DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 recites “the transfer of playback media or call audio” which is lacking antecedent basis. For purposes of this examination, the examiner will interpret the limitation as “a transfer of playback media or call audio”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 recites “a suitable processor” then goes on to state “the processor”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for “the processor”. For purposes of this examination, the examiner will interpret it as “the suitable processor”.
Claims 17 and 18 are each claimed to be dependent on itself. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nallatamby et al. (US 2022/0210853), hereinafter “Nalla”.
Claim 1
Nalla teaches an end device that is a first end device ([0046] According to a fourth object of the disclosure, a vehicle infotainment system for managing the routing of audio data is disclosed, said system comprising: [0047] an audio data routing device according to the third object of the disclosure; [0060] An example of vehicle infotainment system is a car infotainment system, e.g., a master speaker of a sound system in a car which is configured to manage the routing of audio data in general. Such an infotainment system allows outputting audio on multiple destination devices.), comprising:
a first communications channel for coupling to a source device for the transfer of playback media or call audio ([0057] In one embodiment, at least one audio transmitting device comprises a source which is wirelessly connected to the audio routing device, such as a smartphone or a Bluetooth headset with an integrated microphone. [0058] In one embodiment, at least one audio transmitting device comprises a Bluetooth source device or a Bluetooth audio gateway. [0155] Specifically, the audio stream can be established using a Bluetooth audio link between the audio routing device and a Bluetooth enabled device, such as a smartphone. [0180] For instance, the voice communication link is established between a smartphone, used as an audio gateway, and a hands free unit, used as the audio routing device. This allows establishing a one-to-many voice communication, e.g., using a voice communication link when a user receives a phone-call on his/her smartphone.); and
a second communications channel for coupling to a second end device, wherein the first end device communicates with the second end device on the second communications channel to exchange control information ([0161], communication link between the audio data routing device and the audio transmitting device is implemented.),
to influence operation between the second end device and the source device for the transfer of playback media or call audio between the second end device and the source device ([0173], Each smartphone then streams an audio content using an established communication link with the master device M, which in turn routes it to a selected corresponding multimedia device(s); [0176] For instance, the driver of the car who receives a voice call on his/her smartphone S1 may forward or share a voice communication to any of the passengers of the car so that said passengers may participate in the conversation, or only some of them. [0179] As illustrated on FIGS. 3, 4 and 5, said voice communication link may be established using a Hands-Free Protocol, HFP, used for transmitting voice communication data rather than an A2DP protocol for streaming audio data. See also [0180] For instance, the voice communication link is established between a smartphone, used as an audio gateway, and a hands free unit, used as the audio routing device. This allows establishing a one-to-many voice communication, e.g., using a voice communication link when a user receives a phone-call on his/her smartphone. [0181] For instance, a user may want to broadcast a phone call to other devices, e.g. the driver of a car receiving a phone call on his smartphone may want to broadcast a phone call from his/her smartphone to a hands-free unit or to a headset which belongs to another passenger of the car in order to not be disturbed while driving. See also [0095] According to other embodiments, other profiles can be used to carry out the method described in the present disclosure. For instance, Hands-Free Profile, HFP, and Headset Profile, HSP, are two types of profiles based on existing Bluetooth profiles, which define protocols and procedures for exchanging voice communication data between a source device and a sink device. For instance, an HPF link can be used for a hands-free kit communicating with a mobile phone in the car. An HSP link can provide support for Bluetooth headsets to be used with mobile phones and gaming consoles. Bluetooth headsets can implement both Hands-Free Profile and Headset Profile so as to allow for extra features in HFP, for use with a mobile phone, such as call waiting and voice dialing.).
Claim 2
Nalla teaches the end device of claim 1 wherein the first end device is one of a vehicle audio system and a wearable audio device, and the second end device is the other of a vehicle audio system and a wearable audio device ([0060] An example of vehicle infotainment system is a car infotainment system, e.g., a master speaker of a sound system in a car which is configured to manage the routing of audio data in general. Such an infotainment system allows outputting audio on multiple destination devices. [0052] In one embodiment, at least one Bluetooth enabled device is in a group comprising: a smartphone, a Bluetooth speaker, a Bluetooth headset, a computer, a tablet and a video game console. [0167], headset, an ear bud, or a telephone receiver is here within the meaning of an audio transmitting device according to the present disclosure.).
