DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-2, 5, 9 and 26-32 are pending. Claims 1-2, 5, 9 and 26-32 are rejected.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of the species mancozeb without traverse in the reply filed on 09/15/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-2, 5, 9 and 26-32 read on Applicant’s species election of mancozeb. Examination of the elected invention was conducted in accordance with the MPEP 803.02.
The elected species is not allowable in view of the prior art; therefore, examination of the Markush-type claim has not been extended.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be amended in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(b) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. Any amendment of inventorship must be accompanied by a request under 37 CFR 1.48(b) and by the fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Priority
This application is a 35 U.S.C. 371 National Stage Filing of International Application No. PCT/BR2023/050455 filed 12/15/2023, which claims priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a-d) to BRAZIL 102022026950-5 filed 12/29/2022 and BRAZIL 102023022108-4 filed 10/24/2023. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) dated 01/07/2026 has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include Figure 2 which is not mentioned in the description. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the phrase “A use of the aqueous fungicide formulation in concentrated suspension” is not viewed as a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter and therefore does not qualify as a statutory category. See MPEP 2173.05(q).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 26-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the preservative" in the first line of step i). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 26 refers to the fungicide formulation of claim 1, however claim 1 does not recite a preservative. Claims 30 and 31 also recite “the preservative”. Claims 27-29 are also rejected since they do not correct the indefiniteness issue of parent claim 26.
Claim 32 uses the language "comprising" which is an open-ended transition phrase. Per MPEP 2111.03 I, the use of such language "does not exclude additional, unrecited elements of method steps." Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be sufficiently interpreted by a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Applicant may overcome the rejection by, for example, amending the claim to replace “comprising” with “consisting of” in both instances and changing “or” to “and” at the end of both sets of groupings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 9 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 102919219 A, published 12/17/2014, in view of CN 103734182 A, published 08/05/2015 and further in view of BASF, “Pluronic PE types” Technical Information, published March 2005 and available online: https://2.wlimg.com/product_images/bc-full/2022/2/371673/tbl_spec_1644985921_210664_p_6203689.pdf, and as evidenced by Cornell Cooperative Extension – Suffolk County, “Apple Scab: Venturia inaequalis”, January 2010.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. (See MPEP § 2141.01)
Chinese patent ‘219 teaches methods of preparing water-based suspensions, including in particular two embodiments with mancozeb as the active ingredient. See pages 7 and 8 of the English Machine Translation. The intended use of these suspensions is for “chemical protection of plant field,” per page 5 of the translation. Embodiments 3 and 4 teach suspensions as follows:
Embodiment 3
Embodiment 4
mancozeb
20 kg
30 kg
dispersant
3kg (Tersperse 2500)
3 kg (Atlox 4913)
Wetting agent
1 kg (Np-7)
1 kg (AEO8C12 aliphatic alcohol polyethenoxy ether)
emulsifier
10 kg (castor oil)
20 kg (castor oil polyoxyethylene ether)
thickener
20 kg (mineral oil)
10 kg (sodium polyacrylate)
antifreeze
3 kg
3 kg
Defoaming agent
0.5 kg (SAG 622)
0.1 kg (SAG 630)
De-ionized water
42.5 kg
32.9 kg
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. (See MPEP § 2141.02)
The prior art embodiments differ from the presently claimed invention in that hydroxyethyl cellulose is not used as the thickener/suspending agent and antifreeze is present.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. (See MPEP § 2142-2144)
The ‘219 patent nearly teaches the suspension of the present claims, but falls short where hydroxyethyl cellulose is not used and an antifreeze component is included. The prior art states “The present invention adopts non-ionic surface active agent as wetting agent and dispersant, and add the thickener that contains emulsifier under the condition that stirs or shear, and has solved the technical problem that organic salt compound suspending agent enters water flocculation.” See page 5 of the English machine translation. The person having ordinary skill in the art would understand the importance of having a suspension that is free of clumped/aggregated particles and would seek other formulations in the literature that are able to avoid the same problem while also being safe for the environment with low toxicity.
The skilled artisan would have sought alternative thickening/suspending agents to help minimize the amount of flocculation and would have relied upon the teachings of Chinese patent CN ‘182 since it also provides mancozeb-based formulations for agricultural purposes. See abstract. CN ‘182 provides alternative thickening agents of xanthan gum, hydroxymethyl cellulose, hydroxyethyl cellulose, methyl cellulose, magnesium aluminum silicate, and polyvinyl alcohol. See page 25.
Regarding the antifreeze component, CN ‘182 teaches preparation of wettable powders wherein antifreeze is not used. See Examples 1-3 on pages 26-27, for instance. The skilled artisan would also wish to avoid antifreeze in their suspension, given the desire to reduce toxicity and protect the environment, as taught by CN ‘219. See bottom of page 5. Said artisan would therefore be motivated to omit the antifreeze, and have a reasonable expectation of success given the examples provided by CN ‘219.
