DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 1-6, 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu (US PG Pub. No. 2024/0276528).
As per claim 1:
Liu teaches a method for performing, by a first device, wireless communication, the method (see abstract) comprising:
obtaining information related to a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) active time of a second device (see paragraph [0421], the first terminal obtains sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal from the second terminal);
and performing resource selection for a plurality of resources for transmissions of multiple medium access control (MAC) protocol data units (PDUs) (see paragraph [0327], the MAC entity chooses to create selected SL grants for transmitting a plurality of MAC PDUs, the MAC entity selects a sidelink resource A from the group of sidelink resources provided by the PHY layer. The MAC entity determines a group of sidelink resources based on the sidelink resource A), wherein steps of performing the resource selection includes:
selecting at least one first resource within a period 1, within the SL DRX active time (see Figure 20, paragraph [0414], the first terminal determines that the sidelink resource 1 located in slot 1 is within the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time, thus it is evident that sidelink resource 1 located in slot 1 within sidelink discontinuous reception-active time is selected);
and selecting at least one second resource within a period 2, based on the at least one first resource and a resource reservation period (see paragraphs [0417] and [0433], if the resource set includes all the sidelink resources whose time range is within the first time period in the candidate resource set, the first terminal may determine a third resource set, where the third resource set includes all sidelink resources whose time range is outside the first time period in the candidate resource set. The first terminal also excludes a second part of resources from the third resource set based on a third RSRP. For example, as shown in figure 20, sidelink resources 2 and 3 are outside the active time. Also, the third resource is determined based on a slot not monitored by the first terminal and a resource reservation period, please see paragraph [0433]),
and wherein the period 1 is the first period related to a resource selection (see paragraph [0325], the terminal may select or reserve a sidelink resource in the time period 1).
As per claim 2:
Liu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one second resource being selected outside the SL DRX active time is allowed (For example, as shown in figure 20, sidelink resources 2 and 3 are outside the active time).
As per claim 3:
Liu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the SL DRX active time includes a time during which an SL DRX active timer of an SL DRX configuration which the second device uses is running (see paragraph [0414], figure 20, the time while drx-onDurationTimer-SL of the second terminal is running includes a slot 1 and a slot 2).
As per claim 4:
Liu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the SL DRX active time includes a time in which an SL DRX active timer of an SL DRX configuration which the second device uses will operate based on the transmissions of the multiple MAC PDUs (see paragraph [0412], the first terminal sends data to the second terminal by using a first sidelink resource in the one or more sidelink resources. Correspondingly, the second terminal receives the data from the first terminal on the first sidelink resource. The first sidelink resource is located within the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal. Note: transmitted data corresponds to MAC-PDUs, please see paragraph [0407] for example).
As per claim 5:
Liu teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: triggering resource reselection for the at least one second resource, based on at least one resource among the at least one second resource being not included within the SL DRX active time (see paragraph [0573], the first terminal determines that a sidelink resource whose time domain position is within the DRX active time of the second terminal does not exist in the one or more sidelink resources Y, the first terminal determines to trigger resource selection/reselection).
As per claim 6:
Liu teaches the method of claim 5, further comprising: reselecting the at least one second resource to at least one third resource, based on the triggering and the SL DRX active time, wherein the at least one third resource is included within the SL DRX active time (see paragraph [0574], a resource reselection trigger condition is checked in the MAC entity. If a sidelink resource within the DRX-active time of the second terminal does not exist, but a sidelink resource within DRX-active time of another terminal exists, the terminal may choose to trigger resource reselection, please see paragraph [0575]).
As per claim 13:
Liu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one first resource is randomly selected within the SL DRX active time (see paragraph [0415], the first terminal may alternatively randomly select one sidelink resource from the plurality of sidelink resources within the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time, and determine the sidelink resource as the first sidelink resource).
