DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to the arguments, amendments, and Request for Continued Examination filed March 31, 2026.
Claims 1, 2, 6, 10, 11, 12, and 16 have been amended.
Claims 1-19 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the PCT international search report is not considered to be an information disclosure statement (IDS) complying with 37 CFR 1.98. 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2) requires a legible copy of: (1) each foreign patent; (2) each publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; (3) for each cited pending U.S. application, the application specification including claims, and any drawing of the application, or that portion of the application which caused it to be listed including any claims directed to that portion, unless the cited pending U.S. application is stored in the Image File Wrapper (IFW) system; and (4) all other information, or that portion which caused it to be listed. In addition, each IDS must include a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office (see 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1) and (b)), and MPEP § 609.04(a), subsection I. states, “the list ... must be submitted on a separate paper.” Therefore, the references cited in the international search report have not been considered. Applicant is advised that the date of submission of any item of information in the international search report will be the date of submission of the IDS for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements for the IDS with 37 CFR 1.97, including all timing statement requirements of 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wollack et al [2022/0237628], hereafter Wollack, in view of Gadol [2020/0005332], further in view of Cannata Jr et al [11,431,513], hereafter Cannata.
Regarding claim 1, Wollack discloses an apparatus for producing a chemical product associated with a chemical product passport, the apparatus comprising: one or more processors configured to: collect recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data associated with the chemical product, wherein the chemical product comprises a physical identifier; (Fig 1B, 1C, 2, 3, and paragraphs [36-39 and 42-45]; Wollack discloses receiving greenhouse and other chemical processing information with regards to the use of resins and polymers in product generation. The system further assigns a GUID that is utilized in a blockchain ledger associated with the produced product.); and
generate the chemical product passport by: receiving a request to provide at least the decentral identifier associated with recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data of at least the chemical product and in response to the request, generating the chemical product passport including; the decentral identifier; and data related to the recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data of the chemical product (Figs 4A, 4B, 5, and paragraphs [55-59]; Wollack discloses a blockchain ledger that provides a GUID that is providing the product description and generated information for the content information based on the greenhouse or other bio/chemical processing steps.),
Wollack discloses the above-enclosed limitations, however, Wollack does not specifically disclose accessing and storing data controlled by the data owner via a decentral identifier;
Gadol teaches wherein the data related to the recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data includes a digital representation of the recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data or part thereof, the digital representation including at least one representation for accessing the data or part thereof, wherein the recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data is stored in a database associated with a data owner, and wherein access to the recvclate content data and/or bio-based content data is controlled by the data owner via the decentral identifier, the decentral identifier being associated with the data owner and the data (Fig 4A-4C and paragraphs [39-47]; Gadol teaches a similar system that provides attributes and producer information that is stored and accessed within the NFC/blockchain system for access by the consumer. The information provides aspects of the manufacturing and background for the facilities for producing the specific product and the specific recyclate information is provided within Wollack. The digital asset is the blockchain ledger that is generated and appended with information regarding the product process and linking the blockchain identifier to the product through the QR code or other product tag (NFC/RFID) {further described in paragraphs [39-40]}.).
Wollack discloses chemical processing and other elements that are provided in a blockchain ledger with recyclate content data, however, Wollack does not specifically teach the aspects of accessing and storing data controlled by the data owner via a decentral identifier.
Gadol teaches a similar blockchain system that further provides access and other data elements based on the data owner.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the chemical processing and other elements that are provided in a blockchain ledger with recyclate content data of Wollack the ability to include a similar blockchain system that further provides access and other data elements based on the data owner as taught by Gadol since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
The combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations with respect to a product passport with elements of user access, however, the combination does not specifically teach specific network address user access for the content;
Cannata teaches wherein the at least one representation comprises a service endpoint, the service endpoint including a network address at which a service operates on behalf of a data owner and gives access to the recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data or part thereof (Fig 2, 5, and paragraphs C7:24 to C8:63; Cannata teaches a similar blockchain-based access control that is based on network address and service endpoints for a user request to access data.)
The combination teaches a chemical processing and other elements that are provided in a user-access based blockchain ledger with recyclate content data, however, the combination does not specifically teach the aspects of accessing based on service endpoint including a network address.
