DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is the national stage entry of PCT/EP2022/087647 filed 22 December 2022. Acknowledgement is made of the Applicant’s claim of foreign priority to application FR2114382 filed 23 December 2021.
Status of the Claims
Claims 24-43 are pending.
Claims 24-43 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 30 recites a formula for R1 wherein the variables of “G,” “u,” and “Ra” are undefined. As such, the metes and bounds of the formula and of the claim cannot be determined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24-29 and 31-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Portal et al. (WO 2020/128050) in view of Krzysztof et al. (US 2003/0191046).
Portal teaches a cosmetic composition comprising a polyhydroxyalkanoate in an oily medium and a method for the treatment of keratinous substances by employing said composition [0002]. There is a need for a solubilized polyhydroxyalkanoate to make it possible to obtain a film exhibiting good cosmetic properties, good resistance to oils and sebum, and good matte quality [0007]. The composition of Portal comprises a polyhydroxyalkanoate copolymer comprising units A, B, and C:
-[-O-CH(R1)-CH2-CO-]- unit A
-[-O-CH(R2)-CH2-CO-]- unit B
-[-O-CH(R3)-CH2-CO-]- unit C
wherein R1 denotes a linear alkyl radical having from 5 to 9 carbon atoms; R2 denotes a linear alkyl radical having a carbon number corresponding to the number of carbon atoms of the R1 radical -2; and R3 denotes a linear alkyl radical having a carbon number corresponding to the number of carbon atoms of the R1 radical -4; and also an oily medium comprising a non-silicone oil selected from the group comprising hydrocarbon oils of 8-14 carbon atoms [0009]. The polymer units may be combined wherein A is present in 40-97.5%, B in 2-40%, and C in 0.5-20% [0012]. The overall copolymer is present in 0.1-30 wt% and the oily medium in 2-99.9 wt% [0018-0019]. The composition can further comprise water and/or other additives [0036] and can also include solvents such as ethanol, also in 2-99.9 wt% [0031].
Portal does not teach wherein the composition further comprises a natural resin. Portal does not teach wherein the copolymer comprises more than three different repeating polymer units.
Krzysztof teaches cosmetic products with amber [0001]. Micronization of the amber to be included in a cosmetic composition can be done without losing the natural energizing properties thereof [0006-0007]. The amber can be included in the cosmetic from 0.001-100% by weight [0013].
It would have been prima facie obvious to prepare the cosmetic composition of Portal which comprises a copolymer and an oily medium (hydrocarbon oil) for use in a method of treating keratin material. The composition can further comprise water and/or ethanol as well as a number of other additives. The copolymer of Portal comprises a PHA with three different repeating units that reads on the copolymer of the instant claims. While Portal only teaches three different repeating units, it would have been obvious to include additional repeating units as it is obvious to duplicate parts taught in the prior art (see MPEP 2144.04 (IV)B). Regarding the R1, R2, R3, etc… units, Portal teaches each R group to be a linear alkyl radical having a carbon chain of 5-9 atoms, or less, thus reading on, for example, A12 of instant claim 35 and 16-18 of instant claim 36.
It would have been prima facie obvious to further include amber, a natural resin as defined in instant claims 38-39, in the cosmetic composition of Portal since Krzysztof teaches that amber can be micronized and included in cosmetics, in 0.001-100%, to provide energizing properties. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Claims 24-29 and 31-43 are accordingly rejected as obvious in view of the prior art.
Claims 24-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Portal et al. (WO 2020/128050) in view of Krzysztof et al. (US 2003/0191046) in view of Portal et al (US 2023/0120675; filed 23 June 2021).
Portal and Krzysztof, as applied supra, are herein applied in their entirety for their teachings of a cosmetic composition which comprises a copolymer, natural resin, and an oily medium (hydrocarbon oil) for use in a method of treating keratin material.
Portal does not teach wherein the R1 group comprises an X group wherein X is O, S, or N(Ra) as recited in instant claim 30.
Portal ‘675 teaches cosmetic compositions comprising a PHA, a surfactant, and a fatty substance for treating keratin materials [0001]. Portal ‘675 teaches that the PHA polymer repeating units are as follows:
-O-CH(R1)-(CH2)-C(O)-
wherein the R1 group may be a hydrocarbon chain optionally interrupted with O, S, or N(R) [0008-0012]. The PHA copolymers of Portal ‘675 make it possible to obtain homogenous compositions, show good stability, and good resistance to oils and sebum [0007].
