Detailed Action
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 17 are pending and are the subject of this office action. This is the first office action on the merits of the claims.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the air inlet (26 and 117 in specification) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 26 (air inlet), 117 (air inlet), 180 (airflow channel), 190 (aerosol forming chamber). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 47 and 147 (figure 3). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites an article as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plane of the substantially planar aerosol generating component is angled by about 140˚C to about 160˚C with respect to the inlet airflow direction. Claim 3 then recites an article as claimed in claim 2, wherein the plane of the substantially planar aerosol generating component is angled by about 130˚C to about 150˚C with respect to the inlet airflow direction. Claim 3 is dependent on claim 2, so it is unclear what the range of claim 3 should be. As claim 2 already claims an angle between about 140˚ - 160˚, claim 3 should further narrow claim 2. Claiming a range outside of 140˚ - 160˚ makes the claim indefinite. If the applicant would prefer to claim both 140˚ - 160˚ and 130˚ - 150˚, claim 3 should be changed so that it is no longer dependent on claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 – 11 and 13 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 215075497 U (Zhou).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches an electronic atomizing device (10) including an atomizer (20) and a power supply (30), wherein the atomizer (20) and the power supply (30) can be detachably connected (paragraph 27 of translation; figure 1). The atomizer (20) reads on the claim limitation of an article for use as part of a non-combustible aerosol provision system. The atomizer (20) includes a base assembly (100), an atomizing core (200), a top cap assembly (300), and a housing (400) (paragraph 27 of translation; figure 3). The housing (400) and base assembly (100) both read on the claim limitation of housing. The base assembly (100) is provided with an air intake channel (110), and when the user inhales, the outside gas first enters the atomizer (20) through the air intake channel (110) (paragraph 28 of translation; figure 3). The atomizing core (200) has an atomizing surface (211) for atomizing the atomizing medium and defining a portion of the boundary of the atomizing cavity. The tangent of the air intake channel (110) at the connecting point connecting the atomizing cavity forms an acute angle with the tangent of the atomizing surface (210) (paragraph 6 of translation; figure 3). Figure 3 shows the atomizing surface (211) inside the housing (400), and as substantially planar. Additionally, arrows of figure 3 indicate the airflow intake channel directing air towards the atomizing surface.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Zhou teaches an article for use as part of a non-combustible aerosol provision system as described in claim 1. Zhou further teaches that the tangent of the air intake channel (110) at the connection point connecting the atomizing cavity (240) forms an acute angle with the tangent of the atomizing surface (211) (paragraph 6 of translation; figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou teaches an article for use as part of a non-combustible aerosol provision system as described in claim 1. Zhou further teaches that an atomizing cavity (240) is formed between the substrate (210) and the base assembly (100). The substrate (210) has an atomizing surface (211), which defines part of the boundary of the atomizing cavity (240) and is used to atomize the atomizing medium (paragraph 30 of translation; figure 3). The atomizing cavity reads on the claim limitation of an aerosol forming chamber, and figure 3 shows the atomizing cavity (240) as located within the housing (400) and bordered by the base assembly (100).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou teaches an article for use as part of a non-combustible aerosol provision system as described in claim 4. Zhou further teaches that when the heating element (220) generates heat, the atomizing medium immersed in the heating element (220) and the atomizing medium on the atomizing surface (211) will absorb the heat and atomize to form an aerosol, which will be discharged into the atomizing chamber (240) (paragraph 31 of translation). Therefore, the heating element (220) reads on the claim limitation of an aerosol generating component. Zhou also teaches that the heating element (220), the first electrode (231), and the second electrode (232) are all disposed on the atomizing surface (211) (paragraph 30 of translation; figures 5 & 8). Since the heating element is located on the atomizing surface it is also in the atomizing cavity (240) as seen in figure 5.
Regarding claim 8, Zhou teaches an article for use as part of a non-combustible aerosol provision system as described in claim 1. Zhou further teaches that the housing (400) is provided with an air intake channel (410), through which the aerosol will eventually be discharged and absorbed by the user (paragraph 29 of translation; figure 3). Figure 3 shows a single air channel from the air inlet (110) through the air intake section (411) defined by the housing (400) and base assembly (100).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou teaches an article for use as part of a non-combustible aerosol provision system as described in claim 6. Zhou further teaches that when the user inhales, external gas enters the atomizing chamber (240) through the air intake channel (110). The external gas carries the aerosol into the atomizing chamber (240) through the second intake section (412) and the first intake section (411) in sequence to be absorbed by the user (paragraph 30 of translation; figure 3).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou teaches an article for use as part of a non-combustible aerosol provision system as described in claim 1. Zhou further teaches that the heating element (220) includes a curved section (222) and a straight section (221). There is one curved section (222), which can be semi-circular. There are two straight sections (221), which are arranged parallel to each other and spaced apart, and the ends of the two straight sections (221) are aligned with each other. The curved segment (222) is connected to one end of both straight segments (221), making the entire heating element (220) roughly U-shaped. The first electrode (231) and the second electrode (232) are respectively connected to the other ends of the two straight segments (221) (paragraph 31; figure 8). Figure 8 shows the heating element (220) in a horseshoe shape with the elongated aperture in the middle (annotated below).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1 – figure 8 from CN 215075497 U (Zhou). The elongated aperture is located between the straight sections (221) and curved section (222) of the heating element (aerosol generating component).)]
