DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claims 1-19 are objected to because of the following informalities: In each of claims 1-19, the applicant describes his invention as a “piston disengagement system” despite the claimed invention being directed entirely towards piston engagement. The Examiner suggests amending the claims to more accurately describe the invention. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “having a plurality of hydraulic actuation assemblies” (Line 8). It is unclear if the hydraulic actuation assemblies are part of the annular housing, housing section or an independent part of multi-piston disengagement system.
Claim 8 recites wherein some teeth have a first height and the other teeth have a second height, wherein each piston assembly is spatially and functionally assigned a plurality of teeth with the first height and at least one tooth with the second height”. It is unclear whether the limitation “some teeth” refers to the teeth introduced in antecedent claim 7 or to new teeth. The same problem applies to the limitation “a plurality of teeth”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the other teeth" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites “a braking device” (Lines 2-3). As antecedent claim 1 already introduces a braking device (Lines 1-2), it is unclear how many braking devices are required.
Claim 9 recites “a vehicle” (Line 1). As antecedent claim 1 already introduces “a vehicle” (Line 2), it is unclear how many vehicles are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 1-6, 9-16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stanton (US 3,018,852).
As per claim 1, Stanton discloses a multi-piston disengagement system (Title; Fig. 3) for actuating a braking device (Col. 1, lines 11-17) of a vehicle (Col. 2, lines 17-22),
having an annular housing (28, 25), wherein the annular housing has a main axis (Fig. 1), wherein the main axis defines an axial direction,
wherein the annular housing comprises a plurality of housing sections (25), wherein a pressure chamber (26) which can be filled or is filled with a fluid (Col. 2, lines 57-58) is arranged in each housing section,
having a plurality of hydraulic actuation assemblies (32),
wherein each actuation assembly is assigned a housing section (Fig. 3),
wherein each actuation assembly has a piston assembly (32) comprising a piston (30, 32), wherein the piston is arranged in the pressure chamber so as to be movable in the axial direction and, upon application of a hydraulic pressure, can carry out an actuation stroke for introducing an actuation force into the braking device (Col. 2, lines 57-58; Col. 3, lines 28-36), and
wherein the multi-piston disengagement system has a force distribution device (The pressure plate assembly (20, 22) that is contacted by the actuating piston 30) for distributing the actuation force introduced into the braking device.
As per claim 2, Stanton discloses the multi-piston disengagement system according to claim 1, wherein the force distribution device is designed to introduce the actuation force into the braking device in several force introduction regions (Each force introduction region is a section of the pressure plate, 20, 22).
As per claim 3, Stanton discloses the multi-piston disengagement system according to claim 2, wherein the force distribution device comprises the force introduction regions (20, 22), wherein a number of the force introduction regions is a multiple of a number of pistons of the multi-piston disengagement system (20, 22), wherein the multiple is double or triple (20, 22).
As per claim 4, Stanton discloses the multi-piston disengagement system according to claim 2, wherein the force distribution device comprises a force distribution ring (20, 22), wherein the force distribution ring is arranged coaxially or concentrically to the annular housing in relation to the main axis (20, 22).
As per claim 5, Stanton discloses the multi-piston disengagement system according to claim 1, wherein the force distribution device is in an operative connection with the piston or is movable together with the piston in the axial direction for transfer into a contact position with the braking device (20, 30; Col. 3, lines 28-31).
As per claim 6, Stanton discloses the multi-piston disengagement system according to claim 2, wherein each piston assembly is spatially and functionally assigned a plurality of force introduction regions (30, Fig. 3).
As per claim 9, Stanton discloses braking system (Col. 1, lines 11-17) for a vehicle having the multi-piston disengagement system according to claim 2 and having a braking device for braking a wheel (Col. 2, lines 17-22) of the vehicle.
As per claim 10, Stanton discloses the braking system according to claim 9, wherein, in a contact position, the force distribution device is arranged in contact with the braking device in some or all force introduction regions depending on a hydraulic pressurization of the pistons (Col. 3, lines 28-36).
As per claim 11, Stanton discloses a multi-piston disengagement system (Title) for actuating a vehicle braking device (Col. 1, lines 11-17), comprising:
an annular housing (28, 25) comprising:
a main axis (Fig. 1) that defines an axial direction;
a plurality of housing sections (25) comprising respective pressure chambers (26) arranged for filling with a fluid (Col. 2, lines 57-58);
a plurality of hydraulic actuation assemblies (32), each comprising a piston (30, 32) arranged axially movable in a one of the respective pressure chambers and, when a hydraulic pressure is applied, arranged to apply an actuation force (Col. 2, lines 57-58; Col. 3, lines 28-36); and
a force distribution device (The pressure plate assembly (20, 22) that is contacted by the actuating piston 30) for distributing the actuation forces from respective pistons to the vehicle braking device.
