DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, third to last line: “the switch” is unclear, since the claim previously recited a plurality of switches. Examiner suggests either reciting “each” switch.
Claim 2: Unclear to recite a second wire without reciting a first wire.
Claim 7: Unclear to recite a third wire without reciting first and second wires.
Claim 12: “the temperature threshold” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wasserman 1 (US 2020/0155835).
Regarding claim 1, Wasserman 1 discloses the same invention as claimed (Figures 3-4 shown above for example), including a tumor treating fields system (abstract), comprising: an electric field generator configured to generate a plurality of alternating current signals (Figure 1; Paragraph 1); at least two pairs of insulated electrodes (Figure 1), wherein each of the insulated electrodes include a plurality of electrode sheets (Figure 1; each electrode element may be considered an electrode sheet) and an electrical connector (e.g. Figure 4: 60), the electrical connector is provided with a switching circuit (Figure 4; Paragraph 40), the switching circuit is configured with switches that are respectively electrically connected with the plurality of electrode sheets one-to-one (Figure 4), each of the electrode sheets is configured with a temperature sensor (Figure 1, 3, 4); and an adapter, configured to transmit the plurality of alternating current signals to respective switches of the switching circuit of a corresponding insulated electrode (Figure 1; claim does not require the adapter is separate from the signal generator; some form of circuitry within the signal generator performs the recited function of transmitting the generated AC signal to each of the corresponding insulated electrode assemblies), wherein each switch is configured to individually control an electrical connection of the adapter to the corresponding electrode sheet to selectively apply the alternating current signals to the corresponding electrode sheet (Paragraph 40).
Regarding claims 2-4, Wasserman 1 discloses a second wire connecting the insulated electrode to the adapter and transmitting AC signals and temperature signals as recited (Paragraphs 1, 54).
Regarding claim 5, Wasserman 1 discloses a first wire connecting each electrode sheet to a switch as recited (Figure 4) and transmitting temperature and switching as recited (Paragraph 62).
Regarding claims 9-12, Wasserman discloses the same invention as claimed, including selectively switching electrodes on/off based on a temperature threshold (Paragraphs 32-39).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wasserman 1 (US 2020/0155835) in view of McAtamney (US 2007/0073175).
Regarding claim 6, Wasserman 1 discloses a first socket and a first plug with the first socket (Figure 4: 42). Wasserman does not disclose a plurality of first sockets. However, McAtamney teaches providing separate sockets and plugs for separate electrodes (Figure 1A; Paragraph 24), in order to easily replace individual electrodes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wasserman 1 as taught by McAtamney to include a plurality of sockets as recited, in order to easily replace individual electrodes.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wasserman 1 (US 2020/0155835) in view of Wasserman 2 (2022/0096819).
Regarding claims 7-8, Wasserman 1 does not disclose a wire/plug connecting a separate adapter to the electric field generator. However, Wasserman 2 teaches arranging an adapter (Figures 1-2: hub 30) which includes a wire 25 and plug 21 connecting to the electric field generator, in order to more easily replace adapter connector ports or add functionality. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wasserman 1 as taught by Wasserman 2 to include an adapter with wire and plug as recited, in order to more easily replace adapter connector ports or add functionality.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wasserman 2 (2022/0096819; cited above) also shows a TTF system with pairs of electrode sheet assemblies with temperature sensors, and shows that electrode sheets may be cut (Paragraph 45).
Palti (US 2007/0225766) shows a TTF system with pairs of electrodes.
/Eugene T Wu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796