Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 20100308688 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura discloses a sliding contact material for a motor brush (para [0001]: “The present invention relates to a sliding contact material suitable for a motor commutator performing electrical opening and closing by means of mechanical sliding operation. More particularly, it relates to a sliding contact material suitable for a high-capacity small electric DC motor whose initial starting current is 1 ampere or higher, which is used for an electrically-driven retractable mirror and the like of an automobile.”), the sliding contact material comprising:
ZnO particles (para [0015]: “The sliding contact material of the present invention may be a material in which an oxide of one kind or two or more kinds of Mg, Fe, Co, Ni and Zn is further dispersed.”) and Ta205 particles dispersed in the matrix, wherein the sliding contact material has a ZnO particle content of 0.1% by mass or more and 12% by mass or less and a Ta2O5 particle content of 0.1% by mass or more and 6.0% by mass or less (para [0012]: “the present invention provides a sliding contact material in which metal oxide particles are dispersed in an Ag alloy matrix, wherein the Ag alloy matrix is an Ag alloy containing 0.01 to 10.0 wt % of at least one kind of Fe, Co, Ni and Cu in Ag, and as the metal oxide, 0.1 to 3.0 wt % of a Ta oxide is dispersed.”, and [0015]: “The content of oxide of one kind or two or more kinds of Mg, Fe, Co, Ni and Zn is made 0.1 to 10.0 wt %.” and “Among the oxides of Mg, Fe, Co, Ni and Zn, at least one kind of Mg oxide and Zn oxide is preferably dispersed.”).
Nakamura does not disclose the Ag is pure. However, to optimize the design, controlling the impurity level or the composition of the Ag as a matrix is within the skills of those having ordinary skills in the art.
To optimize the design of the sliding contact material, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use pure Ag as a matrix.
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura as modified in claim 1 discloses the sliding contact material for a motor brush according to claim 1, wherein the pure Ag as a matrix is pure Ag having an Fe/Cr/Ni total content of 0.3% by mass or less (see [0012] and [0015]: “The content of oxide of one kind or two or more kinds of Mg, Fe, Co, Ni and Zn is made 0.1 to 10.0 wt %.”) .
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura discloses a composite material for a motor brush (para [0013]), the composite material comprising: a base material comprising a Cu-based material; and a sliding contact material jointed to at least a part of the base material, wherein the sliding contact material jointed is the sliding contact material defined in claim 1 or 2 (see para [0016]: “In the case where the above-described sliding contact material of the present invention is used as the motor commutator, to make the construction material of commutator more suitable, the sliding contact material is preferably used as a clad composite material in which a base material consisting of Cu or Cu alloy is used, and the sliding contact material of the present invention is embedded in a part of the base material.”).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura discloses a motor brush for a DC motor (para [0001]), the motor brush comprising the composite material defined in claim 3 (see para [0016]).
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura discloses a DC motor comprising: a motor brush; and a commutator ([0004]), wherein the motor brush is the motor brush defined in claim 4 (see para [0016]).
Conclusion
/MASOUD VAZIRI/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834