As per claim 14:
Liu teaches a first device for performing wireless communication (see abstract), the first device comprising:
one or more memories storing instructions (see Figure 13, paragraphs [0271]-[0272], memory 1302 comprising instructions 1304);
one or more transceivers (see Figure 13, transceiver 1305);
and one or more processors connected to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers (see Figure 13, processor 1301 connected to memory 1302 and transceiver 1305), wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions (see paragraph [0273], processor 1301 may run instructions 1304) to:
obtain information related to a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) active time of a second device (see paragraph [0421], the first terminal obtains sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal from the second terminal);
and perform resource selection for a plurality of resources for transmissions of multiple medium access control (MAC) protocol data units (PDUs) (see paragraph [0327], the MAC entity chooses to create selected SL grants for transmitting a plurality of MAC PDUs, the MAC entity selects a sidelink resource A from the group of sidelink resources provided by the PHY layer. The MAC entity determines a group of sidelink resources based on the sidelink resource A), wherein steps of performing the resource selection includes:
select at least one first resource within a period 1, within the SL DRX active time (see Figure 20, paragraph [0414], the first terminal determines that the sidelink resource 1 located in slot 1 is within the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time, thus it is evident that sidelink resource 1 located in slot 1 within sidelink discontinuous reception-active time is selected);
and select at least one second resource within a period 2, based on the at least one first resource and a resource reservation period (see paragraphs [0417] and [0433], if the resource set includes all the sidelink resources whose time range is within the first time period in the candidate resource set, the first terminal may determine a third resource set, where the third resource set includes all sidelink resources whose time range is outside the first time period in the candidate resource set. The first terminal also excludes a second part of resources from the third resource set based on a third RSRP. For example, as shown in figure 20, sidelink resources 2 and 3 are outside the active time. Also, the third resource is determined based on a slot not monitored by the first terminal and a resource reservation period, please see paragraph [0433]),
and wherein the period 1 is the first period related to a resource selection (see paragraph [0325], the terminal may select or reserve a sidelink resource in the time period 1).
As per claim 15:
Liu teaches a device adapted to control a first user equipment (UE) (see Figure 13, communication apparatus 1300), the device comprising:
one or more processors (see Figure 13, processor 1301);
and one or more memories operably connectable to the one or more processors (see Figure 13, memory 1302 connected to processor 1301) and storing instructions (see Figure 13, memory 1302 comprise of instructions 1304), wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions (see paragraph [0273], processor 1301 may run instructions 1304) to:
obtain information related to a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) active time of a second device (see paragraph [0421], the first terminal obtains sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal from the second terminal);
and perform resource selection for a plurality of resources for transmissions of multiple medium access control (MAC) protocol data units (PDUs) (see paragraph [0327], the MAC entity chooses to create selected SL grants for transmitting a plurality of MAC PDUs, the MAC entity selects a sidelink resource A from the group of sidelink resources provided by the PHY layer. The MAC entity determines a group of sidelink resources based on the sidelink resource A), wherein steps of performing the resource selection includes:
select at least one first resource within a period 1, within the SL DRX active time (see Figure 20, paragraph [0414], the first terminal determines that the sidelink resource 1 located in slot 1 is within the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time, thus it is evident that sidelink resource 1 located in slot 1 within sidelink discontinuous reception-active time is selected);
and select at least one second resource within a period 2, based on the at least one first resource and a resource reservation period (see paragraphs [0417] and [0433], if the resource set includes all the sidelink resources whose time range is within the first time period in the candidate resource set, the first terminal may determine a third resource set, where the third resource set includes all sidelink resources whose time range is outside the first time period in the candidate resource set. The first terminal also excludes a second part of resources from the third resource set based on a third RSRP. For example, as shown in figure 20, sidelink resources 2 and 3 are outside the active time. Also, the third resource is determined based on a slot not monitored by the first terminal and a resource reservation period, please see paragraph [0433]),
and wherein the period 1 is the first period related to a resource selection (see paragraph [0325], the terminal may select or reserve a sidelink resource in the time period 1).