Cannata teaches a similar system that further provides access and control elements based on the service endpoint with network address.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the chemical processing and other elements that are provided in a user-access based blockchain ledger with recyclate content data of the combination the ability to include a similar system that further provides access and control elements based on the service endpoint with network address as taught by Cannata since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 2, Wollack discloses an apparatus for generating a chemical product passport, the apparatus comprising: one or more computing nodes; and one or more computer-readable media having thereon computer-executable instructions that are structured such that, when executed by the one or more computing nodes, cause the apparatus to perform the following steps (Fig 1B, 1C, 2, and paragraphs [:
receiving a request to provide a decentral identifier associated with recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data (Fig 1B, 1C, 2, 3, and paragraphs [36-39 and 42-45]; Wollack discloses receiving greenhouse and other chemical processing information with regards to the use of resins and polymers in product generation. The system further assigns a GUID that is utilized in a blockchain ledger associated with the produced product.); and
in response to the request, generating the chemical product passport including the decentral identifier and data related to recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data (Figs 4A, 4B, 5, and paragraphs [55-59]; Wollack discloses a blockchain ledger that provides a GUID that is providing the product description and generated information for the content information based on the greenhouse or other bio/chemical processing steps.).
Wollack discloses the above-enclosed limitations, however, Wollack does not specifically disclose accessing and storing data controlled by the data owner via a decentral identifier;
Gadol teaches wherein the data related to the recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data includes a digital representation of the recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data or part thereof, the digital representation including at least one representation for accessing the data or part thereof, wherein the recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data is stored in a database associated with the data owner, and wherein access to the recvclate content data and/or bio-based content data is controlled by the data owner via the decentral identifier, the decentral identifier being associated with the data owner and the data (Fig 4A-4C and paragraphs [39-47]; Gadol teaches a similar system that provides attributes and producer information that is stored and accessed within the NFC/blockchain system for access by the consumer. The information provides aspects of the manufacturing and background for the facilities for producing the specific product and the specific recyclate information is provided within Wollack. The digital asset is the blockchain ledger that is generated and appended with information regarding the product process and linking the blockchain identifier to the product through the QR code or other product tag (NFC/RFID) {further described in paragraphs [39-40]}.).
Wollack discloses chemical processing and other elements that are provided in a blockchain ledger with recyclate content data, however, Wollack does not specifically teach the aspects of accessing and storing data controlled by the data owner via a decentral identifier.
Gadol teaches a similar blockchain system that further provides access and other data elements based on the data owner.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the chemical processing and other elements that are provided in a blockchain ledger with recyclate content data of Wollack the ability to include a similar blockchain system that further provides access and other data elements based on the data owner as taught by Gadol since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
The combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations with respect to a product passport with elements of user access, however, the combination does not specifically teach specific network address user access for the content;
Cannata teaches wherein the at least one representation comprises a service endpoint, the service endpoint including a network address at which a service operates on behalf of a data owner and gives access to the recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data or part thereof (Fig 2, 5, and C7:24 to C8:63; Cannata teaches a similar blockchain-based access control that is based on network address and service endpoints for a user request to access data.)
The combination teaches a chemical processing and other elements that are provided in a user-access based blockchain ledger with recyclate content data, however, the combination does not specifically teach the aspects of accessing based on service endpoint including a network address.
Cannata teaches a similar system that further provides access and control elements based on the service endpoint with network address.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the chemical processing and other elements that are provided in a user-access based blockchain ledger with recyclate content data of the combination the ability to include a similar system that further provides access and control elements based on the service endpoint with network address as taught by Cannata since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 3, Wollack further discloses the apparatus according to claim 1,wherein the generation of the chemical product passport includes providing the decentral identifier associated with a physical entity of the chemical product (Figs 4A, 4B, 5, and paragraphs [60]; Wollack discloses that the identifier is associated with the product.).
Regarding claim 4, Wollack further discloses the apparatus according to claim 1,wherein the decentral identifier is or is assigned to a physical identifier connected to the chemical product (Figs 4A, 4B, 5, and paragraphs [60]; Wollack discloses that the identifier is associated with the product through a QR code on the product.).
Regarding claim 5, Wollack further discloses the apparatus according to claim 1,wherein an identifier element containing the physical identifier is physically attached to the chemical product (Figs 4A, 4B, 5, and paragraphs [60]; Wollack discloses that the identifier is associated with the product through a QR code on the product.).
