DETAILED ACTION
The present office action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on 06/
21/2024. Claims 3, 6, and 7 were cancelled. Claims 12 – 19 were added. Claims 1 – 2, 4 – 5, and 8 – 19 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 recites “a part of the heat dissipation component” in line 10, which should recite “the part of the heat dissipation component” for proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Guo (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0394875).
Regarding Claim 12, Guo teaches (Figures 1 and 2):
An electronic component mounting structure (structure illustrated in Figure 2) comprising:
an electronic component (2);
a metal plate (111; “111 and 112 may be used as an enclosure 11 of the heat sink 1”, Paragraph 0045; “enclosure 11 may be made of metal”, Paragraph 0046) including one surface (the bottom surface of 111) and another surface (the top surface of 111 to which 12 are attached); and
a heat dissipation component (112/13) having flexibility and elasticity (“heat sink plate 112 is flexible… elastic component 13 that can be compressed”, Paragraph 0043; as illustrated in Figure 2), wherein
the heat dissipation component (112/13) is sandwiched between (as illustrated in Figure 2) the one surface (the bottom surface of 111) of the metal plate (111) and the electronic component (2) with a region (the bottom center region of 112/13, as illustrated in Figure 2) of the heat dissipation component (112/13) that face (as illustrated in Figure 2) the electronic component (2) being formed (as illustrated in Figure 2) along a shape (112/13 deforms along the top horizontal wall of the rectangularly shaped 2) of the electronic component (2) and being in intimate contact with (as illustrated in Figure 2, 112 is in intimate contact with 2) the electronic component (2), and the heat dissipation component (112/13) being in intimate contact with (as illustrated in Figure 1, 13 is in intimate contact with 111) the one surface (the bottom surface of 111) of the metal plate (111), wherein
the heat dissipation component (112/13) includes a recess (the recess formed around 2, as illustrated in Figure 2) formed along a shape (112/13 deforms along the top horizontal wall of the rectangularly shaped 2) of a contact portion (the top horizontal wall of the rectangularly shaped 2) in which the electronic component (2) is in contact with (as illustrated in Figure 2) the heat dissipation component (112/13), and
the electronic component (2) and the metal plate (111) are thermally connected (as illustrated in Figure 2) via the heat dissipation component (112/13).
Regarding Claim 13, Guo teaches (Figures 1 and 2):
An electronic component mounting structure (structure illustrated in Figure 2) comprising:
an electronic component (2);
a metal plate (111; “111 and 112 may be used as an enclosure 11 of the heat sink 1”, Paragraph 0045; “enclosure 11 may be made of metal”, Paragraph 0046) including one surface (the bottom surface of 111) and another surface (the top surface of 111 to which 12 are attached); and
a heat dissipation component (112/13) having flexibility and elasticity (“heat sink plate 112 is flexible… elastic component 13 that can be compressed”, Paragraph 0043; as illustrated in Figure 2), wherein
the heat dissipation component (112/13) is sandwiched between (as illustrated in Figure 2) the one surface (the bottom surface of 111) of the metal plate (111) and the electronic component (2) with a region (the bottom center region of 112/13, as illustrated in Figure 2) of the heat dissipation component (112/13) that face (as illustrated in Figure 2) the electronic component (2) being formed (as illustrated in Figure 2) along a shape (112/13 deforms along the top horizontal wall of the rectangularly shaped 2) of the electronic component (2) and being in intimate contact with (as illustrated in Figure 2, 112 is in intimate contact with 2) the electronic component (2), and the heat dissipation component (112/13) being in intimate contact with (as illustrated in Figure 1, 13 is in intimate contact with 111) the one surface (the bottom surface of 111) of the metal plate (111), and
the heat dissipation component (112/13) includes, as two types of heat dissipation components having different flexibility and elasticity (by virtue of their different materials), a first heat dissipation component (112) having relatively high flexibility (“heat sink plate 112 is flexible”, Paragraph 0043) and a second heat dissipation component (13) having relatively high elasticity (“elastic component 13 that can be compressed”, Paragraph 0043),
the first heat dissipation component (112) is disposed on a surface (the top surface of 2 is in contact with 112, as illustrated in Figure 2) in contact with the electronic component (2),
the electronic component (2) and the metal plate (111) are thermally connected (as illustrated in Figure 2) via the heat dissipation component (112/13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Guo (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0394875) in view of Bjoerneklett et al. (European Patent Publication EP1548827A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Guo teaches (Figures 1 and 2):
An electronic component mounting structure (structure illustrated in Figure 2) comprising:
an electronic component (2);
a metal plate (111; “111 and 112 may be used as an enclosure 11 of the heat sink 1”, Paragraph 0045; “enclosure 11 may be made of metal”, Paragraph 0046) including one surface (the bottom surface of 111) and another surface (the top surface of 111 to which 12 are attached); and
a heat dissipation component (112/13) having flexibility and elasticity (“heat sink plate 112 is flexible… elastic component 13 that can be compressed”, Paragraph 0043; as illustrated in Figure 2), wherein
the heat dissipation component (112/13) is sandwiched between (as illustrated in Figure 2) the one surface (the bottom surface of 111) of the metal plate (111) and the electronic component (2) with a region (the bottom center region of 112/13, as illustrated in Figure 2) of the heat dissipation component (112/13) that face (as illustrated in Figure 2) the electronic component (2) being formed (as illustrated in Figure 2) along a shape (112/13 deforms along the top horizontal wall of the rectangularly shaped 2) of the electronic component (2) and being in intimate contact with (as illustrated in Figure 2, 112 is in intimate contact with 2) the electronic component (2), and the heat dissipation component (112/13) being in intimate contact with (as illustrated in Figure 1, 13 is in intimate contact with 111) the one surface (the bottom surface of 111) of the metal plate (111), wherein
the heat dissipation component (112/13) includes a recess (the recess formed around 2, as illustrated in Figure 2) formed along a shape (112/13 deforms along the top horizontal wall of the rectangularly shaped 2) of a contact portion (the top horizontal wall of the rectangularly shaped 2) in which the electronic component (2) is in contact with (as illustrated in Figure 2) the heat dissipation component (112/13), and
the electronic component (2) and the metal plate (111) are thermally connected (as illustrated in Figure 2) via the heat dissipation component (112/13).
