DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2-11, 13, 15, 17-18, 20-21, and 27 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2-11, 13, 15, 17-18, 20-21, and 27 recites the limitation “a vehicle”, which should be changed to “the vehicle”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-11, 15, 17-18, 20-21, and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eraliev et al. EA 030845 B1 in view of Sarver US 8498756 B1 (page/line numbering used for foreign references below corresponds to the machine-translation preceding the original patent, as attached to the present Office Action – note page numbers of the translation are marked as TP-1, TP-2, etc.).
Regarding independent claim 1, Eraliev et al. discloses [a vehicle for capturing a falling object,] (Fig. 1; Abstract) the vehicle comprising:
[a plurality of air units 4, wherein each of the air units is configured to generate a lift force to elevate the vehicle;] (Fig. 1-2; Abstract)
[a linking structure 1 arranged to link the air units together;] (Fig. 1-2; Abstract; Page 2, lines 11-15) and
[a receiver 2 arranged to receive the falling object, wherein the receiver is coupled to the linking structure.] (Fig. 1-2; Page 2, lines 11-15)
Eraliev et al. does not disclose an air cushion, wherein each of the air cushion units is configured to generate a propulsive force to drive the vehicle.
Sarver teaches [an air cushion 300, wherein each of the air cushion units is configured to generate a propulsive force to drive the vehicle;] (Fig. 3; Col. 7, lines 36-42) [wherein each of the plurality of air cushion units comprises a first fan arranged to generate the propulsive force.] (Fig. 3; Col. 7, lines 36-42)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the air cushion units of Sarver with the vehicle of Eraliev et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the vehicle to maneuver horizontally while remaining airborne, thus enabling accurate positioning of the receiver and improving the effectiveness and reliability of capturing the falling object.
Regarding claim 2, Eraliev, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the linking structure 1 comprises a perimeter structure having a polygonal shape having n sides,] (Annotated Fig. 2 of Eraliev below) [the polygonal structure comprising n perimeter rods each corresponding to a side of the shape, wherein n is a natural number greater than or equal to 3.] (Annotated Fig. 2 of Eraliev below)
Annotated Fig. 2 of Eraliev
Regarding claim 3, Eraliev, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the polygonal shape is a regular polygonal shape.] (Annotated Fig. 2 of Eraliev above)
Regarding claim 4, Eraliev, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the linking structure 1 further comprises a plurality of leg rods, each leg rod having a proximal end coupled to the perimeter structure and a distal end coupled to a respective air unit.] (Annotated Fig. 1 of Eraliev below)
Annotated Fig. 1 of Eraliev
Regarding claim 5, Eraliev, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein each leg rod comprises a first section comprising the proximal end and a second section comprising the distal end,] (Annotated Fig. 1 of Eraliev above; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 1 above, Eraliev illustrates wherein each leg rod comprises a first section comprising the proximal end and a second section comprising the distal end.) [wherein the second section extends perpendicularly from a plane defined by the respective air unit and the first section is inclined to the first section.] (Annotated Fig. 1 of Eraliev above; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 1 above, Eraliev illustrates wherein the second section extends perpendicularly from a plane defined by the respective air unit and the first section is inclined to the first section.)
Regarding claim 6, Eraliev, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the plurality of leg rods comprises n pairs of leg rods, wherein n is a natural number greater than or equal to 3,] (Fig. 1 of Eraliev) [each pair of leg rods having proximal ends coupled together at a portion of the perimeter structure.] (Annotated Fig. 1 of Eraliev above; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 1 above, Eraliev illustrates each pair of leg rods having proximal ends coupled together at a portion of the perimeter structure.)
Regarding claim 8, Eraliev, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the linking structure further comprises a support structure arranged to support the receiver, optionally wherein the support structure is arranged to place the receiver under tension.] (Annotated Fig. 1 of Eraliev above; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 1 above, Eraliev illustrates wherein the linking structure further comprises a support structure arranged to support the receiver.)
