DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 6/21/2024. Claims 1-9 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55, however the request for foreign priority cannot yet be approved due to the lack of certified English copies, per requirements of 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d), specifically 35 U.S.C. 119 (b)(3), see below.
(3) The Director may require a certified copy of the original foreign application, specification, and drawings upon which it is based, a translation if not in the English language, and such other information as the Director considers necessary. Any such certification shall be made by the foreign intellectual property authority in which the foreign application was filed and show the date of the application and of the filing of the specification and other papers.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 6/21/2024 and 10/25/2024. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figure 16, box S301 states “retain” to which the Examiner believes should be updated to instead state “retained” for proper grammar; Figure 21, box S255 states “nvironment” which should be updated to instead state “environment” for proper spelling; Figure 22, box 240 states “movesout” which should be updated to instead state “moves out” with a space between the two words. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“…an external environment measurement device that ... measures an object ... and a position of the object, and outputs information...” in claim 1.
“…a posture measurement device that measures a state quantity ... and outputs information...” in claim 1.
“…a position measurement device that outputs own machine position information...” in claim 5.
Support for these limitations are as follows:
an external environment measurement device:
[0024] …For example, the external environment measurement device 70 may be a LiDAR (Light Detection And Ranging) device or may be a stereo camera...
a posture measurement device:
[0022] Here, the boom angle sensor 14, the arm angle sensor 15, the bucket angle sensor 17, the inclination angle sensor 18, and the swing angle sensor 19 are included in a posture measurement device 53 that measures state quantities related to the posture of the front work device 2, for example, each pivot angle, the swing angle of the upper swing structure 7, and the like, and that outputs information about the posture of the front work device 2 as posture information.
a position measurement device:
[0057] ...In addition, the position of the work machine in the site coordinate system 500 may be measured by using a position measurement device such as a GNSS or a device that calculates positions such as a TS (Total Station), and the position of the work machine may be transmitted to the transporting machine 200, or an FMS or the like provided at the work site, along with the information about the loading area 210...
[0110] ...For example, a position measurement device such as a GNSS, a TS (Total Station), or the like may be used as the position measurement device 60...
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 currently states “…the external environment measurement device can compute the transporting machine having stopped in the loading area…” which the Examiner believes should be updated to instead state “…the external environment measurement device can compute the transporting machine’s position having stopped in the loading area…” so as to avoid potential misinterpretation.
Claim 1 currently states “…on a basis of the posture of the work machine, the measurement area, and the loading area…” which the Examiner believes should be updated to instead state “…on a basis of the posture of the work machine, the predetermined measurement area, and the loading area…” so as to avoid potential antecedent basis issues.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “…measures a state quantity related to a posture…” however this is not a common term which one of ordinary skill in the art would understand, nor is there any structure or detail provided in the specification or drawings to further indicate the metes and bounds of the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "…load a transporting machine…a posture of a transporting machine…" to which the Examiner believes should instead state "…load a transporting machine…a posture of [ [ a ] ] the transporting machine…" so as to convey proper antecedent basis.
Claim 1 and claim 2 recite the limitation "…a posture of the work machine…the work machine is at such a posture…the work machine is at such a posture…" to which the Examiner is uncertain if this refers to several different postures, or if the intent is to refer to the same posture throughout. If the intent of the claim is to refer to several different postures, the Examiner recommends updating the claim to provide unique identifiers to differentiate these different postures.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “...an overlap degree representing a degree to which the loading area and the measurement area overlap...” and then claim 7 (indirectly dependent on claim 2) recites the limitation “...the overlap degree between the loading area and the measurement area is maximized...” to which the Examiner recommends updating one of the two phrases so that they align properly, so as to avoid potential misinterpretation.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “…a basis of the posture information about the work machine…a basis of the posture information about the work machine…a basis of the posture of the work machine…”; claim 3 depends indirectly upon claim 1 and recites the limitation “…a basis of the posture information about the work machine…”; claim 9 depends directly upon claim 3 and recites the limitation “…the basis of the posture information about the work machine…”. For the sake of compact prosecution, the Examiner will interpret the claims as follows:
Claim 1: “…a basis of the posture information about the work machine…[ [ a ] ] the basis of the posture information about the work machine…[ [ a ] ] the basis of the posture information about [ [ of ] ] the work machine…”;
Claim 3: “…[ [ a ] ] the basis of the posture information about the work machine…”;
Claim 9: “…the basis of the posture information about the work machine…”.
