DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 1/6/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bond et al. (US 4421146 A) in view of Hirai (JP H06123392 A).
Claim 1, Bond discloses bag in box (B) connection valve comprising a spout opening (41).
But is silent on a ratchet body; the ratchet body comprising a pair of ratchet teeth lines; a quick disconnect ratchet coupling; the quick disconnect ratchet coupling comprising a spout opening; and a pair of ratchet arms with a pair of ratchet arm teeth lines; wherein the pair of ratchet teeth lines and the pair of ratchet arm teeth lines cooperate to raise and lower the ratchet body onto the pouch spout positioned within the spout opening.
Hirai teaches a ratchet body (23);
the ratchet body comprising a pair of ratchet teeth lines (34; [0024]);
a quick disconnect ratchet coupling (FIG 1-2);
the quick disconnect ratchet coupling comprising a spout opening (10, 21c, 22); and
a pair of ratchet arms (33) with a pair of ratchet arm teeth lines (33b);
wherein the pair of ratchet teeth lines and the pair of ratchet arm teeth lines cooperate to raise and lower the ratchet body onto the pouch spout positioned within the spout opening (C; FIG 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bond with ratchet as taught by Hirai in order to provide joint capable of quickly and easily releasing the connection with a single hand during work.
Claim 2, the modified apparatus of Bond teaches a valve body (Bond: 84, 71; Hirai: 26, 27) positioned within the ratchet body (Hirai: FIG 1-2).
Claim 3, Bond discloses wherein the valve body comprises an internal pathway (72) with a valve poppet.
Claim 4, Bond discloses wherein the valve poppet (86, 84) is biased by a coil spring (87).
Claim 5, Bond discloses wherein the internal pathway (72) leads to a stem (81).
Claim 6, the modified apparatus of Bond teaches wherein the quick disconnect ratchet coupling (Hirai) comprises a first side plate and a second side plate (100 has opposing sides covered by U shaped plate 110; FIG 1-3).
Claim 7, Bond discloses wherein the second side plate comprises the spout opening (opening in 110 of 112; FIG 2-3) with a first connector arm (100) and a second connector arm (111).
Claim 8, Bond discloses wherein the first connector arm (100) and the second connector arm (111) are spaced apart to accommodate a valve housing of the spout therein (FIG 7-8).
Claim 9, Bond discloses wherein the valve housing comprises a poppet valve therein (FIG 7-8).
Conclusion
JEREMY W. CARROLL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3754
/Jeremy Carroll/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754