DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 31, 32 are objected under minor informalities:
Claims 31, 32 recite, non-functional descriptive material limitations, “a non-transitory computer readable medium configured to store instructions…” in lines 1-2.
“A non-transitory computer-readable medium” merely serves as support for data instructions, and the data instruction will not impart/convey a patentable distinction when no functional relationship exists.
In particular, a non-transitory computer readable medium cannot process data instruction alone, and require enabling a computer processor/CPU to process the data instruction in order to impart/convey a patentable distinction of a claim.
As such, the functional language, “executing/processing data instruction stored in a non-transitory computer readable medium by a CPU or a computer processor” adds functional relationship to the clamed invention.
Appropriate correction is required. (see MPEP 2111.05)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the AI session" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the AI session" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 37 recites the limitation “a session registration” which makes the claim indefinite. It’s unclear if “session registration” is performed by the AMF or the SMF. It’s also unclear if “a session registration” refers to “session context creation request”. Examiner will interpret as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 27, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn et al (USPN 20190364463) in view of Shan (USPN 20190222489).
Regarding claim 1, Youn discloses
a method for generating an artificial intelligence session, the method being performed by a terminal device and comprising: (method for generating a session performed by an UE [0149-0153], FIG. 8
sending an artificial intelligence (AI) session establishment request to an access and mobility management function (AMF) device (UE transmits NAS message to AMF, the message including an S-NSSAI, DNN, PDU session type and N1 SM information [0149-0153]
receiving an establishment response returned by the AMF device (receiving NAS message including from AMF in response [0177, 0182, 0186]
Youn does not expressly disclose artificial intelligence (AI) session establishment request; AI session establishment response
Shan discloses artificial intelligence (AI) session establishment request (a network data analytics function (NWDAF) may be used for data collection/analytics and utilize service-based interfaces to communicate [0021, 0022, 0029]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “artificial intelligence (AI) session establishment request” as taught by Shan into Youn’s system with the motivation to substitute UE->AMF session establishment request mechanism of Youn with known network-resident data analytics (AI type) function tied to session management taught by Shan to provide greater capabilities in wireless network to UEs.
Regarding claim 27, Youn discloses “A communication device, comprising a processor and a memory, and the processor, when executes the computer program stored in the memory, causes the device to perform the method according to claim 1” UE, FIG. 16 #100 comprising controller, FIG. 16 #120, and storage unit, FIG. 16 #101, the controller executing methods contained in storage to perform methods of claim 1 [0302-0305]
Youn does not expressly disclose “wherein the memory stores a computer program”
Shan discloses UE comprising memory containing instructions executed by processor [0020, 0092, 0093, 0116]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “wherein the memory stores a computer program” as taught by Shan into Youn’s system with the motivation to enable a UE user to activate process described in claim 1.
Regarding claim 31, Youn discloses “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium” storage unit, FIG. 16 #101
Youn does not expressly disclose “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium configured to store instructions wherein when the instructions are performed, the method according to claims 1 is implemented”
Shan discloses UE comprising memory containing instructions executed by processor [0020, 0092, 0093, 0116]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium configured to store instructions wherein when the instructions are performed, the method according to claims 1 is implemented” as taught by Shan into Youn’s system with the motivation to enable a UE user to activate process described in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Youn discloses “wherein session establishment request comprises at least one of the following information: AI attribute information” request includes an S-NSSAI and a DNN, function as an attribute type
Youn does not expressly disclose “the AI session establishment request comprises at least one of the following information: AI attribute information”
Shan discloses AF-service identifier may be used to identify traffic association with PDU session, AF-service identifier may be an identifier of the service whose request is issued by the AF [0038, 0043]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “the AI session establishment request comprises at least one of the following information: AI attribute information” as taught by Shan into Youn’s system with the motivation to substitute UE->AMF session establishment request mechanism of Youn with known network-resident data analytics (AI type) function tied to session management taught by Shan to provide greater capabilities in wireless network to UEs.
Regarding claim 3, Youn discloses “in response to that the AI session establishment response contains an AI session ID,” PDU session ID may be used to indicate a relationship between AN resources with respect to the UE and the PDU session by AN signaling with respect to the UE [0014, 0181]
Youn does not expressly disclose “calling an AI service corresponding to the AI session ID”
Shan discloses NWDAF-influenced SMF/session framework shows sessions are explicitly used as vehicle for invoking a specific service/analytics function [0029]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “calling an AI service corresponding to the AI session ID” as taught by Shan into Youn’s system with the motivation to implement a session being a dedicated access path to a specific network-resident service.
Claims 4, 6-8, 28, 32, 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (USPN 20230354087) in view of Youn.