Claim 3
Nalla teaches the end device of claim 1 wherein the control information to influence operation between the second end device and the source device is configured to include one or more of answering a call, terminating a call, switching playback media between the first and second end devices, adjusting volume of the playback media, and muting a microphone ([0222] The audio data routing device then routes the Bluetooth audio stream from the Bluetooth enabled device S1 and/or S2 to the selected destination devices during step 807. [0223] According to one embodiment, steps 801 to 807 are carried out simultaneously to an ongoing existing Bluetooth audio stream between a Bluetooth enabled device S1 and/or S2 and the audio data routing device M.).
Claim 4
Nalla teaches the end device of claim 1 wherein the first end device includes a user configuration setting that indicates whether a user input at the first end device should influence the operation between the second end device and the source device, or that the user input should influence operation between the first end device and the second end device ([0123], This selection can be performed automatically, for instance by programming M so that a predetermined audio transmitting device is chosen when a given Bluetooth enabled device connects to M, e.g. by sending a communication request. This selection can also be performed manually, for instance by requesting a user of an audio transmitting device to interact with M through an interface of M and/or of the Bluetooth enabled device.).
Claim 5
Nalla teaches the end device of claim 4 wherein the user configuration setting is a persistent setting, which is a user selected default setting, being stored and associated with either of the first or second end device ([0199] The system 1000 may also comprise a database 1010 for storing data resulting from the method according to the invention, in particular for storing an information related to a communication request received from a Bluetooth slave device, to a selection of multimedia devices, to a communication link between said Bluetooth slave device and said multimedia devices, to a localization of a multimedia device, to a selection signal of the multimedia devices or to a response signal comprising an indication of a selected multimedia device. [0200] The system 1000 comprises an input interface 1006, which is configured to acquire a communication request from a Bluetooth device.).
Claims 7 and 13
These claims recite broader limitations than those provided in claim 1, and therefore are rejected similar to reasoning provided in claim 1. These claims lack limitations regarding the communication channel between an end device and a source device.
Claims 8-11
These claims recite substantially the same limitations as those provided in claims 2-5 above respectively, and therefore they are rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 14-17
These claims recite substantially the same limitations as those provided in claims 2-5 above respectively, and therefore they are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nallatamby et al. (US 2022/0210853) , hereinafter “Nalla” in view of Boesen et al. (US 2017/0153636).
Claim 6
Nalla discloses in [0103], available audio transmitting devices are, typically, nearby devices in the range of being accessed by M through a wireless connection. The available audio transmitting devices can also be predetermined devices. However, Nalla does not explicitly detail the end device further comprising a plurality of user selected default settings, wherein each of the user selected default settings dependent upon at least one of an identified one of a plurality of users, an identified one of a plurality of second end devices, and an identified presence of the one of the plurality of second end devices.
Boesen teaches [0053] The system is configured to determine a role of a user of the wearable device within the vehicle. The role of the user may be determined either by either the wearable device or the vehicle. The role may be that of a driver or a passenger or based on seat location within the vehicle. Access rights may be assigned to the user based on their role. The system may also be configured to determine an identity of the user The access rights may be assigned to take into account both the role of the user and the identity of the users and may also take into account other individuals within the vehicle when making this determination. The vehicle may be configured to automatically adjust one or more user settings based on the identity of the user and the role of the user.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate role-based user settings as taught by Boesen with the audio routing system of Nalla, because doing so would have provided users access rights based on roles in the vehicle. Data from the wearable device(s) may be used by any electronic control modules associated with the vehicle network to provide input to be used in any number of different decision-making processes. Similarly, commands may be given from the user to the vehicle using one or more wearable devices such as an earpiece ([0099] Boesen).
Claims 12 and 18
These claims recite substantially the same limitations as those provided in claim 6 above, and therefore they are rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/THOMAS H MAUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692