Regarding claim 1, limitation “an external environment measurement device” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification states that the “external environment measurement device” may be a LiDAR (Light Detection And Ranging) device or may be a stereo camera, but does not positively recite that the device is limited to these two options, or that its structure even may be indicative of another form. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. For the sake of compact prosecution, the Examiner will interpret the device as either a LIDAR or a stereo camera.
Regarding claim 5, limitation “a position measurement device” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Neither the claims nor the specification details the structure of the “position measurement device”. A “position measurement device” has been provided an open-ended list of what structure could entail, therefore the Examiner will be required to interpret the device according to the only definitive structure, that is a GNSS. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 4, 6, and 8-9 are also rejected since the claims are dependent on a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Friend et al. (US-2017/0073935; hereinafter Friend; already of record from IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Friend discloses a work machine that has an articulated front work device and performs loading work to load a transporting machine with a transporting target object (see Friend at least [0009] "In still another aspect, a machine includes a rotatable base, a linkage assembly including a boom operatively connected to the base, a connecting member operatively connected to the boom, and a material moving work implement operatively connected to the connecting member. An implement system pose sensor generates implement system pose signals indicative of a pose of a portion of the implement system. A target has a target zone and is movable at a work site and a target pose sensor generates target pose signals indicative of a pose of the target zone..."), the work machine comprising:
an external environment measurement device that is provided to the work machine, measures an object existing in a predetermined measurement area around the work machine and a position of the object, and outputs information about the object and the position as object position information (see Friend at least [0046]-[0047] "...Perception sensors 71 may embody LIDAR (light detection and ranging) devices (e.g., a laser scanner), RADAR (radio detection and ranging) devices, SONAR (sound navigation and ranging) devices, cameras, and/or other types of devices that may determine the range and direction to objects and/or attributes thereof... An object identification system, shown generally at 73, may be mounted on or associated with the rope shovel 15 in addition to the terrain mapping system 70..." and [0054] "...Upon determining that an obstacle is within a predetermined distance or proximity of the rope shovel 15, the object identification system 73 may identify the type of haul truck and utilize its stored dimensions to generate an electronic model that is stored within the electronic map.");
a posture measurement device that measures a state quantity related to a posture of the work machine and outputs information about the state quantity as posture information (see Friend at least [0036]-[0037] "A pose sensing system 60, as shown generally by an arrow in FIG. 2, may include a pose sensor 61 to sense the position and orientation (i.e., the heading, pitch, roll or tilt, and yaw) of the rope shovel 15 relative to the work site 100. The position and orientation of the rope shovel 15 are sometimes collectively referred to as the pose of the machine. The pose sensor 61 may include a plurality of individual sensors that cooperate to generate and provide pose signals to controller 56 indicative of the position and orientation of the rope shovel 15. In one example, the pose sensor 61 may include one or more sensors that interact with a positioning system such as a global navigation satellite system or a global positioning system to operate as a pose sensor. In another example, the pose sensor 61 may further include a slope or inclination sensor such as pitch angle sensor for measuring the slope or inclination of the rope shovel 15 relative to a ground or earth reference. The controller 56 may use pose signals from the pose sensors 61 to determine the pose of the rope shovel 15 within work site 100. In other examples, the pose sensor 61 may include a perception based system, or may use other systems such as lasers, sonar, or radar to determine all or some aspects of the pose of rope shovel 15."); and
