CTNF 18/723,032 CTNF 100772 DETAILED ACTION This office action in response to an application filing received June 21, 2024. The preliminary amendment received June 21, 2024 has been entered. The Application Data Sheet received on June 21, 2024 has been considered. Claims 1-15 are cancelled. Claims 16-35 are pending. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement filed June 21, 2024 has been considered. Specification 06-16 AIA Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided. The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains legal phraseology (i.e. disclosure). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 16-17,19-22,24-27,29-32 and 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al., US 20240397395 A1, (hereinafter Cui) in view of R1-2111976 LG_latency_3GPP_TSG_RAN_WG1_Meeting, (hereinafter LG) . Regarding claim 16 and 21, Cui teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system supporting a preconfigured measurement gap, the method comprising ( see ¶ [0019], e.g., method for the UE to request measurement gaps to the serving base station for positioning measurements and for the UE to activate and deactivate the measurement gaps when the serving base station changes the active BWP): transmitting, to a base station, a measurement gap deactivation request for the preconfigured measurement gap to deactivate the preconfigured measurement gap activated for the UE ( see ¶ [0019], ¶ [0027], wherein the UE may request deactivation of the measurement gaps (MGs) using media-access-control control element (MAC CE) signaling to a base station (gNB), and where MGs are activated by the UE when gNB switches a active BWP; see ¶ [0028], wherein gNB may indicate the deactivation of the MGs to the UE using MAC CE signaling); and receiving, from the base station, a measurement gap deactivation command for the preconfigured measurement gap in response to transmission of the measurement gap deactivation request ( see ¶ [0024], ¶ [0028], wherein the UE and the serving gNB coordinate the deactivation of the MGs for the UE during BWP switching; the gNB uses MAC CE signaling to deactivate the measurement gap, in response to a request from the UE), however, it does not explicitly teach deactivation request including an identifier for the preconfigured measurement gap and deactivation command including the identifier for the preconfigured measurement gap. LG teaches, deactivation request including an identifier for the preconfigured measurement gap and deactivation command including the identifier for the preconfigured measurement gap ( see Pg. 2-3, Sec 2.3, e.g., wherein for deactivation of MG, RAN supports pre-configuration of MGs, and MG index (or MG ID) to distinguish configured multiple MGs easily and the information also needs to be provided to request specific MG properly. The MG index (or MG lD) needs to be included in the both MG activation request (UE-initiated) and MG activation (gNB-initiated) respectively; signaling for deactivation is transmitted after activation of MG like using MAC-CE signaling.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified deactivation indication of the MGs of Cui to incorporate the teachings of LG to include deactivation request including an identifier for the preconfigured measurement gap and deactivation command including the identifier for the preconfigured measurement gap. Doing so would facilitate in achieving latency reduction, improved distinguishing of configured Multiple MGs easily and reducing overhead of MG activation as suggested by LG ( see Pg. 2-3, Sec 2.3, Proposal 4 : RAN1 should support the pre-configuration of MGs in terms of latency reduction; see Observation 3, e.g., If pre-configuration of MGs is supported, introducing some information such as MG index (or MG ID) seems necessary to distinguish configured Multiple MGs easily, in addition to reducing the overhead of both MG activation request and MG activation.). Regarding claim 17 and 22, Cui as combined with LG teaches the limitations of Claim 16 and 21. Cui further teaches, wherein each of the measurement gap deactivation request and the measurement gap deactivation command is signaled by a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) ( see ¶ [0027] - ¶ [0028], e.g., The UE may request the activation or deactivation of the measurement gaps using PHY signaling or media-access-control control element (MAC CE) signaling… The serving gNB may indicate the activation or deactivation of the measurement gaps to the UE using PHY signaling or MAC CE signaling.). Regarding claim 19 and 24, Cui as combined with LG teaches the limitations of Claim 16 and 21. Cui further teaches, wherein the preconfigured measurement gap is used for a positioning measurement ( see ¶ [0024], e.g., Disclosed are methods for the UE and the serving gNB to coordinate the activation and deactivation of measurement gaps for performing positioning measurements using target PRS during BWP switching when the target PRS may be contained within or cast outside of the active BWP.). Regarding claim 20 and 25, Cui as combined with LG teaches the limitations of Claim 16 and 21. Cui further teaches, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, configuration information for the preconfigured measurement gap ( see ¶ [0104], e.g., At operation 1403 , the UE receives configuration information from the serving base station to configure measurement gaps for the positioning measurements.); transmitting, to the base station, a measurement gap activation request for the preconfigured measurement gap to activate the preconfigured measurement gap for the UE ( see ¶ [0019], ¶ [0027], wherein the UE may request activation of the measurement gaps (MGs) using media-access-control control element (MAC CE) signaling to a base station (gNB), and if the active BWP does not