CTNF 18/722,955 CTNF 85616 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 1. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA 2. Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, 9, 10, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lohr (US PG Pub. No. 2025/0323761) . As per claim 1: Lohr teaches a method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system (see paragraph [0005], teaches a method at a UE including receiving a DCI during a PDCCH occasion) , the method comprising: identifying that discontinuous reception (DRX) has been configured (see Figure 2, paragraphs [0095], [0097], the UE 205 comprise of RRC entity 245 for controlling the DRX operation by configuring one or more parameters such as drx-onDuration Timer and drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL ) ; receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) at an active time of the DRX (see paragraph [0037], if a DRX group is in Active Time , the UE monitors the PDCCH on the serving cells in the DRX group) , the PDCCH including information for requesting one-shot hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback (paragraph [0038], explicitly disclose: “For example, the gNB may send (via PDCCH ) a DCI which indicates the request for One-shot HARQ-ACK feedback to the UE , i.e., requesting the UE report a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook ” ); performing a HARQ feedback corresponding to an identifier (ID) of a first HARQ process among all HARQ processes based on a request for the one-shot HARQ feedback (paragraph [0040], disclose the UE is expected to provide HARQ-ACK information in response to the request for the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook after N symbols from the last symbol of a PDCCH providing the DCI format . Note: As explained earlier in paragraph [0038], Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook refers to said one-shot HARQ-ACK feedback . Paragraph [0038] also disclose the one-shot HARQ-ACK feedback request is originally introduced in order to provide the gNB means to request the HARQ information status information for each of the HARQ processes in case the UE could not report HARQ feedback corresponding to a PDSCH transmission due to LBT failure . Note: Even though the prior art does not clearly recite said ID of a first HARQ process , this feature is inherently thought by the prior art especially since, from paragraph [0038] for example, the one-shot HARQ-ACK feedback request indicates HARQ information status information for each HARQ process ) ; and starting a DRX HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer associated with the first HARQ process (paragraph [0037], disclose, if the PDCCH indicates a DL transmission, then the UE starts the timer drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the corresponding transmission carrying the DL HARQ feedback). As per claim 2: Lohr in view of Lee teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising performing a HARQ feedback for the all HARQ processes including the first HARQ process, wherein the starting the DRX HARQ RTT comprises restarting the DRX HARQ RTT timer (Lohr, see paragraph [0142], UE restarts the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL of an HARQ process upon reception of a One-shot HARQ feedback request not indicating a DL transmission). As per claim 5: Lohr teaches a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system (see paragraph [0038], teaches method of performing one-shot HARQ feedback involving the base station sending DCI to the UE) , the method comprising: transmitting information for configuring discontinuous reception (DRX) to a terminal (see paragraph [0105], disclose if a DRX Command MAC CE or a Long DRX Command MAC CE is received, then the MAC entity stops drx-onDuration Timer and also stops drx-Inactivity Timer) : transmitting a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) to the terminal at an active time of the DRX (see paragraph [0037], if a DRX group is in Active Time , the UE monitors the PDCCH on the serving cells in the DRX group) , the PDCCH including information for requesting one-shot hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback (paragraph [0038], explicitly disclose: “For example, the gNB may send (via PDCCH ) a DCI which indicates the request for One-shot HARQ-ACK feedback to the UE , i.e., requesting the UE report a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook ” ) ; and receiving, from the terminal, a HARQ feedback (see Figure 6, paragraph [0152], UE comprise of transceiver 625 for transmitting a one-shot HARQ-ACK feedback report including HARQ feedback information for each of the plurality of HARQ processes ) corresponding to an identifier (ID) of a first HARQ process among all HARQ processes based on a request for the one-shot HARQ feedback (paragraph [0040], disclose the UE is expected to provide HARQ-ACK information in response to the request for the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook after N symbols from the last symbol of a PDCCH providing the DCI format . Note: Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook refers to said one-shot HARQ-ACK feedback , please see paragraph [0038] . Paragraph [0038] also disclose the one-shot HARQ-ACK feedback request is originally introduced in order to provide the gNB means to request the HARQ information status information for each of the HARQ processes in case the UE could not report HARQ feedback corresponding to a PDSCH transmission due to LBT failure . Note: Even though the prior art does not clearly recite said ID of a first HARQ process , this feature is inherently thought by the prior art especially since, from paragraph [0038] for example, the one-shot HARQ-ACK feedback request indicates HARQ information status information for each HARQ process ) , wherein a DRX HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer associated