DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
• This action is in reply to the Application Number 18/722,852 filed on 06/21/2024.
• Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
• This action is made NON-FINAL.
• The examiner would like to note that this application is now being handled by examiner Kai Wang.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
The certified copy has been filed in Application No. 18/722,852 filed on 06/21/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/21/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 19-20 are objected to because of the following: Claim 19 is directed towards a data processing apparatus, claim 20 is directed towards a computer program product but they are dependent on claim 10 which is directed towards a method. Therefore, claim 19 and 20 appear to be directed towards two separate (but not distinct) inventions. It is recommended that the claim 19 and 20 should be re-write so that it is in independent form and includes all the limitations from claim 10.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: Input device in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 and 10 recites the limitation of “and generate binary image data of the road segments from the remotely captured geographical image data using a semantic segmentation task”. It is not clear what this limitation of “a semantic segmentation task” is referring to. Is it referring to an algorithm or software component? Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required. For the purposes of examination, the Office will interpret the limitations as any teaching of algorithm regarding to the binary image data disclosed by the references.
Claims 2-9 and 11-20 are rejected because their dependence on the independent claim 1 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. These claims are directed towards a “computer program product.” The broadest reasonable interpretation of this phrase includes transitory media such as signals and carrier waves which are transitory and, therefore, non-statutory. The Office recommends amending the preamble of these claims so that the term “non-transitory” is recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 10, 14-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleisig (US20210342585A1) in view of Chase (US20190346857A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 10 and 19-20:
Fleisig teaches:
A system for detecting information about a road relating to digital geographical map data for an area including a plurality of road segments, the system comprising: an input device configured to obtain remotely captured geographical image data for the area; (Fleisig, abstract, “a pixel map based on an aerial or satellite image;”, para[23], “using a neural network (e.g., convolutional neural networks (CNN)) to perform semantic segmentation of objects in satellite imagery…This pixel map may show what type or class of object each pixel in the image is part of (e.g., road,”, and para[69], “information component 30 may download an area of interest (AOI) or entire satellite imagery (e.g., from a Digital Globe satellite database into storage 22)”)
and a processor configured to generate ground truth image data from the digital geographical map data, (Fleisig, para[30], “prediction component 34 may collect all roads from the 2019 imagery and collect all roads from the 2020 imagery”, and para[69], “information component 30 may download an area of interest (AOI) or entire satellite imagery)”)
and generate binary image data of the road segments from the remotely captured geographical image data using a semantic segmentation task, (Fleisig, para[122], “a pixel map may be predicted, via a machine learning model. The pixel map may include pixels… that has a binary value assigned to each pixel”, para[23], “using a neural network (e.g., convolutional neural networks (CNN)) to perform semantic segmentation of objects in satellite imagery”)
wherein the processor is further configured to: skeletonize the binary image data to generate skeletonized binary image data including a center line of each road segment of the road segments, (Fleisig, para[91], “raster phase component 36 may perform skeletonization, as exemplarily depicted in FIG. 5. For example, this component may employ the Zhang-Suen thinning algorithm to produce a pixel map, each road being one pixel thick”)
detect a first road segment missing from the digital geographical map data by converting the skeletonized binary image data to a graph structure of the road segments (Fleisig, para[102], “A connectivity graph may be created”, para[103], “a connectivity graph indicating where all the roads are”, para[30],” information component 30 … determine changes in the road network between 2019 and 2020.”))
and comparing the graph structure of the road segments with the ground truth image data, (Fleisig, para[30],” information component 30 may compare the vector file from 2019 with the vector file from 2020 to determine changes in the road network between 2019 and 2020.”)
detect a road width of each road segment of the road segments from the binary image data and the center line of each road segment of the road segments; (Fleisig, para[119],” identifying specific types of roads. … identifying other aspects, such as the width of the particular road”, and para[99], “a method may be previously performed to produce road network centerline ”)
Fleisig does not explicitly teach, but Chase teaches:
and detect number of lanes of each road segment of the road segments from the detected road width.(Chase, para[12], “Depending on the curb-to-curb width divided by the typical travel lane width would allow the system to determine the number of travel lanes on an obstructed (e.g., snow-covered) roadway”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the methods for extracting and vectorizing features of satellite imagery of Fleisig to include these above teachings from Chase in order to include detecting number of lanes of each road segment of the road segments from the detected road width. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so “ensure that operation of an autonomous vehicle is safe and efficient in all conditions” (Chase, Description).
