Detailed Action
Status of the Claims
This is a final office action in response to the applicant’s arguments and remarks filed on 24-Jun-2026. Claims 1-6, 9-14, and 17 are pending in the current office action. Claim 3, 5 13, and 17 has been amended by the applicant.
Response to Amendment
The amendment, filed on 24-Jun-2026, is acknowledged.
Status of the Rejection
The specification, priority, abstract, drawing, and claim objections have been overcome by the applicant's amendments and withdrawn.
All 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections from the previous office action are withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s amendment.
All 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections from the previous office action are substantially maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gillis et al. (US5633015A, Patent Published 17-Mar-1994) in view of Peyton et al. (Published Date 2015) and Hayes et al. (US6881745B2, Patent Date 19-Apr-2005):
In regards to Claim 1, Gillis et al. teaches A multiparticulate pharmaceutical composition (“A multiparticulate pharmaceutical composition” is a structural context statement and not given patentable weight) comprising: a) a plurality of individual, substantially spherical inert particles having a diameter comprised between 300 and 800 µm (Gillis Example Col 5, line 18 teaches “25-30 mesh (600-700 µm) sugar spheres”);
b) a coating on said particles comprising albaconazole, a coating agent and a plasticizer agent and a surfactant, wherein the coating agent is hydroxypropylmethyl cellulose (Coating agent: Col 5, line 1 hydroxypropyl methylcellulose), the plasticizer agent is polyethylene glycol (Plasticizer: Col 5, line 10 polyethylene glycol 20000), and the surfactant (Gillis teaches that enhancements can be made to the invention via addition of surfactants col 2, line 59) is sodium lauryl sulfate.
However, Gillis et al. does not teach particles expressly comprising of albaconazole and the use of sodium lauryl sulfate. For this reason, Peyton et al. and Hayes et al., respectively, are added.
Peyton et al. teaches that albaconazole is a second generation triazole antifungal derived from earlier first generation triazoles like itraconazole and share the same mechanism (pages 707 and 715-716). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that triazole antifungal agents possess similar chemical properties and are routinely formulated using similar pharmaceutical excipients. Therefore, it would have prima facie obvious to substitute the itraconazole of Gillis et al. with albaconazole with a reasonable expectation that the multiparticulate coating formulation would remain operable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Hayes et al. teaches surfactant and lubricants like sodium lauryl sulfate (col 6, line 57) are common additives in pharmaceutical formulations for solid dispersions of poorly soluble or practically insoluble drugs. In view of this teaching, it would have been obvious to include a surfactant such as sodium lauryl sulfate in the coating composition of Gillis et al. to improve dispersion of the drug coating.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to modify the example formulation composition of Gillis et al. by substituting itraconazole with albaconazole from Peyton et al. and adding a formulation additive sodium lauryl sulfate as a surfactant, resulting in the claimed composition.
Such an addition or substitution of a known ingredient to achieve its known function represents a predictable use of prior arts to their established functionality, and would have yielded predictable results. For the foregoing reasons, the instant claim is rendered obvious by the teachings of the prior art.
In regards to Claims 2 and 3, Gillis et al. teaches in col 5, line 18 sugar inert spheres with a diameter of about 600 to about 700 µm. Gillis et al. further teaches in col 2, line 28 the composition of the inert sugar spheres “consist of 67.5%-91.5% (w/w) sucrose, the remainder being starch". For the foregoing reasons, the instant claims are rendered obvious by the teachings of the prior art
In regards to Claim 4 and 5, Gillis et al. teaches specific amounts of drug substance, coating agent, and plasticizer in the coating composition (col 4, line 64 to col 5, line 18). Although Gillis et al. does not disclose the claimed weight percentage ranges, the relative wt% of the drug substance, polymer, and plasticizer would be recognized as a result-effective variable affecting subsequent drug release profiles and physical characteristics.
It would have been routine for one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize these three parameters through routine experimentation and formulation optimization. Further, Gillis expressly ideates the inclusion of other formulation enhancers like surfactants. The following compositional weights for final drug coating wt% in the example composition. All wt% calculations were performed using Gillis et al. stated charge weights to calculate the component wt% via the following formula: wt% = weight of component(kg)/total weight of composition(kg)*100.
