DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Information processing apparatus, method, program and system for training a second specialized recognizer based on output from a first recognizer.”
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a conversion part” in claim 1 and “a learning device” in claim 18. Claims 1-15 and 18 are therefore being interpreted under 35 USC 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 17 recites a "An information processing program" which may be interpreted as a signal per se. A signal or program does not fall into the four statutory categories of a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. Further, if the claim were corrected to recite "a tangible computer-readable medium storing instructions" in place of “an information processing program”, the claimed invention would still be directed to non-statutory subject matter (In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 84 USPQ2d 1495 (Fed. Cir. 2007)). Examiner suggests correction to include language to the effect of non-transitory computer-readable media as recommended in the Kappos memo on Subject Matter Eligibility of Computer Readable Media, February 23, 2010, 1351 OG 212.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “wherein the conversion part trains the second recognizer by distillation”, in which the term “distillation” is vague and unclear. What information is part of the distillation? Is distillation a particular technique or a general idea of information sharing? What is being distilled, and how? Appropriate clarification is required. For purposes of examination, the limitation will be given its broadest reasonable interpretation in view of the available prior art. Claims 4-8 are additionally rejected for inheriting the deficiencies of claim 3.
Claim 9 recites “wherein the conversion part trains control for reading the second signal from the second sensor by distillation”, in which the term “distillation” is vague and unclear. What information is part of the distillation? Is distillation a particular technique or a general idea of information sharing? What is being distilled, and how? Appropriate clarification is required. For purposes of examination, the limitation will be given its broadest reasonable interpretation in view of the available prior art. Claims 10-15 are additionally rejected for inheriting the deficiencies of claim 9.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the second recognizer performing a recognition process…”, but it is unclear from this recitation whether this performance by the second recognizer is a sequential step of the claimed method, or just a capability of the second recognizer, as the limitation is recited passively rather than actively. Appropriate clarification is required. For purposes of examination, the limitation will be given its broadest reasonable interpretation in view of the available prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “Boosting LiDAR-based Semantic Labeling by Cross-Modal Training Data Generation” (hereinafter “Piewak”; applicant-submitted prior art, published 2018).
Regarding Claim 1, Piewak discloses an information processing apparatus (Piewak, Fig. 1, Fig. 4, Section 3-3.4) comprising
a conversion part configured to train a second recognizer based on an output of a first recognizer that performs a recognition process based on a first signal read from a first sensor (Piewak, Section 3.4, third-fourth paragraphs; “In the first step, a high-quality pixel-wise semantic labeling of the reference camera image is computed via state-of-the-art deep neural networks…The described fully automated procedure yields semantically labeled point clouds which can directly be used to train LiDAR-based semantic labeling networks such as LiLaNet.” The “deep neural networks” are read as the claimed “first recognizer” and “LiLaNet” is read here as the claimed “second recognizer”, wherein the LiLaNet network is trained on the semantic labels output by the deep neural networks),
the second recognizer performing a recognition process based on a second signal read from a second sensor having a characteristic different from the first sensor (Piewak, Section 3, first paragraph; “we aim to transfer lessons learned from image-based semantic labeling methods to the LiDAR domain”).
Regarding Claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated, and Piewak further discloses wherein a first reading unit that is a reading unit of the first sensor is one frame, and a second reading unit that is a reading unit of the second sensor is smaller than the one frame (Piewak, Section 3-3.4; a LIDAR point cloud is smaller (i.e., more sparse) than a reference image frame in terms of the amount of data contained in each).
Regarding Claim 3, claim 2 is incorporated, and Piewak further discloses wherein the conversion part trains the second recognizer by distillation using the output of the first recognizer (Piewak, Section 3, first paragraph; “we aim to transfer lessons learned from image-based semantic labeling methods to the LiDAR domain”).
Regarding Claim 4, claim 3 is incorporated, and Piewak further discloses wherein the conversion part trains the second recognizer using the first recognizer, the second recognizer, the first signal, and the second signal (Piewak, Section 3-3.4; “To obtain high output quality and retain efficiency at the same time, we aim to transfer lessons learned from image-based semantic labeling methods to the LiDAR domain. The cylindrical projection of a 360◦ point cloud captured with a state-of-the-art rotating LiDAR scanner is used as input to our networks. Training is boosted by an efficient automated cross-modal data generation process, which we refer to as Autolabeling.”).