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses
a method for generating an artificial intelligence session, the method being performed by an access and mobility management function (AMF) device and comprising: (method for invoking a PDU session service for AI model usage by AMF [0142-0144], FIG.13
receiving an artificial intelligence (AI) session establishment request sent by a terminal device (AMF receives session establishment request containing an identifier of an AI model from UE [0142], FIG. 13 #S501
sending a session context creation request to a session management function (SMF) device (AMF invoke a PDU session service with SMF [0144, 0145], FIG. 13 #S503
receiving a session context creation response returned by the SMF device (AMF receives response from SMF [0152], FIG. 13 #S509
Chen does not expressly disclose “in response to that the AI session meets a preset condition; returning an AI session establishment response to the terminal device”
Youn discloses “in response to that the AI session meets a preset condition” AMF determines if request is a new PDU session/initial request and transmits to SMF [0155-0159]
returning an AI session establishment response to the terminal device (AMF transmits N1 SM information including a PDU session accept message transmitted UE [0182, 0186]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “in response to that the AI session meets a preset condition; returning an AI session establishment response to the terminal device” as taught by Youn into Chen’s system with the motivation to gating condition at AMF so that only valid requests will be forwarded to SMF to reduce signaling.
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses “wherein the AI session establishment request comprises at least one of the following information: an AI session identification ID” session identifier [0054]
Regarding claim 7, Chen does not expressly disclose “wherein the session context creation request comprises at least one of the following information: a permanent identification of a subscriber,”
Youn discloses SM request message includes a subscriber permanent ID [0159]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “wherein the session context creation request comprises at least one of the following information: a permanent identification of a subscriber” as taught by Youn into Chen’s system with the motivation to gating condition at AMF so that only valid requests will be forwarded to SMF to reduce signaling.
Regarding claim 8, Chen does not expressly disclose “in response to that the session context creation response does not contain an AI session ID, releasing a resource associated with the Al session ID”
Youn discloses SMF rejects a UE request through NAS SM signaling (including related SM rejection cause, and reports that the PDU session ID is released to the MAF [0166, 0169]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “in response to that the session context creation response does not contain an AI session ID, releasing a resource associated with the Al session ID” as taught by Youn into Chen’s system with the motivation to gating condition at AMF so that only valid requests will be forwarded to SMF to reduce signaling.
Regarding claim 28, Chen discloses “A communication device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a computer program, and the processor, when executes the computer program stored in the memory, cause the device to perform the method according to claim 4” communication device, FIG. 21 # 900, comprising processor, FIG. 21 #910, executing instructions contained in memory, FIG. 21 #920, to perform operations in claim 4 [0251-0259]
Regarding claim 32, Chen discloses “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium configured to store instructions, wherein when the instructions are performed, the method according to claim 4 is implemented” communication device, FIG. 21 # 900, memory, FIG. 21 #920, comprising instructions to perform operations in claim 4 [0251-0259]
Regarding claim 35, Chen does not expressly disclose “determining the AI session establishment response according to the session context creation response”
Youn discloses the SMF transmits the SM response message to the AMF comprising N1 SM information, the N1 SM information may include a PDU session establishment message [0177, 0184]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “determining the AI session establishment response according to the session context creation response” as taught by Youn into Chen’s system with the motivation to provide confirmation session establishment.
Regarding claim 36, Chen does not expressly disclose “in a case where the session context creation response contains an AI session ID, generating an AI session establishment response containing the Al session ID”
Youn discloses PDU session ID is carried in both the SM response (N1/N2 SM info) and forwarded into the PDU session establishment accept message sent to the UE [0177, 0181-0186]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “in a case where the session context creation response contains an AI session ID, generating an AI session establishment response containing the Al session ID” as taught by Youn into Chen’s system with the motivation to provide confirmation session establishment.
Regarding claim 37, Chen does not expressly disclose “wherein in a case where a session registration is successful, the session context creation response contains an Al session ID corresponding to a session registration response; and in a case where the session registration fails, the session context creation response does not contain the Al session ID corresponding to the session registration response”
Youn discloses an SMF<->UDM subscriber-data exchange gating whether the SMF authenticates/approves the PDU session and rejects with cause if not [0161-0166]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “wherein in a case where a session registration is successful, the session context creation response contains an Al session ID corresponding to a session registration response; and in a case where the session registration fails, the session context creation response does not contain the Al session ID corresponding to the session registration response” as taught by Youn into Chen’s system with the motivation to use AI session ID provide confirmation session establishment.
Claims 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn et al (USPN 20190364463) in view of Chen et al (USPN 20230354087).
Regarding claim 1, Youn discloses
a method for generating an artificial intelligence session, the method being performed by a terminal device and comprising: (method for generating a session performed by an UE [0149-0153], FIG. 8
sending a session establishment request to an access and mobility management function (AMF) device (UE transmits NAS message to AMF, the message including an S-NSSAI, DNN, PDU session type and N1 SM information [0149-0153]
receiving an establishment response returned by the AMF device (receiving NAS message including from AMF in response [0177, 0182, 0186]
Youn does not expressly disclose artificial intelligence (AI) session establishment request; AI session establishment response
Chen discloses artificial intelligence (AI) session establishment request (UE transmits session establishment request message to AMF, the message contains an identifier of an AI model [0142, 0159, 0167-0170], FIGs. 13, 14
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “artificial intelligence (AI) session establishment request” as taught by Chen into Youn’s system with the motivation to enable usage of AI/ML by UE (Chen, paragraphs [0034, 0064].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Qiao et al (USPN 20200413246) FIG. 11
/THAI NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469