DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The examiner acknowledges receipt of amendment/arguments filed 6/2/26. The arguments set forth have been addressed herein below. Claims 10-13, 15-24, and 26-31 remain pending, Claims 1-9, 14, and 25 are canceled, Claims 10, 13, 16, 18, 22-24, 28-29 are currently amended, and Claims 30-31 are newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-12, 15-16, and 28-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Strahle (US 2018/0250587).
Claims 10 and 29: Strahle discloses a method of manufacturing an input device, the input device comprising: a trigger button (110, 200) including a main body (¶ 50-54, the trigger 110/200 including the extension arm 111/211), the trigger button being configured to move about an axis (defined by pin 116) that extends along a first direction; a stopper member (combination (120, 121) or (220, 221)) movable between: a first position for allowing movement of the trigger button over a first range, and a second position, wherein the stopper member in the second position limits movement of the trigger button to a second range smaller than the first range by abutting the main body of the trigger button (¶ 50-54); and an operation member (122, 222) engaging with the stopper member and configured to move in a second direction different from the first direction to move the stopper member between the first position and the second position (Figs. 1-4c and 6-8c, ¶ 41-58, 78-90).
Claim 11: Strahle discloses wherein the input device further comprises an exterior member (game controller housing 150), wherein the stopper member is housed inside the exterior member, and at least a part of the operation member is exposed to an outside of the exterior member (see above, Figs. 1-4c and 6-8c).
Claim 12: Strahle discloses the input device further comprising: an exterior member having a curved external surface (housing (150) as seen in Figs. 1-2, 6-7), wherein the stopper member is housed inside the exterior member and is able to move along the curved external surface (see above, emphasis on Figs. 6-7 and descriptions thereof which illustrate the movement along the curved external surface).
Claim 15: Strahle discloses wherein the second direction is orthogonal to the first direction (see above, Figs. 1-4c and 6-8c illustrate that the operation member moves perpendicular or orthogonal to the direction of movement of the trigger button).
Claim 16: Strahle discloses wherein the stopper member is configured to be disposed at the first position, the second position, and a third position for regulating a movable range of the trigger button to a third range between the first range and the second range, the third position being a position between the first position and the second position (see above, ¶ 89).
Claim 28: Strahle discloses the input device comprising a guide frame attached to a core unit, the guide frame including a guide hole opening in an upward-downward direction through which a portion of the operation member is passed to guide the operation member along the straight line (see above, Figs. 1-4c and 6-8c, ¶ 43, 44-45, 80-81, 87).
Claims 30-31: Strahle teaches wherein the main body of the trigger button includes a lower surface and a rear edge of the lower surface, and the stopper member in the second position limits the movement of the trigger button to the second range by abutting the rear edge of the lower surface (Figs. 3, 4a-c, 7, 8a-c, ¶ 51-54, 69-72, 84-90, see below screenshots).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strahle (US 2018/0250587).
Claim 13: Strahle teaches the above, in addition to the operation member configured to move along a straight line (Fig. 2b, ¶ 43-45, Figs. 6-7, 8b, ¶ 80-81, 87), but lacks explicitly suggesting the stopper member configured to move along a curved external surface of the trigger button. However, applicant fails to disclose that having the stopper member move along a curved external surface of the trigger button solve any stated problem, provides an advantage, or is for any particular purpose. Moreover, it appears that the stopper member movement of Strahle, or applicant’s invention, would perform the same function of limiting a movable range of the trigger button, regardless of the direction of movement of the stopper member. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Strahle to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Strahle.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strahle (US 2018/0250587) in view of Ironmonger (US 2024/0075382).
Claim 17: Strahle teaches the above, in addition to the input device further comprising: a first sensor configured to detect a position of the operation member or the stopper member (¶ 89); and a second sensor (¶ 58-59), but lacks explicitly suggesting a circuit board mounted with the first sensor and the second sensor. Strahle at least teaches various circuitry within the input device (¶ 59-60, Fig. 2) and that various modifications can be applied without departing from the overall scope of the invention (¶ 38, 88). Furthermore, an analogous art of Ironmonger teaches a similarly structured input devices having circuitry including sensors (130, 132), etc that are mounted on a circuit board (150) within the input device (Abstract, Figs. 3-6, ¶ 67, 112, 115-116, 123-120, 133). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the input device, particularly, the first and second sensors, of Strahle such that the sensors are mounted on a circuit board as taught by Ironmonger because such a modification would have yielded predictable results, namely, a means of providing circuitry within an input device in which at least Strahle is intended (see above). Such a modification would have been considered to mere routine to one of ordinary skill in the art and provide increase control of the gaming controller or input device (Ironmonger - ¶ 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-24 and 26-27 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Strahle fails to teach “wherein the stopper member in the second position limits movement of the trigger button to a second range smaller than the first range by abutting the main body of the trigger button”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner agrees that Strahle “describes a stopper member ("blocking portion") that engages with an arm extension than extends from the trigger button”. The claim language suggests "the stopper member limits movement of the trigger button ... by abutting the main body of the trigger button"; however, such limitations do not exclude the arm extension of Strahle. Strahle teaches ) a trigger button including a main body (¶ 50-54, the trigger 110/200 including the extension arm 111/211). Strahle discloses that the “trigger 110 includes arm extension 111” (¶ 52) which given its broadest reasonable interpretation suggests that the arm extension is part of the trigger button and not separate from the trigger button; therefore Strahle teaches a main body, wherein "the stopper member limits movement of the trigger button ... by abutting the main body of the trigger button" as required by the claimed limitations.
Based on the above, the rejection is clarified and herein maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Please see attached PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRAMAR HARPER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715