Regarding claim 6, Wollack further discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the data related to the recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data includes one or more digital representation(s) that are network-resolvable addresses identifying the recyclate content data and/or bio- based content data or parts thereof (Figs 4A, 4B, 5, and paragraphs [60-63]; Wollack discloses that the identifier is associated with the product incudes carbon credit information for the particular product. Wollack further provides network elements [73-75] and distributed ledger aspects [79-82]. Further, within the combination above, Cannata teaches [C7:24 to C8:63] a similar blockchain-based access control that is based on network address and service endpoints for a user request to access data.).
Regarding claim 10, Wollack discloses a computer-implemented method for producing a chemical product associated with a chemical product passport, the method comprising: collecting restricted recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data associated with the chemical product, wherein the chemical product comprises a physical identifier; assigning the physical identifier to a decentral identifier for generating the chemical product passport associated with the produced chemical product (Fig 1B, 1C, 2, 3, and paragraphs [36-39 and 42-45]; Wollack discloses receiving greenhouse and other chemical processing information with regards to the use of resins and polymers in product generation. The system further assigns a GUID that is utilized in a blockchain ledger associated with the produced product.); and
generating the chemical product passport by receiving a request to provide a decentral identifier associated with restricted recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data of the chemical product and in response to the request, generating the chemical product passport including; the decentral identifier; and data related to the restricted recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data of the chemical product (Figs 4A, 4B, 5, and paragraphs [55-59]; Wollack discloses a blockchain ledger that provides a GUID that is providing the product description and generated information for the content information based on the greenhouse or other bio/chemical processing steps.),
Wollack discloses the above-enclosed limitations, however, Wollack does not specifically disclose accessing and storing data controlled by the data owner via a decentral identifier;
Gadol teaches wherein the data related to the restricted recyclate content data and/or bio- based content data includes a digital representation of the restricted recyclate content data and/or bio- based content data or part thereof, the digital representation including at least one representation for accessing the data or part thereof, wherein the restricted recvclate content data and/or bio-based content data is stored in a database associated with a data owner, and wherein access to the restricted recvclate content data and/or bio-based content data is controlled by the data owner via the decentral identifier, the decentral identifier being associated with the data owner and the data (Fig 4A-4C and paragraphs [39-47]; Gadol teaches a similar system that provides attributes and producer information that is stored and accessed within the NFC/blockchain system for access by the consumer. The information provides aspects of the manufacturing and background for the facilities for producing the specific product and the specific recyclate information is provided within Wollack. The digital asset is the blockchain ledger that is generated and appended with information regarding the product process and linking the blockchain identifier to the product through the QR code or other product tag (NFC/RFID) {further described in paragraphs [39-40]}.).
Wollack discloses chemical processing and other elements that are provided in a blockchain ledger with recyclate content data, however, Wollack does not specifically teach the aspects of accessing and storing data controlled by the data owner via a decentral identifier.
Gadol teaches a similar blockchain system that further provides access and other data elements based on the data owner.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the chemical processing and other elements that are provided in a blockchain ledger with recyclate content data of Wollack the ability to include a similar blockchain system that further provides access and other data elements based on the data owner as taught by Gadol since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
The combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations with respect to a product passport with elements of user access, however, the combination does not specifically teach specific network address user access for the content;
Cannata teaches wherein the at least one representation comprises a service endpoint, the service endpoint including a network address at which a service operates on behalf of a data owner and gives access to the recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data or part thereof (Fig 2, 5, and C7:24 to C8:63; Cannata teaches a similar blockchain-based access control that is based on network address and service endpoints for a user request to access data.)
The combination teaches a chemical processing and other elements that are provided in a user-access based blockchain ledger with recyclate content data, however, the combination does not specifically teach the aspects of accessing based on service endpoint including a network address.
