DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 2-4, 7, 9, 13, 15-18, 20-21, 23, and 31-34 are cancelled. Claims 1, 5-6, 8, 10-12, 14, 19, 22, and 24-30 are pending and under examination.
Priority
This application is a national stage entry of PCT/CA2022/051889 filed on 12/22/2022, which claims priority from Canadian application CA3143650 filed on 12/22/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 10/15/2024 and 12/29/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Objection to the Specification
Table 1 in applicant’s specification is objected to because there appear to be disconnected or incomplete bonds in some of the compounds listed in the table such as compounds 100-102, and 104-111. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 25 is objected to as it needs to include “further” before “comprising” in the claim since it is further adding to what was introduced to the nanoparticle in claim 24.
Claim 28 is objected to for recitations of “including” and multiple recitations of “or” through the group and ending with “and/or….”. The group only needs one “or” between the last two items of the group (….Shiga toxin, or Shiga-like toxin.) to indicate that the items are alternatives.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 is indefinite for referring to the compounds of table 1 where the compounds in table 1 are either not formatted correctly or incomplete, and have question marks at various positions. This makes it unclear how the compounds should be considered or in some cases what the compounds are. Applicant should denote the correct compounds structures as options in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Budani et al (Journal of Lipid Research, 2016, volume 57, pages 1728-1736).
“Optionally substituted” allows for various groups attached to the mentioned group.
Budani teaches
(figure 1).
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 10, 24-27, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Koker WO2022136641A1 (effective filing date of December 23, 2020).
Koker teaches an ionizable cationic lipid that is used for preparation of nanoparticle compositions comprising nucleic acids and allows for vaccine formulations with the nanoparticles (abstract). Koker teaches a compound on page 2-
Koker teaches compounds on page 5 that have disulfide groups with C2 alkylene groups that attach to ester groups where one side has groups alkylene groups with C16 or C17 or other carbon numbers and where the other side can have either an H or two alkyls or other groups. As the claims allow for optional substitutions, the groups in the claims that have optional substituents are allowed to have other groups. The compounds found on page 5 are:
.
Compounds having a disulfide group with alkyl chains rather than alkylene chains are found on page 7 (first six listed compounds). Page 9 of Koker provides these compounds -
. Additional compounds with the disulfide groups, fatty chains (R1 and R2), and groups that can serve as X1, X2, Y1, Y2 , Z , R3 and R4 as in applicant’s compounds are found on page 48-49 as well as pages 33-38 of Koker. Koker teaches “This also means that R1 and R2 do not need to be identical, while in a specific embodiment, they may be identical to each other.” Koker teaches mRNA, DNA and cDNA (end of page 42 and top of page 43). Koker teaches antigens, proteins or peptides (page 44). Koker teaches using the vaccine to induce immune responses by administration of the vaccines (page 44). Koker teaches for treating a disease such as cancer and also for prophylaxis of infections (page 44). The top of page 45 provides for both treating cancers and infectious diseases. Koker teaches cancer cell lines “CT26-B16F10-TS/A” (top of page 70), where CT26 is a colorectal cancer model, B16F10 is a melanoma model and TS/A is a mammary adenocarcinoma model.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 12, 14, 19, and 22 in addition to claims 1, 5, 6, 10, 24-27, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koker WO2022136641A1 (effective filing date of December 23, 2020) and CMC (Cambridge MedChem Consulting, Bioisosteric Replacements, January 30, 2021, https://www.cambridgemedchemconsulting.com/resources/bioisoteres/).
Koker teaches the claims as discussed above.
The main difference between Koker and applicant’s claims is the nitrogen group on the portion of the compound that attaches to the long chain alkyl, alkylene, or alkylyne groups of R1 and R2.
CMC teaches a bioisostere is a molecule resulting from the exchange of an atom or of a group of atoms with an alternative, broadly similar, atom or group of atoms. CMC teaches the objective of bioisostearic replacement is to create a new molecule with similar biological properties to the parent. CMC teaches simple replacements where CH2, NH, O and S are recognized as being atoms that may replace each other.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have been able to alter a nitrogen in the compound of Koker to a carbon with the expectation of obtaining a biostere with similar function by teachings of CMC. Koker recognizes the same use/function for its cationic lipids as applicant does for compounds of their claims regarding nanoparticles for vaccines. There was a reasonable expectation of success in using Koker and CMC’s teachings to provide for other biosteres that will serve in making lipid nanoparticles for carrying vaccines to administer to subjects for treating or preventing infectious diseases or cancer.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koker WO2022136641A1 (effective filing date of December 23, 2020) and Thomas WO2021000041A1 (published January 2021).
Koker teaches the claims as discussed above.
Koker does not teach the infectious diseases of claim 28.
Thomas teaches ionizable lipids for nucleic acid delivery (abstract). Thomas teaches immune response against pathogens such as bacterium, virus, fungi or parasite (paragraph 214). Thomas teaches viruses such as coronavirus, hepatitis virus, herpes, or others (paragraphs 215-216). Thomas teaches cancers in paragraph 221 including melanoma and others. Example 21 teaches lipid nucleic acid nanoparticle.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have utilized Koker’s nanoparticle system with various nucleic acids to vaccinate or treat a variety of infectious diseases and cancers provided by the prior art (Thomas). There would be a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Koker and Thomas and successfully treating the infectious diseases treatable with ionizable lipid carried nucleic acids to provide vaccination.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5-6, 8, 10-12, 14, 19, 22, and 24-30 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 10-12, 14, 19, 22, 49, 56-59, and 63 of copending Application No. 19/495,136 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claim set provides for ionizable lipid compounds of similar formula, forms of nanoparticles and vaccines as well as methods of treating infectious diseases or cancers.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MARK V STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613