Regarding Claim 5, claim 3 is incorporated, and Piewak further discloses wherein the conversion part: converts the first signal into a signal corresponding to the second signal (Piewak, Section 3.4, Fig. 5; “As illustrated in Fig. 5, the Autolabeling concept is based on the use of one or more reference cameras in conjunction with the LiDAR sensor capturing the point cloud data. The obtained reference camera images have to be registered to the LiDAR data in space and time.”); and
trains the second recognizer by using the first recognizer, the second recognizer, the first signal, and the signal obtained by converting the first signal (Piewak, Section 3-3.4; “To obtain high output quality and retain efficiency at the same time, we aim to transfer lessons learned from image-based semantic labeling methods to the LiDAR domain. The cylindrical projection of a 360◦ point cloud captured with a state-of-the-art rotating LiDAR scanner is used as input to our networks. Training is boosted by an efficient automated cross-modal data generation process, which we refer to as Autolabeling.”).
Regarding Claim 6, claim 3 is incorporated, and Piewak further discloses wherein the conversion part: converts the second signal into a signal corresponding to the first signal; and trains the second recognizer by using the first recognizer, the second recognizer, the first signal, and the signal obtained by converting the second signal (Piewak, Section 3.4, Fig. 6; “Second, the captured point cloud is projected into the reference image plane to transfer the semantic information of the image pixels to the corresponding LiDAR points…The described fully automated procedure yields semantically labeled point clouds which can directly be used to train LiDAR-based semantic labeling networks such as LiLaNet.”).
Regarding Claim 7, claim 3 is incorporated, and Piewak further discloses wherein the conversion part: generates a signal corresponding to the first signal based on the first recognizer; converts the signal corresponding to the first signal into a signal corresponding to the second signal (Piewak, Section 3.4, Fig. 5; “As illustrated in Fig. 5, the Autolabeling concept is based on the use of one or more reference cameras in conjunction with the LiDAR sensor capturing the point cloud data. The obtained reference camera images have to be registered to the LiDAR data in space and time.”); and
trains the second recognizer by using the first recognizer, the second recognizer, the signal corresponding to the first signal, and the signal corresponding to the second signal (Piewak, Section 3-3.4; “To obtain high output quality and retain efficiency at the same time, we aim to transfer lessons learned from image-based semantic labeling methods to the LiDAR domain. The cylindrical projection of a 360◦ point cloud captured with a state-of-the-art rotating LiDAR scanner is used as input to our networks. Training is boosted by an efficient automated cross-modal data generation process, which we refer to as Autolabeling.”).
Regarding Claim 8, claim 3 is incorporated, and Piewak further discloses wherein the conversion part: generates the second signal; converts the second signal generated into a signal corresponding to the first signal; and trains the second recognizer by using the first recognizer, the second recognizer, the signal corresponding to the first signal, and the second signal generated (Piewak, Section 3.4, Fig. 6; “Second, the captured point cloud is projected into the reference image plane to transfer the semantic information of the image pixels to the corresponding LiDAR points…The described fully automated procedure yields semantically labeled point clouds which can directly be used to train LiDAR-based semantic labeling networks such as LiLaNet.”).
Regarding Claim 9, claim 2 is incorporated, and Piewak further discloses wherein the conversion part trains control for reading the second signal from the second sensor by distillation using the output of the first recognizer (Piewak, Section 3, first paragraph; “we aim to transfer lessons learned from image-based semantic labeling methods to the LiDAR domain”).
Regarding Claim 10, claim 9 is incorporated, and Piewak further discloses wherein the conversion part trains the control by using the first recognizer, the second recognizer, the first signal, and the second signal (Piewak, Section 3-3.4; “To obtain high output quality and retain efficiency at the same time, we aim to transfer lessons learned from image-based semantic labeling methods to the LiDAR domain. The cylindrical projection of a 360◦ point cloud captured with a state-of-the-art rotating LiDAR scanner is used as input to our networks. Training is boosted by an efficient automated cross-modal data generation process, which we refer to as Autolabeling.”).
Regarding Claim 11, claim 9 is incorporated, and Piewak further discloses wherein the conversion part: converts the first signal into a signal corresponding to the second signal (Piewak, Section 3.4, Fig. 5; “As illustrated in Fig. 5, the Autolabeling concept is based on the use of one or more reference cameras in conjunction with the LiDAR sensor capturing the point cloud data. The obtained reference camera images have to be registered to the LiDAR data in space and time.”); and
trains the control by using the first recognizer, the second recognizer, the first signal, and the signal obtained by converting the first signal (Piewak, Section 3-3.4; “To obtain high output quality and retain efficiency at the same time, we aim to transfer lessons learned from image-based semantic labeling methods to the LiDAR domain. The cylindrical projection of a 360◦ point cloud captured with a state-of-the-art rotating LiDAR scanner is used as input to our networks. Training is boosted by an efficient automated cross-modal data generation process, which we refer to as Autolabeling.”).
