DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Formal Matters
Independent Claim 1 is currently amended. Claims 13-16 are cancelled. Claims 1-12 are pending and under examination.
Claim Rejections - Withdrawn
Rejections drawn to cancelled claims 13-16 are withdrawn as moot in light of the cancellation of the claims.
The rejection of claims 1-12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that amendment to claim 1 render the references moot in that it “becomes possible to bend the path of the surgical tool in a specific direction simply by tilting only the separate guide catheter control assembly positioned at the front end of the housing (Remarks, p. 5). Applicant explains the advantages of this effect. Applicant argues that Kim, Choi, Falb, and Lit do not disclose the configuration “wherein the guide catheter control assembly is able to be tilted with respect to the main housing” as amended in claim 1 (Remarks, p. 6). Applicant then addresses each of the references individually. In regard to Falb, which is the reference that most clearly teaches the tilting, Applicant argues that the Y-connector enclosure is raised merely to facilitate installation of the guide catheter and the Y-connector (¶51). Applicant argues that Falb does not disclose “wherein the guide catheter control assembly is able to be driven while being tilted with respect to the main housing” which is recited in claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully and carefully considered, but they are not persuasive. The examiner proffers the combination of references for teaching the respective combination of features in the same type of device, a guide catheter system. These several distinct features may not appear on a single device, but the references teach all of the features on the same specific guide catheter device providing direct teachings of their incorporation as well as suggestions and motivations for their inclusion. Most relevant to the amendment to claim 1, is the limitation that the guide catheter control assembly is able to be drive while being tilted with respect to the main housing. The function of tilting had been addressed vis-à-vis claim 12, with Falb being cited for the teaching of a guide catheter control assembly that is configured to be tilted or translated with respect to the main housing through the connecting arm during the install position (FIG 3; ¶51).
The concern at the present juncture has been the metes and bounds of the “able to be driven while being tilted.” In order to ascertain a reasonable interpretation of this phrase “able to be driven”, the examiner consulted the Specification, a part of the originally filed disclosure. The concept of being able to be tilted is found in originally filed claim 12, which recites that “wherein the guide catheter control assembly is able to be tilted or translate with respect to the main housing through the connecting arm”. This is the same language for which Falb has been cited of record.
In the Specification as originally filed, there is one instance of the word “tilted”, nine instances of the word “tilting” (as in “tilting position” or “housing tilting portion 5”), and there are 13 instances of the word “tilt” alone or as part of the word “tilting”. However, there are no instances of the word “driven”.
The amendments to claim 1 were found in the submission of 26 November 2025 such that claim 1 was amended to recite “wherein the guide catheter assembly is configured to be tilted with respect to the main housing, and wherein the guide catheter control assembly is configured to be driven while being fitted with respect to the main housing.” The Remarks accompanying that submission stated that support for claim 1, as amended is found in paragraph [0107] of the original specification. However, the original specification, as filed, does not have numbered paragraphs.
The original US Application publication as US 20250057616 (published 20 February 2025) does have a [0107], which is produced below for ease of reference in this discussion. The paragraph provides support for claim 12 as originally filed, but does not expressly provide support for the tilting “while being driven.” That is the examiner’s dilemma at this juncture.
The prior art of Falb teaches a guide catheter control assembly that is configured to be tilted or translated with respect to the main housing through the connecting arm during the install position (FIG 3; ¶51). The instant claims and disclosure at ¶107 of the patent application publication (p. 20 of the Specification as originally filed) confirms that the guide catheter assembly is configured to be tilted with respect to the main housing. However, there is no support for the tilting “while being driven.” This distinction is nuanced, but is actually critical, as the art stands or falls based on this interpretation.
As is noted below, the amendments to the claims has also raised an issue of non-statutory double patenting as set forth in detail below. The claims in the copending application, with overlapping inventors and an overlapping assignee, also show tilting in the manner of Falb, during installation, but not while “being driven.”
At this juncture, it is the position of the examiner that the evidence of record, as originally filed, does not support the interpretation of the guide catheter control assembly configured to be driven while being tilted with respect to the main housing. Accordingly, a new matter rejection is maintained. That being said, there is adequate originally filed support for the guide catheter control assembly 3 being able to tilt and/or translate with respect to the main housing 1 through connecting arm 4 (Specification p. 20; patent application publication ¶107, originally filed claim 12). For these reasons, the prior art rejection comprising Falb, where Falb teaches a guide catheter control assembly that is configured to be tilted or translated with respect to the main housing through the connecting arm during the install position (FIG 3; ¶51), is also maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) – New Matter
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a new matter rejection.
