DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-12 and 18-19) in the reply filed on 07/02/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 13-17 have been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim limitation “obtaining the intersection line of the first ultrasound section...” in line 7 should be amended to read –determining the intersection line of the first ultrasound section—to be consistent with claim 1 since claim 1 recite determining the intersection line. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim limitation “obtaining the plane question...” in lines 17 and 22 should be amended to read –determining the plane equation—to be consistent with rest of the claim since claim 9 recite determining plane equation in lines 2-3. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“acquisition module” in claim 12;
“a first determination module” in claim 12; and
“a second determination module” in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite an abstract idea as discussed below. This abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application for the reasons discussed below. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons discussed below.
Step 1 of the 2019 Guidance requires the examiner to determine if the claims are to one of the statutory categories of invention. Applied to the present application, the claims belong to one of the statutory classes of a process or product as a computer implemented method or a computer system/product.
Step 2A of the 2019 Guidance is divided into two Prongs. Prong 1 requires the examiner to determine if the claims recite an abstract idea, and further requires that the abstract idea belong to one of three enumerated groupings: mathematical concepts, mental processes, and certain methods of organizing human activity.
Regarding claim 1, the independent claim is directed to a path determination method. The claim limitations of determining an intersecting line of the first ultrasound section and the second ultrasound section; and determining a puncture travel path according to the intersecting line when receiving a stop command triggered on the first ultrasound section and/or the second ultrasound section are directed to an abstract because the claim limitations can be performed via mathematical concepts and mental process, with assistance of basic physical aids or with pen and paper. A user can draw the intersecting line and puncture travel path to the intersection line on the first and second ultrasound section. Therefore, the cited limitations above, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance in the mind.
Furthermore, the claim does not include additional elements which are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The additional elements of obtaining a first ultrasound section and a second ultrasound section is directed to extra solution activity of gathering data and does not include additional elements which are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The additional claim element of ultrasound probe does not include additional elements which are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because the probe is not positively recited in the claim and ultrasound probe is known in the art.
In consideration of each of the relevant factors and the claim elements both individually and in combination, claim 1 is directed to an abstract ideas without sufficient integration into a practical application and without significantly more.
Regarding claim 2, the limitation of obtaining the first ultrasound section collected by a first probe at a first position and obtaining the second ultrasound section collected by a second ultrasound probe at a section position are directed to extra solution activity of gathering data and does not include additional elements which are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The additional claim elements of first and second ultrasound probe do not include additional elements which are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because the probe is not positively recited in the claim and ultrasound probes are known in the art.
Regarding claims 3-6 and 8-10, the claims further recite claim limitations (e.g., determining the intersecting line, determining a plane equation, calculating a transformation matrix, etc.) that are further directed to abstract idea because the claim limitations can be performed via mathematical concepts and mental process, with assistance of basic physical aids or with pen and paper.
Regarding claim 7, the claim limitation of the first ultrasound probe is held by a first mechanical arm, and the second ultrasound probe is held by a second mechanical arm is significantly more than the abstract idea, however, claim is rejected as it depends from rejected claim 6.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recited limitations of “synchronously displaying the intersection line of the first ultrasound section and the second ultrasound section on a first ultrasound image corresponding to the first ultrasound section and a second ultrasound image corresponding to the second ultrasound section” are further directed to an abstract idea because the claim limitations can be performed via mathematical concepts and mental process, with assistance of basic physical aids or with pen and paper. The user can draw the intersecting line on the ultrasound image and provide the image as a display.
Regarding claim 12, the independent claim is directed to a path determination device. The claim limitations of a first determination module confiture to determine an intersecting line of the first ultrasound section and the second ultrasound section; and a second determination module configured to determine a puncture travel path according to the intersecting line when receiving a stop command triggered on the first ultrasound section and/or the second ultrasound section are directed to an abstract because the claim limitations can be performed via mathematical concepts and mental process, with assistance of basic physical aids or with pen and paper. A user can draw the intersecting line and puncture travel path to the intersection line on the first and second ultrasound section. Therefore, the cited limitations above, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance in the mind.
Furthermore, the claim does not include additional elements which are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The additional elements of acquisition module configured to obtain a first ultrasound section and a second ultrasound section is directed to extra solution activity of gathering data and does not include additional elements which are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The additional claim element of ultrasound probe does not include additional elements which are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because the probe is not positively recited in the claim and ultrasound probe is known in the art.
In consideration of each of the relevant factors and the claim elements both individually and in combination, claim 12 is directed to an abstract ideas without sufficient integration into a practical application and without significantly more.
Regarding claim 18-19, claims recited general computer components such as processor and memory to execute the abstract ideas and does not add significantly more that the abstract idea because since the memory and processor are merely a generic computer component with the computer being used as a tool for performing the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 5-7, the claim recites the limitation “the probe coordinate system” which is indefinite because it is unclear if this probe coordinate system is referring to the same probe coordinate system, first probe coordinate system or the second probe coordinate system.