The ranges of components taught in the prior art overlaps with the ranges provided in the present application. For instance, CN ‘219 teaches the following on page 4:
1-50% organic salt compound, which embraces 35-45% mancozeb of claims 2 and 9;
1-10% dispersant, which overlaps with 0.1 to 3% block copolymer;
1-3% wetting agent, which significantly overlaps with 0.1 to 3% aliphatic ethoxylated alcohol of formula (I), R1-O-(CH2CH2O)n-H wherein R1 is C12 alkyl and n is 8;
0.1-30% thickener, which overlaps with 0.1 to 2% hydroxyethyl cellulose;
1-5% antifreezing agent;
0.1-1.5% defoamer, which significantly overlaps with 0.1 to 3% antifoam;
And surplus water.
Regarding instant claim 5, wherein R1 is a linear C12-C16 alkyl chain and n is 1 to 3 of formula (I), CN ‘219 teaches the “fatty alcohol-polyoxyethylene ether” as a preferred embodiment, and specifically AEO8C12 aliphatic alcohol polyethenoxy (8) ether wherein R1 is C12 and n is 8. See paragraph bridging pages 4 and 5. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to pursue the use of other “fatty alcohol-polyoxyethylene ethers” since CN ‘219 teaches them broadly.
Claim 5 also specifies that in the block copolymer formula (II), H-[OCH2CH2]x[OCH(CH3)CH2]y[OCH2CH2]x-OH, variables x and y are 95 to 100 and 62 to 67, respectively. Neither CN ‘219 nor CN’182 teach this specific type of dispersant/surfactant. Instead, CN ‘182 teaches “ethylene oxide propylene oxide block copolymer” with mean molecule quantity of 1300 as an emulsifier. See Embodiment 1 on page 6.
A skilled artisan would want to identify the preferred block copolymer to use through routine optimization. Said artisan would explore commonly available products from conventional manufacturers, for instance, BASF. BASF discloses 16 Pluronic PE block copolymer surfactants that have the advantage of being low-foaming and useful in various applications, including pesticides and taught on page 14. The skilled artisan would utilize these surfactants and in doing so would use Pluronic PE 6400, which is embraced by the instant claims given Applicant’s use of the copolymer in Example 1, see para. [071]. Thus instant claim 5 is obvious.
Regarding instant claim 32, drawn to using the suspension for a particular crop and biological target, CN ‘182 teaches that the composition may be used for “various fungal diseases of grains, cotton, oil, fruits, vegetables and flowers”. See page 25. The patent also recites the mancozeb based fungicide specifically is “very effective in the prevention and treatment of pear scab, apple leaf spot, melon.” See page 13. Apple leaf spot, or apple scab, is caused by the fungus Venturia inaequalis, which is embraced by instant claim 32. See the “Disease Cycle” section on the first page of Cornell Cooperative Extension. Therefore, the claim is obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 5, 9 and 26-32 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-7 and 9-21 of copending Application No. 19/679,061 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the copending application have significantly overlapping subject matter relative to the instant claims.
Copending claim 1 is drawn to a more narrow fungicidal formulation which comprises, in part, a dithiocarbamate compound (mancozeb, per copending claim 2); dispersing agents; an antifoaming agent; a thickening agent; and water. The aqueous fungicide formulation of instant claim 1 includes the same components, and in the same relative ratios. Copending claim 5 recites an ethoxylated-propoxylated fatty alcohol as a first dispersant, which aligns with component b) of instant claim 1 and also block copolymer dispersants, which aligns with component c) of instant claim 1. The ranges in copending claim 1 overlap with the ranges provided in instant claim 1:
Instant app ‘229
Copending app ‘061
mancozeb
30-50%
10 to 50%
First dispersant (ethoxylated alcohol)
0.1 to 3%
0.1 to 10%
Second dispersant (block copolymer)
0.1 to 3%
0.1 to 10%
antifoam
0.1 to 3%
0.7 to 5%
thickener
0.1 to 2%
0.2 to 0.7%
De-ionized water
50 to 65%
30 to 75%
Copending claims 9 through 18 recite the process for preparing the fungicide formulation in a way that aligns with that of instant claims 26-31. Steps a) through j) correlate precisely with steps I) through IX) of the copending claims except that the antifoam is added after the dispersants in the copending claims. Moreover, the temperature, agitation/stirring speeds, and reaction times for the recited steps overlap significantly.
Copending claims 19 and 20 recite the same crops and biological targets as instant claim 32, including, for instance, soybean and Colletotrichum truncatum.
Thus, the instant claims are obvious in view of the copending claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Contact Information
/J.H.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/KAMAL A SAEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626