DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract is objected to because it exceeds 150 words and contains legal phraseology and implied phrases.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 objected to because of the following informalities: the term “MUX” is used without first clarify it stand for “multiplexer”. Appropriate correction is required, such as, “a multiplexer (MUX) device.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-14, and 16-18 and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "to set an operating mode" in line 5 of the claim. The same claim previously recites “an operating mode” in line 3. It is unclear if the operating modes are the same or different operating modes. Examiner believes these to be the same operating modes and will be examined as such. Examiner recommends amending the claim to recite “to set the operating mode” or an equivalent thereof.
Claims 8-10 recite the limitation "the at least one valve" in lines 2, 5, and 7 of the claims, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as claims 8-10 nor claim 1 recite “at least one valve.” Examiner believes this to be equivalent to the at least one valve as recited in claim 7 and will be examined as such. Examiner recommends amending the claims to depend on claim 7 or an equivalent thereof.
Claim 14 recites the limitations "the first connecting element" and “the second connecting element” in lines 2-3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as neither a first nor second connecting element are previously in claim 14 or claim 1 from which claim 14 is dependent. Examiner believes these to be the same first and second connecting elements as recited in claims 12 and 13, respectively, and will be examined as such. Examiner recommends amending the claim to recite "a first connecting element" and “a second connecting element” on an equivalent thereof.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "of the at least one fourth connector" in lines 6-7 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 17 nor claim 1 from which claim 17 depends, recite at least one fourth connector. Examiner believes this to be the same fourth connector as recited in claim 4 and will be examined as such. Examiner recommends amending the claim to depend on claim 4 or an equivalent thereof.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the AquaWIT device" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as no AquaWIT device is previously recited. Examiner is examining this to be a filter integrity testing device and will be examined as such. Examiner recommends amending the claim to recite “a filter integrity testing device” or an equivalent thereof.
Claims 6, 9-10, 12-13, and 16-18 contain the exemplary phrase “in particular” before providing an example within the claim. Exemplary phrases render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). The following are a list of the relevant claims and lines containing the exemplary language “in particular.” Examiner recommends amending the claims to not include exemplary language, to positively recite the structure/feature, or an equivalent thereof. Examiner will examine under the broadest reasonable interpretation wherein the specifics of the exemplary language are not considered limitations of the claimed invention.
Claim 6: lines 3-4 (one example), line 12 (one example)
Claim 9: line 5 (one example)
Claim 10: line 7 (one example)
Claim 12: line 4 (one example)
Claim 13: line 4 (one example)
Claim 16: line 4 (one example)
Claim 17: line 4 (one example)
Claim 18: line 3 (two examples)
Claims 7, 9, and 11 contain the exemplary phrase “preferably” (line 3, line 3, and line 5 of the claims, respectively) before providing an example within the claim. Exemplary phrases render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Examiner recommends amending the claims to not include exemplary language, to positively recite the structure/feature, or an equivalent thereof. Examiner will examine under the broadest reasonable interpretation wherein the specifics of the exemplary language are not considered limitations of the claimed invention.
Claim 18 contains the trademark/trade name “AquaWIT”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a media supply filter test device and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dahlberg, et. al. (US 20110265820 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dahlberg teaches an apparatus and process for cleaning filter testing apparatuses controlled by a computer program (Abstract). Dahlberg teaches a test apparatus 1 (media supply filter test device) for testing filters 5 comprises a series of external connections 21, 23, 25, 27, 29 (Fig. 1). Dahlberg teaches test apparatus 1 is fluidically connected to a cleaning apparatus 3 (a coupling device) through any one of the external connections of the test apparatus (par. 0095). Cleaning apparatus 3, as seen in the embodiment depicted in Figure 5, comprises a series of external connections and valves (Fig. 5) (at least one first connector, at least one second connector, at least one third connector, and a valve device).