a controller configured to compute a position and a posture of a transporting machine relative to the work machine on a basis of the posture information about the work machine and the object position information and perform loading assist control of the work machine on a basis of the computed position and posture of the transporting machine (see Friend at least [0054] "...Upon determining that an obstacle is within a predetermined distance or proximity of the rope shovel 15, the object identification system 73 may identify the type of haul truck and utilize its stored dimensions to generate an electronic model that is stored within the electronic map." [0074] "The re-positioning system 76 may be configured to analyze the pose of a haul truck 80 and the pose and kinematic model or capabilities of the rope shovel 15, as well as the location of any additional obstacles at the work site 100, to determine whether the dipper 35 may be efficiently and/or safely moved to the target zone at the dump body 84 and dumped or whether it is desirable to re-position of the haul truck prior to dumping. For example, the controller 56 may determine a plurality of paths that the dipper 35 may travel from its current location (as determined by the pose of the rope shovel 15) to the target zone at the dump body 84 based upon the kinematic model of the implement system and the desired operating characteristics of the implement system." and [0102] "...The flowcharts depict a process in which an operator may manually perform a digging operation and the controller 56 of rope shovel 15 semi-autonomously moves the dipper 35 into alignment with a haul truck 80, dumps the load within the dipper, and returns the dipper to a dig location at which the operator may perform a new digging operation..."), wherein
the controller is configured to
compute the posture of the work machine on a basis of the posture information about the work machine output from the posture measurement device (see Friend at least [0037] "...The controller 56 may use pose signals from the pose sensors 61 to determine the pose of the rope shovel 15 within work site 100…"),
set a loading area that is an area where the transporting machine stops and where loading work by the work machine to load the transporting machine is performed (see Friend at least [0093]-[0094] "During a material loading operation, material may be loaded into the dipper 35 at the dig location 140 and the dipper moved into alignment with a first haul truck 80 located at the first dump location 141 and unloaded. Upon emptying the dipper 35, the controller 56 may generate command signals to move the dipper back to the dig location 140 and the process of loading the first haul truck 80 may be repeated until the first haul truck is fully loaded. Either before or while the rope shovel 15 is loading the first haul truck 80, a second haul truck may be positioned at the second dump location 142..."),
assess whether or not the work machine is at such a posture that the external environment measurement device can compute the transporting machine having stopped in the loading area, on a basis of the posture of the work machine, the measurement area, and the loading area (see Friend at least [0053] "...The pose of the haul truck 80 may be communicated directly to the rope shovel 15 or to a remote system and the information entered or stored within the electronic map of the work site 100…" [0074] "The re-positioning system 76 may be configured to analyze the pose of a haul truck 80 and the pose and kinematic model or capabilities of the rope shovel 15, as well as the location of any additional obstacles at the work site 100, to determine whether the dipper 35 may be efficiently and/or safely moved to the target zone at the dump body 84 and dumped or whether it is desirable to re-position of the haul truck prior to dumping..." and [0093] "During a material loading operation, material may be loaded into the dipper 35 at the dig location 140 and the dipper moved into alignment with a first haul truck 80 located at the first dump location 141 and unloaded..."), and
compute the position and posture of the transporting machine in the loading area on a basis of the object position information output from the external environment measurement device, when it is assessed that the work machine is at such a posture that the transporting machine can be computed (see Friend at least [0074]-[0078] "The re-positioning system 76 may be configured to analyze the pose of a haul truck 80 and the pose and kinematic model or capabilities of the rope shovel 15, as well as the location of any additional obstacles at the work site 100, to determine whether the dipper 35 may be efficiently and/or safely moved to the target zone at the dump body 84 and dumped or whether it is desirable to re-position of the haul truck prior to dumping. For example, the controller 56 may determine a plurality of paths that the dipper 35 may travel from its current location (as determined by the pose of the rope shovel 15) to the target zone at the dump body 84 based upon the kinematic model of the implement system and the desired operating characteristics of the implement system... If the re-positioning system 76 analyzes the pose of the haul truck 80 and the pose and kinematic model of the rope shovel 15 (or the pose of the boom 25) and determines that it is desirable to re-position the haul truck 80, the operator of the haul truck may be instructed to re-position the haul truck at a new location or a new orientation.").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friend in view of Schmidt et al. (US-2012/0259537; hereinafter Schmidt).
