DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 112341414 (CN’414).
The instant claims are drawn to a method for preparing a furan dicarboxylic acid compound, comprising preparing a hydroxyl furfural compound from a hydroxyl-free furfural compound, and oxidizing the hydroxy furfural compound in the presence of a heterogeneous catalyst to produce a furan dicarboxylic acid.
The CN’414 reference discloses a process, wherein 5-chloromethyfurfural, in a mixture of deionized water and calcium carbonate, is heated to 80°C, and stirred at 500 rpm for 15 minutes, thereby producing a crude product containing 5-hydroxymethylfurfural, HMF. The crude HMF is added to a reactor comprising sodium bicarbonate and a water/1,4-dioxane mixture, followed by the addition of a Ru/Al2O3 catalyst, and stirring at 600 rpm. The reactor is sealed and 40 bar oxygen is introduced at a temperature of 140°C. The resulting product is 2,5-furan-dicarboxylic acid (example 1; examples 10-19). This process, and the 2,5-furan-dicarboxylic acid made, anticipate the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 112341414 (CN’414).
The instant claims further limit the process of the present invention, such that a solvent is added to the hydroxy furfural compound followed by filtration to remove humin; and to a method for preparing a polyester by subjecting the furan dicarboxylic acid compound of claim 15 and a diol to an esterification reaction and then a polymerization reaction; the claims are also to a polyester made by said process.
Regarding the use of a solvent, and filtration to remove humin, the CN’414 reference adds sodium dithionite in order to inhibit the formation of humic substances; however, the reference has a general teaching that by-products like humic substances may be separated by vacuum distillation and other methods (page 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to remove humic substances, which are known to cause catalyst deactivation, by any technique known in the art, which includes distillation and filtration.
The CN’414 reference does not expressly teach a process for producing a polyester; however, the reference teaches that 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid has a chemical structure and physical properties similar to petroleum-based terephthalic acid, especially its polyester product with ethylene glycol. The reference further teaches that polyethylene furan dicarboxylate shows better performance than polyethylene terephthalate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid for terephthalic acid, in a process for making a corresponding polyester upon reaction with ethylene glycol (esterification) and subsequent polymerization, since the ‘CN414 reference teaches that the furan dicarboxylic acid-based polymer is a more ideal biological species as an alternative to petroleum-based terephthalic acid.
Double Patenting
Claim 15 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of copending Application No. 18/292,406 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the dicarboxylic acid composition prepared according to claim 14 of the reference application comprises a species that is would anticipate the furan dicarboxylic acid of the present claim.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 15 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of copending Application No. 18/246,068 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid recited in the method of claim 15 of the reference application would anticipate the furan dicarboxylic acid recited by the instant claim.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 10-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/SIKARL A WITHERSPOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692