with the first HARQ process starts (paragraph [0037], disclose, if the PDCCH indicates a DL transmission, then the UE starts the timer drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the corresponding transmission carrying the DL HARQ feedback). As per claim 7: Lohr teaches the method of claim 5, further comprising receiving, from the terminal, a HARQ feedback for the all HARQ processes including the first HARQ process, wherein the DRX HARQ RTT timer restarts (Lohr, see paragraph [0142], UE restarts the drx-HARQ- RTT-TimerDL of an HARQ process upon reception of a One-shot HARQ feedback request not indicating a DL transmission). As per claim 9: Lohr teaches a terminal in a wireless communication system (see Figure 6, user equipment apparatus 600 ) , comprising: a transceiver (see Figure 6, transceiver 625 ) ; and a controller functionally connected to the transceiver (see paragraph [0149], processor 605 receives DCI transmission via the transceiver 625 and thus functionally connected ) , wherein the controller is configured (paragraph [0148], processor 605 controls the user equipment apparatus 600 ) to: identify that discontinuous reception (DRX) has been configured (see Figure 2, paragraphs [0095], [0097], the UE 205 comprise of RRC entity 245 for controlling the DRX operation by configuring one or more parameters such as drx-onDuration Timer and drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL ) ; receive a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) at an active time of the DRX (see paragraph [0037], if a DRX group is in Active Time , the UE monitors the PDCCH on the serving cells in the DRX group) , the PDCCH including information for requesting one-shot hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback (paragraph [0038], explicitly disclose: “For example, the gNB may send (via PDCCH ) a DCI which indicates the request for One-shot HARQ-ACK feedback to the UE , i.e., requesting the UE report a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook ” ) ; perform a HARQ feedback corresponding to an identifier (ID) of a first HARQ process among all HARQ processes based on a request for the one-shot HARQ feedback (paragraph [0040], disclose the UE is expected to provide HARQ-ACK information in response to the request for the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook after N symbols from the last symbol of a PDCCH providing the DCI format . Note: As explained earlier in paragraph [0038], Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook refers to said one-shot HARQ-ACK feedback . Paragraph [0038] also disclose the one-shot HARQ-ACK feedback request is originally introduced in order to provide the gNB means to request the HARQ information status information for each of the HARQ processes in case the UE could not report HARQ feedback corresponding to a PDSCH transmission due to LBT failure . Note: Even though the prior art does not clearly recite said ID of a first HARQ process , this feature is inherently thought by the prior art especially since, from paragraph [0038] for example, the one-shot HARQ-ACK feedback request indicates HARQ information status information for each HARQ process ) ; and start a DRX HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer associated with the first HARQ process (paragraph [0037], disclose, if the PDCCH indicates a DL transmission, then the UE starts the timer drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the corresponding transmission carrying the DL HARQ feedback). Claim 10 is rejected in the same scope as claim 2. As per claim 13: Lohr teaches a base station in a wireless communication system (see Figure 7, network apparatus 700 ) , comprising: a transceiver (see Figure 7, transceiver 725 ) ; and a controller functionally connected to the transceiver (see paragraph [0166], processor 705 is communicatively coupled to memory 710 and transceiver 725 ) , wherein the controller is configured to: transmit information for configuring discontinuous reception (DRX) to a terminal (see Figure 2, paragraphs [0095], [0097], the RAN 210 comprise of RRC entity 245 for controlling the DRX operation by configuring one or more parameters such as drx-onDuration Timer and drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL . Paragraph [0105] also if a DRX Command MAC CE or a Long DRX Command MAC CE is received, then the MAC entity stops drx-onDuration Timer and also stops drx-Inactivity Timer. Therefore, it is evident that the UE receives the DRX command from the RAN) ; transmit a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) to the terminal at an active time of the DRX (see paragraph [0037], if a DRX group is in Active Time , the UE monitors the PDCCH on the serving cells in the DRX group) , the PDCCH including information for requesting one-shot hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback (paragraph [0038], explicitly disclose: “For example, the gNB may send (via PDCCH ) a DCI which indicates the request for One-shot HARQ-ACK feedback to the UE , i.e., requesting the UE report a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook ” ) ; and receive, from the terminal, a HARQ feedback (see Figure 6, paragraph [0152], UE comprise of transceiver 625 for transmitting a one-shot HARQ-ACK feedback report including HARQ feedback information for each of the plurality of HARQ processes ) corresponding to an identifier (ID) of a first HARQ process among all HARQ processes based on a request for the one-shot HARQ feedback (paragraph [0040], disclose the UE is expected to provide HARQ-ACK information in response to the request for the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook after N symbols from the last symbol of a PDCCH providing the DCI format . Note: Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook refers to said one-shot HARQ-ACK feedback , please see paragraph [0038] . Paragraph [0038] also disclose the one-shot HARQ-ACK feedback