Claims 1-15 are pending in the application. Claims 5, and 12-15 have been withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. Claims 1-4, and 6-11 are rejected.
The 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn in view of the present amendment and response.
Other rejections have been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 2011/0165363 to Wolf et al. (hereinafter “Wolf”).
Wolf discloses a planar structural element 30 comprising multiple elongated foamed elements arranged next to one another in a plane, and bonded to one another (abstract, and figure 6). Each elongated foamed element has a rectangular shape (paragraph 23). The planar structural element is made by cutting a foam block 5 which is comprised of multiple identical foam bodies 7 adhered to each other by weld seam 23. Each foam body is made of polypropylene foam and prepared by extrusion process (paragraphs 12 and 15). Wolf also states that the cutting is perpendicular to the top surface and the bottom surface of the foamed block (figure 6). The foam block 5 has a top surface, a bottom surface and side surfaces having a plurality of recesses 45. The planar structural element, as a portion of the foam block, has a top surface 16 having multiple recesses incorporated therein; and a side surface which is a portion of the top surface of the foam block. The elongated foamed elements in the planar structural element are turned sideways and bonded together to form a core layer having two major surfaces suitable for attachment to two facing materials, thereby forming a sandwich composite as shown in figure 2.
Wolf does not explicitly disclose the planar structural element having a compression stress at yield in a direction perpendicular to the cutting direction of at least 100 kPa as determined by ISO 844 (2014).
However, it appears that the planar structural element meets all structural limitations and chemistry required by the claim. Wolf discloses a planar structural element 30 comprising multiple elongated foamed elements arranged next to one another in a plane, and bonded to one another (abstract, and figure 6). Each elongated foamed element has a rectangular shape (paragraph 23). The planar structural element is made by cutting a foam block 5 which is comprised of multiple identical foam bodies 7 adhered to each other by weld seam 23. Each foam body is made of polypropylene foam and prepared by extrusion process (paragraphs 12 and 15). Wolf also states that the cutting is perpendicular to the top surface and the bottom surface of the foamed block (figure 6). The foam block 5 has a top surface, a bottom surface and side surfaces having a plurality of recesses 45. The planar structural element, as a portion of the foam block, has a top surface 16 having multiple recesses incorporated therein; and a side surface which is a portion of the top surface of the foam block. The elongated foamed elements in the planar structural element are turned sideways and bonded together to form a core layer having two major surfaces suitable for attachment to two facing materials, thereby forming a sandwich composite as shown in figure 2.
Therefore, the examiner takes the position that the compression stress of the foam bodies at yield in a direction perpendicular to the cutting direction of at least 100 kPa as determined by ISO 844 (2014) would be present as like material has like property. This is in line with In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) which holds that if the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the claimed properties or functions will be presumed to be inherent. The burden is shifted to the applicant to show unobvious differences between the claimed product and the prior art product.
As to claim 2, Wolf discloses that the elongated foamed bodies are made by cutting at least one foamed sheet in the direction transverse to the extrusion direction (figure 6).
As to claim 4, Wolf discloses that the foamed sheet is prepared by a process comprising the sequential steps of: providing a polymer composition, adding a blowing agent to the polymer composition, subjecting a mixture of the polymer composition and the blowing agent to a foam extrusion process to form the foamed sheet, and stretching the foamed sheet in at least one direction (paragraphs 15 and 41).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2023/0227640 to Tynys et al. (hereinafter “Tynys”).
Wolf does not explicitly disclose the foam sheet obtained from a polymer composition comprising a high melt strength polypropylene (HMS-PP) and its MS greater than 30 cN in accordance with ISO 16790:2005 at a temperature of 200oC, using a cylindrical capillary having a length of 20 mm and a width of 2 mm, a starting velocity vO of 9.8 mm/s and an acceleration of 6 mm/s2.
Tynys, however, discloses a foamed sheet obtained from a polymer composition comprising an HMS-PP and its MS of 25-50 cN in accordance with ISO 16790:2005 (abstract; and paragraphs 13-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an HMS-PP disclosed in Tynys for the polymer composition disclosed in Wolf motivated by the desire to obtain improved thermal insulation properties and excellent bending resistance.
Claim 6, 7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 6,984,445 to Yamagata et al. (hereinafter “Yamagata”).
As to claims 6 and 7, Wolf discloses a planar structural element 30 comprising multiple elongated foamed elements arranged next to one another in a plane, and bonded to one another (abstract, and figure 6). Each elongated foamed element has a rectangular shape (paragraph 23). The planar structural element is made by cutting a foam block 5 which is comprised of multiple identical foam bodies 7 adhered to each other by weld seam 23. Each foam body is made of polypropylene foam and prepared by extrusion process (paragraphs 12 and 15). Wolf also states that the cutting is perpendicular to the top surface and the bottom surface of the foamed block (figure 6). The foam block 5 has a top surface, a bottom surface and side surfaces having a plurality of recesses 45. The planar structural element, as a portion of the foam block, has a top surface 16 having multiple recesses incorporated therein; and a side surface which is a portion of the top surface of the foam block. The elongated foamed elements in the planar structural element are turned sideways and bonded together to form a core layer having two major surfaces suitable for attachment to two facing materials, thereby forming a sandwich composite as shown in figure 2.
Wolf also discloses a composite material 1 comprising a planar structural element 11, and first and second cover layers 2, 3 provided on a first and a second side of the planar structural element, respectively (figure 2). The first and second cover layers are made of a glass fiber reinforced thermoplastic material (paragraph 78).
Wolf does not explicitly disclose the first cover layer is made of a first composition comprising polypropylene and optionally reinforcement fibers wherein the first composition has a density of at least 0.903 g/cc.