As per claim 12, Stanton discloses the multi-piston disengagement system of claim 11 wherein the force distribution device is operatively connected to the respective pistons or is movable together with the respective pistons into a contact position with the vehicle braking device (20, 30; Col. 3, lines 28-31).
As per claim 13, Stanton discloses the multi-piston disengagement system of claim 11, wherein the force distribution device distributes the actuation forces to the vehicle braking device in several force introduction regions (Each force introduction region is a section of the pressure plate, 20, 22).
As per claim 14, Stanton discloses the multi-piston disengagement system of claim 13 wherein each of the respective pistons is spatially and functionally assigned a plurality of the several force introduction regions (30, Fig. 3).
As per claim 15, Stanton discloses the multi-piston disengagement system of claim 13, wherein a quantity of the several force introduction regions is two times or three times a quantity of the respective pistons of the plurality of hydraulic actuation assemblies (20, 22).
As per claim 16, Stanton discloses the multi-piston disengagement system of claim 13, wherein the force distribution device comprises a force distribution ring (20, 22) arranged coaxially or concentrically to the annular housing in relation to the main axis (20, 22).
As per claim 19, Stanton discloses a braking system (Col. 1, lines 11-17) for a vehicle comprising: the multi-piston disengagement system of claim 11; and
the vehicle braking device for braking a wheel (Col. 2, lines 17-22) of the vehicle.
8. Claim(s) 1-6, 9-16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kemp (US 3,164,223).
As per claim 1, Kemp discloses a multi-piston disengagement system (Fig. 4) for actuating a braking device (Title) of a vehicle (Col. 1, lines 9-12),
having an annular housing (35), wherein the annular housing has a main axis (Fig. 4), wherein the main axis defines an axial direction,
wherein the annular housing comprises a plurality of housing sections (35), wherein a pressure chamber (74) which can be filled or is filled with a fluid (Col. 4, lines 2-19) is arranged in each housing section,
having a plurality of hydraulic actuation assemblies (Col. 3, lines 65-73),
wherein each actuation assembly is assigned a housing section (Col. 3, lines 65-73),
wherein each actuation assembly has a piston assembly (75) comprising a piston (75), wherein the piston is arranged in the pressure chamber so as to be movable in the axial direction and, upon application of a hydraulic pressure, can carry out an actuation stroke for introducing an actuation force into the braking device (Col. 4, lines 2-19), and
wherein the multi-piston disengagement system has a force distribution device (76) for distributing the actuation force introduced into the braking device.
As per claim 2, Kemp discloses the multi-piston disengagement system according to claim 1, wherein the force distribution device is designed to introduce the actuation force into the braking device in several force introduction regions (Each force introduction region is a section of pressure plate 76; Col. 4, lines 2-19).
As per claim 3, Kemp discloses the multi-piston disengagement system according to claim 2, wherein the force distribution device comprises the force introduction regions (76), wherein a number of the force introduction regions is a multiple of a number of pistons of the multi-piston disengagement system (76), wherein the multiple is double or triple (76).
As per claim 4, Kemp discloses the multi-piston disengagement system according to claim 2, wherein the force distribution device comprises a force distribution ring (76), wherein the force distribution ring is arranged coaxially or concentrically to the annular housing in relation to the main axis (76).
As per claim 5, Kemp discloses the multi-piston disengagement system according to claim 1, wherein the force distribution device is in an operative connection with the piston or is movable together with the piston in the axial direction for transfer into a contact position with the braking device (76; Col. 4, lines 2-19).
As per claim 6, Kemp discloses the multi-piston disengagement system according to claim 2, wherein each piston assembly is spatially and functionally assigned a plurality of force introduction regions (75, 76).
As per claim 9, Kemp discloses a braking system (Title) for a vehicle having the multi-piston disengagement system according to claim 2 and having a braking device for braking a wheel (15b; Col. 1, lines 9-12) of the vehicle.
As per claim 10, Kemp discloses the braking system according to claim 9, wherein, in a contact position, the force distribution device is arranged in contact with the braking device in some or all force introduction regions depending on a hydraulic pressurization of the pistons (Col. 4, lines 2-19).
As per claim 11, Kemp discloses a multi-piston disengagement system (Fig. 4) for actuating a vehicle braking device (Title), comprising:
an annular housing (35) comprising:
a main axis (Fig. 4) that defines an axial direction;
a plurality of housing sections (35) comprising respective pressure chambers (74) arranged for filling with a fluid (Col. 4, lines 2-19);
a plurality of hydraulic actuation assemblies (Col. 3, lines 65-73), each comprising a piston (75) arranged axially movable in a one of the respective pressure chambers and, when a hydraulic pressure is applied, arranged to apply an actuation force (Col. 4, lines 2-19); and
a force distribution device (76) for distributing the actuation forces from respective pistons to the vehicle braking device.