Cannata teaches a similar system that further provides access and control elements based on the service endpoint with network address.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the chemical processing and other elements that are provided in a user-access based blockchain ledger with recyclate content data of the combination the ability to include a similar system that further provides access and control elements based on the service endpoint with network address as taught by Cannata since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 11, Wollack discloses a computer-implemented method for generating a chemical product passport, the method comprising the steps: receiving a request to provide a decentral identifier associated with recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data (Fig 1B, 1C, 2, 3, and paragraphs [36-39 and 42-45]; Wollack discloses receiving greenhouse and other chemical processing information with regards to the use of resins and polymers in product generation. The system further assigns a GUID that is utilized in a blockchain ledger associated with the produced product.); and
in response to the request, generating the chemical product passport including the decentral identifier and data related to recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data (Figs 4A, 4B, 5, and paragraphs [55-59]; Wollack discloses a blockchain ledger that provides a GUID that is providing the product description and generated information for the content information based on the greenhouse or other bio/chemical processing steps.),
Wollack discloses the above-enclosed limitations, however, Wollack does not specifically disclose accessing and storing data controlled by the data owner via a decentral identifier;
Gadol teaches wherein the data related to the recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data includes a digital representation of the recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data or part thereof, the digital representation including at least one representation for accessing the data or part thereof, wherein the recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data is stored in a database associated with a data owner, and wherein access to the recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data is controlled by the data owner via the decentral identifier, the decentral identifier being associated with the data owner and the data (Fig 4A-4C and paragraphs [39-47]; Gadol teaches a similar system that provides attributes and producer information that is stored and accessed within the NFC/blockchain system for access by the consumer. The information provides aspects of the manufacturing and background for the facilities for producing the specific product and the specific recyclate information is provided within Wollack. The digital asset is the blockchain ledger that is generated and appended with information regarding the product process and linking the blockchain identifier to the product through the QR code or other product tag (NFC/RFID) {further described in paragraphs [39-40]}.).
Wollack discloses chemical processing and other elements that are provided in a blockchain ledger with recyclate content data, however, Wollack does not specifically teach the aspects of accessing and storing data controlled by the data owner via a decentral identifier.
Gadol teaches a similar blockchain system that further provides access and other data elements based on the data owner.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the chemical processing and other elements that are provided in a blockchain ledger with recyclate content data of Wollack the ability to include a similar blockchain system that further provides access and other data elements based on the data owner as taught by Gadol since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
The combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations with respect to a product passport with elements of user access, however, the combination does not specifically teach specific network address user access for the content;
Cannata teaches wherein the at least one representation comprises a service endpoint, the service endpoint including a network address at which a service operates on behalf of a data owner and gives access to the recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data or part thereof (Fig 2, 5, and C7:24 to C8:63; Cannata teaches a similar blockchain-based access control that is based on network address and service endpoints for a user request to access data.)
The combination teaches a chemical processing and other elements that are provided in a user-access based blockchain ledger with recyclate content data, however, the combination does not specifically teach the aspects of accessing based on service endpoint including a network address.
Cannata teaches a similar system that further provides access and control elements based on the service endpoint with network address.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the chemical processing and other elements that are provided in a user-access based blockchain ledger with recyclate content data of the combination the ability to include a similar system that further provides access and control elements based on the service endpoint with network address as taught by Cannata since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 12, Wollack discloses a method of processing a chemical product associated with a chemical product passport, the method performed by a data-consuming service, comprising;(i) obtaining, from the chemical product passport, the decentral identifier and a digital representation including the service endpoint identifying recyclate and/or bio-based content data of the chemical product (Fig 1B, 1C, 2, 3, and paragraphs [36-39 and 42-45]; Wollack discloses receiving greenhouse and other chemical processing information with regards to the use of resins and polymers in product generation. The system further assigns a GUID that is utilized in a blockchain ledger associated with the produced product. Further, within the combination above, Cannata teaches [C7:24 to C8:63] a similar blockchain-based access control that is based on network address and service endpoints for a user reuest to access data.); and
Wollack discloses the above-enclosed limitations, however, Wollack does not specifically disclose accessing and storing data controlled by the data owner via a decentral identifier;
Gadol teaches (ii) accessing, via the digital representation, at least a portion of the recvclate and/or bio-based content data, wherein the chemical product passport has been generated according to claim 10 (Fig 4A-4C and paragraphs [39-47]; Gadol teaches a similar system that provides attributes and producer information that is stored and accessed within the NFC/blockchain system for access by the consumer. The information provides aspects of the manufacturing and background for the facilities for producing the specific product and the specific recyclate information is provided within Wollack. The digital asset is the blockchain ledger that is generated and appended with information regarding the product process and linking the blockchain identifier to the product through the QR code or other product tag (NFC/RFID) {further described in paragraphs [39-40]}.).