Specifically, cleaning apparatus 3 is fluidically connected to test apparatus 1 through connection 75 of cleaning apparatus 3 to connection 23 of test apparatus 1 (see upper leftmost circle in provided Fig. 5 below) and through an unlabeled connection of cleaning apparatus 3 to connection 29 of the test device (see lower leftmost circle in provided Fig. 5 below) (the at least one first connector is adapted to fluidically connect a media supply filter test device to the coupling device) with additional discharge connections 97a-d. Dalberg teaches additional fluidic connections 57b, 59b (see lowest circle in provided Fig. 5 below) wherein cleaning apparatus 3 fluidically connects a secondary container 61b (capable of holding, sending, and receiving fluids) (multiplier device) to test apparatus 1, see lines 79, 73 (Fig. 5) (the at least one second connector is adapted to fluidically connect a multiplier device to the coupling device). Dahlberg teaches cleaning apparatus 3 comprises hot steam connection 122 connected to a hot steam supply 125 that travels through the apparatuses through air supply lines 79 (Fig. 5; par. 0137-0138) (the at least one third connector is configured as a hot steam connector).
Dahlberg teaches cleaning apparatus 3 comprises a series of valves (valve device). Hot steam switching valve 120 is one of the series of valves that connects hot steam connection 122 (third connector) to connector 59b (second connector) and unlabeled connector (so connector 29) (first connector) through lines 79 (Fig. 5, par. 0137-0138) (the at least one first connector, the at least one second connector, and the at least one third connector are flow connected to the valve device). It is understood that when hot steam valve 120 is opened (a first operating mode) hot steam is supplied to test apparatus 1 and secondary container 61b through associated connections and line 79 of cleaning apparatus 3 (Fig. 5, par. 0137-0138) wherein the steam is used for sanitizing the connect devices (par. 0031) (the valve device is adapted to connect, in a first operating mode, at least one third connector of the at least one third connector fluidically simultaneously to at least one first connector of the at least one first connector and to at least one second connector of the at least one second connector, so that the media supply filter test device connected to the coupling device and the multiplier device connected to the coupling device can be sanitized simultaneously by means of the hot steam supplied through the at least one third connector).
Examiner notes a media supply filter test device and a multiplier device are not positively recited structures of the coupling device but are devices that the coupling device works on/with. Therefore, the coupling device of the prior art does not need to be connected specifically to a media supply filter test device and a multiplier device, but instead to fluid lines as a media supply filter test device transfers fluid via a fluid line to a multiplier device.
Regarding claim 2, Dahlberg teaches, as outlined in claim 1 above, hot steam valve 120 of cleaning apparatus 3 can be opened or closed (a second operating mode); when closed, steam no longer enters and moves through cleaning apparatus 3 by cutting off hot steam connection 122, and by association test apparatus 1 and secondary container 61b (Fig. 5, par. 0137-0138) (wherein the valve device is adapted to fluidically connect at least one first connector of the at least one first connector and at least one second connector of the at least one second connector in a second operating mode and to fluidically separate each of them from the at least one third connector). As seen in Figure 5, fluid lines 73 and lines 79 still remain connected and allow for fluid to flow through cleaning apparatus 3 to and from test apparatus 1 and second container 61b. As seen in provided Figure 5 below, compressed air line 79 remains open and connecting test apparatus 1 and secondary container 61b through cleaning apparatus 3 even when hot steam valve 120 is closed and isolating hot steam connection 122 (so that a medium selected from a group consisting of… compressed air… is routable from the media supply filter test device to the multiplier device).
Regarding claim 3, Dahlberg teaches cleaning apparatus 3 further comprises connections 87a-d (at least one outlet) wherein outlet/discharge switching valve 103 controls the discharge from cleaning apparatus 3 to collecting container 89 (collecting container 89 seen in Fig. 4) (Fig. 5, par. 0097) (with at least one outlet, wherein the at least one outlet is flow connected to the valve device). Dahlberg teaches discharge switching valve 103 is opened when supply valves are closed (an outlet mode), such that discharge connections 97a-d (at least one first connector of the at least one first connector) (par. 0140) can evacuate test apparatus 1 through cleaning apparatus 3 (the valve device is adapted to fluidically connect, in an outlet mode, at least one outlet of the at least one outlet to at least one connector selected from at least one first connector of the at least one first connector… so that a medium present in the coupling device can escape from the coupling device via the at least one outlet) (Fig. 5, par. 0037, 0048-0049).
