DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/21/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: control unit in claim 1-2, 4 and 6-10.
The corresponding structure of this unit is disclosed in ¶[0069] to be an image processor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim can be interpreted as being software per se. A computer program comprising computer program code which is adapted, when said computer program is run on a computer, to implement the method can be interpreted as software only.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-11 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong et al. US PG-Pub(US 20240065429 A1) in view of Benetti et al. US PG-Pub(US 20230024733 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Xiong teaches a personal care device(Fig. 7 shows a personal care device.) comprising: a motor adapted to vibrate the personal care device so that, in use, the personal care device vibrates with a periodic vibration waveform([0040] “a motor drive unit (106) used to connect the motor and drive the motor to vibrate based on the control signal of the main control unit;”, ¶[0040] discloses a motor that vibrates based on the control signal from the main control unit and in ¶[0089] discloses the motor is driven based on a vibration frequency set.); an image capture device adapted, in use, to capture images of one or more features of a user ([0068] “an image acquisition unit 101. Implemented on the product, the image acquisition camera 205 in FIG. 7 is used to capture the user's oral images.” [0023] “the server recognizes the received oral image and generates the recognition result. The recognition result at least includes the position information of the teeth, information on the presence of caries and/or dental calculus, and information on the severity grading of caries and/or dental calculus.” ¶[0008] discloses using a camera to capture oral images of a user and ¶[0023] discloses determining features pertaining the oral image.);
Xiong does not explicitly teach a control unit adapted to control an exposure parameter of the image capture device based on a parameter of the periodic vibration waveform.
Benetti teaches a control unit(this unit is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) and as disclosed in the specification in ¶[0069] the corresponding structure is a processor and image processor. The prior art discloses an image processor in ¶[0020]) adapted to control an exposure parameter of the image capture device based on a parameter of the periodic vibration waveform. (¶[0082], “the control circuit 56 is arranged to actuate the LEDs 65 to illuminate the oral cavity at a second frequency F2 which is different from the first frequency F1 at which the bristle carrier 26 moves relative to the handle 12, and which is preferably given by the equation 0<|F1−nF2|<N, where N is the number of images captured per second by the camera 67, and n is a positive integer selected such that IF|−nF2| has a minimum value. For example, where F1=250 Hz and N=25 frames per second, with n=1 F2 may be selected from values between 225 and 275 Hz. By desynchronizing the illumination of the optical cavity from the movement of the LEDs 65, the image captured by the camera 67 can appear to move, in slow motion, relative to the handle 12, and thus relative to the oral cavity, even when the user holds the handle 12 of the appliance 10 at a fixed position relative to the oral cavity.”, ¶[0082] discloses controlling the exposure parameter of the capture device and controlling the vibration frequency of the toothbrush.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the claimed invention as taught by Xiong with Benetti in order to control the vibration frequency and exposure parameter of the device. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Xiong in this manner in order to actuate the treatment of the oral cavity of the user depending on the captured images. (Benetti, Abstract)
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Xiong and Benetti teach the device of claim 1, where Benetti further teaches wherein the exposure parameter comprises an image capture exposure duration of the image capture device(¶[0015], “The image capturing means is preferably configured to capture a number N of images, or frames, per second. For example, the image capturing means may be arranged to capture 20 to 30 images, or frames per second, with an exposure time per frame in the range from 30 to 40 msec”, ¶[0015] disclose the image capture device has a exposure duration time), and wherein the control unit(this unit is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) and as disclosed in the specification in ¶[0069] the corresponding structure is a processor and image processor. The prior art discloses an image processor in ¶[0020]) is adapted to set the image capture exposure duration to be less than or equal to a target exposure duration value.(¶[0015], “the image capturing means may be arranged to capture 20 to 30 images, or frames per second, with an exposure time per frame in the range from 30 to 40 msec”)”, ¶[0015] discloses the exposure time threshold is set to 30-40 ms.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the claimed invention as taught by Xiong with Benetti in order to control the vibration frequency and exposure parameter of the device. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Xiong in this manner in order to actuate the treatment of the oral cavity of the user depending on the captured images. (Benetti, Abstract)
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Xiong and Benetti teach the device of claim 2, where Xiong further teaches wherein the control unit (this unit is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) and as disclosed in the specification in ¶[0069] the corresponding structure is a processor and image processor. The prior art discloses an image processor in ¶[0069]) is adapted to determine the target exposure duration value based on the parameter of the periodic vibration waveform and at least one resolution parameter of the image capture device. (¶[0083], “presetting oral image features includes but not limited to clarity, exposure and imaging angle, as well as related parameter thresholds for shape and position features. Based on the preset parameter thresholds, the various conditions for the validity of the oral image are sequentially judged. If the oral image meets the requirements of clarity, moderate exposure and imaging angle, the oral image is judged to be valid and sent to the server for recognition”, ¶[0083] discloses determining if the oral image meets a requirement for exposure and image quality to be sent to the server for processing.)