However, Guo lacks showing a substrate holder disposed above the one surface of the metal plate, and an electronic substrate held on the substrate holder, wherein the electronic component and the electronic substrate are electrically connected via a connector between the electronic component and the electronic substrate.
In the same field of endeavor of circuit package arrangements for heat dissipation, Bjoerneklett teaches (Figure 1):
It is known in the electronic component (105) art for the electronic component (105) to comprise a substrate holder (as illustrated in Figure 1, the top of 105 is structure of a holder for a substrate), wherein an electronic substrate (102) is held on (as illustrated in Figure 1) the substrate holder (as illustrated in Figure 1, the top of 105 is structure of a holder for a substrate), wherein
the electronic component (105) and the electronic substrate (102) are electrically connected via a connector (“the printed circuit board carries and interconnects all the components with conductor wiring so as to form an interconnected system”, Paragraph 0004) between the electronic component (105) and the electronic substrate (102)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the direct mounting of the electronic component (2) to the printed circuit board (3) shown by Guo to mount the electronic component to a substrate, the substrate being mounted to a substrate holder provided on the printed circuit board, as taught by Bjoerneklett, since a substrate is a specialized carrier placed between an electronic component and a printed circuit board.
It is noted in combination, the substrate holder (positioned between printed circuit board 3 and electronic component 2) is disposed above the one surface of the metal plate, because Guo’s printed circuit board (3) is disposed on the side of the one surface of the metal plate (111).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Guo (Figures 1 and 2) and Bjoerneklett (Figure 1) teaches:
The substrate holder (Bjoerneklett: as illustrated in Figure 1, the top of 105 is structure of a holder for a substrate) is provided above and away from (It is noted in combination, the substrate holder (positioned between printed circuit board 3 and electronic component 2) is disposed above the one surface of the metal plate, because Guo’s printed circuit board (3) is disposed on the side of the one surface of the metal plate (111)) the one surface (Guo: the bottom surface of 111) of the metal plate (Guo: 111),
a part of the heat dissipation component (Guo: 112/13) is sandwiched between (Guo: as illustrated in Figure 2) the one surface (Guo: the bottom surface of 111) of the metal plate (Guo: 111) and a lower surface (Bjoerneklett: the surface of 102 towards 105) of the electronic substrate (Bjoerneklett: 105) that protrudes from the substrate holder (Bjoerneklett: as illustrated in Figure 1, the top of 105 is structure of a holder for a substrate) in an in-plane direction of the metal plate (Guo: 111), is deformed by a force (Guo: as illustrated in Figure 2) applied downward (Guo: via the bolts) from the substrate holder (Bjoerneklett: as illustrated in Figure 1, the top of 105 is structure of a holder for a substrate), as is in intimate contact with the one surface (Guo: the bottom surface of 111) of the metal plate (Guo: 111), and
the electronic component (Guo: 2) and the electronic substrate (Bjoerneklett: 102) are thermally connected (via 2) via the part of the heat dissipation component (Guo: 112/13).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Guo (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0394875) and Bjoerneklett et al. (European Patent Publication EP1548827A1), as recited in Claim 1 above, further in view of Ishida (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2008/0148749).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Guo and Bjoerneklett teaches the electronic component mounting structure according to claim 1 (see rejection of Claim 1 above).
However, the combination does not teach the electronic component mounting structure is accommodated in a housing of an outdoor unit of an air conditioner, the outdoor unit further comprising an attachment plate to which the metal plate of the electronic component mounting structure is attached, wherein a blower chamber and a machine chamber partitioned by the attachment plate are formed inside the housing, the electronic component is disposed in the machine chamber and the blower is disposed in the blower chamber.
