DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 11 – 19) in the reply filed on May 26, 2026 is acknowledged. Because Applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Case law holds that Applicant's specification must be “commensurately enabling [regarding the scope of the claims]” Ex Parte Kung, 17 USPQ2d 1545, 1547 (Bd. Pat. App. Inter. 1990). Otherwise undue experimentation would be involved in determining how to practice and use Applicant's invention. The test for undue experimentation as to whether or not all compounds within the scope of claim 16 can be used as claimed and whether claim 16 meets the test is stated in Ex parte Forman, 230 USPQ 546, 547 (Bd. Pat. App. Inter. 1986) and In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed.Cir. 1988). Upon applying this test to claim 16, it is believed that undue experimentation would be required because:
(a) The quantity of experimentation necessary is great since claim 16 read on an interlayer material requiring particular properties, while the specification merely states that “the interlayer material in particular may be chosen” to have said properties (pgs. 8 – 9 of the originally filed specification), absent of any further details of the interlayer material content having said properties of claim 16.
(b) There is no direction or guidance presented for achieving an interlayer material that has the recited properties of claim 16.
(c) There is an absence of working examples concerning an interlayer having the recited properties of claim 16. Notably the working examples are polyurethane and an undisclosed flame retardant. There is nearly an infinite number of compositions which can be considered polyurethane and flame retardant given the number of polyurethane polymers and flame retardants known at the time of the invention.
In light of the above factors, it is seen that undue experimentation would be necessary to make and use the invention of claim 16.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 16, the claim recites the limitation "both sides" in the laminated glass of claim 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether “both sides” is referring to sides of the interlayer or sides of the oven. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gelderie et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,479,155 B1), in view of Dickinson et al. (U.S. Patent No. 3,771,985).
*Angreen.com, “Comprehensive Analysis of TPU Melting Point and Glass Transition Temperature.”
With regard to claim 11, Gelderie et al. teach a fireproof laminated glazing comprising two sheets of tempered glass panes and a glass-ceramic pane, as well as least one intermediate thermoplastic (polymer) layer (i.e., “interlayer”) (Col. 2, Lines 11 – 16). The tempered glass panes are formed by a float process (Col. 2, Lines 57 – 58).
Gelderie et al. do not explicitly teach a melting point of the intermediate layer.
However, Gelderie et al. teach the intermediate layer is a sheet of polymer material, such as thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU) (Col. 3, Lines 14 – 25). As evidenced by Angreen.com, TPU has a melting temperature in the range of 180 – 210°C. Therefore, Gelderie et al. teach an embodiment of intermediate layer has a melting temperature of about 180°C to about 210°C.
MPEP 2112 [R-3] states:
The express, implicit, and inherent disclosures of a prior art reference may be relied upon in the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103. “The inherent teaching of a prior art reference, a question of fact, arises both in the context of anticipation and obviousness.” In re Napier, 55 F.3d 610, 613, 34 USPQ2d 1782, 1784 (Fed. Cir. 1995) (affirmed a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection based in part on inherent disclosure in one of the references). See also In re Grasselli, 713 F.2d 731, 739, 218 USPQ 769, 775 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Gelderie et al. do not teach a ratio of a sum of a waviness (each in mm per 300 mm) of the two sheets of glass or glass-ceramic to a thickness (in mm) of the interlayer is at most 1.0% per mm.
Dickinson et al. teach a float process for manufacturing thin flat glass, wherein distortion (i.e., waviness) of the flat glass in a ribbon state is avoided by controlling the viscosity of the molten glass and creating thermal homogeneity (i.e., uniform heating) in the molten metal along the bottom and sides of bath supporting said glass ribbon (abstract & Col. 2, Lines 35 – 47).
Therefore, based on the teachings of the references cited above, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to adjust the float process parameters of forming the glass sheet, such as temperature regulation, through routine experimentation in order to reduce formation of deformations (waviness) on the surface of the glass plate formed. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Optimization of the waviness would necessarily optimize the ratio of the waviness to the thickness as well.
