source [i.e., an engine]; a hydraulic pump serving as a hydraulic power source of a hydraulic actuator, the hydraulic pump being driven by the engine; a generator driven by the engine [i.e., a motor/generator]; an electric storage device [i.e., a battery configured to supply power to the DC bus] that is charged with electric power generated by the generator; a rotation motor serving as a driving source of a rotating structure, the rotation motor being driven by the generator and the electric storage device; an electric-storage-device breakdown detector that detects that the electric storage device is unusable; and a controller unit [i.e., a control system] that controls the generator and the rotation motor. When it is detected by the electric-storage-device breakdown detector that the electric storage device is unusable, the controller unit is configured to perform emergency evacuation control that suppresses the power consumption of the rotation motor to be less than or equal to the power generation of the generator while maintaining voltage of a direct current bus [i.e., a DC bus] greater than or equal to a normal operation voltage of a control system of the hybrid working machine.”).
Regarding claim 20, Kagoshima discloses a method of controlling a powertrain of a hybrid electric vehicle (Kagoshima, FIG. 2, FIG. 3; para. 0032: “The details of this control operation will be described with reference to the flowcharts illustrated in FIGS. 2 and 3.”).
operate the motor/generator in a first mode when the battery is connected to the DC bus (Kagoshima, para. 0012: “…an electric storage device that is charged with electric power generated by the generator; a rotation motor serving as a driving source of a rotating structure, the rotation motor being driven by the generator [i.e., operate the motor/generator in a first mode] and the electric storage device [i.e., when the battery is connected to the DC bus]; …”);
operate the motor/generator in a second mode when the battery is disconnected from the DC bus (Kagoshima, FIG. 1; para. 0013: “Accordingly, when the electric storage device is unusable [i.e., when the battery is disconnected from the DC bus], the power consumption of the rotation motor is suppressed while the voltage of the direct current bus is maintained greater than or equal to the normal operation voltage of the system [i.e., operate the motor/generator in a second mode]. Therefore, both stable rotation and hydraulic operation can be ensured.”),
wherein the second mode is a voltage control mode in which the motor/generator controls a voltage of the DC bus (Kagoshima, FIG. 1; para. 0012: “When it is detected by the electric-storage-device breakdown detector that the electric storage device is unusable [i.e., the second mode], the controller unit is configured to perform emergency evacuation control that suppresses the power consumption of the rotation motor to be less than or equal to the power generation of the generator [i.e., the motor/generator] while maintaining voltage of a direct current bus [i.e., a voltage control mode in which the motor/generator controls a voltage of the DC bus] greater than or equal to a normal operation voltage of a control system of the hybrid working machine.”); and
adjust at least one parameter of the powertrain to assist the motor/generator in controlling the voltage of the DC bus in the second mode (Kagoshima, para. 0037: “In the emergency evacuation control [i.e., in the second mode] flow illustrated in FIG. 3, when the engine 1 is started by the starter motor, in step S11, it is determined whether the voltage of the DC buses 9 a and 9 b is greater than or equal to a first set value.”; para. 0039: “In this case, the torque of the generator motor 2 is set and controlled so that the voltage of the DC buses 9 a and 9 b will be maintained greater than or equal to a normal operation voltage [i.e., adjust at least one parameter of the powertrain to assist the motor/generator in controlling the voltage of the DC bus] (second set value; e.g., 300 V) of the entire system when the battery 11 is working well.”).
Regarding claim 2, Kagoshima discloses The control system according to claim 1,
wherein the first mode is a mode in which at least one of a speed, torque, or power of the motor/generator is controlled (Kagoshima, FIG. 2; para. 0036: “In contrast, when the detected voltage is greater than or equal to the normal value (YES in step S2), it is determined that the battery 11 is working well [i.e., the first mode], and the control proceeds to normal control (step S6) [i.e., a mode in which at least one of a speed, torque, or power of the motor/generator is controlled].”; Note: It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the application, to know that a motor/generator in a hybrid electric vehicle powertrain system can be controlled based on speed, torque, or power.).