Regarding claim 4, Dahlberg teaches cleaning apparatus 3 further comprises a compressed air source 77 connected to cleaning apparatus 3 through an unlabeled connection (see circled portion in provided Fig. 5 below) (Fig. 5; par. 0128) (with at least one fourth connector, wherein the at least one fourth connector is configured as a compressed air connector). Dahlberg teaches compressed air travels into cleaning apparatus 3 where it meets T-connection 83 wherein the compressed air can be further routed through cleaning apparatus 3 and test apparatus 1 (Fig. 5; par. 0095)
inlet 85 is in line with compressed air valve 82 (Fig. 5; par. 0128) (the at least one fourth connector is flow connected to the valve device). Before traveling further through cleaning apparatus 3, compressed air moves through compressed air valve/pressure valve 82 (Fig. 5, par. 0095). Compressed air valve 82 can be open (par. 0101) or closed (par. 0100). Wherein in its opened state (a third operating mode) the compressed air valve 82 moves compressed air through compressed air lines 79 starting from the unlabeled, circled connection (see Fig. 5 below) (at least one fourth connector of the at least fourth connector) , through T-connection 83, through valve 82, and ultimately to secondary container 61b through fluid connection 59b (at least one second connector of the at least one second connector) (Fig. 5; par. 0101) (the valve device is adapted to connect, in a third operating mode, at least one fourth connector of the at least one fourth connector by flow to… to at least one second connector of the at least one second connector). Dahlberg teaches wherein the compressed air is used to the dry the interior of the connected apparatus/containers (par. 0020) (so that the media supply filter test device connected to the coupling device, and/or the multiplier device connected to the coupling device can be dried by means of the compressed air supplied through the at least one fourth connector).
Regarding claim 5, Dahlberg teaches addition connections 57a, 59a for container 61a (Fig. 5) (comprising at least one fifth connector). Container 61a is configured to hold a cleaning 63 or flushing 65 fluid; while Figure 5 depicts container 61a holding a cleaning fluid 63, it is more than capable of holding a flushing fluid 65 instead (par. 0094), wherein the flushing fluid 63 is sterile or ultrapure water (par. 0016) (the at least one fifth connector is configured as a water connector). Dahlberg teaches wherein connector 57a is connected to line 73a leading to fluid supply switching valve 99a (Fig. 5; par. 0130) (the at least one fifth connector is flow connected to the valve device). When fluid supply switching valve 99a is open (a fourth operating mode), the flushing fluid 65 is provided to connection 75 of cleaning apparatus 3 to connection 23 of test apparatus 1 (Fig. 5, par. 0134) (the valve device is adapted to connect at least one fifth connector of the at least one fifth connector to at least one first connector of the at least one first connector in a fourth operating mode, so that the media supply filter test device connected to the coupling device can be filled by means of the water supplied through the at least one fifth connector).
Regarding claim 6, Dahlberg teaches additional connections 57a, 59a for container 61a (Fig. 5) (comprising at least one sixth connector). Container 61a is configured to hold a cleaning 63 or flushing 65 fluid; Figure 5 depicts container 61a holding a cleaning fluid 63 (par. 0094), wherein the cleaning fluid 63 is a sodium hydroxide/lye solution (par. 0014) (the at least one sixth connector is configured as a liquid supply connector, in particular as a lye supply connector). Dahlberg teaches wherein connector 57a is connected to line 73a leading to fluid supply switching valve 99a (Fig. 5; par. 0130) (the at least one sixth connector is flow connected to the valve device). When fluid supply switching valve 99a is open (a sixth operating mode), the cleaning fluid 63 is provided to connection 75 of cleaning apparatus 3 to connection 23 of test apparatus 1 (Fig. 5, par. 0134) (the valve device is adapted to fluidically connect, in a fifth operating mode, at least one sixth connector of the at least one sixth connector to at least one first connector of the at least one first connector… so that the media supply filter test device connected to the coupling device… can be treated by means of the liquid, in particular lye, supplied through the at least one sixth connector).
