DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 12, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-8, 12, and 15-18, the claims require “flaky metal pigments consisting of a flaky metallic substrate and a surface modification layer of the metallic substrate.” In Applicant’s arguments dated 05/06/2026, Applicant’s state that “the claims, as written, do not allow for the presence of the metal oxide layer required by Hippmann (sentence bridging pages 6 and 7 of Applicant’s reply).” However, this directly contradicts claim 7 of the application which states “wherein the flaky metallic substrate on its surface also contains up to 30 wt% of an oxide, a hydroxide, an oxide hydrate or a mixture thereof of the same metal and the modification substance is bound on this metal oxide.” In view of Applicant’s remarks, therefore, it is not clear if an oxide layer on top of the metal base layer is actually allowed by claim 1.
For purposes of examination, it will be assumed that the metal oxide layer is allowed, but is not considered part of the recited surface modification layer.
Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 12, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landa et al. in view of Hippmann et al. (US 20160304721). Regarding claim 1, Landa et al. teach “a method of printing onto a surface of a substrate (abstract, Figure 1), which method comprising: providing a donor surface (item 12), passing the donor surface through a coating station from which the donor surface exits coated with individual particles (item 14), and repeatedly (paragraph 101) performing the steps of: treating the surface of the substrate to render affinity of the particles to at least selected regions of the surface of the substrate greater than affinity of the particles to the donor surface, wherein a receptive and/or adhesive layer is applied onto the substrate (paragraph 51), contacting the surface of the substrate with the donor surface to cause particles to transfer from the donor surface only to the treated selected regions of the surface of the substrate, thereby exposing regions of the donor surface from which particles are transferred to corresponding regions on the substrate (paragraph 48), thereby generating a plurality of individual particles adhered to the treated surface of the substrate (paragraph 48), returning the donor surface to the coating station to render the individual particles continuous in order to permit printing of a subsequent image on the surface of the substrate (paragraph 48), wherein the particles adhere to the donor surface more strongly than the particles adhere to each other (paragraph 13: Examiner notes that if the particles adhered to each other more strongly than to the donor surface, then when excess particles are removed by the extraction system, the particles on the surface would attach to the particles being removed and thus would leave the donor surface empty. Therefore, the particles must adhere to the donor surface more strongly in order to have a fresh coating applied to the donor surface.); wherein at least 50 wt. % of the individual particles are metal pigments consisting of a flaky metallic substrate (paragraph 32. Examiner notes that all of the particles are the same particles, as Landa et al. do not disclose having more than one type of particle) and a surface modification layer of the metallic substrate (paragraph 33).” Landa et al. fail to disclose “wherein the surface modification has been made by a treatment of the metallic substrate surface by at least one of the modification substances from the group consisting of phosphate ester, phosphonic esters, phosphonic acids, phosphinate esters, organofunctional silanes, organofunctional titanates, organofunctional zirconates, organofunctional aluminates and mixtures thereof.”
Hippmann et al. disclose using a flaky metallic particle which is a metal pigment having a metallic substrate and coating, wherein the coating comprises at least one organofunctional silane (paragraph 23) in order to provide a metal effect pigment which has improved optical properties (paragraph 11) and/or improved agglomeration properties (paragraph 116). Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the particles of Hippmann et al. in the method of Landa et al. in order to achieve improved optical properties and/or improved agglomeration properties. Regarding claim 2, Landa et al. further teach “wherein the donor surface exits the coating station coated with a monolayer of the individual particles (paragraph 18).” Regarding claim 3, Landa et al. further teach “wherein the flaky metallic substrate has an average thickness (h50 value) in the range of 10 to 500 nm (paragraph 71).” Regarding claim 4, Landa et al. further teach “wherein the flaky metallic substrate has an aspect ratio in the range from 1500:1 to 10:1 (paragraph 76), wherein the aspect ratio is defined as the ratio between the average pigment diameter (D50 value) and the average pigment thickness (h50 value).” Regarding claim 5, Landa et al. further disclose “wherein the flaky metallic substrate comprises one or more of aluminum, copper, zinc, gold-bronze, chromium, titanium, zirconium, tin, iron and steel flaky substrates or pigments of alloys of these metals (paragraph 32).”
Regarding claim 6, Landa et al., as modified, teaches all that is claimed, as in claim 1 above, except that “the flaky metallic substrate is made by a PVD process.” However, Hippmann et al. teach that PVD is a known process for making flaky metal pigments (paragraph 167). Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use PVD for making the flaky metal pigments because it is recognized in the art as being suitable for the intended purpose. See MPEP §2144.07. Regarding claim 7, Hippmann et al. further disclose “wherein the flaky metallic substrate on its surface also contains up to 30wt.% of an oxide, a hydroxide, an oxide hydrate, or a mixture thereof of the same metal and the modification substance is bound on this metal (paragraphs 204 and 205).” Examiner notes that Hippmann et al. gives the wt. % in terms of the weight of the coating, not the particles as a whole. Therefore, Examiner asserts that the percentage of oxide disclosed by Hippmann et al. at least partially overlaps the recited range. Regarding claim 12, Landa et al. further teach ‘wherein the donor surface is a hydrophobic surface (paragraph 99).” Regarding claim 15, Landa et al. further disclose “wherein the hydrophobic surface is made by an elastomer prepared from poly (dimethylsiloxane) polymers (paragraph 99).”
Regarding claims 16-18, carrying out the modified method of Landa et al., as discussed above with respects to claims 1, 8, and 12, respectively, would result in the product as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant’s argument that “the claims, as written, do not allow for the presence of the metal oxide layer required by Hippmann (sentence bridging pages 6 and 7 of Applicant’s reply)” is not persuasive. Claim 7 states “wherein the flaky metallic substrate on its surface also contains up to 30 wt% of an oxide, a hydroxide, an oxide hydrate or a mixture thereof of the same metal and the modification substance is bound on this metal oxide.” Clearly, then, the oxide layer is not considered part of the surface modification layer, and is considered part of the metallic substrate. Hippmann et al. discloses a metallic layer (paragraph 23), then an oxide layer (paragraph 25), and then a coating layer (paragraph 26), which is the same order allowed by the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA D ZIMMERMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853