Regarding claim 11, Zhou teaches an article for use as part of a non-combustible aerosol provision system as described in claim 1. Zhou further teaches that the heating element (220) can be made of metal or alloy material, and the first electrode (231) and the second electrode (232) can also be made of metal or alloy material (paragraph 31 of translation; figure 5).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou teaches an article for use as part of a non-combustible aerosol provision system as described in claim 1. Zhou further teaches that the heating element (220), the first electrode (231), and the second electrode (233) are all disposed on the atomizing surface (211). For example, the three can be directly attached to the atomizing surface (211), or the atomizing surface (211) has a groove in which the heating element (220), the first electrode (231), and the second electrode (232) are at least partially housed (paragraph 30 of translation; figures 3, 5 & 8). Figures 5 and 8 further show the heating element (220) and the electrodes (231, 232) in a single layer.
Regarding claim 14, Zhou teaches an article for use as part of a non-combustible aerosol provision system as described in claim 1. Zhou further teaches that the first electrode (231) and the second electrode (232) are electrically connected to the positive and negative poles of the power supply (30), respectively, so that the power supply (30) supplies power to the heating element (220) through the first electrode (231) and the second electrode (232) (paragraph 31 of translation). Therefore, the first and second electrodes read on the claim limitation of one or more electrical connectors.
Regarding claim 15, Zhou teaches an article for use as part of a non-combustible aerosol provision system as described in claim 1. Zhou further teaches a liquid storage chamber (420) is formed between the top cover assembly (300) and the housing (400), and the liquid storage chamber (420) is used to store the liquid atomizing medium (paragraph 27 of translation; figure 3).
Regarding claim 16, Zhou teaches an article for use as part of a non-combustible aerosol provision system as described in claim 15. Zhou further teaches that the substrate (210) can be made of porous ceramic material, so that the substrate (210) has a large number of micropores and forms a certain porosity. Through the capillary action of the micropores, the substrate (210) can absorb the atomized medium flowing from the liquid storage chamber (420) into the lower liquid channel (310), so the substrate (210) can play a role in the transmission and buffering of the atomized medium (paragraph 30; figure 3). Figures 3, 4 and 5 show the heating element (220) on the lower surface of the substrate (210) indicating that the substrate moves atomizing medium to the heating element (220).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 215075497 U (Zhou).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Zhou teaches an article for use as part of a non-combustible aerosol provision system as described in claim 1. Zhou further teaches that the central axis of the air intake channel (110) is parallel to or coincides with the central axis of the atomizer, and the atomizing surface (210) is planar and forms an acute angle with the central axis of the atomizer. The acute angle (A) between the atomizing surface (210) and the central axis of the atomizer ranges from 30˚ to 60˚ (paragraphs 7 – 8 of translation; figure 3). With the central axis of the device represented by a vertical line of 180˚, intersecting the central axis at a range of 30˚ - 60˚ would produce an angle for the planar aerosol generating surface of between 120˚ and 150˚ which overlaps the claimed range of about 140˚ to 160˚ for claim 2 and about 130˚ - 150˚ for claim 3. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 215075497 U (Zhou) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WO 2020070110 A1 (Taurino).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou teaches an article for use as part of a non-combustible aerosol provision system as described in claim 1. Zhou does not teach that the aerosol generating component is formed of a porous material. Taurino teaches that the heating element is preferably fluid permeable. This is achieved by arranging electrically conductive filaments such that interstices of between 10µM and 100µM are formed between the filaments. The filaments may give rise to capillary action in the interstices so that, in use, liquid to be vaporized is drawn into the interstices, increasing the contact area between the heating element and the liquid (page 6 lines 30 – 35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the heating element of Zhou with the porous mesh filament heating element of Taurino, with reasonable expectation of success, because the porous mesh serves as a wick which improves the flow and pull of atomizing medium into the heater.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 215075497 U (Zhou) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20230180832 A1 (Jang)
Regarding claim 17, Zhou teaches an article for use as part of a non-combustible aerosol provision system as described in claim 1. Zhou further teaches an electronic atomizing device (10) including an atomizer (20) and a power supply (30), wherein the atomizer (20) and the power supply (30) can be detachably connected (paragraph 27 of translation; figure 1). Zhou does not teach a controller for the device. Jang teaches a controller which controls the overall operation of the aerosol generation device (10). The controller may control the operation of the heater (14) and the battery and may also control the operation of other components included in the aerosol generation device (10). The controller controls the power supplied by the battery, the heating temperature, and the like (paragraph 69; figures 3 & 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the aerosol generating device of Zhou with a controller of Jang, with reasonable expectation of success, because as a controller can control the battery output to the heater and other electrical components of the device, it can allow for improved and more efficient functioning, minimizing wasted energy.
Conclusion
/BRENDON THOMAS JUENGST/Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749