Regarding claim 7, (as outlined in claim 1 above) Dahlberg teaches cleaning apparatus 3 comprises a series of valve (see claims 1-6 for examples of these valves) (Fig. 5) (wherein the valve device comprises at least one valve, preferably a plurality of valves). As outlined in claims 1-6 above, these series of valves are aligned such that fluid movement through cleaning apparatus 3 is controlled by a series of opening and closing valves (see claims 1-6 for examples of these valves operations and connections or see Fig. 3A-B). Specifically, when hot steam valve 120 is opened, hot steam is supplied to cleaning apparatus 3 through hot steam connection 122 (third connector) and ultimately to test apparatus 1 through unlabeled connector (to connector 29) (first connector) and secondary container 61b through connector 59b (second connector) line 79 of cleaning apparatus 3 (Fig. 5, par. 0137-0138) (wherein the at least one valve is arranged fluidically between the at least one first connector, the at least one second connector and the at least one third connector and is adapted to control the flow within the coupling device).
Regarding claim 9, Dahlberg teaches wherein the cleaning apparatus 3 and all processed performed by the cleaning apparatus are computer-controlled (par. 0025, 0040) (comprising a control device). Dahlberg teaches wherein the computer specifically controls the switching means (the valve device), "so that the switching operations for initiating different steps of the cleaning process are advantageously performed automatically, i.e. without any user action or user interaction" (par. 0049, 0161) (wherein the control device is adapted to set an operating mode of the valve device, preferably the control device being operatively connected to the valve device and adapted to control the valve device, in particular the at least one valve, to set an operating mode).
Regarding claim 10, Dahlberg teaches the series of valves comprise valves that can be pneumatically actuated and are preferably diaphragm valves (par. 0049). Dahlberg teaches cleaning apparatus 3 is connected with the compressed air provider, such that " the apparatus for providing compressed air is coupled with pneumatically actuatable switching means (the valve device) of the cleaning apparatus" (par. 0058). This connection, while not depicted, is understood to be separate from the connectors that lead to compressed air lines 79 as those lines lead to interior spaces of the connected apparatuses/containers and those are operationally separate from pneumatic valve operations (at least one seventh connector, wherein the at least one seventh connector is configured as a pneumatic connector, wherein the at least one seventh connector is flow connected to the valve device).
Dahlberg teaches the switching means is computer-controlled, and the computer initiates the switching operations (actuating the valves) based on the upcoming step (set an operating mode) (par. 0049) (the valve device, in particular the at least one valve, is adapted to be actuated via the at least one seventh connector in order to set an operating mode).
Regarding claim 11, Dahlberg teaches along compressed air line 79, after unlabeled connection to compressed air provider 77 and T-connection 83, the cleaning apparatus a pressure reducer 81 (Fig. 5; par. 0095) (comprising at least one pressure reducing device, wherein the pressure reducing device is flow connected to the at least one fourth connector). Dahlberg teaches along the same fluidic line, a pressure sensor 130 is also provided to detect/measure the pressure of the provided compressed air (Fig. 5; par. 0096) (the pressure reducing device preferably comprises a pressure gauge adapted to indicate a pressure of the supplied compressed air).