Wollack discloses chemical processing and other elements that are provided in a blockchain ledger with recyclate content data, however, Wollack does not specifically teach the aspects of accessing and storing data controlled by the data owner via a decentral identifier.
Gadol teaches a similar blockchain system that further provides access and other data elements based on the data owner.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the chemical processing and other elements that are provided in a blockchain ledger with recyclate content data of Wollack the ability to include a similar blockchain system that further provides access and other data elements based on the data owner as taught by Gadol since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 13, Wollack discloses a chemical product associated with a chemical product passport, wherein the chemical product passport including the decentral identifier and data related to the recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data is generated according to the method of claim 10 (Fig 5 and paragraphs [62-67]; Wollack discloses the chemical product blockchain generated based on information elements including carbon credits and other elements.).
Regarding claim 14, Wollack further discloses a chemical product passport including a decentral identifier and data related to the recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data, wherein the chemical product passport is generated according to the method of claim 10 (Fig 5 and paragraphs [62-67]; Wollack discloses the chemical product blockchain generated based on information elements including carbon credits and other elements.).
Regarding claim 15, Wollack further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions, which, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to carry out the steps of the method of claim 10 (Fig 5, 6, and paragraphs [62-67 and 70-72]; Wollack discloses the chemical product blockchain generated using blockchain nodes and other computer aspects.).
Regarding claim 16, the combination teaches the above-enclosed limitation;
Gadol further teaches a method to process a chemical product associated with a chemical product passport and performed by a data-providing service, comprising(i) exposing, as part of the chemical product passport, a digital representation including the service endpoint identifying recyclate and/or bio-based content data of a chemical product; and(ii) serving, responsive to an access request via the digital representation, at least a portion of the recyclate and/or bio-based content data, wherein the chemical product passport has been generated according to claim 10 (Fig 4A-4C and paragraphs [39-47]; Gadol teaches a similar system that provides attributes and producer information that is stored and accessed within the NFC/blockchain system for access by the consumer. The information provides aspects of the manufacturing and background for the facilities for producing the specific product and the specific recyclate information is provided within Wollack. The digital asset is the blockchain ledger that is generated and appended with information regarding the product process and linking the blockchain identifier to the product through the QR code or other product tag (NFC/RFID) {further described in paragraphs [39-40]}. Further, within the combination above, Cannata teaches [C7:24 to C8:63] a similar blockchain-based access control that is based on network address and service endpoints for a user reuest to access data.).
Wollack discloses chemical processing and other elements that are provided in a blockchain ledger with recyclate content data, however, Wollack does not specifically teach the aspects of accessing and storing data controlled by the data owner via a decentral identifier.
Gadol teaches a similar blockchain system that further provides access and other data elements based on the data owner.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the chemical processing and other elements that are provided in a blockchain ledger with recyclate content data of Wollack the ability to include a similar blockchain system that further provides access and other data elements based on the data owner as taught by Gadol since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 17, Wollack discloses a chemical product associated with a chemical product passport, wherein the chemical product passport including the decentral identifier and data related to the recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data is generated by the apparatus according to claim 1 (Fig 5, 6, and paragraphs [39-42, 62-67, and 70-72]; Wollack discloses the chemical product blockchain generated using blockchain nodes and other computer aspects.).
Regarding claim 18, Wollack discloses a chemical product passport including a decentral identifier and data related to the recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data, wherein the chemical product passport is generated by the apparatus according to claim 1 (Fig 5, 6, and paragraphs [39-42, 62-67, and 70-72]; Wollack discloses the chemical product blockchain generated using blockchain nodes and other computer aspects.).
Regarding claim 19, Wollack further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions, which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to carry out the steps of the apparatus according to claim 1 (Fig 5, 6, and paragraphs [39-42, 62-67, and 70-72]; Wollack discloses the chemical product blockchain generated using blockchain nodes and other computer aspects.).
Claim(s) 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wollack et al [2022/0237628], hereafter Wollack, in view of Gadol [2020/0005332], and Cannata Jr et al [11,431,513], hereafter Cannata, further in view of Stoettinger et al [2020/0364495], hereafter Stoettinger.
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations of apparatus according to claim 1,
Wollack further discloses wherein the chemical product passport includes data related to different classes of chemical product data and the digital representation includes distinct representations respectively accessing the different classes (Paragraphs [44-49; Wollack discloses providing chemical product recycling information related to the product.).