Regarding Claims 5 and 14:
Fleisig in view of Chase, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Fleisig teaches:
The system according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to train a deep neural network model using the remotely captured geographical image data as an input. (Fleisig, para[39],” thousands or even millions of images may be obtained from one or more sources to determine (e.g., “train”) neural networks, these images being training data set”, para [39], “sensor(s) 50 may output an image taken at an altitude, e.g., from satellite 55 or an aircraft 55 (e.g., aerostat, drone, plane, balloon, dirigible, kite, and the like)”
Regarding Claims 6 and 15:
Fleisig in view of Chase, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 5. Fleisig teaches:
The system according to claim 5, wherein the processor is configured to train the deep neural network model on the ground truth image data generated from the digital geographical map data, and tune the trained deep neural network model with annotated image data. (Fleisig, para[58],” a labeled training set may enable model improvement. That is, the training model may use a validation set of data to iterate over model parameters until the point where it arrives at a final set of parameters/weights to use in the model”)
Regarding Claims 7 and 16:
Fleisig in view of Chase, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 5. Fleisig teaches:
The system according to claim 5, wherein the processor is configured to obtain the trained deep neural network model, and use the trained deep neural network model on the semantic segmentation task. (Fleisig, para[65],” Once trained, the model(s) may be stored in database/storage 60-2 of prediction database 60, as shown in FIG. 1, and then used to classify samples of images based on visible attributes”, para[23], “using a neural network (e.g., convolutional neural networks (CNN)) to perform semantic segmentation of objects in satellite imagery”)
Regarding Claims 8 and 17:
Fleisig in view of Chase, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Fleisig teaches:
The system according to claim 1, wherein the road segments include a second road segment which is overlapped by at least one object, and the system further comprises a context module configured to receive additional information, and decide which pixel belongs to the second road segment based on the additional information, to generate the binary image data of the road segments. (Fleisig, para[88],” the raw pixel map may be noisy, e.g., with imperfectly straight lines, an imperfect block over where the road is located”, and para[103], “Vector phase component 38 may thus perform gap jumping by identifying separate roads (e.g., separate from each other by a configurable or predetermined distance) and then jumping the gap between (i.e., connecting) these previously separate roads.”)
Claim(s) 2, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleisig (US20210342585A1) in view of Chase (US20190346857A1), further in view of Singh (US20220228886A1) and Kong, "Vanishing point detection for road detection," 2009 IEEE Conference on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition, Miami, FL, 2009.
Regarding Claims 2 and 11:
Fleisig in view of Chase, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Fleisig teaches:
…a line segment in the graph structure of the road…(Fleisig, para[102], “A connectivity graph may be created”, para[103], “a connectivity graph indicating where all the roads are”)
Fleisig in view of Chase does not explicitly teach, but Singh teaches:
The system according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to determine whether …road segments is the first road segment missing from the digital geographical map data…(, para [36], “The missing road segment module 230 matches the road segments identified by the model to the road segments of the electronic map data corresponding to the geographic region captured by the image. The missing road segment module 230 determines whether any identified road segments are not present in the electronic map data, and if so, identifies each as a missing road segment.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the methods for extracting and vectorizing features of satellite imagery of Fleisig to include these above teachings from Singh in order to wherein the processor is configured to determine whether road segments is the first road segment missing from the digital geographical map data. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so “improve the utility of the transportation management system to coordinate trips” (Singh, Description).
Fleisig in view of Chase, Singh does not explicitly teach, but Kong teaches:
using a voting algorithm.( Kong, conclusion, “A novel framework for segmenting the general road region from one single image is proposed based on the road vanishing point estimation using a novel scheme, called Locally Adaptive Soft-Voting (LASV) algorithm.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the methods for extracting and vectorizing features of satellite imagery of Fleisig in view of Chase, Singh to include these above teachings from Kong in order to include wherein the processor is configured to determine whether road segments is the first road segment missing from the digital geographical map data using a voting algorithm . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so “reduces the computational complexity and improves the accuracy significantly” (Kong, Conclusion).
Claim(s) 3, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleisig (US20210342585A1) in view of Chase (US20190346857A1), further in view of Singh (US20220228886A1) and Kong, "Vanishing point detection for road detection," 2009 IEEE Conference on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition, Miami, FL, 2009, and Ma, "BoundaryNet: Extraction and Completion of Road Boundaries With Deep Learning Using Mobile Laser Scanning Point Clouds and Satellite Imagery," in IEEE Transactions on Intelligent Transportation Systems, vol. 23, no. 6, pp. 5638-5654, June 2022 (Date of Publication: 10 February 2021).
