DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s preliminary amendment filed on January 10, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-8 and 11-15 are pending and under examination in this Office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 9, 2025 and May 4, 2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objection
Claims 1-8 and 11-15 are objected to for the recitation of “characterized in that”. Applicant is suggested to amend the claims to recite the “wherein” clause instead.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vermeij et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2020/0368346) in view of Turner et al., (US Patent Application Publication US 2013/0315952).
Vermeij teaches a composition comprising a liquid vaccine composition comprising a live virus and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, the carrier being a natural deep-eutectic solvent (NADES), and the vaccine having a water activity of at most 0.8, wherein the liquid vaccine composition has a water amount of up to 50% w/w (see paragraphs [0012], [0017]. [0019], [0020-0022], [0040-0041],
Claim 2. Vermeij teaches NADES formed from proline, sorbitol and water (see paragraph [0053-0054]).
Claim 3. Vermeij teaches liquid vaccine composition according to claim 2, characterized in that the proline, sorbitol and water are present in the NADES in molar ratios of proline: sorbitol : water that are between 1:1:1 and 1:1:10 (see Table 3 and paragraphs [0067-0080], [0208], [0213], [0220]).
Claims 4 and 12. Vermeij teaches additive comprised at 0.05 - 0.5% w/w (see paragraph [0035]).
Claims 6, 7, and 13-15. Vermeij teaches live enveloped virus selected from: a Paramyxovirus and a Coronavirus wherein Paramyxovirus is selected from: a canine para-influenza virus (CPI) and a canine distemper virus (CDV) (see paragraph [0011], [0032], [0089], [0097-0100]).
Claim 8. Vermeij teaches methods for preparing the liquid vaccine composition comprising preparing NADES, admixing NADES with the additive and admixing the virus (see paragraph [0129-0133]).
Claim 11. Vermeij teaches method for vaccinating a human comprising administering of a liquid vaccine composition to the human (see claims 1-8 and 13-15).
Vermeij does not teach the vaccine comprising an additive selected from methionine, ectoine, and hydroxyectoine.
Turner teaches using hydroxyectoine in viral vaccine compositions for the purposes of facilitate dispersal of the powder from a device, to increase the shelf-life of the vaccine composition, or to improve the stability of the vaccine composition during lyophilization (see paragraph [0156]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to provide the liquid vaccine composition of Vermeij comprising Turner’s hydroxyectoine because Turner teaches using hydroxyectoine in viral vaccine compositions for the purposes of facilitating dispersal of the powder from a device, to increase the shelf-life of the vaccine composition, or to improve the stability of the vaccine composition during lyophilization (see paragraph [0156]).
Thus, the present invention would have been prima facie obvious at the time the invention was made.
Contact Information
/AGNIESZKA BOESEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1648