Regarding claim 17, Dahlberg teaches compressed air line 79, downstream T-connection 83, further comprises compressed air inlet 85 paired with compressed air outlet 86 (comprising at least one eighth connector) withing cleaning apparatus 3 (Fig. 5, par. 0095). Compressed air inlet 85 and outlet 86 are fluidically in line with compressed fluid line 79 that connects unlabeled connector (at least one fourth connector of the at least one fourth connector) to compressed air source 77 (Fig. 5). Dahlberg teaches wherein the compressed air is used to the dry the interior of the connected apparatus/containers (par. 0020). Dahlberg teaches compressed air can reach to secondary container 61b through fluid connection 59b (Fig. 5; par. 0101) and test apparatus 1 through compressed air supply line 84 (Fig. 5; par. 0095) (the at least one eighth connector is adapted to fluidically connect at least one device using compressed air, in particular a filter drying device, to the coupling device, wherein the at least one eighth connector is flow connected to at least one fourth connector of the at least one fourth connector in order to apply compressed air to the at least one device using compressed air).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dahlberg, et. al. (US 20110265820 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Plast-O-Matic, "SERIES TRVDT 3-WAY BYPASS VALVE WITH PTFE DIAPHRAGM", as cited on and provided with the IDS dated 21 June 2024; hereinafter Plast-O-Matic).
Regarding claim 8, Dahlberg teaches the series of valves comprise valves that can be pneumatically actuated and are preferably diaphragm valves (par. 0049) (wherein the at least one valve comprises at least one membrane).
Dahlberg is silent to the composition of the diaphragm valves, specifically, at least one membrane comprising Polytetrafluorethylene (PTFE).
Plast-O-Matic teaches a 3-way bypass valve with a diaphragm comprising PTFE (pg. 1, "Features" section). Plast-O-Matic teaches the use of PTFE holds up when used with "aggressive liquid" and provides contamination-free sealing (pg. 1, "Features" section, bullet 3).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing day of the invention to modify the membrane of the diaphragm valve of Dahlberg to comprise Polytetrafluorethylene (PTFE) as taught by Plast-O-Matic because PTFE is a sturdy material and provides contamination-free sealing (Plast-O-Matic, pg. 1, "Features" section, bullet 3) with reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dahlberg, et. al. (US 20110265820 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Adhikari, et. al. (US 20170252703 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Dahlberg teaches cleaning apparatus 3 is confined within a housing, as seen by the dashed outline in Figure 5, and is fluidically connected to test apparatus 1 (media supply filter test device) (Fig. 5).
Dahlberg is silent to a first connecting element, wherein the first connecting element is adapted to mechanically connect the media supply filter test device to the coupling device, in particular to connect it in such a way that the media supply filter test device and the coupling device are not movable relative to each other.
Adhikari teaches a testing apparatus with a removable attachable module for a filter testing device (Abstract). Adhikari teaches an interface module 20 (coupling device) that fluidically connects testing device 40 (media supply filter test device) to a secondary device or container; Figure 1 depicts a filter device 12 (Fig. 1; par. 0046). Adhikari teaches fitting 21 (first connecting element) attaches interface module 20 to testing device 40 (Fig. 1; par. 0046) (a first connecting element, wherein the first connecting element is adapted to mechanically connect the media supply filter test device to the coupling device). As seen in Figure 1, fitting 21 in combination with the walls of housing 26 of interface module 20 align with the hollowed out portion of the wall of testing device 40 preventing movement between the module 20 and testing device 40 (in particular to connect it in such a way that the media supply filter test device and the coupling device are not movable relative to each other). The fitting 21 and aligning shapes allow the module 20 and testing device 40 to easily be connected and disconnected to one other which is beneficial when parts need to be replaced (par. 0024).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing day of the invention to modify the fluidic connections of the coupling device and media supply filter test device of Dahlberg to further include mechanical connections like fittings and aligning shapes as taught by Adhikari because the mechanical connections provide a reliable way to connect and disconnect the parts, such as when replacing parts, (Adhikari, par. 0024) with reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2143(I)(G)
Regarding claim 13, Dahlberg teaches cleaning apparatus 3 is confined within a housing, as seen by the dashed outline in Figure 5, and is fluidically connected to secondary container 61b (multiplier device) (Fig. 5).
Dahlberg is silent to a second connecting element, wherein the second connecting element is adapted to mechanically connect the multiplier device to the coupling device, in particular to connect in such a way that the multiplier device and the coupling device are not movable relative to each other.