Claims 8-10 are rejected as they depend from rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 11-12 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ward et al. (US 2020/0261158; hereinafter Ward), in view of Yarmush et al. (US 2021/0378627; hereinafter Yarmush).
Regarding claim 1, Ward discloses a system and method for catheter based intervention. Ward shows a path determination method (see par. [0013], [0014]), comprising steps of: obtaining a first ultrasound section (see par. [0054], [0091]; fig. 3C) and a second ultrasound section (see par. [0054], [0091]; fig. 3C) collected by at least one ultrasound probe (see par. [0054]); determining an intersecting line of the first image section and the image section ((see par. [0054], [0091]; fig. 3C)) and determining a puncture travel path according to the intersecting line (see par. [0002], [0091]; see 709 in fig. 8).
But, Ward fails to explicitly that a stop command triggered based on the first ultrasound section and/or the second ultrasound section.
Yarmush discloses an ultrasound-guided alignment and insertion of percutaneous cannulating instrument. Yarmush teaches a stop command triggered based on the first ultrasound section and/or the second ultrasound section (see par. [0118], [0128], [0129]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of a stop command triggered based on the first ultrasound section and/or the second ultrasound section in the invention of Ward, as taught by Yarmush, to be able to provide an accurate trajectory by adjusting the trajectory which increase the likelihood of success and reduces the likelihood of failure.
Regarding claim 2, Ward and Yarmush disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Yarmush wherein the step of obtaining a first ultrasound section and a second ultrasound section collected by at least one ultrasound probe comprises: obtaining the first ultrasound section collected by a first ultrasound probe at a first position (see par. [0053]) and obtaining the second ultrasound section collected by a second ultrasound probe at a second position (see par. [0056], [0130]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of obtaining the first ultrasound section collected by a first ultrasound probe at a first position and obtaining the second ultrasound section collected by a second ultrasound probe at a second position in the invention of Ward, as taught by Yarmush, to be able to simultaneously capture ultrasound images from multiple of different point of view.
Regarding claim 3, Ward and Yarmush disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Ward shows determining a plane equation corresponding to the first ultrasound section and a plane equation corresponding to the second ultrasound section in a same probe coordinate system (see fig. 3C, 6-8 and 13; par. [0039], [0084]); and obtaining the intersecting line of the first ultrasound section and the second ultrasound section based on the plane equation corresponding to the first ultrasound section and the plane equation corresponding to the second ultrasound section (see fig. 3C, 6-8 and 13; par. [0039], [0084], [0091]).
Regarding claim 11, Ward and Yarmush disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Ward shows synchronously displaying the intersecting line of the first section and the second section on a first ultrasound image corresponding to the first ultrasound section (see fig. 3C) and a second ultrasound image corresponding to the second ultrasound section (see fig. 3C).
Regarding claim 12, Ward discloses a system and method for catheter based intervention. Ward shows a path determination device (see par. [0013], [0014]), comprising: an acquisition module configured to obtain a first ultrasound section (see par. [0054], [0091]; fig. 3C) and a second ultrasound section (see par. [0054], [0091]; fig. 3C) collected by at least one ultrasound probe (see par. [0054]); a first determination module configured to determine an intersecting line of the first image section and the image section ((see par. [0054], [0091]; fig. 3C)) and a second determination module configured to determine a puncture travel path according to the intersecting line (see par. [0002], [0091]; see 709 in fig. 8).
But, Ward fails to explicitly that a stop command triggered based on the first ultrasound section and/or the second ultrasound section.
Yarmush discloses an ultrasound-guided alignment and insertion of percutaneous cannulating instrument. Yarmush teaches a stop command triggered based on the first ultrasound section and/or the second ultrasound section (see par. [0118], [0128], [0129]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of a stop command triggered based on the first ultrasound section and/or the second ultrasound section in the invention of Ward, as taught by Yarmush, to be able to provide an accurate trajectory by adjusting the trajectory which increase the likelihood of success and reduces the likelihood of failure.
Regarding claims 18-19, Ward and Yarmush disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Ward shows electronic apparatus comprising a memory (see fig. 1; par. [0019])) and a processor (see par. [0019]), wherein the memory stores executable program codes (see par. [0018], [0190]), and where in the processor is coupled with the memory and configured to call the executable program codes stored in the memory, and execute a path determination method according to claim 1 (see par. [0018], [0190]).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ward et al. (US 2020/0261158; hereinafter Ward), in view of Yarmush et al. (US 2021/0378627; hereinafter Yarmush), in view of Guenther et al. (US 2011/0190629; hereinafter Guenther).