Regarding claim 2, Friend discloses the work machine according to claim 1, wherein
the controller is configured to assess whether or not the work machine is at such a posture that the position and posture of the transporting machine can be computed (see Friend at least [0098] "In a further example, a configuration may be utilized that is similar to that of FIG. 11 but includes a second dump location, indicated generally at 148, near the second dig location 146. By adding the second dump location 148, the rope shovel 15 may load a haul truck at each dump location and then dig material at a dig location near each dump location.") …
However, while Friend discloses that a digging location, done by the machine, occurs near a dumping location, into the truck, it is not explicit that there are representative zones which overlap, such as the following:
…a basis of an overlap degree representing a degree to which the loading area and the measurement area overlap.
Schmidt, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…a basis of an overlap degree representing a degree to which the loading area and the measurement area overlap (see Schmidt at least Fig 7B and [0049] "Also in FIG. 7B the outer 724 and inner 714 mgf's associated with the tractor location 704 overlap the mgf 716 associated with the grain cart 706. In this instance, identifying information may be provided by a communication device 56 at each vehicle such that the MGDM 26 can identify the particular situation. For example, it may be desirable for a grain cart to be located near a combine but not a tractor, in which case the identity of the particular vehicles in proximity to one another may determine whether a particular alert provided. In this instance, the overlap of the outer mgf 724 of the tractor with the mgf 716 of the grain cart may be ignored as that outer mgf 724 may be used for determining proximity to a weather condition...").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the area assignations as disclosed by Friend with a determination of overlap such as taught by Schmidt with a reasonable expectation of success so as to monitor vehicle locations to aid with collision predictions (see Schmidt at least [0025]).
Regarding claim 3, Friend in view of Schmidt teach the work machine according to claim 2, wherein
the controller is configured to
calculate a position of a front end of the front work device of the work machine on a basis of the posture information about the work machine output from the posture measurement device (see Friend at least [0039]-[0040] "One or more implement sensors may be provided to monitor the position and status of the dipper 35. More specifically, sensors may be provided to provide signals indicative of the position and other characteristics of the dipper 35... A hoist sensor 63 may be provided that generates hoist signals indicative of the height of the dipper 35 relative to the base 16... The crowd sensor 65 may be configured to generate crowd signals indicative of the crowd or position (i.e., the extension or retraction) of the dipper handle 40 relative to the boom 25."), and
set the loading area on a basis of the position of the front end of the front work device (see Friend at least [0062] "...The planning system 75 may simulate and evaluate any aspect of a material moving operation, such as by evaluating a plurality of potential paths between the current location of the dipper 35 and a target zone, and then select (or provide feedback regarding) a proposed dig location, dump location, and/or the path between the dig location and the dump location that creates the most desirable results based upon one or more criteria." [0074] "The re-positioning system 76 may be configured to analyze the pose of a haul truck 80 and the pose and kinematic model or capabilities of the rope shovel 15, as well as the location of any additional obstacles at the work site 100, to determine whether the dipper 35 may be efficiently and/or safely moved to the target zone at the dump body 84 and dumped or whether it is desirable to re-position of the haul truck prior to dumping..." and [0077] "In a further example, the haul truck 80 may be positioned at a location in which the dipper 35 may be positioned as desired above the dump body 84 but the haul truck is positioned at a location relatively far from the dig location. In such case, it may be desirable to re-position the haul truck 80 so that the time spent by the rope shovel 15 swinging between the dig and dump positions is reduced, thus increasing the efficiency of the material loading process.").