Regarding Claim 12, claim 9 is incorporated, and Piewak further discloses wherein the conversion part: converts the second signal into a signal corresponding to the first signal; and trains the control by using the first recognizer, the second recognizer, the first signal, and the signal obtained by converting the second signal (Piewak, Section 3.4, Fig. 6; “Second, the captured point cloud is projected into the reference image plane to transfer the semantic information of the image pixels to the corresponding LiDAR points…The described fully automated procedure yields semantically labeled point clouds which can directly be used to train LiDAR-based semantic labeling networks such as LiLaNet.”).
Regarding Claim 13, claim 9 is incorporated, and Piewak further discloses wherein the conversion part: generates a signal corresponding to the first signal based on the first recognizer; converts the signal corresponding to the first signal into a signal corresponding to the second signal (Piewak, Section 3.4, Fig. 5; “As illustrated in Fig. 5, the Autolabeling concept is based on the use of one or more reference cameras in conjunction with the LiDAR sensor capturing the point cloud data. The obtained reference camera images have to be registered to the LiDAR data in space and time.”); and
trains the control by using the first recognizer, the second recognizer, the signal corresponding to the first signal, and the signal corresponding to the second signal (Piewak, Section 3-3.4; “To obtain high output quality and retain efficiency at the same time, we aim to transfer lessons learned from image-based semantic labeling methods to the LiDAR domain. The cylindrical projection of a 360◦ point cloud captured with a state-of-the-art rotating LiDAR scanner is used as input to our networks. Training is boosted by an efficient automated cross-modal data generation process, which we refer to as Autolabeling.”).
Regarding Claim 14, claim 9 is incorporated, and Piewak further discloses wherein the conversion part: generates the second signal; converts the second signal generated into a signal corresponding to the first signal; and trains the control by using the first recognizer, the second recognizer, the signal corresponding to the first signal, and the second signal generated (Piewak, Section 3.4, Fig. 6; “Second, the captured point cloud is projected into the reference image plane to transfer the semantic information of the image pixels to the corresponding LiDAR points…The described fully automated procedure yields semantically labeled point clouds which can directly be used to train LiDAR-based semantic labeling networks such as LiLaNet.”).
Regarding Claim 15, claim 9 is incorporated, and Piewak further discloses wherein the conversion part further trains the second recognizer by the distillation using the output of the first recognizer (Piewak, Section 3, first paragraph; “we aim to transfer lessons learned from image-based semantic labeling methods to the LiDAR domain”).
Claim 16 recites an information processing method having features corresponding to the elements recited in apparatus claim 1, the rejection of which is applicable here.
Claim 17 recites an information processing program having features corresponding to the elements recited in apparatus claim 1, the rejection of which is applicable here.
Claim 18 recites an information processing system having features corresponding to the elements recited in apparatus claim 1, the rejection of which is applicable here.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/719264 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim of the instant application is an obvious variant of the claim of the reference application, as shown in the table below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application Claim 1
Reference Application Claim 1
Claim 1. An information processing apparatus comprising a conversion part configured to train a second recognizer based on an output of a first recognizer that performs a recognition process based on a first signal read from a first sensor, the second recognizer performing a recognition process based on a second signal read from a second sensor having a characteristic different from the first sensor.
Claim 1. An information processing apparatus comprising a conversion part configured to convert a first recognizer or a first dataset for performing a recognition process based on a first signal read from a first sensor having a first pixel characteristic or a first signal characteristic into a second recognizer or a second dataset for performing a recognition process based on a second pixel characteristic different from the first pixel characteristic or a second signal characteristic different from the first signal characteristic.
Claim 2 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of copending Application No. 18/719264 (reference application) for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 16 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18 of copending Application No. 18/719264 (reference application) for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 17 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of copending Application No. 18/719264 (reference application) for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 18 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of copending Application No. 18/719264 (reference application) for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/721898 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim of the instant application is anticipated by the claim of the reference application, as shown in the table below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application Claim 1
Reference Application Claim 1
Claim 1. An information processing apparatus comprising a conversion part configured to train a second recognizer based on an output of a first recognizer that performs a recognition process based on a first signal read from a first sensor, the second recognizer performing a recognition process based on a second signal read from a second sensor having a characteristic different from the first sensor.
Claim 1. An information processing apparatus comprising a conversion part configured to convert, based on an output of a first recognizer that performs a recognition process based on a first signal read from a first sensor, a processing parameter related to a recognition process of a second recognizer that performs the recognition process based on a second signal read from a second sensor having a characteristic different from a characteristic of the first sensor, wherein the conversion part converts the processing parameter to approximate an output of the second recognizer to the output of the first recognizer.
Claim 2 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of copending Application No. 18/721898 (reference application) for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 16 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18 of copending Application No. 18/721898 (reference application) for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 17 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of copending Application No. 18/721898 (reference application) for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 18 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of copending Application No. 18/721898 (reference application) for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additionally provided references pertain generally to knowledge distillation from teacher to student networks and/or training specialized networks from generic pre-trained networks.
Contact Information
/SAMAH A BEG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2676