Itraconazole Spraying Solution
Chemical name
Weight (kg)
Wt%
Methylene chloride
375
55.2
Denatured ethanol
250
36.8
Itraconazole
21.74
3.2
Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose
32.61
4.8
Total
679.35
100.0
Seal-coating Spray
Chemical name
Weight (kg)
Wt%
Methylene chloride
21.13
54.0
Denatured ethanol
3.913
10.0
Polyethylene glycol
14.09
36.0
Total
39.133
100.0
Drug Coating Final Wt%
Chemical name
Weight (kg)
Wt%
Sugar Spheres
41.74
37.9
Polyethylene glycol
14.09
12.8
Itraconazole
21.74
19.7
Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose
32.61
29.6
Total
110.18
100.0
The drug coating final wt% calculation yields 19.7 wt% of itraconazole, 29.6 wt% of hydroxypropyl methylcellulose as a coating agent, and 12.8 wt% of polyethylene glycol as a plasticizer. The teachings of Gillis et al., Peyton et al., and Hayes et al. are discussed above.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to modify the example formulation in Gillis et al. by replacing itraconazole with albaconazole from Peyton et al. and to experiment with alternative and finite ratios of plasticizer, coating agents, and surfactants wt% with a reasonable expectation of success.
Such a substitution of a known ingredient to achieve its known function represents a predictable use of prior arts to their established functionality and choosing from a finite number of predictable solutions for coating and plasticizers wt% would have yielded predictable results through routine optimization with a reasonable expectation of success. For the foregoing reasons, the instant claim is rendered obvious by the teachings of the prior art.
In regards to Claim 9, Gillis et al. teaches in the example composition “[t]he drug coated beads were filled into hard-gelatin capsules” on col 6, line 1. For the foregoing reason, the instant claims are rendered obvious by the teachings of the prior art
In regards to Claim 10 and 11, Gillis et al. teaches a coating solution comprising of a coating agent (Example Col 5, line 1 hydroxypropyl methylcellulose), a plasticizer agent (Example Col 5, line 1 and line 10 polyethylene glycol), coating sugar spheres at 25-30 mesh 600-700 µm spheres (Example Col 5, line 18-19), drying product at 50-55°C (Example Col 5, line 5, line 33, line 56), product being filled into a hard-gelatin capsule (Example Col 6, line 2).
Gillis et al. does not teach an aqueous solution, albaconazole, suspension, surfactant, and 90 µm sieve. For this reason, Hayes et al. is added.
Hayes et al. teaches forming suspensions for poorly soluble drugs with surfactants for spray drying (col 6, line 11).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to incorporate the suspension preparation technique of Hayes et al. into the coating process of Gillis to improve dispersion of the poorly soluble drug into the coating solution.
Such an addition or substitution of a known ingredient to achieve its known function represents a predictable use of prior arts to their established functionality, and would have yielded predictable results. Additionally, use of a known technique to improve methods would have yielded predictable results. For the foregoing reason, the instant claims are rendered obvious by the teachings of the prior art.
In regards to Claims 12 and 13, Gillis et al. recites specific weights of the drug substance, coating solution, and inert particles. Although the exact claimed ratios are not disclosed, the ratios calculated are result-effective variables that influences final drug product efficacy. The wt% or weight ratio of itraconazole versus the solution and the ratio between the ratio of kg of coating suspension versus the kg inert particles is 1.6 in calculations below and for reference only:
The weight ratio calculation of the itraconazole is 0.4 wt% as calculated by Itraconazole/(Itraconazole spraying solution + Seal-coating spray)*100
Sugar spheres at 37.9 wt% of final wt%. Ratio calculations is (14.09 kg polyethylene glycol + 21.74 kg itraconazole + 32.61 kg hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose)/41.74 kg sugar spheres = 68.40 kg/41.74 kg = 1.6.
Peyton et al. regarding triazole efficacy is discussed above.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to modify the example formulation in Gillis et al. by replacing itraconazole with albaconazole from Peyton et al. and adjust the ratios through routine optimization experimentation, arriving at the claimed ranges.
Such an addition or substitution of a known ingredient to achieve its known function represents a predictable use of prior arts to their established functionality, and would have yielded predictable results. Additionally, routine experimentation and optimization would have arrived at the claimed ratios. For the foregoing reason, the instant claims are rendered obvious by the teachings of the prior art.
In regards to Claim 14, Gillis et al. teaches drying product at 50-55°C (Example Col 5, line 5, line 33, line 56). For the foregoing reason, the instant claim is rendered obvious by the teachings of the prior art.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gillis et al., Peyton et al., and Hayes et al. in view of Paredes et al. (WO2008021049A2, Patent Published 21-Feb-2008). The teachings of Gillis et al., Peyton et al., and Hayes et al. are discussed above.
In regards to Claim 6, Gillis et al. and Hayes et al. does not teach albaconazole, the crystalline form, or the amorphous form. For this reason, Paredes et al. is added.
Paredes et al. teaches crystalline and amorphous forms of albaconazole, including Forms III and IV (Page 88-90, examples 4-10 for Amorphous, Form III, and Form IV).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to modify the example formulation in Gillis et al. by replacing itraconazole with albaconazole from Peyton et al. and use any one of the known crystalline forms from Paredes et al. One would have been motivated to do so since itraconazole is an older triazole antifungal agent that was improved on by albaconazole’s increased efficacy. For the foregoing reason, the instant claim is rendered obvious by the teachings of the prior art.