As per claim 16:
Liu teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions (see Figure 13, paragraphs [0271]-[0273], memory 1302 comprising instructions 1304), that, when executed, cause a first device to:
obtain information related to a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) active time of a second device (see paragraph [0421], the first terminal obtains sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal from the second terminal);
and perform resource selection for a plurality of resources for transmissions of multiple medium access control (MAC) protocol data units (PDUs) (see paragraph [0327], the MAC entity chooses to create selected SL grants for transmitting a plurality of MAC PDUs, the MAC entity selects a sidelink resource A from the group of sidelink resources provided by the PHY layer. The MAC entity determines a group of sidelink resources based on the sidelink resource A), wherein steps of performing the resource selection includes:
select at least one first resource within a period 1, within the SL DRX active time (see Figure 20, paragraph [0414], the first terminal determines that the sidelink resource 1 located in slot 1 is within the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time, thus it is evident that sidelink resource 1 located in slot 1 within sidelink discontinuous reception-active time is selected);
and select at least one second resource within a period 2, based on the at least one first resource and a resource reservation period (see paragraphs [0417] and [0433], if the resource set includes all the sidelink resources whose time range is within the first time period in the candidate resource set, the first terminal may determine a third resource set, where the third resource set includes all sidelink resources whose time range is outside the first time period in the candidate resource set. The first terminal also excludes a second part of resources from the third resource set based on a third RSRP. For example, as shown in figure 20, sidelink resources 2 and 3 are outside the active time. Also, the third resource is determined based on a slot not monitored by the first terminal and a resource reservation period, please see paragraph [0433]),
and wherein the period 1 is the first period related to a resource selection (see paragraph [0325], the terminal may select or reserve a sidelink resource in the time period 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Yang (US PG Pub. No. 2021/0385696).
As per claim 7:
Liu teaches the method of claim 6 with the exception of:
further comprising:
transmitting, to the second device, information for the at least one third resource through sidelink control information (SCI), wherein information for a resource transmission period, included in the SCI, is 0.
Yang teaches further comprising:
transmitting, to the second device, information for the at least one third resource through sidelink control information (SCI), wherein information for a resource transmission period, included in the SCI, is 0 (see paragraph [0098], if the resource reservation period field in the SCI-1 is enabled, the second UE may determine that the first UE has another transmission after the current transmission. Thus, the first UE may explicitly release its reserved resources by setting reservation period field in the SCI-1 to a certain codepoint, such as all zeros).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the sending of SCI-1 with indicator field set to all zeros (as disclosed in Yang) into Liu as a way of indicating to the receiving UE that the its reserved resources are released (please see paragraph [0098] of Yang).
5. Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Yang (US PG Pub. No. 2021/0385697), hereinafter referred to as Yang’697.
As per claim 8:
Liu teaches the method of claim 1 with the exception of
further comprising:
transmitting, to the second device, SCI including information for the at least one first resource and the at least one second resource through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH).
Yang’697 teaches further comprising:
transmitting, to the second device, SCI including information for the at least one first resource and the at least one second resource through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) (see paragraph [0081], the multiple resources may be indicated or reserved through SCI included in the PSCCH region).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the transmission of SCI within the PSCCH region (as disclosed in Yang’697) into Liu as a way of indicating to the UE the resources the transmitting UE intends to use (please see paragraph [0081] of Yang’697).
As per claim 9:
Liu in view of Yang’697 teaches the method of claim 8.
Liu does not teach wherein the information for the at least one first resource and the at least one second resource is transmitted based on information for a transmission reservation period included in the SCI.
Yang’697 teaches wherein the information for the at least one first resource and the at least one second resource is transmitted based on information for a transmission reservation period included in the SCI (see paragraph [0069], the transmitting UE may receive SCI from other UEs including reservation information in a resource reservation field. The number of resources (e.g., sub-channels per subframe) reserved by a UE may depend on the size of data to be transmitted by the UE. As shown in figure 5A, each of the reserved resources from a particular UE (such as UE1) occupy a sub-channel per slot. Figure 5B also shows reserved resources associated with period 552 and period 554 and thus first and second period).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the transmission of SCI within the PSCCH region (as disclosed in Yang’697) into Liu as a way of indicating to the UE the resources the transmitting UE intends to use (please see paragraph [0081] of Yang’697).
As per claim 10:
Liu in view of Yang’697 teaches the method of claim 9.
Liu does not teach wherein the at least one second resource is obtained by the second device, based on the at least one first resource and the transmission reservation period.
Yang’697 teaches wherein the at least one second resource is obtained by the second device, based on the at least one first resource and the transmission reservation period (see paragraphs [0071], [0074], [0075], after obtaining the first and second stage SCI, the transmitting UE may determine information regarding future resources based on the reserved resources occupying the respective subchannel per slot).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the transmission of SCI within the PSCCH region (as disclosed in Yang’697) into Liu as a way of indicating to the UE the resources the transmitting UE intends to use (please see paragraph [0081] of Yang’697).
6. Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Yang’697 and further in view of Zhang (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0180190).