Regarding claim 9, Eraliev, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the support structure comprises a plurality of receiver support rods arranged to support the receiver,] (Annotated Fig. 1 of Eraliev above) [each receiver support rod having a proximal end coupled to the perimeter structure and a distal end coupled to the receiver.] (Annotated Fig. 1 of Eraliev above; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 1 above, Eraliev illustrates each support rod having a proximal end coupled to the receiver and a distal end indirectly connected to the perimeter structure through the first section of the leg rods.)
Regarding claim 10, Eraliev, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein each receiver support rod extends from the perimeter structure inclined to a plane defined by the perimeter structure.] (Annotated Fig. 1 of Eraliev above; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 1 above, Eraliev illustrates wherein each receiver support rod extends from the perimeter structure inclined to a plane defined by the perimeter structure.)
Regarding claim 11, Eraliev, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the receiver comprises a perimeter cable which extends around the perimeter of the receiver, between the distal ends of the receiver support rods, wherein the perimeter cable is arranged to place the receiver under tension.] (Fig. 2 of Eraliev; As shown in Fig. 2, Eraliev illustrates wherein the receiver comprises a perimeter cable which extends around the perimeter of the receiver, between the distal ends of the receiver support rods, wherein the perimeter cable is arranged to place the receiver under tension.)
Regarding claim 15, Eraliev, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the receiver comprises one or more nets.] (Fig. 2 of Eraliev; Page 2, lines 11-15 of Eraliev)
Regarding claim 17, Eraliev, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the receiver has a polygonal shape having n sides, where n is a natural number greater than or equal to 3.] (Annotated Fig. 2 of Eraliev above)
Regarding claim 18, Eraliev, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the polygonal shape is a regular polygonal shape.] (Annotated Fig. 2 of Eraliev above)
Regarding claim 20, Eraliev, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including the first fan recited in the rejection of claim 1 above and [a second fan 4 arranged to provide lift.] (Fig. 1-2 of Eraliev; Abstract of Eraliev)
Regarding claim 21, Eraliev, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein each of the plurality of air cushion units has a centre of mass which is substantially coincident with the geometric centre of the air cushion unit.] (Fig. 1-2 of Eraliev; As shown in Fig. 1-2, Eraliev illustrates wherein each air unit 4 comprises a mirror-symmetrical arrangement having identical propulsion components disposed on opposite sides of a symmetrical frame, with no components shown that would shift the mass distribution away from the center. Therefore, the center of mass of each air unit naturally coincides with the geometric center of the air unit.)
Regarding claim 27, Eraliev, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including the air cushion units recited in the rejection of claim 1 above and [comprising n air units, where n is a natural number greater than or equal to 3] (Fig. 1-2 of Eraliev; Abstract of Eraliev)
Regarding independent claim 28, Eraliev discloses a vehicle for capturing a falling object,] (Fig. 1; Abstract) the vehicle comprising:
[a plurality of pairs of air units 4;] (Fig. 1-2; Abstract)
[a frame 1 arranged to link the air units together;] (Fig. 1-2; Abstract; Page 2, lines 11-15) and
[a receiver 2 arranged to receive the falling object, the receiver being coupled to the frame,] (Fig. 1-2; Page 2, lines 11-15)
wherein:
[the two air units in each pair of air units are fixed in space relative to each other;] (Fig. 1-2; As shown in Fig. 1-2, Eraliev illustrates wherein the two air units in each pair of air cushion units are fixed in space relative to each other.)
[each pair of air units is arranged to rotate about an axis lying in a plane;] (Fig. 1-2; Abstract of)
[the plurality of planes substantially coincide or are parallel;] (Fig. 1-2) and
[each air unit is configured to generate a lift force to elevate the vehicle.] (Fig. 1-2; Abstract)
Eraliev does not disclose an air cushion, wherein each of the air cushion units is configured to generate a propulsive force to drive the vehicle.
Sarver teaches [an air cushion 300, wherein each of the air cushion units is configured to generate a propulsive force to drive the vehicle;] (Fig. 3; Col. 7, lines 36-42) [wherein each of the plurality of air cushion units comprises a first fan arranged to generate the propulsive force.] (Fig. 3; Col. 7, lines 36-42)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the air cushion units of Sarver with the vehicle of Eraliev et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the vehicle to maneuver horizontally while remaining airborne, thus enabling accurate positioning of the receiver and improving the effectiveness and reliability of capturing the falling object.