Regarding Claims 3 and 12:
Fleisig in view of Chase, Singh, Kong as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 2. Fleisig in view of Chase, Singh, Kong does not explicitly teach, but Ma teaches:
The system according to claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to count number of pixels of the line segment that has a predetermined value, check whether the counted number is greater than a predetermined threshold value, and decide that the line segment is the first road segment missing from the digital geographical map data if the counted number is greater than the predetermined threshold value.(Ma, page 5664, “N denotes the total number of pixels in road segments”, and page 5641, “an intensity-based multi-threshold method [20] was proposed to extract lane markings (e.g., road boundaries)”, page 5642, “Fig. 3 shows that a CNN-based downsampling and upsampling model is developed to identify and fill the missing parts based on the road boundary extraction results”) Examiner note:Ma teaches count the number of pixels of the line segment, and use a threshold based extract method to identify the missing line segment. Therefore, it is obviously to decide that the line segment is the first road segment missing from the digital geographical map data if the counted number is greater than the predetermined threshold value.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the methods for extracting and vectorizing features of satellite imagery of Fleisig in view of Chase, Singh, Kong to include these above teachings from Ma in order to include wherein the processor is configured to count number of pixels of the line segment that has a predetermined value, check whether the counted number is greater than a predetermined threshold value, and decide that the line segment is the first road segment missing from the digital geographical map data if the counted number is greater than the predetermined threshold value. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so “reduces the computational complexity and improves the accuracy significantly” (Kong, Conclusion).
Claim(s) 4, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleisig (US20210342585A1) in view of Chase (US20190346857A1), further in view of YOSHIAKI (JPH11345341A).
Regarding Claims 4 and 13:
Fleisig in view of Chase, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Fleisig does not explicitly teach, but YOSHIAKI teaches:
The system according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to use a polygonal approximation based on the binary image data and the center line of each road segment of the road segments, to detect the road width.( YOSHIAKI, para[214], “perform processes such as sequential boundary exploration or polygonal approximation for evaluation”, and para[14], “all images that have been the subject of labeling processing up to now have been binary images”, and para[31], “the labeling processing unit 124 calculates the area and center of gravity of the identically labeled regions”, and para [177], “the road width, is calculated.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the methods for extracting and vectorizing features of satellite imagery of Fleisig in view of Chase to include these above teachings from YOSHIAKI in order to include wherein the processor is configured to use a polygonal approximation based on the binary image data and the center line of each road segment of the road segments, to detect the road width. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so “extract road areas efficiently” (YOSHIAKI, Description).
Claim(s) 9, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleisig (US20210342585A1) in view of Chase (US20190346857A1), further in view of Rabel (US 20200292331 A1).
Regarding Claims 9 and 18:
Fleisig in view of Chase, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Fleisig teaches:
The system according to claim 1, wherein the remotely captured geographical image data includes a satellite image collected by an imaging satellite, (Fleisig, para [39], “sensor(s) 50 may output an image taken at an altitude, e.g., from satellite 55 or an aircraft 55 (e.g., aerostat, drone, plane, balloon, dirigible, kite, and the like)”
Fleisig does not explicitly teach, but Rabel teaches:
and the digital geographical map data includes a crowd-sourced map. (Rabel, para [03], “the digital map is correct, accurate, and up-to-date is to crowdsource information/data from sensors installed on vehicle in order to timely detect changes to the road network”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the methods for extracting and vectorizing features of satellite imagery of Fleisig in view of Chase to include these above teachings from Rabel in order to include the digital geographical map data includes a crowd-sourced map. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so “timely detect changes to the road network” (Rabel, Description).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li (US20220215658A1) teaches systems and methods for detecting road markings in a laser intensity image, and more particularly to, systems and methods for detecting road markings from a laser intensity image based on using both deep learning methods and traditional computer vision methods.
Rainbow (US20210027055A1) teaches a computer implemented method and system for identifying topographic features. In particular, aspects relate to a computer-implemented method of identifying topographic features that optimises a machine learning model for a geographic area to automatically classify and extract topographic features from a set of target imagery thereof, and systems for performing the same.
Endres (US20210383544A1) teaches training a predictor model. In particular, an example embodiment generally relates to using machine learning processes to train a segmentation model.
/KAI NMN WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/REDHWAN K MAWARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667