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gillis et al., Peyton et al., and Hayes et al. in view of Sigurgeirsson et al. (Published 24-May-2013).
Gillis et al., Peyton et al., and Hayes et al. are discussed above. However, Gillis et al., Peyton et al., and Hayes et al. do not teach the method for treating fungal infections with albaconazole. For this reason, Sigurgeirsson et al. is added.
Sigurgeirsson et al. teaches administration of 100 to 400 mg albaconazole capsules in order to treat fungal infections (page 417).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to administer the example composition in Gillis et al. as modified above for the treatment of fungal infections.
Such a substitution of a known ingredient to achieve its known function represents a predictable use of prior arts to their established functionality and known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. For the foregoing reasons, the instant claim is rendered obvious by the teachings of the prior art.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments, filed on 24-Jun-2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Argument 1: Applicant argues that the disclosed failed formulations in the specifications constitutes the failure of others.
Applicant argues that the instant specifications discloses via the statement “simple formulations containing SLS and other excipients were tested and failed to solve the relevant formulation problems” Further, the later wet granulation approach also failed to produce satisfactory albaconazole formulations constitute failure of others as a consideration of nonobviousness under MPEP 716.04.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the assessment that applicant’s own internal evidence regarding the research and development process such as formulation approaches, testing evaluation, and ultimately abandoned methods can be construed as failure of others when the research and development process is the result of trial and error or optimization in the inventive process. Routine experimentation that includes unsuccessful options along the way towards an embodiment is expected in formulation chemistry and does not establish that the entire field has encountered and failed to overcome a recognized obstacle. "[A] prior art publication cited by an Examiner is presumptively enabling barring any showing to the contrary by a patent applicant." In re Antor Media Corp., 689 F.3d 1282, 1288 (Fed. Cir. 2012).
Further, the applicant cites Specification, page 2, lines 20- 30, which describes the applicant’s own development pathway, that simple blends were tried and that wet granulation was subsequently attempted, with both formulation approaches abandoned in favor of the instantly claimed coated multiparticulate architecture. Nothing in the cited passage indicates that this represents work by parties independent of the applicant, nor that these were efforts by others in the field who were unable to solve a recognized obstacle. Evidence attacking the operability of a patent cited as a reference must rebut the presumption of operability by a preponderance of the evidence. In re Sasse, 629 F.2d 675, 207 USPQ 107 (CCPA 1980). Further, since in a patent it is presumed that a process if used by one skilled in the art will produce the product or result described therein, such presumption is not overcome by a mere showing that it is possible to operate within the disclosure without obtaining the alleged product. In re Weber, 405 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 549 (CCPA 1969).
Accordingly, the Applicant’s “failure of others” argument is found not persuasive because the evidence relied upon is reflective of the Applicant’s own routine experimentation rather than documented failed efforts by others. It is to be presumed also that skilled workers would as a matter of course, if they do not immediately obtain desired results, make certain experiments and adaptations within the skill of the competent worker. The failures of experimenters who have no interest in succeeding should not be accorded great weight. In re Michalek, 162 F.2d 229, 74 USPQ 107 (CCPA 1947); In re Reid, 179 F.2d 998, 84 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1950).
Argument 2: Applicant argues that Hayes does not provide a reasonable expectation of success for using SLS to address dispersion of a poorly solution drug.
Applicant argues that Hayes does not teaches or suggest using sodium lauryl sulfate for a purpose relevant to the instantly claimed invention. Applicant argues that Hayes does not teach that SLS improves dispersion and wettability of a poorly soluble drug substance such that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in incorporating SLS into the coating composition of Gillis; instead, applicants argue that SLS is taught in Hayes only in the unrelated role of lubricant or glidant additive.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s characterization of Hayes teaching SLS only for the purposes of a lubricant or glidant additive in a wholly unrelated context to solubility. Gillis’ identifies surfactants as one of several classes of optional additive contemplated for use in the claimed bead system along with lubricants, preservatives, and thickening agents. While this passage does not articulate a specific mechanistic rationale for including a surfactant, it does establish that Gillis contemplated surfactants as a suitable and compatible additive class within this coated bead architecture. This demonstrates that the prior art did not merely fail to exclude surfactants, but expressly identifies them as an formulation option.