Regarding claim 4, Friend in view of Schmidt teach the work machine according to claim 3, wherein
the controller is configured to
calculate a tolerance range of a stop position of the transporting machine as a stop tolerance range when the loading area is set (see Friend at least [0073]-[0078]), and
assess that the work machine has such an azimuth that the position and posture of the transporting machine can be computed (see Friend at least [0056] "Comparing FIG. 4 to FIGS. 5-6, one-to-one correspondence between many of the components, elements, or features of FIG. 4 may be found. For example, face 102 of the mine 101 is depicted in both FIGS. 5-6 and ground surface 104 is depicted as being slightly above the x-axis in both FIGS. 5-6 for clarity. The outer limit 120 of the reach of dipper 35 is depicted in FIGS. 4-5 but not in FIG. 6."), when an overlap degree between the stop tolerance range and the measurement area is equal to or greater than a predetermined degree (see Schmidt at least Fig 7B and [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the area assignations as disclosed by Friend with a determination of overlap compared to a threshold such as taught by Schmidt with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, Friend in view of Schmidt teach the work machine according to claim 3, comprising:
a position measurement device that outputs own machine position information about a position of the work machine in a site coordinate system (see Friend at least [0037] "The pose sensor 61 may include a plurality of individual sensors that cooperate to generate and provide pose signals to controller 56 indicative of the position and orientation of the rope shovel 15. In one example, the pose sensor 61 may include one or more sensors that interact with a positioning system such as a global navigation satellite system or a global positioning system to operate as a pose sensor..."), wherein
the controller is configured to assess whether or not the work machine has moved on a basis of the own machine position information, and move a position of the loading area according to a movement amount of the work machine when it is assessed that the work machine has moved (see Schmidt at least [0023]-[0024] "FIG. 2, shows an example embodiment of a system 20 for tracking an agricultural machine by generating and monitoring a mgf generated about the machine's location. In the example embodiment a moving geofence apparatus (MGA) 22 is configured to generate a moving geofence about a machine's location and determine whether the machine is in proximity to a point of interest... In the example shown in FIG. 1, the LDD 28 determines that the vehicle is initially located at location A and provides the location information to the MGGM 16 of the MGA. The MGGM may use the location information to generate a moving geofence 16 about location A. In this example embodiment, the mgf 16 is in the form of a circle of radius r having the vehicle's location A as a center point. As the vehicle moves to position B (shown in dashed lines) the new location is determined by the LDD and provided to the MGGM 24 and the MGGM generates an updated a mgf 16 about location B. Thus, for each determined location n of the vehicle 10, a resulting mgf 16n may be generated. In this way, the mgf 16 moves with the vehicle as the vehicle moves through the field.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention further modify the area assignations as disclosed by Friend with a continual updates as a vehicle moves such as taught by Schmidt with a reasonable expectation of success so as to provide real-time information for collision monitoring (see Schmidt at least [0025]).
Regarding claim 6, Friend in view of Schmidt teach the work machine according to claim 3, wherein
the controller is configured to externally acquire, as own machine position information, position information about the work machine in a site coordinate system by using a communication device ((see Friend at least [0048] "...In one example, the electronic map may be stored within controller 56 and/or an offboard controller." and [0055] "The electronic map may be configured in any desired manner. In one example, the electronic map may be configured to store the data in a cylindrical coordinate system with the central axis of the cylindrical coordinate system corresponding to the axis 22 of the rope shovel 15...") and (see Schmidt at least [0034] "The MGA communications device 66 may be located at the MGA 22 and configured to receive the geographic and other information sent from the field communications device 56 over the network 58 and provide the information to the MGA 22...")), assess whether or not the work machine has moved on a basis of the acquired own machine position information (see Schmidt at least [0022] "...The vehicle 10 moves from an initial geographic location at point A to a second geographic location at point B (shown in dashed lines). A moving geofence (mgf) 16 has been generated about the vehicle's respective locations... As the vehicle 10 moves through the field 12 the mgf 16 overlaps the stationary geofence 18 so that an alert is issued."), and move a position of the loading area according to a movement amount of the work machine when it is assessed that the work machine has moved ((see Friend at least [0074] "The re-positioning system 76 may be configured to analyze the pose of a haul truck 80 and the pose and kinematic model or capabilities of the rope shovel 15, as well as the location of any additional obstacles at the work site 100, to determine whether the dipper 35 may be efficiently and/or safely moved to the target zone at the dump body 84 and dumped or whether it is desirable to re-position of the haul truck prior to dumping...") and (see Schmidt at least [0022] "...The vehicle 10 moves from an initial geographic location at point A to a second geographic location at point B (shown in dashed lines). A moving geofence (mgf) 16 has been generated about the vehicle's respective locations... As the vehicle 10 moves through the field 12 the mgf 16 overlaps the stationary geofence 18 so that an alert is issued.")).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determination to re-position a truck as disclosed by Friend with a determination of a machine having moved from one location to another such as further taught by Schmidt with a reasonable expectation of success so as to ensure a proper transfer of material from the machine to the truck at an efficient rate (see Schmidt at least [0002]-[0003]).