Yamagata, however, discloses a multilayer sheet comprising a thermoplastic resin foam sheet, a reinforcing sheet layered on integrated with at least one side of the thermoplastic resin foam sheet (abstract). The thermoplastic resin foam sheet is directly bonded to the reinforcing sheet without an adhesive layer (column 17, lines1-10). The reinforcing sheet is obtained from a non-woven fabric comprising non-meltable fibers interwound with one another and said non-meltable fibers bound together with a thermoplastic resin (abstract). The thermoplastic resin foam sheet is a polypropylene foam (column 29, lines 40-55). The reinforcing sheet comprises long glass fibers and polypropylene with a mixing ratio of 70:30 (column 27, lines 10-20). Given that the densities of glass fiber and polypropylene of greater than 1 g/cc and 0.9 g/cc, respectively (column 25, lines 20-25), the density of the reinforcing sheet should be greater than 0.9 g/cc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the reinforcing sheet disclosed in Yamagata for the cover layer disclosed in Wolf motivated by the desire to provide excellent bending strength, compressive strength, and dimensional stability.
As to claim 9, Wolf discloses that the weld seams between the foam bodies of the planar structural element are present in the form of dense plastic material layers that are pore free (paragraph 59). This is a clear indication that the weld seams have a density greater than 1g/cc.
As to claims 10 and 11, Wolf discloses that the composite material is useful as a wall panel or a floor panel for a building or a transportation vehicle (paragraph 66).
Claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf in view of WO 2020/229410 or US 2022/0242068 to MV et al. (hereinafter “MV”).
As to claims 6 and 8, Wolf discloses a planar structural element 30 comprising multiple elongated foamed elements arranged next to one another in a plane, and bonded to one another (abstract, and figure 6). Each elongated foamed element has a rectangular shape (paragraph 23). The planar structural element is made by cutting a foam block 5 which is comprised of multiple identical foam bodies 7 adhered to each other by weld seam 23. Each foam body is made of polypropylene foam and prepared by extrusion process (paragraphs 12 and 15). Wolf also states that the cutting is perpendicular to the top surface and the bottom surface of the foamed block (figure 6). The foam block 5 has a top surface, a bottom surface and side surfaces having a plurality of recesses 45. The planar structural element, as a portion of the foam block, has a top surface 16 having multiple recesses incorporated therein; and a side surface which is a portion of the top surface of the foam block. The elongated foamed elements in the planar structural element are turned sideways and bonded together to form a core layer having two major surfaces suitable for attachment to two facing materials, thereby forming a sandwich composite as shown in figure 2.
Wolf also discloses a composite material 1 comprising a planar structural element 11, and first and second cover layers 2, 3 provided on a first and a second side of the planar structural element, respectively (figure 2). The first and second cover layers are made of a glass fiber reinforced thermoplastic material (paragraph 78).
Wolf does not explicitly disclose the first cover layer is made of a first composition comprising polypropylene and fibers wherein the first composition has a density of at least 0.903 g/cc, wherein the first cover layer is in the form of a continuous glass fiber reinforced tape.
MV, however, discloses a glass fiber reinforced tape obtained from a composition comprising 10-70 wt% of continuous glass fibers impregnated with 30-90 wt% of a polypropylene composition (abstract; and paragraphs 66, 92, 97 and 128). Given that the densities of glass fiber and polypropylene of greater than 1 g/cc, and 0.9 g/cc, respectively (column 25, lines 20-25), the density of the glass fiber reinforced tape should be greater than 0.9 g/cc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a continuous glass fiber reinforced tape disclosed in MV for the cover layer disclosed in Wolf motivated by the desire to provide excellent mechanical strength.
As to claim 7, Wolf discloses that the planar structural element is directly bonded to the first cover layer without an adhesive (paragraph 65).
As to claim 9, Wolf discloses that the weld seams between the foam bodies of the planar structural element are present in the form of dense plastic material layers that are pore free (paragraph 59). This is a clear indication that the weld seams have a density greater than 1g/cc.
As to claims 10 and 11, Wolf discloses that the composite material is useful as a wall panel or a floor panel for a building or a transportation vehicle (paragraph 66).
Response to Arguments
Applicant alleges that Wolf fails to teach the body segments are turned sideways bonding the top and bottom surfaces of the foam bodies to produce web structure.
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Wolf discloses a planar structural element 30 comprising multiple elongated foamed elements arranged next to one another in a plane, and bonded to one another (abstract, and figure 6). Each elongated foamed element has a rectangular shape (paragraph 23). The planar structural element is made by cutting a foam block 5 which is comprised of multiple identical foam bodies 7 adhered to each other by weld seam 23. Each foam body is made of polypropylene foam and prepared by extrusion process (paragraphs 12 and 15). Wolf also states that the cutting is perpendicular to the top surface and the bottom surface of the foamed block (figure 6). The foam block 5 has a top surface, a bottom surface and side surfaces having a plurality of recesses 45. The planar structural element, as a portion of the foam block, has a top surface 16 having multiple recesses incorporated therein; and a side surface which is a portion of the top surface of the foam block. The elongated foamed elements in the planar structural element are turned sideways and bonded together to form a core layer having two major surfaces suitable for attachment to two facing materials, thereby forming a sandwich composite as shown in figure 2.
Accordingly, the rejections over Wolf taken alone and further in view of Tynys, Yamagata and MV have been maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, and 6-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 19/130,640 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present invention are anticipated by those set forth in the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-4, and 6-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18/723,124 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present invention are anticipated by those set forth in the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the nonstatutory double patenting rejections. Therefore, the nonstatutory double patenting rejections over Application Nos. 18/723,124 and 19/130,640 have been maintained until submission of a terminal disclaimer.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Hai Vo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788