As per claim 11:
Liu in view of Yang’697 teaches the method of claim 8 with the exception of:
further comprising:
transmitting, to the second device, a first MAC PDU, through a first physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), based on the at least one first resource;
and transmitting, to the second device, a second MAC PDU through a second PSSCH, based on the at least one second resource.
Zhang teaches further comprising:
transmitting, to the second device, a first MAC PDU, through a first physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), based on the at least one first resource (paragraph [0200] disclose the first MAC PDU and the second MAC PDU are respectively transmitted on PSSCHs. The respective PSSCHs are scheduled on reserved resources, please see paragraphs [0690] and [0720]);
and transmitting, to the second device, a second MAC PDU through a second PSSCH, based on the at least one second resource (paragraph [0200] disclose the first MAC PDU and the second MAC PDU are respectively transmitted on PSSCHs. The respective PSSCHs are scheduled on reserved resources, please see paragraphs [0690] and [0720]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement selection of resource pool for the first and second MAC PDU (as disclosed in Zhang) into both Liu and Yang’697 as a way of dividing the target time length among the first and second channels (please see paragraph [0017] of Zhang).
As per claim 12:
Liu in view of Yang’697 and further in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 11.
Liu and Yang’697 do not teach wherein the first MAC PDU and the second MAC PDU are different.
Zhang teaches wherein the first MAC PDU and the second MAC PDU are different (paragraph [0200] disclose the first MAC PDU and the second MAC PDU are respectively transmitted on PSSCHs. The respective PSSCHs are scheduled on reserved resources, please see paragraphs [0690] and [0720]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement selection of resource pool for the first and second MAC PDU (as disclosed in Zhang) into both Liu and Yang’697 as a way of dividing the target time length among the first and second channels (please see paragraph [0017] of Zhang).
7. Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang’697 in view of Liu.
As per claim 17:
Yang’697 teaches a method for performing, by a second device, wireless communication (see abstract), the method comprising:
receiving, from a first device, sidelink control information (SCI) including information for at least one first resource within a period 1 and at least one second resource within a period 2, through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) (see paragraph [0081], the multiple resources may be indicated or reserved through SCI included in the PSCCH region), based on the at least one first resource (see paragraph [0069], the transmitting UE may receive SCI from other UEs including reservation information in a resource reservation field. The number of resources (e.g., sub-channels per subframe) reserved by a UE may depend on the size of data to be transmitted by the UE. As shown in figure 5A, each of the reserved resources from a particular UE (such as UE1) occupy a sub-channel per slot. Figure 5B also shows reserved resources associated with period 552 and period 554 and thus first and second period);
and obtaining information for the at least one second resource, based on the at least one first resource and information for a transmission reservation period included in the SCI (see paragraphs [0071], [0074], [0075], after obtaining the first and second stage SCI, the transmitting UE may determine information regarding future resources based on the reserved resources occupying the respective subchannel per slot).
Yang’697 does not clearly teach obtaining a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration;
wherein the at least one first resource is selected within an SL DRX active time of the SL DRX configuration,
wherein the at least one second resource is selected based on the at least one first resource and the resource reservation period, and wherein the period 1 is the first period related to resource selection.
Liu teaches obtaining a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration (see paragraph [0421], the first terminal obtains sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal from the second terminal);
wherein the at least one first resource is selected within an SL DRX active time of the SL DRX configuration (see Figure 20, paragraph [0414], the first terminal determines that the sidelink resource 1 located in slot 1 is within the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time, thus it is evident that sidelink resource 1 located in slot 1 within sidelink discontinuous reception-active time is selected),
wherein the at least one second resource is selected based on the at least one first resource and the resource reservation period (see paragraphs [0417] and [0433], if the resource set includes all the sidelink resources whose time range is within the first time period in the candidate resource set, the first terminal may determine a third resource set, where the third resource set includes all sidelink resources whose time range is outside the first time period in the candidate resource set. The first terminal also excludes a second part of resources from the third resource set based on a third RSRP. For example, as shown in figure 20, sidelink resources 2 and 3 are outside the active time. Also, the third resource is determined based on a slot not monitored by the first terminal and a resource reservation period, please see paragraph [0433]), and wherein the period 1 is the first period related to resource selection (see paragraph [0325], the terminal may select or reserve a sidelink resource in the time period 1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the selection of candidate resources outside the first time period (as disclosed in Liu) into Yang’697 as a way of achieving a retransmission on a resource with RSRP greater than a threshold (please see paragraph [0433] of Liu).