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Xiong and Benetti teach the device of claim 1, where Xiong further teaches wherein the personal care device comprises an oral care device, and wherein the image capture device is adapted, in use, to capture images of one or more oral features of a user. (¶[0118], “S11: the intelligent electric toothbrush captures oral images”, ¶[0118] discloses a electric toothbrush captures oral images of a user).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Xiong and Benetti teach the device of claim 1, where Benetti further teaches wherein the image capture device comprises an illumination device configured, in use, to illuminate a part of the user, and preferably wherein the control unit(this unit is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) and as disclosed in the specification in ¶[0069] the corresponding structure is a processor and image processor. The prior art discloses an image processor in ¶[0020]) is adapted to control the image capture device to synchronize a timing of illumination with the vibration waveform. ([0073] “During use of the appliance 10, drive signals are transmitted from the control circuit 56 to the LEDs 65 to actuate the illumination of the oral cavity by the optical system. Light signals, indicative of the light subsequently returned to the window 66 by reflection from the oral cavity, are conveyed from the window 66 to the camera 67. The camera 67 generates images of the oral cavity from the received light signals, and transmits the generated images to the control circuit 56, in dependence on which the control circuit 56 actuates the delivery of working fluid from the nozzle 32.”, ¶[0073], discloses controlling the device such that light is illuminated onto the oral cavity based on the control circuit vibration.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the claimed invention as taught by Xiong with Benetti in order to control the illumination, vibration frequency and exposure parameter of the device. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Xiong in this manner in order to actuate the treatment of the oral cavity of the user depending on the captured images. (Benetti, Abstract)
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Xiong and Benetti teach The device of claim 1, where Benetti further teaches wherein the control unit (this unit is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) and as disclosed in the specification in ¶[0069] the corresponding structure is a processor and image processor. The prior art discloses an image processor in ¶[0020]) is adapted to control an image capture frame rate of the image capture device further based on the vibration frequency of the personal care device. (¶[0015] discloses controlling the frame rate of the image capturing device of the toothbrush.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the claimed invention as taught by Xiong with Benetti in order to control the vibration frequency of the device. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Xiong in this manner in order to actuate the treatment of the oral cavity of the user depending on the captured images. (Benetti, Abstract)
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Xiong and Benetti teach The device of claim 1, where Xiong further teaches wherein the control unit(this unit is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) and as disclosed in the specification in ¶[0069] the corresponding structure is a processor and image processor. The prior art discloses an image processor in ¶[0069]) is further configured to control the motor to adjust the vibration frequency of the personal care device based on an image capture frame rate of the camera. (¶[0073]-¶[0076] discloses adjusting the vibration frequency based on the images acquired from the camera.)
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Xiong and Benetti teach the device of claim 1, where Benetti further teaches wherein the control unit(this unit is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) and as disclosed in the specification in ¶[0069] the corresponding structure is a processor and image processor. The prior art discloses an image processor in ¶[0020]) is adapted to distribute the exposure parameter across a frame of the image capture device, preferably on a line-by-line basis. (¶[0027],”wherein the moving means is configured to move the illuminating means relative to the handle at a first frequency F1, and the illuminating means is configured to illuminate the oral cavity at a second frequency F2 to generate a plurality of illumination events each second, and wherein the image capturing means comprises a rolling shutter camera having a sensor comprising a plurality of rows of pixels, the rows of pixels being exposed sequentially, and wherein each row of pixels is exposed to the same number of illumination events.”, ¶[0027] discloses distribution light based on a line by line basis to capture the image.)