Regarding claim 4, Ward and Yarmush disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Ward shows wherein the same probe coordinate system is a first probe coordinate system or a second probe coordinate system (see par. [0039], [0084]), But fails to explicitly state that the first probe coordinate system being established based on the first probe coordinate system, and the second probe coordinate system being established based on the second probe coordinate system.
Guenther discloses a 3D motion detection and correction by object tracking in ultrasound images. Guenther teaches first probe coordinate system being established based on the first probe coordinate system (see par. [0081]), and the second probe coordinate system being established based on the second probe coordinate system (see par. [0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed inventio, to have utilized the teaching of first probe coordinate system being established based on the first probe coordinate system, and the second probe coordinate system being established based on the second probe coordinate system in the invention of Ward and Yarmush, as taught by Guenther, to be able to continuously determine the localization and viewing direction of each ultrasound probe to 3D motion detection.
Regarding claim 5, Ward, Yarmush and Guenther disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Ward shows determining the plane equation corresponding to the first ultrasound section and the plane equation corresponding to the second ultrasound section in the same probe coordinate system according to a normal vector of the first ultrasound section, a normal vector of the second ultrasound section (see fig. 3C, 6-8 and 13; par. [0039], [0084], [0091]), but fails to explicitly state calculating a transformation matrix from a mechanical coordinate system to the probe coordinate system according to a transformation relationship between coordinate systems; calculating a transformation matrix between the first probe coordinate system and the second probe coordinate system according to the transformation matrix from the mechanical coordinate system to the probe coordinate system; and determining the plane equation corresponding to the transformation matrix between the first probe coordinate system and second probe coordinate system.
Yarmush teaches a transformation matrix from a mechanical coordinate system to the probe coordinate system according to a transformation relationship between coordinate systems (see par. [0072], [0073]; fig. 3 and 10A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of a transformation matrix from a mechanical coordinate system to the probe coordinate system according to a transformation relationship between coordinate systems in the invention of Ward, as taught by Yarmush, to be able to provide an accurate trajectory by incorporating the coordinates of the ultrasound probe and mechanical arm into common fixed coordinate system.
But, Ward and Yarmush fail to explicitly state calculating a transformation matrix between the first probe coordinate system and the second probe coordinate system according to the transformation matrix from mechanical coordinate system to the probe coordinate system; and determining the plane equation corresponding to the transformation matrix between the first probe coordinate system and second probe coordinate system.
Guenther teaches calculating a transformation matrix between the first probe coordinate system and the second probe coordinate system according to the transformation matrix from the mechanical coordinate system to the probe coordinate system (see par. [0087], [0103], [0110], [0111], [0121]); and determining the plane equation corresponding to the transformation matrix between the first probe coordinate system and second probe coordinate system (see par. [0087], [0103], [0110], [0111], [0121]; fig. 2a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed inventio, to have utilized the teaching of a transformation matrix between the first probe coordinate system and the second probe coordinate system according to the transformation matrix from the mechanical coordinate system to the probe coordinate system and determining the plane equation corresponding to the transformation matrix between the first probe coordinate system and second probe coordinate system in the invention of Ward and Yarmush, as taught by Guenther, to be able to continuously determine the localization and viewing direction of each ultrasound probe to 3D motion detection.
Regarding claim 6, Ward, Yarmush and Guenther disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Yarmush teaches wherein the transformation relationship between coordinate systems comprises a transformation matrix from the mechanical coordinate system to a static coordinate system (see par. [0055], [0069], [0070], [0074], [0077], [0088], [0093], [0095], [0100]; fig. 3, 5 and 10a), a transformation matrix from the static coordinate system to a dynamic coordinate system, and a transformation matrix from the dynamic coordinate system to the probe coordinate system (see par. [0055], [0069], [0070], [0074], [0077], [0088], [0093], [0095], [0100]; fig. 3, 5 and 10a), and wherein the static coordinate system and the dynamic coordinate system are established according to a mechanical arm (see par. [0055], [0069], [0070], [0074], [0077], [0088], [0093], [0095], [0100]; fig. 3, 5 and 10a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of wherein the transformation relationship between coordinate systems comprises a transformation matrix from the mechanical coordinate system to a static coordinate system, a transformation matrix from the static coordinate system to a dynamic coordinate system, and a transformation matrix from the dynamic coordinate system to the probe coordinate system, and wherein the static coordinate system and the dynamic coordinate system are established according to a mechanical arm in the invention of Ward, as taught by Yarmush, to be able to provide an accurate trajectory by incorporating the coordinates of the ultrasound probe and mechanical arm into common fixed coordinate system.
Allowable Subject Matter
As best understood, claims 7-10 are free of art. However, they are also subject to rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112. Given the indefiniteness of the claims, lack of prior art is not an admittance of allowability.
Conclusion
/SHAHDEEP MOHAMMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797