request is originally introduced in order to provide the gNB means to request the HARQ information status information for each of the HARQ processes in case the UE could not report HARQ feedback corresponding to a PDSCH transmission due to LBT failure . Note: Even though the prior art does not clearly recite said ID of a first HARQ process , this feature is inherently thought by the prior art especially since, from paragraph [0038] for example, the one-shot HARQ-ACK feedback request indicates HARQ information status information for each HARQ process ) , wherein a DRX HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer associated with the first HARQ process starts (paragraph [0037], disclose, if the PDCCH indicates a DL transmission, then the UE starts the timer drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the corresponding transmission carrying the DL HARQ feedback). Claim 15 is rejected in the same scope as claim 2 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA 3. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA 4. Claim s 3, 4, 6, 8, 11, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lohr in view of Ozturk (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0084318) . As per claim 3: Lohr teaches the method of claim 1 with the exception of: wherein the DRX HARQ RTT timer starts at a first symbol after transmission of the HARQ feedback corresponding to the ID of the first HARQ process is completed . Ozturk teaches wherein the DRX HARQ RTT timer starts at a first symbol after transmission of the HARQ feedback corresponding to the ID of the first HARQ process is completed (see paragraph [0082], UE may start or restart a DRX HARQ RTT timer for one of the HARQ processes in a first symbol after transmission of one of the one shot HARQ feedback has completed). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the starting/restarting of the DRX HARQ timer for HARQ processes (as disclosed in Ozturk) into Lohr as a way of preventing the UE from receiving any signals due to the UE sleeping for all processes (please see paragraph [0070] of Ozturk). As per claim 4: Lohr teaches the method of claim 1 with the exception of: further comprising starting a DRX transmission timer associated with the first HARQ process in case that the DRX HARQ RTT timer expires . Ozturk teaches further comprising starting a DRX transmission timer associated with the first HARQ process in case that the DRX HARQ RTT timer expires (see paragraph [0029], the UE starts or restarts the RTT timer for an HARQ process a pre-configured duration after the retransmission timer expires). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the starting the RTT time after expiration of retransmission timer (as disclosed in Ozturk) into Lohr as a way of enabling the network entity to refrain from scheduling data for a period of time for one of the HARQ processes based at least on satisfying a condition, after receiving the one shot HARQ feedback (please see paragraph [0085] of Ozturk). Claim 6 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3. Claim 8 is rejected in the same scope as claim 4. Claim 11 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3. Claim 12 is rejected in the same scope as claim 4. As per claim 14: Lohr teaches the base station of claim 13 with the exception of: wherein the DRX HARQ RTT timer starts at a first symbol after transmission of the HARQ feedback corresponding to the ID of the first HARQ process is completed, and wherein a DRX retransmission timer associated with the first HARQ process starts in case that the DRX HARQ RTT timer expires . Ozturk teaches wherein the DRX HARQ RTT timer starts at a first symbol after transmission of the HARQ feedback corresponding to the ID of the first HARQ process is completed (see paragraph [0082], UE may start or restart a DRX HARQ RTT timer for one of the HARQ processes in a first symbol after transmission of one of the one shot HARQ feedback has completed) , and wherein a DRX retransmission timer associated with the first HARQ process starts in case that the DRX HARQ RTT timer expires (see paragraph [0029], the UE starts or restarts the RTT timer for an HARQ process a pre-configured duration after the retransmission timer expires). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the starting the RTT time after expiration of retransmission timer (as disclosed in Ozturk) into Lohr as a way of enabling the network entity to refrain from scheduling data for a period of time for one of the HARQ processes based at least on satisfying a condition, after receiving the one shot HARQ feedback (please see paragraph [0085] of Ozturk). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PRINCE AKWASI MENSAH whose telephone number is (571)270-7183. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:00am-4:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, MICHAEL THIER can be reached at 571-272-2832. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. PRINCE AKWASI. MENSAH Examiner Art Unit 2474 /PRINCE A MENSAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2474 /Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/722,955 Page 2 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/722,955 Page 3 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/722,955 Page 4 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/722,955 Page 5 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/722,955 Page 6 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/722,955 Page 7 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/722,955 Page 8 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/722,955 Page 9 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/722,955 Page 10 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/722,955 Page 11 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/722,955 Page 12 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/722,955 Page 13 Art Unit: 2474