contain the target PRS; see ¶ [0028], wherein gNB may indicate the activation of the MGs to the UE using MAC CE signaling; see ¶ [0105], e.g., At operation 1405 , the UE transmits to the serving base station an activation signal for the measurement gaps. The UE may transmit the activation signal when the active BWP does not contain the target PRS.); and receiving, from the base station, a measurement gap activation command for the preconfigured measurement gap in response to transmission of the measurement gap activation request ( see ¶ [0024], ¶ [0028], wherein the UE and the serving gNB coordinate the activation of the MGs for the UE during BWP switching; gNB may indicate the activation of the MGs to the UE using MAC CE signaling; see ¶ [0106], e.g., At operation 1407 , the UE receives target PRS to perform the positioning measurement during the measurement gaps after the UE transmits the activation signal for the measurement gaps.). however, it does not explicitly teach activation request including an identifier for the preconfigured measurement gap and activation command including the identifier for the preconfigured measurement gap. LG teaches, activation request including an identifier for the preconfigured measurement gap and activation command including the identifier for the preconfigured measurement gap ( see Pg. 2-3, Sec 2.3, e.g., wherein for activation of MG, RAN supports pre-configuration of MGs, and MG index (or MG ID) to distinguish configured multiple MGs easily and the information also needs to be provided to request specific MG properly. The MG index (or MG lD) needs to be included in the both MG activation request (UE-initiated) and MG activation (gNB-initiated) respectively.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified activation indication of the MGs of Cui to incorporate the teachings of LG to include activation request including an identifier for the preconfigured measurement gap and activation command including the identifier for the preconfigured measurement gap. Doing so would facilitate in achieving latency reduction, improved distinguishing of configured Multiple MGs easily and reducing overhead of MG activation as suggested by LG ( see Pg. 2-3, Sec 2.3, Proposal 4 : RAN1 should support the pre-configuration of MGs in terms of latency reduction; see Observation 3, e.g., If pre-configuration of MGs is supported, introducing some information such as MG index (or MG ID) seems necessary to distinguish configured Multiple MGs easily, in addition to reducing the overhead of both MG activation request and MG activation. signaling for activation of MG is transmitted using MAC-CE signaling). Regarding claim 26 and 31, Cui teaches a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system supporting a preconfigured measurement gap, the method comprising ( see ¶ [0019], e.g., method for the UE to request measurement gaps to the serving base station for positioning measurements and for the UE to activate and deactivate the measurement gaps when the serving base station changes the active BWP): receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a measurement gap deactivation request for the preconfigured measurement gap to deactivate the preconfigured measurement gap activated for the UE ( see ¶ [0019], ¶ [0027], wherein the UE may request deactivation of the measurement gaps (MGs) using media-access-control control element (MAC CE) signaling to a base station (gNB), and where MGs are activated by the UE when gNB switches a active BWP; see ¶ [0028], wherein gNB may indicate the deactivation of the MGs to the UE using MAC CE signaling); and transmitting, to the UE, a measurement gap deactivation command for the preconfigured measurement gap in response to transmission of the measurement gap deactivation request ( see ¶ [0024], ¶ [0028], wherein the UE and the serving gNB coordinate the deactivation of the MGs for the UE during BWP switching; the gNB uses MAC CE signaling to deactivate the measurement gap, in response to a request from the UE), however, it does not explicitly teach deactivation request including an identifier for the preconfigured measurement gap and deactivation command including the identifier for the preconfigured measurement gap. LG teaches, deactivation request including an identifier for the preconfigured measurement gap and deactivation command including the identifier for the preconfigured measurement gap ( see Pg. 2-3, Sec 2.3, e.g., wherein for deactivation of MG, RAN supports pre-configuration of MGs, and MG index (or MG ID) to distinguish configured multiple MGs easily and the information also needs to be provided to request specific MG properly. The MG index (or MG lD) needs to be included in the both MG activation request (UE-initiated) and MG activation (gNB-initiated) respectively; signaling for deactivation is transmitted after activation of MG like using MAC-CE signaling.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified deactivation indication of the MGs of Cui to incorporate the teachings of LG to include deactivation request including an identifier for the preconfigured measurement gap and deactivation command including the identifier for the preconfigured measurement gap. Doing so would facilitate in achieving latency reduction, improved distinguishing of configured Multiple MGs easily and reducing overhead of MG activation as suggested by LG ( see Pg. 2-3, Sec 2.3, Proposal 4 : RAN1 should support the pre-configuration of MGs in terms of latency reduction; see Observation 3, e.g., If pre-configuration of MGs is supported, introducing some information such as MG index (or MG ID) seems necessary to distinguish configured Multiple MGs easily, in addition to reducing the overhead of both MG activation request and MG activation.). Regarding claim 27 and 32, Cui as combined with LG teaches