Hayes discloses SLS among a list of lubricants and glidants employed in the manufacture of certain dosage forms. The applicant characterizes that Hayes does not articulate a solubility or dispersion relationship. The Examiner does not concede that Hayes is so limited. A reference is to be read for what it would have fairly conveyed to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of the reference as a whole and the general knowledge such a person would bring to it, and not confined to the narrowest possible reading of an isolated passage. SLS as a wetting for poorly soluble drugs is a known function that is well established in the pharmaceutical formulation art. SLS is commonly selected and incorporated into formulations of poorly soluble active pharmaceutical ingredients specifically due to their ability to reduce the interface tension between the aqueous dissolution media and the hydrophobic drug, thus improving wetting and dissolution properties. This function of SLS is well documented as a standard pharmaceutical excipient in references generally relied upon by formulators in the art. The Handbook of Pharmaceutical Excipients (Rowe, R.C., Sheskey, P.J. and Quinn, M.E. eds., 2006. Handbook of pharmaceutical excipients (Vol. 6, pp. 651-653). London: Pharmaceutical press.) identifies sodium lauryl sulfate as a wetting agent and solubilizer commonly used to enhance the dissolution of poorly water-soluble drugs
Given that Gillis expressly contemplates surfactants as a compatible additive in the multiparticulate bead system, that Hayes confirms that SLS was a known and routinely used pharmaceutical excipient and the art recognized general function of SLS as a wetting agent or solubilizer, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have had ample reason to incorporate SLS into the coating suspension of Gillis when formulating a poorly soluble azole derived antifungal such as albaconazole with a reasonable expectation of success.
The applicant characterizes Hayes’ disclosure of SLS as directed only to a tableting lubrication or glidant, distinct from any wetting or dissolution enhancing role. The Examiner does not concede on this characterization of the reference, instead Hayes’ disclosure is not expressly limited to a lubricant or glidant function, and a reference is properly read for everything it would have fairly suggested to a person of ordinary skill, not narrowly confined to a specific illustrative example listed alongside ingredients. However, even accepting the applicant’s characterization of Hayes for the sake of argument, it would not overcome the rejection. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006), it is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. Therefore, the question is not whether Hayes itself articulates a wetting/dissolution rationale for SLS, but whether the prior art as a whole, inclusive of Gillis’ contemplation of surfactants as a compatible additive, would have suggested the claimed combination to one of ordinary skill. The applicant’s argument does not address the actual basis of the rejectionThis observation does not defeat the rejection since the reasonable expectation of success set forth above does not depend on Hayes teaching that specific function but rather on the combination of Gillis’ additional modifiers of surfactants and regarding SLS’s known wetting function for poorly soluble drugs.
Argument 3: Applicant argue that the dissolution data in the specification establishes unexpected results to overcome obviousness.
Applicant argue that the dissolution data presented in Table 2 in the specification demonstrates that formulations that include SLS shows improved dissolution versus compositions that contain no surfactant, which is evidence of unexpected results sufficient to over the obviousness rejection by Gillis in view of Peyton and Hayes.
The examiner has carefully considered the argument and respectfully disagrees with the applicant since the integral feature of SLS is recited in claim 1 as a surfactant without any disclosed amounts. The dissolution data containing SLS for examples 4-20 contained 0.4 to 0.56% surfactant. Because claim 1 is not limited to the disclosed range of 0.4 to 0.56% SLS, or any range, the data does not support nonobviousness across the entire scope of claim 1. With regards to claim 5, which does narrow the surfactant from to 0.1% to 1% by weight, the scope, while narrowed, is still not commensurate with the tested concentrations. The 0.4% to 0.56% by weight of surfactant only represents the middle portion of the claimed 01% to 1% range, and applicant has not presented data demonstrating that the improved dissolution due to SLS in the instant specification is representative of the upper and lower bounds of the instantly claimed range. The unexpected results are not commensurate in scope with the instant claims.
The applicant has not established that all other formulations and process variables between examples 2-20 were held constant such that SLS can be isolated as the only variable that is responsible for the reported dissolution differences. Factors that influence dissolution include differences such as particle size distribution, coating thickness, drying conditions, or other process conditions that could independently account for the variations in dissolution. The burden of establishing this nexus rests with the applicant and has not been met.
Further, the instant specification is consistent with the known function of SLS in improving the dissolution of Albaconazole. A result that confirms the known and expected function of a known excipient, even where the magnitude of improvement is significant, is a difference in degree, and does not rise to the level of unexpected result. “Expected beneficial results are evidence of obviousness of a claimed invention, just as unexpected results are evidence of unobviousness thereof.” In re Gershon, 372 F.2d 535, 538, 152 USPQ 602, 604 (CCPA 1967), see also In re Skoner, 517 F.2d 947, 950 (CCPA 1975).
For the foregoing reasons, the lack of full commensurate scope, absence of proper variable isolation, and the consistency of the reported results with SLS’s known wetting function rather than a difference in kind, the evidence relied upon and presented by the applicant does not rise to the level of unexpected results. Accordingly, the applicant’s arguments has been considered, and the evidence does not establish unexpected results over the closest prior art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1614 /ALI SOROUSH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614