Regarding claim 3, Kagoshima discloses The control system according to claim 1,
wherein, in the second mode, the control system adjusts the at least one parameter of the powertrain to assist the engine in controlling a parameter of the engine (Kagoshima, FIG. 3; para. 0037: “In the emergency evacuation [i.e., the second mode] control flow illustrated in FIG. 3, when the engine 1 is started by the starter motor [i.e., the control system adjusts the at least one parameter of the powertrain to assist the engine in controlling a parameter of the engine], in step S11, it is determined whether the voltage of the DC buses 9 a and 9 b is greater than or equal to a first set value.”).
Regarding claim 4, Kagoshima discloses The control system according to claim 3,
wherein the parameter of the engine is engine speed if the engine is in a speed control mode or engine torque delivery if the engine is in a torque control mode (Kagoshima, para. 0012: “A hybrid working machine according to an aspect of the present invention includes the following elements: an engine serving as a power source; a hydraulic pump serving as a hydraulic power source of a hydraulic actuator, the hydraulic pump being driven by the engine; a generator driven by the engine; an electric storage device that is charged with electric power generated by the generator…”; Note: One of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the application, would know that a hybrid electric vehicle system with an engine providing power to a motor/generator (when a second power source, i.e., a battery, is not available) would have a control system that would necessarily need to control the speed, torque, or power of the engine in order to control the speed, torque, or power of the motor/generator.).
Regarding claim 5, Kagoshima discloses The control system according to claim 1,
wherein the control system is arranged to adjust the at least one parameter in response to a change in load on the DC bus (Kagoshima, para. 0014: “When the electric storage device is working well, the regenerative power generated when the rotation speed is decreasing is stored in the electric storage device. However, when the electric storage device becomes unusable, there will be no storage device for the regenerative power [i.e., in response to a change in load on the DC bus], and a regenerative brake operation may not be normally performed [i.e., control system is arranged to adjust the at least one parameter].”).
Regarding claim 6, Kagoshima discloses The control system according to claim 1,
wherein the parameter is at least one of: a power consumption of a power consuming component; and a power reserve of the engine (Kagoshima, para. 0014: “When the electric storage device is working well, the regenerative power generated when the rotation speed is decreasing is stored in the electric storage device [i.e., power consumption of a power consuming component]. However, when the electric storage device becomes unusable, there will be no storage device for the regenerative power [i.e., the parameter is at least one of: a power consumption of a power consuming component], and a regenerative brake operation may not be normally performed.”; para. 0015: “In such a case, it is preferable that the hybrid working machine according to the aspect of the present invention further include a regenerative resistor that consumes regenerative power when the rotation motor is performing a regenerative operation; and a regenerative-resistor controller that controls the regenerative resistor. In this way, the regenerative power generated when the rotation speed is decreasing is consumed by the regenerative resistor [i.e., parameter is at least one of: a power consumption of a power consuming component], and a regenerative brake operation can be normally performed.”).
Regarding claim 7, Kagoshima discloses The control system according to claim 6,
wherein the power consuming component is at least one of: an electrical accessory; and a brake resistor (Kagoshima, para. 0015: “In such a case, it is preferable that the hybrid working machine according to the aspect of the present invention further include a regenerative resistor that consumes regenerative power when the rotation motor is performing a regenerative operation; and a regenerative-resistor controller that controls the regenerative resistor. In this way, the regenerative power generated when the rotation speed is decreasing is consumed by the regenerative resistor [i.e., the power consuming component is at least one of…a brake resistor], and a regenerative brake operation can be normally performed.”).