Regarding claim 9, Friend in view of Schmidt teach the work machine according to claim 3, wherein
the controller is configured to
calculate the position of the front end of the front work device of the work machine on the basis of the posture information about the work machine output from the posture measurement device (see Friend at least [0039]-[0040] "One or more implement sensors may be provided to monitor the position and status of the dipper 35. More specifically, sensors may be provided to provide signals indicative of the position and other characteristics of the dipper 35... A hoist sensor 63 may be provided that generates hoist signals indicative of the height of the dipper 35 relative to the base 16... The crowd sensor 65 may be configured to generate crowd signals indicative of the crowd or position (i.e., the extension or retraction) of the dipper handle 40 relative to the boom 25."), and
assess whether or not the front end of the front work device is positioned above the measurement area of the external environment measurement device (see Friend at least [0107] "One or more dig locations may be set or stored at stage 153 within controller 56. The dig locations may be identified and stored within controller 56 in any desired manner. In one example, an operator may move the dipper 35 to a desired dig location and actuate an input device such as a switch (not shown) within the operator station 20. Signals from the sensors (e.g., swing sensor 62, hoist sensor 63, and crowd sensor 65) indicative of the position of the desired dig location may be stored within controller 56."), and sense the position and posture of the transporting machine when it is assessed that the front end of the front work device is positioned outside the measurement area (see Friend at least [0053] "...The pose of the haul truck 80 may be communicated directly to the rope shovel 15 or to a remote system and the information entered or stored within the electronic map of the work site 100…" and [0074] "The re-positioning system 76 may be configured to analyze the pose of a haul truck 80 and the pose and kinematic model or capabilities of the rope shovel 15, as well as the location of any additional obstacles at the work site 100, to determine whether the dipper 35 may be efficiently and/or safely moved to the target zone at the dump body 84 and dumped or whether it is desirable to re-position of the haul truck prior to dumping...").
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friend in view of Schmidt as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Spielman, JR. (US-2022/0057802) and Ready-Campbell et al. (US-2021/0148086; hereinafter RC).
Regarding claim 7, Friend in view of Schmidt teach the work machine according to claim 3, wherein
…
the controller is configured to assess that the work machine has such an azimuth that the position and posture of the transporting machine can be computed (see Friend at least [0056] "Comparing FIG. 4 to FIGS. 5-6, one-to-one correspondence between many of the components, elements, or features of FIG. 4 may be found. For example, face 102 of the mine 101 is depicted in both FIGS. 5-6 and ground surface 104 is depicted as being slightly above the x-axis in both FIGS. 5-6 for clarity. The outer limit 120 of the reach of dipper 35 is depicted in FIGS. 4-5 but not in FIG. 6.") ...