Adhikari teaches a testing apparatus with a removable attachable module for a filter testing device (Abstract). Adhikari teaches an interface module 20 (coupling device) that fluidically connects testing device 40 (media supply filter test device) to a secondary device or container (multiplier device); Figure 1 depicts a filter device 12 (Fig. 1; par. 0046). Adhikari teaches the connection is not limited to fitting 21, but the interface module 20 can further be connected to filter device 12 through an extension fitting (second connecting element) connected to the testing device 12 (par. 0024) (comprising a second connecting element, wherein the second connecting element is adapted to mechanically connect the multiplier device to the coupling device). While not explicitly stated, one of ordinary skill in the art will understand that once fastened, an extension fitting will prevent movement between the two objects it is connecting (in particular to connect in such a way that the multiplier device and the coupling device are not movable relative to each other). The extension fitting allows the module 20 and filter device 12 to easily be connected and disconnected to one other which is beneficial when parts need to be replaced (par. 0024).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing day of the invention to modify the fluidic connections of the coupling device and multiplier device of Dahlberg to further include mechanical connections like extension fittings as taught by Adhikari because the mechanical connections provide a reliable way to connect and disconnect the parts, such as when replacing parts, (Adhikari, par. 0024) with reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 14, Dahlberg teaches cleaning apparatus 3 is confined within a housing, as seen by the dashed outline in Figure 5, and is fluidically connected to (Fig. 5).
Dahlberg is silent to wherein at least one connecting element, selected from the first connecting element and the second connecting element, comprises a positioning element.
Adhikari teaches a testing apparatus with a removable attachable module for a filter testing device (Abstract). Adhikari teaches an interface module 20 (coupling device) that fluidically connects testing device 40 (media supply filter test device) to a secondary device or container; Figure 1 depicts a filter device 12 (Fig. 1; par. 0046). Adhikari teaches fitting 21 (first connecting element) attaches interface module 20 to testing device 40 (Fig. 1; par. 0046) (wherein at least one connecting element, selected from the first connecting element… comprises a positioning element). As seen in Figure 1, fitting 21 in combination with the walls of housing 26 of interface module 20 align with the hollowed out portion of the wall of testing device 40 preventing movement between the module 20 and testing device 40 (in particular to connect it in such a way that the media supply filter test device and the coupling device are not movable relative to each other). The fitting 21 and aligning shapes (positioning element) allow the module 20 and testing device 40 to easily be connected and disconnected to one other which is beneficial when parts need to be replaced (par. 0024).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing day of the invention to modify the fluidic connections of the coupling device and media supply filter test device of Dahlberg to further include positioning elements like aligning shapes as taught by Adhikari because the aligning shapes provide a reliable way to connect and disconnect the parts, such as when replacing parts, (Adhikari, par. 0024) with reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 15, Dahlberg teaches the cleaning apparatus 3 is confined within a housing, as seen by the dashed outline in Figure 5.
Dahlberg is silent to a fastening device adapted to fasten the coupling device in a base and/or on a wall.
Adhikari teaches a testing apparatus with a removable attachable module for a filter testing device (Abstract). Adhikari teaches an interface module 20 (coupling device) that fluidically connects testing device 40 (media supply filter test device) to a secondary device or container; Figure 1 depicts a filter device 12 (Fig. 1; par. 0046). Adhikari teaches fitting 21 (fastening device) attaches interface module 20 to a sidewall of testing device 40 (Fig. 1; par. 0046) (a fastening device adapted to fasten the coupling device… on a wall). The fitting 21 allows the module 20 and testing device 40 to easily be connected and disconnected to each other which is beneficial when parts need to be replaced (par. 0024).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing day of the invention to modify the coupling device of Dahlberg to further include a fastening device like a fitting to attach the coupling module to a wall as taught by Adhikari because the fastening device provides a reliable way to connect and disconnect the parts, such as when replacing parts, (Adhikari, par. 0024) with reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 16, Dahlberg teaches the cleaning apparatus 3 (coupling device) is confined within a housing (at least one cover element), as seen by the dashed outline in Figure 5, and is fluidically connected to test apparatus 1 (media supply filter test device) and secondary container 61b (multiplier device) (Fig. 5).