Regarding claim 8, Kagoshima discloses The control system according to claim 1,
wherein the control system is configured to use at least one of: nominal engine torque, engine torque reserve; motor/generator torque; variation of traction motor torque from drive demand torque; variation of accessories power from accessories power demand; and brake resistor power as a control variable to control the voltage of the DC bus (Kagoshima, para. 0013: “Accordingly, when the electric storage device is unusable, the power consumption of the rotation motor [i.e., accessories] is suppressed while the voltage of the direct current bus is maintained greater than or equal to the normal operation voltage of the system [i.e., control system is configured to use at least one of…variation of accessories power from accessories power demand…as a control variable to control the voltage of the DC bus]. Therefore, both stable rotation and hydraulic operation can be ensured.”).
Regarding claim 9, Kagoshima discloses The control system according to claim 1,
wherein the control system is configured to receive a signal indicating that the battery is about to be disconnected or is disconnected from the DC bus (Kagoshima, para. 0031: “When the breakdown detector 15 determines that the battery 11 is unusable, the breakdown detector 15 sends a breakdown signal to the generator motor controller 16 and the rotation motor controller 17, which perform predetermined control operation.”) and
to operate the motor/generator in the voltage control mode when the battery is disconnected from the DC bus (Kagoshima, para. 0012: “When it is detected by the electric-storage-device breakdown detector that the electric storage device is unusable [i.e., when the battery is disconnected from the DC bus], the controller unit is configured to perform emergency evacuation control that suppresses the power consumption of the rotation motor to be less than or equal to the power generation of the generator while maintaining voltage of a direct current bus greater than or equal to a normal operation voltage of a control system of the hybrid working machine [i.e., operate the motor/generator in the voltage control mode].”).
Regarding claim 10, Kagoshima discloses The control system according to claim 1,
wherein the control system is configured to: receive a signal indicating a predicted change in state of the DC bus (Kagoshima, para. 0014: “When the electric storage device is working well, the regenerative power generated when the rotation speed is decreasing [i.e., receive a signal indicating a predicted change in state of the DC bus] is stored in the electric storage device. However, when the electric storage device becomes unusable, there will be no storage device for the regenerative power, and a regenerative brake operation may not be normally performed.”); and
adjust the at least one parameter of the powertrain to assist the motor/generator in responding to the predicted change in state of the DC bus (Kagoshima, para. 0015: “In such a case, it is preferable that the hybrid working machine according to the aspect of the present invention further include a regenerative resistor that consumes regenerative power when the rotation motor is performing a regenerative operation [i.e., at least one parameter of the powertrain to assist the motor/generator in responding to the predicted change in state of the DC bus]; and a regenerative-resistor controller that controls the regenerative resistor. In this way, the regenerative power generated when the rotation speed is decreasing is consumed by the regenerative resistor, and a regenerative brake operation can be normally performed.”).
Regarding claim 11, Kagoshima discloses The control system according to claim 10,
wherein the control system is configured to at least partially reverse the adjustment when the state of the DC bus changes (Kagoshima, para. 0015: “In such a case, it is preferable that the hybrid working machine according to the aspect of the present invention further include a regenerative resistor that consumes regenerative power when the rotation motor is performing a regenerative operation [i.e., the adjustment when the state of the DC bus changes]; and a regenerative-resistor controller that controls the regenerative resistor. In this way, the regenerative power generated when the rotation speed is decreasing is consumed by the regenerative resistor, and a regenerative brake operation can be normally performed.”; para. 0012: “When it is detected by the electric-storage-device breakdown detector that the electric storage device is unusable, the controller unit is configured to perform emergency evacuation control that suppresses the power consumption of the rotation motor to be less than or equal to the power generation of the generator [i.e., the control system is configured to at least partially reverse the adjustment] while maintaining voltage of a direct current bus greater than or equal to a normal operation voltage of a control system of the hybrid working machine.”).
Regarding claim 12, Kagoshima discloses The control system according to claim 10,
wherein the signal indicating a predicted change in state is a signal indicating that the battery will be disconnected from the DC bus (Kagoshima, para. 0014: “However, when the electric storage device becomes unusable [i.e., a signal indicating that the battery will be disconnected from the DC bus], there will be no storage device for the regenerative power, and a regenerative brake operation may not be normally performed.”; para. 0015: “In such a case, it is preferable that the hybrid working machine according to the aspect of the present invention further include a regenerative resistor that consumes regenerative power when the rotation motor is performing a regenerative operation; and a regenerative-resistor controller that controls the regenerative resistor.”).