With regard to claim 12, Gelderie et al. teach working examples 1 & 2 in which each glass panes had a thickness of 5 mm and the intermediate layer has thickness of 0.38 mm and 0.5 mm, respectively, which is a total laminate thickness of 10.38 mm – 10.5 mm
With regard to claim 13, as discussed above for claim 11, Gelderie et al. teach at least one of the two sheets is a glass-ceramic sheet.
With regard to claim 14, as discussed above for claim 11, the at least one polymer is polyurethane.
Claim(s) 15 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gelderie et al. & Dickinson et al. as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Van Den Bergen (US 2015/0132584 A1).
With regard to claim 15, Gelderie et al. do not teach the intermediate (interlayer) material further comprises a flame-retardant material additionally to the at least one polymer.
With regard to claim 17, Gelderie et al. do not explicitly teach their flame-resistant laminate meets any of the UL Standard tests recited by Applicant.
Van Den Bergen teaches a fire-resistant glass laminate comprising an interlayer between glass panes (paragraphs [0001] & [0004]), wherein the interlayer comprises a urethane-based resin and a flame retardant additive meeting fire test UL9 and comparative example of laminate without flame retardant additive does not pass fire test UL 9 (2009) (paragraphs [0086] – [0087] & Table 1).
Therefore, based on the teachings of Van Den Bergen, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to incorporate flame retardant additive into a urethane-based interlayer for achieving the desired fire-resistant properties, such as meeting the standards of UL-9 standard test (2009).
Applicant’s claim 17 recites UL-9 test (8th edition) of March 2020, not 2009. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to incorporate flame retardant additive interlayer in order to meet the standards of the most recent UL-9 standard test.
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gelderie et al. & Dickinson et al. as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Smith, Jr. et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,364,786).
With regard to claim 18, Gelderie et al. fail to teach the maximum shear force of the laminate.
Smith, Jr. et al. teach a polyurethane interlayer need only be sufficiently thick to accommodate shear stresses due to normal temperature cycling encountered by the final product in its intended use. Low curing and laminating temperatures of the polyurethane interlayer also minimize shear stresses developed during cool down (Col. 2, Lines 18 – 26, Col. 3, Lines 27 – 47, Col. 4, Lines 8 – 23, Col. 4, Line 43 – Col. 5, Line 6, & Col. 6, Lines 22 – 39).
Therefore, based on the teachings of Smith, Jr. et al., it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to adjust the thickness of the polyurethane interlayer, the curing temperature of the polyurethane interlayer, and the temperature cycling of the manufacturing process through routine experimentation in order to achieve the desired shear stress (i.e., shear force) of the laminate. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gelderie et al. & Dickinson et al. as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Danielson et al. (US 2013/0344263 A1).
With regard to claim 19, Gelderie et al. fail to explicitly teach at least one of the two sheets exhibits acid resistance class 2 as per DIN 12116:2001-03, alkali resistance class A1 as per DIN ISO 695:1994-02, and/or hydrolytic resistance class HGB1 as per ISO 719:2020-09.
Danielson et al. teach a glass composition with improved chemical and mechanical durability, such as hydrolytic resistance class HGB1 according to ISO 719, wherein Na2O content in the glass composition is greater than 8 mol%, and a ratio of B2O3 to [Y mol% alkali oxide] – [X-mol% Al2O3] is less than 0.3 (paragraph [0013]).
Therefore, based on the teachings of Danielson et al., it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to adjust the content of Na2O, total alkali oxide, B2O3, and Al2O3 through routine experimentation in order to achieve a glass composition for a glass or glass ceramic sheet exhibiting a class HGB1 hydrolytic resistance according to ISO 719:2020-09. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
/NICOLE T GUGLIOTTA/
Examiner, Art Unit 1781
/FRANK J VINEIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1781