As per claim 12, Kemp discloses the multi-piston disengagement system of claim 11 wherein the force distribution device is operatively connected to the respective pistons or is movable together with the respective pistons into a contact position with the vehicle braking device (76; Col. 4, lines 2-19).
As per claim 13, Kemp discloses the multi-piston disengagement system of claim 11, wherein the force distribution device distributes the actuation forces to the vehicle braking device in several force introduction regions (Each force introduction region is a section of pressure plate 76; Col. 4, lines 2-19).
As per claim 14, Kemp discloses the multi-piston disengagement system of claim 13 wherein each of the respective pistons is spatially and functionally assigned a plurality of the several force introduction regions (75, 76).
As per claim 15, Kemp discloses the multi-piston disengagement system of claim 13, wherein a quantity of the several force introduction regions is two times or three times a quantity of the respective pistons of the plurality of hydraulic actuation assemblies (76).
As per claim 16, Kemp discloses the multi-piston disengagement system of claim 13, wherein the force distribution device comprises a force distribution ring (76) arranged coaxially or concentrically to the annular housing in relation to the main axis (76).
As per claim 19, Kemp discloses a braking system (Title) for a vehicle comprising: the multi-piston disengagement system of claim 11; and
the vehicle braking device for braking a wheel (15b; Col. 1, lines 9-12) of the vehicle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim(s) 7-8, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stanton (US 3,018,852) in view of Mordukhovich (US 2009/0078527).
As per claim 7, Stanton discloses the multi-piston disengagement system according to claim 4, but does not disclose wherein the force introduction regions are formed by teeth, wherein the teeth are arranged on the force distribution ring and protrude therefrom in the axial direction.
Mordukhovich discloses a clutch for a transmission wherein the force introduction regions are formed by teeth (36, 40), wherein the teeth are arranged on the force distribution ring and protrude therefrom in the axial direction (36, 40, Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the friction material of Stanton by using a composite with compressible and incompressible sections as taught by Mordukhovich in order to mitigate rotor shudder (Mordukhovich: [0048]).
As per claim 8, Stanton and Mordukhovich disclose the multi-piston disengagement system according to claim 7. Mordukhovich further discloses wherein some teeth have a first height (36) and the other teeth have a second height (40), wherein each piston assembly is spatially and functionally assigned a plurality of teeth with the first height and at least one tooth with the second height (Fig. 2).
As per claim 17, Stanton discloses the multi-piston disengagement system of claim 16, but does not disclose wherein the several force introduction regions are formed by teeth arranged on the force distribution ring and axially protruding therefrom.
Mordukhovich discloses a clutch for a transmission wherein the several force introduction regions are formed by teeth (36, 40) arranged on the force distribution ring and axially protruding therefrom (36, 40, Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the friction material of Stanton by using a composite with compressible and incompressible sections as taught by Mordukhovich in order to mitigate rotor shudder (Mordukhovich: [0048]).
As per claim 18, Stanton and Mordukhovich disclose the multi-piston disengagement system of claim 17. Mordukhovich further discloses wherein:
a first plurality of the teeth has a first height (36);
a second plurality of the teeth has a second height (40); and
each of the respective pistons is spatially and functionally assigned a plurality of the first plurality of the teeth and at least one of the second plurality of the teeth (Fig. 2).
11. Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kemp (US 3,164,223) in view of Chana (US 3,353,641).
As per claim 7, Kemp discloses the multi-piston disengagement system according to claim 4, wherein the force introduction regions are formed by teeth, wherein the teeth are arranged on the force distribution ring and protrude therefrom in the axial direction.
Chana discloses a brake unit wherein the force introduction regions are formed by teeth (11, 16), wherein the teeth are arranged on the force distribution ring and protrude therefrom in the axial direction (11, 16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pressure plate of Kemp by forming it with a cushion and groove as taught by Chana in order to cushion the impact from brake application and reduce uneven friction plate wear (Chana: Col. 1, line 64 -- Col. 2, line 6).
As per claim 17, Kemp discloses the multi-piston disengagement system of claim 16, wherein the several force introduction regions are formed by teeth arranged on the force distribution ring and axially protruding therefrom.
Chana discloses a brake unit wherein the several force introduction regions are formed by teeth (11) arranged on the force distribution ring and axially protruding therefrom (16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pressure plate of Kemp by forming it with a cushion and groove as taught by Chana in order to cushion the impact from brake application and reduce uneven friction plate wear (Chana: Col. 1, line 64 -- Col. 2, line 6).
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Disk pack clutches and brakes
Ikeda et al (US 2008/0217133).
Miyazaki et al (US 2008/0142331).
Sommer (US 5,651,436).
Cole et al (US 3,301,359).
Osborne (US 3,044,808).
Pear, Jr (US 3,010,543).
Albright (US 2,885,033).
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/STEPHEN M BOWES/Examiner, Art Unit 3616