It would have been prima facie obvious to prepare the composition of Portal and Krzysztof, as taught in the rejection above, and to substitute the PHA copolymers of Portal ‘675 which optionally comprise an ether or thioether group in the R chain. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to substitute one equivalent component or process for another, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06). The PHA of Portal and that of Portal ‘675 have the same purpose for treating keratin materials and for imparting good stability and resistance to oils and sebum. The resulting composition renders obvious instant claim 30 as well as 24-29 and 31-43.
Double Patenting
Claims 24-29 and 31-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,257,336 in view of Krzysztof et al. (US 2003/0191046).
The ‘336 claims are towards a cosmetic composition comprising a PHA copolymer that reads on the instant claims and an oily medium. The oily medium can be a hydrocarbon oil, which is considered a fatty substance. The ‘336 claims do not teach more than three repeating units nor does it teach a natural resin. Krzysztof teaches cosmetic products with amber [0001]. Micronization of the amber to be included in a cosmetic composition can be done without losing the natural energizing properties thereof [0006-0007]. The amber can be included in the cosmetic from 0.001-100% by weight [0013]. It would have been prima facie obvious to further include amber, a natural resin as defined in instant claims 38-39, in the cosmetic composition of ‘336 since Krzysztof teaches that amber can be micronized and included in cosmetics, in 0.001-100%, to provide energizing properties. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07). While ‘336 only teaches three different repeating units, it would have been obvious to include additional repeating units as it is obvious to duplicate parts taught in the prior art (see MPEP 2144.04 (IV)B).
Claims 24-43 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11, 13-20, and 22-24 of copending Application No. 17/794,753 in view of Krzysztof et al. (US 2003/0191046).
The ‘753 claims are towards a cosmetic composition comprising a PHA copolymer that reads on the instant claims, a surfactant, and a fatty substance. The fatty substance can be a alkanes (hydrocarbons) or ester oils. The ‘753 claims do not teach more than three repeating units nor does it teach a natural resin. Krzysztof teaches cosmetic products with amber [0001]. Micronization of the amber to be included in a cosmetic composition can be done without losing the natural energizing properties thereof [0006-0007]. The amber can be included in the cosmetic from 0.001-100% by weight [0013]. It would have been prima facie obvious to further include amber, a natural resin as defined in instant claims 38-39, in the cosmetic composition of ‘753 since Krzysztof teaches that amber can be micronized and included in cosmetics, in 0.001-100%, to provide energizing properties. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07). While ‘336 only teaches three different repeating units, it would have been obvious to include additional repeating units as it is obvious to duplicate parts taught in the prior art (see MPEP 2144.04 (IV)B).This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 24-43 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11, 13, and 15-19 of copending Application No. 17/794,727 in view of Krzysztof et al. (US 2003/0191046).
The ‘727 claims are towards a cosmetic composition comprising a PHA copolymer that reads on the instant claims and a fatty substance. The fatty substance can be a alkanes (hydrocarbons) or ester oils. The ‘727 claims do not teach a natural resin. Krzysztof teaches cosmetic products with amber [0001]. Micronization of the amber to be included in a cosmetic composition can be done without losing the natural energizing properties thereof [0006-0007]. The amber can be included in the cosmetic from 0.001-100% by weight [0013]. It would have been prima facie obvious to further include amber, a natural resin as defined in instant claims 38-39, in the cosmetic composition of ‘753 since Krzysztof teaches that amber can be micronized and included in cosmetics, in 0.001-100%, to provide energizing properties. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Claims 24-43 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-12, 14-20, 22-24, and 26-30 of copending Application No. 17/794,708 in view of Krzysztof et al. (US 2003/0191046).
The ‘708 claims are towards a cosmetic composition comprising a PHA copolymer that reads on the instant claims and a fatty substance. The fatty substance can be a alkanes (hydrocarbons) or ester oils. The ‘708 claims do not teach a natural resin. Krzysztof teaches cosmetic products with amber [0001]. Micronization of the amber to be included in a cosmetic composition can be done without losing the natural energizing properties thereof [0006-0007]. The amber can be included in the cosmetic from 0.001-100% by weight [0013]. It would have been prima facie obvious to further include amber, a natural resin as defined in instant claims 38-39, in the cosmetic composition of ‘708 since Krzysztof teaches that amber can be micronized and included in cosmetics, in 0.001-100%, to provide energizing properties. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Conclusion
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613