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Xiong and Benetti teach the device of claim 9, where Benetti further teaches wherein the control unit (this unit is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) and as disclosed in the specification in ¶[0069] the corresponding structure is a processor and image processor. The prior art discloses an image processor in ¶[0020]) is further adapted to vary the exposure parameter across the frame of the image capture device. (¶[0083] “In each the above examples, during exposure of a row of pixels of the sensor the oral cavity is illuminated at the second frequency F2 to generate a plurality of “illumination events” each second, which, in the specific examples provided above, may be in the range from 225 to 275 illumination events per second.”, ¶[0083] discloses varying the exposure of the image capturing device from 225 to 275 illumination events per second)
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Xiong and Benetti teach the device of claim 1, where Xiong further teaches wherein the personal care device comprises a toothbrush. (Fig. 7 shows a toothbrush)
Regarding Claim 13, Xiong teaches a method of controlling a personal care device(Fig. 2), the personal care device comprising:
a motor adapted to vibrate the personal care device so that, in use, the personal care device vibrates with a periodic vibration waveform([0040] “a motor drive unit (106) used to connect the motor and drive the motor to vibrate based on the control signal of the main control unit;”, ¶[0040] discloses a motor that vibrates based on the control signal from the main control unit and in ¶[0089] discloses the motor is driven based on a vibration frequency set.); and an image capture device adapted, in use, to capture images of one or more features of a user ([0068] “an image acquisition unit 101. Implemented on the product, the image acquisition camera 205 in FIG. 7 is used to capture the user's oral images.” [0023] “the server recognizes the received oral image and generates the recognition result. The recognition result at least includes the position information of the teeth, information on the presence of caries and/or dental calculus, and information on the severity grading of caries and/or dental calculus.” ¶[0008] discloses using a camera to capture oral images of a user and ¶[0023] discloses determining features pertaining the oral image.);
Xiong does not explicitly teach wherein the method comprises: controlling an exposure parameter of the image capture device based on a parameter of the periodic vibration waveform.
Benetti teaches wherein the method comprises: controlling an exposure parameter of the image capture device based on a parameter of the periodic vibration waveform. (¶[0082], “the control circuit 56 is arranged to actuate the LEDs 65 to illuminate the oral cavity at a second frequency F2 which is different from the first frequency F1 at which the bristle carrier 26 moves relative to the handle 12, and which is preferably given by the equation 0<|F1−nF2|<N, where N is the number of images captured per second by the camera 67, and n is a positive integer selected such that IF|−nF2| has a minimum value. For example, where F1=250 Hz and N=25 frames per second, with n=1 F2 may be selected from values between 225 and 275 Hz. By desynchronizing the illumination of the optical cavity from the movement of the LEDs 65, the image captured by the camera 67 can appear to move, in slow motion, relative to the handle 12, and thus relative to the oral cavity, even when the user holds the handle 12 of the appliance 10 at a fixed position relative to the oral cavity.”, ¶[0082] discloses controlling the exposure parameter of the capture device and controlling the vibration frequency of the toothbrush.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the claimed invention as taught by Xiong with Benetti in order to control the vibration frequency and exposure parameter of the device. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Xiong in this manner in order to actuate the treatment of the oral cavity of the user depending on the captured images. (Benetti, Abstract)
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Xiong and Benetti teach the method of claim 13, where Xiong further teaches comprising: determining a target exposure duration value based on the parameter of the periodic vibration waveform and at least one resolution parameter of the image capture device(¶[0083], “presetting oral image features includes but not limited to clarity, exposure and imaging angle, as well as related parameter thresholds for shape and position features. Based on the preset parameter thresholds, the various conditions for the validity of the oral image are sequentially judged. If the oral image meets the requirements of clarity, moderate exposure and imaging angle, the oral image is judged to be valid and sent to the server for recognition”, ¶[0083] discloses determining if the oral image meets a requirement for exposure and image quality to be sent to the server for processing.)
Benetti teaches setting the image capture exposure duration to the target exposure duration value.(¶[0015], “the image capturing means may be arranged to capture 20 to 30 images, or frames per second, with an exposure time per frame in the range from 30 to 40 msec”)”, ¶[0015] discloses the exposure time threshold is set to 30-40 ms.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the claimed invention as taught by Xiong with Benetti in order to control the vibration frequency and exposure parameter of the device. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Xiong in this manner in order to actuate the treatment of the oral cavity of the user depending on the captured images. (Benetti, Abstract)
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Xiong and Benetti teach the limitation of claim 13, where Xiong further teaches a computer program comprising computer program code which is adapted, when said computer program is run on a computer, to implement the method of claim 13. (¶[0189] “Ordinary technical personnel in this field can understand that all or part of the steps to implement the above embodiments can be completed through hardware, or can be instructed to be completed by related hardware through programs. The programs can be stored in a computer-readable storage medium, which can be read-only memory, magnetic disk or optical disk, etc.”, discloses a program is stored on a computer readable medium.)