Dahlberg is silent to wherein the at least one cover element is adapted to cover at least one hose which fluidically connects the coupling device to at least one device, in particular selected from the media supply filter test device and the multiplier device.
Adhikari teaches a testing apparatus with a removable attachable module for a filter testing device (Abstract). Adhikari teaches an interface module 20 (coupling device) that fluidically connects testing device 40 (media supply filter test device) to a secondary device or container; Figure 1 depicts a filter device 12 (Fig. 1; par. 0046). Adhikari teaches interface module is housed within enclosure 26 (at least one cover element) (Fig. 1-2, par. 0053). As seen in Figure 2, the enclosure 26 of interface module 20 is touching sidewall of testing device 40 so that all fluid pathways between the two are entirely within an enclosure (par. 0020, 0022) (wherein the at least one cover element is adapted to cover at least one hose which fluidically connects the coupling device to at least one device, in particular selected from the media supply filter test device). The enclosures physically isolate and protect the fluidic pathways; this is significant because such integrity testing devices are sensitive and prone to contamination (par. 0006).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing day of the invention to modify the cover element of Dahlberg to enclose the hoses connecting the coupling device to the media supply filter test device as taught by Adhikari because enclosures physically isolate and protect the fluidic pathways; this is significant because such integrity testing devices are sensitive and prone to contamination (Adhikari, par. 0006) with reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pall Life Sciences ("Paltronic AquaWIT IV Filter Integrity Test System"; as cited on IDS dated 26 March 2026, English translation of relevant sections provided; hereinafter Pall) in view of Dahlberg, et. al. (US 20110265820 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Pall teaches a filter testing system (a filter test device) that comprises the Palltronic AquaWIT system (a media supply filter test device, in particular the AquaWIT device) fluidically and electrically connected to the Palltronic AquaWIT MUX extension (a multiplier device, in particular a MUX device) for testing four filters in series (pg. 67).
Pall is silent to a coupling device according to claim 1, wherein the media supply filter test device is flow connected to the coupling device via the at least one first connector, and wherein the multiplier device is flow connected to the coupling device via the at least one second connector.
Dahlberg teaches an apparatus and process for cleaning filter testing apparatuses controlled by a computer program (Abstract). Dahlberg teaches a test apparatus 1 (media supply filter test device) for testing filters 5 comprises a series of external connections 21, 23, 25, 27, 29 (Fig. 1). Dahlberg teaches test apparatus 1 is fluidically connected to a cleaning apparatus 3 (a coupling device) through any one of the external connections of the test apparatus (par. 0095). Cleaning apparatus 3, as seen in the embodiment depicted in Figure 5, comprises a series of external connections and valves (Fig. 5) (at least one first connector, at least one second connector).
Specifically, cleaning apparatus 3 is fluidically connected to test apparatus 1 through connection 75 through an unlabeled connection of cleaning apparatus 3 to connection 29 of the test device, with additional discharge connections 97a-d (Fig. 5) (wherein the media supply filter test device is flow connected to the coupling device via the at least one first connector). Dalberg teaches additional fluidic connections 57b, 59b, wherein cleaning apparatus 3 fluidically connects a secondary container 61b (capable of holding, sending, and receiving fluids) (multiplier device) (Fig. 5) (wherein the multiplier device is flow connected to the coupling device via the at least one second connector). Dahlberg teaches cleaning apparatus (coupling device) allows for an automated cleaning process (par. 0013) for a test apparatus to prevent contamination (par. 0004-0006).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing day of the invention to modify the filter test device comprising a media supply filter test device and multiplier device of Pall to further include a coupling device as taught by Dahlberg because the cleaning apparatus (coupling device) allows for an automated cleaning process (par. 0013) for a test apparatus to prevent contamination (Dahlberg, par. 0004-0006) with reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Conclusion
/M.T.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758