Regarding claim 29, Eraliev et al., as modified, does not explicitly disclose wherein there are twelve air cushion units comprised of six pairs of air cushion units. However, according to MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (B) (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)), the mere duplication of known elements does not confer patentability unless it produces a new and unexpected result. In this case, Eraliev et al. already discloses four pairs of air units. The extension of this configuration to include another two pairs of air units would have been an obvious design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art, as it merely duplicates an existing structure without introducing an unexpected benefit.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eraliev et al. in view of Sarver and further in view of Cheyrou et al. FR 3088895 A1 (page/line numbering used for foreign references below corresponds to the machine-translation preceding the original patent, as attached to the present Office Action – note page numbers of the translation are marked as TP-1, TP-2, etc.).
Regarding claim 7, Eraliev, as modified, further discloses [wherein the proximal ends of the leg rods are coupled to the perimeter structure.] (Annotated Fig. 1 of Eraliev above; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 2 above, Eraliev illustrates wherein the proximal ends of the leg rods are coupled to the perimeter structure.)
Eraliev, as modified, does not disclose hinge joints
Cheyrou et al. teaches [hinge joints.] (Page 8, lines 9-17)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the hinge joints of Cheyrou et al. with the vehicle of Eraliev, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the leg rods to fold relative to the perimeter structure, thus improving assembly, transport, and storage while maintaining the structural connection during operation.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eraliev et al. in view of Sarver and further in view of Huang CN 107539501 A (page/line numbering used for foreign references below corresponds to the machine-translation preceding the original patent, as attached to the present Office Action – note page numbers of the translation are marked as TP-1, TP-2, etc.).
Regarding claim 13, Eraliev et al., as modified, does not disclose a plurality of central radial rods, each central radial rods having a distal end coupled to the perimeter structure and a central end coupled to a central coupling at a centre of the linking structure.
Huang teaches [a plurality of central radial rods 6, each central radial rods having a distal end coupled to the perimeter structure and a central end coupled to a central coupling at a centre of the linking structure.] (Fig. 2-5; Page 3, lines 1-6; As shown Fig. 2-5, Huang illustrates a plurality of central radial rods 6, with each rod having a distal end connected to the support structures 4 along the perimeter of the platform 3 and a central end connected to the funnel device disposed in the center.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the central radial rods of Huang with the vehicle of Eraliev et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the central radial rods to extend between the perimeter structure and a central coupling to provide structural support and reinforcement, thus improving the vehicles structural stability while supporting the receiver.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wypyszynski et al. US 20180105271 A1 – comprises a system that utilizes a rigid effector frame, an effector attached directly to the frame, and at least two propulsion elements connected to the effector frame, and is configured to intercept and disable threat UAS. The disclosed systems can be oriented to any virtually any angle to maximize the chances of intercept.
Gurvich et al. RU 2585380 C1 – comprises a transportation module and transport module connected to it by means of a joint. As the propulsor vehicle uses buoyancy force and engines with different types of propellers, for example of screw type. Air medium transport facility transportation module has circular base with several groups of shells of constant and variable volume located in its circumferential direction, equipped with buoyancy control systems, engines with electric drives, system of accumulator batteries charging from renewable energy sources on flow electric generators, motion and external control systems and device for vehicle movement on ground.
Sidorov et al. RU 2741142 C2 – comprises an unmanned aerial vehicles (UAV) designed to intercept UAV intruders. Unmanned aerial vehicle-interceptor consists of a body made in the form of a frame, along the perimeter of which there are at least two engines with varying angles of rotation, some of which operate in the "pulling screw" mode, and part in "pushing propeller" mode, guidance and tracking devices, autopilot, onboard computer, communication means with ground control station. In the frame hollow space there is an integrated aerodynamic structure consisting of catching network.
/Mohamed M Medani/Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/JACOB D KNUTSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611