Regarding claim 13, Kagoshima discloses The control system according to claim 12,
wherein the adjustment of the parameter comprises at least one of: turning on or increasing a power consumption of a power consuming component; and applying or increasing a power reserve of the engine (Kagoshima, para. 0014: “However, when the electric storage device becomes unusable, there will be no storage device for the regenerative power, and a regenerative brake operation may not be normally performed.”; para. 0015: “In such a case, it is preferable that the hybrid working machine according to the aspect of the present invention further include a regenerative resistor that consumes regenerative power when the rotation motor is performing a regenerative operation [i.e., adjustment of the parameter comprises at least one of: turning on or increasing a power consumption of a power consuming component]; and a regenerative-resistor controller that controls the regenerative resistor.”).
Regarding claim 14, Kagoshima discloses The control system according to claim 10,
wherein the signal indicating a predicted change in state is a signal indicating a predicted change in electrical load on the DC bus (Kagoshima, para. 0016: “It is preferable that the hybrid working machine according to the aspect of the present invention further include a bus voltage detector [i.e., the signal indicating a predicted change in state] that detects the voltage of the direct current bus [i.e., a signal indicating a predicted change in electrical load on the DC bus]. The electric-storage-device breakdown detector may detect that the electric storage device is unusable when the bus voltage detected by the bus voltage detector at start-up in a state in which the electric storage device is connected to the direct current bus is less than a set value.”).
Regarding claim 15, Kagoshima discloses The control system according to claim 14,
wherein the control system is configured such that, when the signal indicating a predicted change in state indicates that the load on the DC bus will increase, the control system performs at least one of: turning on or increasing a power consumption of a power consuming component; and applying or increasing a power reserve of the engine (Kagoshima, para. 0015: “In such a case, it is preferable that the hybrid working machine according to the aspect of the present invention further include a regenerative resistor that consumes regenerative power when the rotation motor is performing a regenerative operation [i.e., the load on the DC bus will increase, the control system performs at least one of: turning on or increasing a power consumption of a power consuming component]; and a regenerative-resistor controller that controls the regenerative resistor. In this way, the regenerative power generated when the rotation speed is decreasing is consumed by the regenerative resistor, and a regenerative brake operation can be normally performed.”).
Regarding claim 16, Kagoshima discloses The control system according to claim 14,
wherein the control system is configured such that, when the signal indicating a predicted change in state indicates that the load on the DC bus will decrease, the control system performs at least one of: turning off or decreasing a power consumption of a power consuming component; reducing or cancelling the power reserve measures; and removing or decreasing a power reserve of the engine (Kagoshima, para. 0013: “Accordingly, when the electric storage device is unusable, the power consumption of the rotation motor is suppressed [i.e., the load on the DC bus will decrease, the control system performs at least one of: turning off or decreasing a power consumption of a power consuming component] while the voltage of the direct current bus is maintained greater than or equal to the normal operation voltage of the system. Therefore, both stable rotation and hydraulic operation can be ensured.”).
Regarding claim 17, Kagoshima discloses The control system according to claim 1,
wherein the control system is configured to adjust the at least one parameter of the powertrain to avoid operating the engine in a dead band and to assist the engine in low torque resolution zones in the engine's torque map (Kagoshima, para. 0026: “In contrast, a rotation motor 8 is connected to the generator motor 2 via a generator motor inverter 6 and a rotation motor inverter 7 constituting a controller unit. A battery (electric storage device) 11 is connected via a battery connecting circuit 10 to DC buses 9 a and 9 b connecting the two inverters 6 and 7. The rotation motor 8 is driven by using the generator motor 2 and the battery 11 as a power source.”; Note: It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the application, to know that a hybrid electric vehicle system, with a motor powered by either or both of an engine and a battery (i.e., powertrain system), would be most efficiently utilized by controlling the powertrain system to increase power output percentage from the battery in conditions when demanding power from the engine would be in its most inefficient power output zones. See US-20120303189-A1 (Pub. 2012-11-29), para. 0003: “Vehicles having hybrid powertrain systems selectively use different energy sources to generate torque and power to achieve optimal fuel efficiency in response to operator commands. This includes selectively employing an internal combustion engine and a motor/generator unit(s) connected to a high-voltage battery module or energy storage system for propulsion and operational control.”).