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Xiong and Benetti teach the device of claim 4, where Xiong further teaches wherein the at least one resolution parameter comprises one or more of: sensor pixel width; sensor pixel length; sensor spacing; and sensor density. (¶[0084], “In optional embodiments, the image acquisition unit 101 obtains images in JPG format. In the image judgment unit 102, whether the oral image is clear can be determined by whether the pixels of the oral image meet 720*720. Whether the oral image is overexposed or overdark can be determined by whether the brightness of the oral image meets 200cd/square meter. The suitability of the imaging angle of oral images can be determined by whether the imaging angle size is within the range of greater than 50° and less than or equal to 90°”, ¶[0084] discloses the images obtained have to meet a certain requirement based on pixel length and spacing.)
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Xiong and Benetti teach the method of claim 14, where Xiong further teaches wherein the at least one resolution parameter comprises one or more of: sensor pixel width; sensor pixel length; sensor spacing; and sensor density. (¶[0084], “In optional embodiments, the image acquisition unit 101 obtains images in JPG format. In the image judgment unit 102, whether the oral image is clear can be determined by whether the pixels of the oral image meet 720*720. Whether the oral image is overexposed or overdark can be determined by whether the brightness of the oral image meets 200cd/square meter. The suitability of the imaging angle of oral images can be determined by whether the imaging angle size is within the range of greater than 50° and less than or equal to 90°”, ¶[0084] discloses the images obtained have to meet a certain requirement based on pixel length and spacing.)
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong et al. US PG-Pub(US 20240065429 A1) in view of Benetti et al. US PG-Pub(US 20230024733 A1) in view of Ogata et al. US PG-Pub(US 20230403467 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, while the combination of Xiong and Benetti teach the device of claim 2, they do not explicitly teach wherein the target exposure duration value is less than or equal to the time taken for image capture by the image capture device to move across a predetermined number of pixels, preferably wherein the predetermined number of pixels is one pixel.
Ogata teaches wherein the target exposure duration value is less than or equal to the time taken for image capture by the image capture device to move across a predetermined number of pixels, preferably wherein the predetermined number of pixels is one pixel ( [0097] “In addition, the image capture control unit 512 may cause the number of the drive positions in one pixel to be greater than the number of times of the exposure for the block 1, and move the image capturing device 100 more finely. In addition, the image capture control unit 512 may create a drive route by connecting the plurality of drive positions, or set the drive route without setting the drive position, to continuously move the image capturing device 100 along the drive route. Even in such a case, the image capture control unit 512 determines the drive position such that the amount of the drive in the exposure time of the block 3 for which the longest exposure time is set, is less than or equal to the size of one pixel.”, ¶[0097] discloses setting the exposure time to move across pixels on a 1 by 1 basis.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the claimed invention as taught by Xiong and Benetti with Ogata in order to set the target exposure duration value time. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Xiong and Benetti in this manner in order to synthesizes a plurality of images which are generated at a plurality of the light receiving positions. (Ogata, Abstract)
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong et al. US PG-Pub(US 20240065429 A1) in view of Benetti et al. US PG-Pub(US 20230024733 A1) in view of Dorodvand et al. US PG-Pub(US 20190167115 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, while the combination of Xiong and Benetti teach the device of claim 1, they do not explicitly teach wherein the personal care device comprises a mouthpiece.
Dorodvand discloses wherein the personal care device comprises a mouthpiece. ([0028] “FIG. 1 is a schematic illustration of a system 100 according to the present invention. The system comprises an image capture device 110 configured to be attachable to a mouthpiece attachment 120, such that, in use, the mouthpiece 120 may be held in the user's mouth, mounting the image capture device 110 in a fixed position relative to the user's mouth.”, ¶[0028] discloses a mouthpiece coupled to the image capturing device.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the claimed invention as taught by Xiong and Benetti with Dorodvand in order to have the personal device have a mouthpiece. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Xiong and Benetti in this manner in order to receive and analyze images of human teeth and gums. (Dorodvand, ¶[0001])
Conclusion
/HAN HOANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661