Wollack discloses the above-enclosed limitations, however, Wollack does not specifically teach different classes of chemical data;
Stoettinger teaches wherein the chemical product passport includes data related to different classes of chemical product data and the digital representation includes distinct representations respectively accessing the different classes (Fig 2A, 2B, and paragraphs [31-33]; Stoettinger teaches chemical classes including safety, regulatory, and other chemical information based on the product/ingredients. Within the combination, Gadol teaches the aspects of access and other representation information and Stoettinger provides the different classes.).
Wollack discloses a chemical product blockchain that provides chemical information with respect to the produced product, however, Wollack does not specifically disclose chemical class information.
The sole difference between Wollack and the claimed invention is that Wollack does not teach the specific chemical class information. Wollack provides chemical product information.
Stoettinger teaches a similar product attribute system that specifically teaches chemical product regulatory, safety, and other chemical class information and that providing chemical class information for products was known in the prior art at the time of the invention.
Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself—that is in the substitution for the chemical class information of Stoettinger for the product information of Wollack. Therefore, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Regarding claim 8, Wollack further discloses the apparatus according to claim 1,wherein the chemical product passport includes at least one class of chemical product data that includes chemical product declaration data, chemical product safety data and/or certificate of analysis data associated with the physical entity of the product (Paragraphs [44-49; Wollack discloses providing chemical product recycling information related to the product.).
Wollack discloses the above-enclosed limitations, however, Wollack does not specifically teach different classes of chemical data;
Stoettinger teaches (Fig 2A, 2B, and paragraphs [31-33] chemical classes including safety, regulatory, and other chemical information based on the product/ingredients.
Wollack discloses a chemical product blockchain that provides chemical information with respect to the produced product, however, Wollack does not specifically disclose chemical class information.
The sole difference between Wollack and the claimed invention is that Wollack does not teach the specific chemical class information. Wollack provides chemical product information.
Stoettinger teaches a similar product attribute system that specifically teaches chemical product regulatory, safety, and other chemical class information and that providing chemical class information for products was known in the prior art at the time of the invention.
Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself—that is in the substitution for the chemical class information of Stoettinger for the product information of Wollack. Therefore, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Regarding claim 9, Wollack further discloses the apparatus according to claim 1,wherein the chemical product passport includes at least one class of recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data that includes access restricted recyclate content data and/or bio-based content data associated with the physical entity of the product (Paragraphs [44-49; Wollack discloses providing chemical product recycling information related to the product.).
Wollack discloses the above-enclosed limitations, however, Wollack does not specifically teach different classes of chemical data;
Stoettinger teaches wherein access to the access-restricted class is enforced via an authentication mechanism associated with the decentral identifier (Fig 2A, 2B, and paragraphs [31-33] chemical classes including safety, regulatory, and other chemical information based on the product/ingredients. Within the combination, Gadol teaches the aspects of access, authentication mechanism [Fig 8A and paragraphs 58-59], and other representation information and Stoettinger provides the different classes.).
Wollack discloses a chemical product blockchain that provides chemical information with respect to the produced product, however, Wollack does not specifically disclose chemical class information.
The sole difference between Wollack and the claimed invention is that Wollack does not teach the specific chemical class information. Wollack provides chemical product information.
Stoettinger teaches a similar product attribute system that specifically teaches chemical product regulatory, safety, and other chemical class information and that providing chemical class information for products was known in the prior art at the time of the invention.
Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself—that is in the substitution for the chemical class information of Stoettinger for the product information of Wollack. Therefore, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Response to Arguments
In response to the arguments filed March 31, 2026 on pages 8-9 regarding the 35 USC 103 rejection, specifically that the combination of elements does not teach the amended claim language.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Based on a further search and consideration, newly cited prior art Cannata teaches the amended claim limitations. It would be obvious to combine as Cannata teaches a specific access control using network address and service endpoints for data control between users for the similar blockchain-based content system of the combination. As such, the claims are maintaining the 35 USC 103 rejection, as considered above in light of the amended claim limitations above.
Lacking any further arguments, claims 1-19 are maintaining the 35 USC 103 rejection, as considered above in light of the amended claim limitations above.
Conclusion
/ANDREW CHASE LAKHANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629