Regarding claim 19, Kagoshima discloses The powertrain according to claim 18,
wherein: the battery is removably connected to the DC bus (Kagoshima, FIG. 1, battery connecting circuit 10; FIG. 2, step S1: connect battery to DC buses);
the battery comprises a battery management system (Kagoshima, para. 0031: “The breakdown detector 15 [i.e., a battery management system] determines whether the battery 11 is broken (unusable) on the basis of whether the voltage of the DC buses 9 a and 9 b, which is detected by the voltage sensor 14 at the time the system is started (at the time the key is switched on), is greater than or equal to a normal battery voltage (e.g., 150 V). When the breakdown detector 15 determines that the battery 11 is unusable, the breakdown detector 15 sends a breakdown signal to the generator motor controller 16 and the rotation motor controller 17, which perform predetermined control operation.”);
the battery management system is configured to output a signal indicating that the battery needs to be disconnected (Kagoshima, para. 0031: “The breakdown detector 15 [i.e., the battery management system] determines whether the battery 11 is broken (unusable) on the basis of whether the voltage of the DC buses 9 a and 9 b, which is detected by the voltage sensor 14 at the time the system is started (at the time the key is switched on), is greater than or equal to a normal battery voltage (e.g., 150 V). When the breakdown detector 15 determines that the battery 11 is unusable, the breakdown detector 15 sends a breakdown signal [i.e., output a signal indicating that the battery needs to be disconnected] to the generator motor controller 16 and the rotation motor controller 17, which perform predetermined control operation.”); and
the control system is configured to adjust the at least one parameter when a signal indicating that the battery will be disconnected is received (Kagoshima, para. 0037: “In the emergency evacuation control [i.e., when a signal indicating that the battery will be disconnected is received] flow illustrated in FIG. 3, when the engine 1 is started by the starter motor, in step S11, it is determined whether the voltage of the DC buses 9 a and 9 b is greater than or equal to a first set value.”; para. 0038: “The first set value is a value that is approximately the electromotive force of the generator motor 2. When it is determined YES in step S11, in step S12, the generator motor inverter 6 sets the torque of the generator motor 2 [i.e., control system is configured to adjust the at least one parameter], and a power generating operation of the generator motor 2 is started.”).
Additional Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20120303189-A1 (2012-11-29) | “Limp-home” mode for hybrid electric vehicles. Relevant to claims 1, 18, and 20.
EP-4032737-B1 (Pub. 2022-07-27, Filed 2020-11-04) | “A control method and system after a hybrid vehicle battery failure, and a hybrid vehicle. The control method comprises: after monitoring that a failure occurs to a power battery, determining whether the failure is a specific type of failure, the specific type of failure being a battery failure where a motor of a hybrid vehicle can perform voltage control (S402); if yes, configuring a relay of the power battery to be turned off after a preset time (S404); before the relay is turned off, performing coordination control on the power battery, an engine, a transmission, and the motor of the hybrid vehicle, so that the running states of the power battery, the engine, the transmission, and the motor satisfy preset voltage control entry conditions (S406); and controlling the motor to enter a voltage control mode (S408).In this way, the motor can smoothly enter the voltage control mode and stably runs, and the problems such as battery overtemperature and severe voltage fluctuation caused by directly performing voltage control by the motor after the failure occurs to the power battery are avoided.” Relevant to claims 1, 18, and 20.
Conclusion
/L.N.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3666