As per claim 18:
Yang’697 in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 17.
Yang’697 does not clearly teach further comprising: receiving, from the first device, information for at least one third resource, wherein the at least one third resource is at least one resource to which the at least one second resource is reselected based on triggering of resource reselection for the at least one second resource and the SL DRX active time.
Liu teaches further comprising: receiving, from the first device, information for at least one third resource, wherein the at least one third resource is at least one resource to which the at least one second resource is reselected based on triggering of resource reselection for the at least one second resource and the SL DRX active time (see paragraph [0574], a resource reselection trigger condition is checked in the MAC entity. If a sidelink resource within the DRX-active time of the second terminal does not exist, but a sidelink resource within DRX-active time of another terminal exists, the terminal may choose to trigger resource reselection, please see paragraph [0575]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the selection of candidate resources outside the first time period (as disclosed in Liu) into Yang’697 as a way of achieving a retransmission on a resource with RSRP greater than a threshold (please see paragraph [0433] of Liu).
As per claim 19:
Yang’697 teaches a second device for performing wireless communication (see Figure 3, paragraph [0056], second wireless device 350), the second device comprising:
one or more memories storing instructions (see Figure 3, paragraph [0059], memory 360 for storing program codes and data);
one or more transceivers (see Figure 3, RX/TX 354);
and one or more processors connected to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers (see Figure 3, controller/processor 359 connected to memory 360 and RX/TX 354), wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions (see paragraph [0059], controller/processor 359 executing program codes and data stored in memory 360) to:
receive, from a first device, sidelink control information (SCI) including information for at least one first resource within a period 1 and at least one second resource within a period 2, through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) (see paragraph [0081], the multiple resources may be indicated or reserved through SCI included in the PSCCH region), based on the at least one first resource (see paragraph [0069], the transmitting UE may receive SCI from other UEs including reservation information in a resource reservation field. The number of resources (e.g., sub-channels per subframe) reserved by a UE may depend on the size of data to be transmitted by the UE. As shown in figure 5A, each of the reserved resources from a particular UE (such as UE1) occupy a sub-channel per slot. Figure 5B also shows reserved resources associated with period 552 and period 554 and thus first and second period);
and obtain information for the at least one second resource, based on the at least one first resource and information for a transmission reservation period included in the SCI (see paragraphs [0071], [0074], [0075], after obtaining the first and second stage SCI, the transmitting UE may determine information regarding future resources based on the reserved resources occupying the respective subchannel per slot).
Yang’697 does not clearly teach obtain a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration;
wherein the at least one first resource is selected within an SL DRX active time of the SL DRX configuration,
wherein the at least one second resource is selected based on the at least one first resource and the resource reservation period, and wherein the period 1 is the first period related to resource selection.
Liu teaches obtain a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration (see paragraph [0421], the first terminal obtains sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal from the second terminal);
wherein the at least one first resource is selected within an SL DRX active time of the SL DRX configuration (see Figure 20, paragraph [0414], the first terminal determines that the sidelink resource 1 located in slot 1 is within the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time, thus it is evident that sidelink resource 1 located in slot 1 within sidelink discontinuous reception-active time is selected),
wherein the at least one second resource is selected based on the at least one first resource and the resource reservation period (see paragraphs [0417] and [0433], if the resource set includes all the sidelink resources whose time range is within the first time period in the candidate resource set, the first terminal may determine a third resource set, where the third resource set includes all sidelink resources whose time range is outside the first time period in the candidate resource set. The first terminal also excludes a second part of resources from the third resource set based on a third RSRP. For example, as shown in figure 20, sidelink resources 2 and 3 are outside the active time. Also, the third resource is determined based on a slot not monitored by the first terminal and a resource reservation period, please see paragraph [0433]), and wherein the period 1 is the first period related to resource selection (see paragraph [0325], the terminal may select or reserve a sidelink resource in the time period 1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the selection of candidate resources outside the first time period (as disclosed in Liu) into Yang’697 as a way of achieving a retransmission on a resource with RSRP greater than a threshold (please see paragraph [0433] of Liu).
Claim 20 is rejected in the same scope as claim 18.
Conclusion
PRINCE AKWASI. MENSAH
Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/PRINCE A MENSAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474