In the same field of endeavor of electronic components, Ishida teaches (Figure 3):
It is known in the outdoor unit (5) of an air conditioner art for the outdoor unit (5) to comprise a housing (the exterior housing of 5, as illustrated in Figure 3), wherein an electronic component mounting structure (58) is accommodated in (as illustrated in Figure 3) the housing (the exterior housing of 5, as illustrated in Figure 3);
the outdoor unit (5) further comprises:
an attachment plate (59) to which the electronic component mounting structure (58) is attached (as illustrated in Figure 3), wherein a blower chamber (40) and a machine chamber (chamber in which 58 is located) partitioned by the attachment plate (59) formed inside the housing (the exterior housing of 5, as illustrated in Figure 3), the electronic component (the electrical component box and printed circuit board of 58, Paragraph 0092) is disposed within the machine chamber (chamber in which 58 is located) and the blower (46) is disposed within the blower chamber (40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to market the electronic component mounting structure taught by the combination of Guo and Bjoerneklett to be used in an outdoor unit of the air conditioner, as taught by Ishida, to increase profits by using the electronic component mounting structure in various applications.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Guo (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0394875), as recited in Claims 12 and 13 above, in view of Ishida (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2008/0148749).
Regarding Claim 18 and 19, Guo teaches the electronic component mounting structure according to claims 12 and 13 (see rejections of Claims 12 and 13 above).
However, the combination does not teach the electronic component mounting structure is accommodated in a housing of an outdoor unit of an air conditioner, the outdoor unit further comprising an attachment plate to which the metal plate of the electronic component mounting structure is attached, wherein a blower chamber and a machine chamber partitioned by the attachment plate are formed inside the housing, the electronic component is disposed in the machine chamber and the blower is disposed in the blower chamber.
In the same field of endeavor of electronic components, Ishida teaches (Figure 3):
It is known in the outdoor unit (5) of an air conditioner art for the outdoor unit (5) to comprise a housing (the exterior housing of 5, as illustrated in Figure 3), wherein an electronic component mounting structure (58) is accommodated in (as illustrated in Figure 3) the housing (the exterior housing of 5, as illustrated in Figure 3);
the outdoor unit (5) further comprises:
an attachment plate (59) to which the electronic component mounting structure (58) is attached (as illustrated in Figure 3), wherein a blower chamber (40) and a machine chamber (chamber in which 58 is located) partitioned by the attachment plate (59) formed inside the housing (the exterior housing of 5, as illustrated in Figure 3), the electronic component (the electrical component box and printed circuit board of 58, Paragraph 0092) is disposed within the machine chamber (chamber in which 58 is located) and the blower (46) is disposed within the blower chamber (40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to market the electronic component mounting structure shown by Guo to be used in an outdoor unit of the air conditioner, as taught by Ishida, to increase profits by using the electronic component mounting structure in various applications.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 5, 9, 14, and 15 are objected to as being dependent on a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Guo and Bjoerneklett teaches the claimed invention except the electronic component is a coil including a core made of a magnetic material and winding wound around the core.
Modifying Guo accordingly teaches away from the principle invention of Guo.
Regarding Claims 4, 14, and 15 the combination of Guo and Bjoerneklett teaches the claimed invention except the electronic component has an annular shape in an in-plane direction of the metal plate, and is disposed in a state in which a lower surface of the electronic component orthogonal to a central axis of the annular shape of the electronic component faces and is in contact with an upper surface of the heat dissipation component.
Modifying Guo accordingly teaches away from the principle invention of Guo.
Claim 5 depends from Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Guo and Bjoerneklett teaches the claimed invention except the electronic substrate and the substrate holder each include an opening or a cutout formed at a position at which the electronic component is disposed in an in-plane direction of the metal plate.
Modifying the combination accordingly requires modification to the secondary reference.
Claims 10, 16, and 17 are allowed.
Regarding Claims 10, 16, and 17:
The combination of Guo and Bjoerneklett (regarding Claim 1) and Guo (regarding Claims 12 and 13) teach the electronic component mounting structure (see rejections of Claims 1, 12, and 13 above).
Ishida (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2008/0148749) teaches (Figure 3): It is known in the outdoor unit (5) of an air conditioner art for the outdoor unit (5) to comprise a housing (the exterior housing of 5, as illustrated in Figure 3), wherein an electronic component mounting structure (58) is accommodated in (as illustrated in Figure 3) the housing (the exterior housing of 5, as illustrated in Figure 3); the outdoor unit (5) further comprises: a blower chamber (40) and a machine chamber (chamber in which 58 is located) partitioned by the attachment plate (59) formed inside the housing (the exterior housing of 5, as illustrated in Figure 3), the electronic component (the electrical component box and printed circuit board of 58, Paragraph 0092) is disposed within the machine chamber (chamber in which 58 is located) and the blower (46) is disposed within the blower chamber (40).
However, the combination of Guo, Bjoerneklett, and Ishida (regarding Claim 10) and Guo and Ishida (regarding Claims 16 and 17) lack teaching the blower chamber and the machine chamber are partitioned by the metal plate of the electronic component mounting structure.
It requires impermissible hindsight to modify accordingly.
Conclusion
/DANA K TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/AVINASH A SAVANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762