However, while Friend discloses a field of view of sensors, neither Friend nor Schmidt explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…the measurement area of the external environment measurement device can be adjusted…
…when an overlap degree between the loading area and a range over which the measurement area of the external environment measurement device can be adjusted is equal to or greater than a predetermined degree, and compute the position and posture of the transporting machine after the measurement area is adjusted such that the overlap degree between the loading area and the measurement area is maximized…
Spielman, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…the measurement area of the external environment measurement device can be adjusted (see Spielman at least [0056] "Controller 140 may use the size information to adjust a size of an object detection area in order to determine whether an object has been detected in the articulation portion…")…
…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensors as disclosed by Friend with an adjustable range of detection such as taught by Spielman with a reasonable expectation of success so as to continue detection as a machine is articulated (see Spielman at least [0056]).
However, while Friend discloses an outer reach that the machine is capable of accessing, and the teachings of Schmidt discuss overlap of different vehicle zones, it is not evident that there is a degree of overlap, such as the following:
…when an overlap degree between the loading area and a range over which the measurement area of the external environment measurement device can be adjusted is equal to or greater than a predetermined degree, and compute the position and posture of the transporting machine after the measurement area is adjusted such that the overlap degree between the loading area and the measurement area is maximized…
RC, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…when an overlap degree between the loading area and a range over which the measurement area of the external environment measurement device can be adjusted is equal to or greater than a predetermined degree, and compute the position and posture of the transporting machine after the measurement area is adjusted such that the overlap degree between the loading area and the measurement area is maximized (see RC at least [0165] "Additionally, upon entering the loading location 916, the hauling tool position engine 940 continuously compares the position of the hauling tool with the position of the excavation tool. Upon detecting that the excavation tool of the vehicle 904 is positioned entirely above the hauling tool of the vehicle 916, the hauling tool position engine 940 instructions the controller of the excavation vehicle 904 to halt the navigation of the excavation vehicle and the excavation tool position engine 930 to actuate the excavation tool to transfer earth into the hauling tool...")…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determinations associated with positions as disclosed by Friend with an overlap equal to or greater than a degree such as taught by RC with a reasonable expectation of success so that load transfers occur with a high degree of accuracy, such as when a tool is directly above a truck (see RC at least [0165]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friend in view of Schmidt as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Ready-Campbell et al. (US-2021/0148086; hereinafter RC).
Regarding claim 8, Friend in view of Schmidt teach the work machine according to claim 3, wherein
the external environment measurement device has a plurality of mutually different measurement areas (see Friend at least Fig 4 and [0044] "...The terrain mapping system 70 may include one or more perception or perception sensors 71 (FIG. 4) that may scan work site 100 to gather information defining the work surface thereof. More specifically, perception sensors 71 may determine the distance and direction from the perception sensors 71 to points that define a mapped surface such as the work surface as well as obstacles at the work site 100. The field of view of each perception sensor 71 is depicted schematically at 72."), and
the controller is configured to assess that the work machine has such an azimuth that the position and posture of the transporting machine can be computed (see Friend at least [0056] "Comparing FIG. 4 to FIGS. 5-6, one-to-one correspondence between many of the components, elements, or features of FIG. 4 may be found. For example, face 102 of the mine 101 is depicted in both FIGS. 5-6 and ground surface 104 is depicted as being slightly above the x-axis in both FIGS. 5-6 for clarity. The outer limit 120 of the reach of dipper 35 is depicted in FIGS. 4-5 but not in FIG. 6.") …
However, while Friend discloses an outer reach that the machine is capable of accessing, and the teachings of Schmidt discuss overlap of different vehicle zones, it is not evident that there is a degree of overlap, such as the following:
…when an overlap degree between the loading area and at least one measurement area of the plurality of measurement areas of the external environment measurement device is equal to or greater than a predetermined degree, and sense the position and posture of the transporting machine by using a measurement area having a high overlap degree with the loading area in the plurality of measurement areas…
RC, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…when an overlap degree between the loading area and at least one measurement area of the plurality of measurement areas of the external environment measurement device is equal to or greater than a predetermined degree, and sense the position and posture of the transporting machine by using a measurement area having a hig