the limitations of Claim 26 and 31. Cui further teaches, wherein each of the measurement gap deactivation request and the measurement gap deactivation command is signaled by a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) ( see ¶ [0027] - ¶ [0028], e.g., The UE may request the activation or deactivation of the measurement gaps using PHY signaling or media-access-control control element (MAC CE) signaling… The serving gNB may indicate the activation or deactivation of the measurement gaps to the UE using PHY signaling or MAC CE signaling.). Regarding claim 29 and 34, Cui as combined with LG teaches the limitations of Claim 26 and 31. Cui further teaches, wherein the preconfigured measurement gap is used for a positioning measurement ( see ¶ [0024], e.g., Disclosed are methods for the UE and the serving gNB to coordinate the activation and deactivation of measurement gaps for performing positioning measurements using target PRS during BWP switching when the target PRS may be contained within or cast outside of the active BWP.). Regarding claim 30 and 35, Cui as combined with LG teaches the limitations of Claim 26 and 31. Cui further teaches, further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, configuration information for the preconfigured measurement gap ( see ¶ [0104], e.g., At operation 1403 , the UE receives configuration information from the serving base station to configure measurement gaps for the positioning measurements.); receiving, from the UE, a measurement gap activation request for the preconfigured measurement gap to activate the preconfigured measurement gap for the UE ( see ¶ [0019], ¶ [0027], wherein the UE may request activation of the measurement gaps (MGs) using media-access-control control element (MAC CE) signaling to a base station (gNB), and if the active BWP does not contain the target PRS; see ¶ [0028], wherein gNB may indicate the activation of the MGs to the UE using MAC CE signaling; see ¶ [0105], e.g., At operation 1405 , the UE transmits to the serving base station an activation signal for the measurement gaps. The UE may transmit the activation signal when the active BWP does not contain the target PRS.); and transmitting, to the UE, a measurement gap activation command for the preconfigured measurement gap in response to receiving the measurement gap activation request ( see ¶ [0024], ¶ [0028], wherein the UE and the serving gNB coordinate the activation of the MGs for the UE during BWP switching; gNB may indicate the activation of the MGs to the UE using MAC CE signaling; see ¶ [0106], e.g., At operation 1407 , the UE receives target PRS to perform the positioning measurement during the measurement gaps after the UE transmits the activation signal for the measurement gaps). however, it does not explicitly teach activation request including an identifier for the preconfigured measurement gap and activation command including the identifier for the preconfigured measurement gap. LG teaches, activation request including an identifier for the preconfigured measurement gap and activation command including the identifier for the preconfigured measurement gap ( see Pg. 2-3, Sec 2.3, e.g., wherein for activation of MG, RAN supports pre-configuration of MGs, and MG index (or MG ID) to distinguish configured multiple MGs easily and the information also needs to be provided to request specific MG properly. The MG index (or MG lD) needs to be included in the both MG activation request (UE-initiated) and MG activation (gNB-initiated) respectively.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified activation indication of the MGs of Cui to incorporate the teachings of LG to include activation request including an identifier for the preconfigured measurement gap and activation command including the identifier for the preconfigured measurement gap. Doing so would facilitate in achieving latency reduction, improved distinguishing of configured Multiple MGs easily and reducing overhead of MG activation as suggested by LG ( see Pg. 2-3, Sec 2.3, Proposal 4 : RAN1 should support the pre-configuration of MGs in terms of latency reduction; see Observation 3, e.g., If pre-configuration of MGs is supported, introducing some information such as MG index (or MG ID) seems necessary to distinguish configured Multiple MGs easily, in addition to reducing the overhead of both MG activation request and MG activation. signaling for activation of MG is transmitted using MAC-CE signaling) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 18, 23, 28 and 33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20220408291 A1 issued to HE et al. US 20240031091 A1 issued to WANG Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to POONAM SHARMA whose telephone number is (571)272-6579. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru 8:30-5:30 pm, ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kevin Bates can be reached at (571) 272-3980. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /POONAM SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 2472 /KEVIN T BATES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/723,032 Page 2 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/723,032 Page 3 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/723,032 Page 4 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/723,032 Page 5 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/723,032 Page 6 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/723,032 Page 7 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/723,032 Page 8 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/723,032 Page 9 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/723,032 Page 10 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/723,032 Page 11 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/723,032 Page 12 Art Unit: 2472