The originally filed disclosure does not support the portion of the amendment to claim 1, lines 17-18, “wherein the guide catheter control assembly is configured to be driven while being tilted with respect to the main housing” [Emphasis added]. The concept of being able to be tilted is found in originally filed claim 12, which recites that “wherein the guide catheter control assembly is able to be tilted or translate with respect to the main housing through the connecting arm”.
In the Specification as originally filed, there is one instance of the word “tilted”, nine instances of the word “tilting” (as in “tilting position” or “housing tilting portion 5”), and there are 13 instances of the word “tilt” alone or as part of the word “tilting”. However, there are no instances of the word “driven”. Synonyms such as “operated” and “activated” were also searched, as were all instances of the word “tilt$” such that the examiner could determine whether there was support for the tilting of the guide catheter control assembly during operation of the device or whether the tilt was limited to the insertion, such as is taught by Falb in the prior art, or whether there as any limitation as to the tilting at all. The interpretation is critical for determining whether to apply the prior art of Falb and for determining whether the phrase “configured to be driven while being tilted” is new matter.
The amendments to claim 1 adding the “configured to be driven” language were found in the submission of 26 November 2025 such that claim 1 was amended to recite “wherein the guide catheter assembly is configured to be tilted with respect to the main housing, and wherein the guide catheter control assembly is configured to be driven while being fitted with respect to the main housing.” The Remarks accompanying that submission stated that support for claim 1, as amended is found in paragraph [0107] of the original specification. However, the original specification, as filed, does not have numbered paragraphs.
The original US Application publication as US 20250057616 (published 20 February 2025) does have a [0107], which is produced below for ease of reference in this discussion. The paragraph provides support for claim 12 as originally filed, but does not expressly provide support for the tilting “while being driven.”
The instant claims and disclosure at ¶107 of the patent application publication (p. 20 of the Specification as originally filed) confirms that the guide catheter assembly is configured to be tilted with respect to the main housing. However, there is no support for the tilting “while being driven.” This distinction is nuanced, but is actually critical, as the art stands or falls based on this interpretation.
It is the position of the examiner that the evidence of record, as originally filed, does not support the interpretation of the guide catheter control assembly “configured to be driven while being tilted” with respect to the main housing. Accordingly, a new matter rejection is still applicable over claim 1 and the claims which depend therefrom (claims 2-12). That being said, there is adequate originally filed support for the “guide catheter control assembly 3 being able to tilt and/or translate with respect to the main housing 1 through connecting arm 4” (Specification p. 20; patent application publication ¶107, originally filed claim 12).
It is the limitation as to the “configured to be driven while” that is at issue, as the phase is linked to the teachings of Falb et al., US 20210228841 (29 July 2021), which teaches a guide catheter control assembly that is configured to be tilted or translated with respect to the main housing through the connecting arm during the install position (FIG 3; ¶51). Applicant, in seeking to overcome the prior art teachings of Falb has raised the issue of “configured to be driven” as a way to distinguish the instant claims from the teaching of Falb, which is limited to being tilted during the installation of the guide catheter.
The function of tilting had been addressed vis-à-vis claim 12, with Falb being cited for the teaching of a guide catheter control assembly that is configured to be tilted or translated with respect to the main housing through the connecting arm during the install position (FIG 3; ¶51).
The examiner recognizes that mere rephrasing of a passage does not constitute new matter (MPEP 2163.07 and 608.01(o)). The examiner has given Applicant consideration for being their own lexicographer in the amended and newly added claims. However, there must still be originally filed support even if alternative comparable language (synonyms) are used.
Non-Statutory Double Patenting Rejection
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-10, and 12-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,555,678 (17 February 2026) in view of Falb et al., US 20210228841 (29 July 2021).
The ‘678 patent has common inventors and a common assignee with the application. A claim chart is provided herein for ease of reference as to the applicable comparative claims.
Claims 1-15 of the ‘678 patent anticipate the subject matter of the present claims. A claim-by-claim comparison, including where limitations of the claims of the application are anticipated by multiple claims of the ‘678 patent, is provided below for ease of reference and ease of comparison.
Claim 15 of the ‘678 patent expressly teaches that the apparatus comprises a housing tilting portion configured to tilt the housing with respect to a position where the surgical tool control apparatus is installed. The tilting of the housing during installation is expressly taught by Falb. Falb teaches that the guide catheter control assembly is configured to be tilted or translated with respect to the main housing through the connecting arm during the install position (FIG 3; ¶51).
Additionally, the “connecting arm” in claim 12 is broadly interpreted as the “link structure” in claim 6 of the ‘678 patent. Connecting structures of robotic arms are commonly referred to as “links”. Additionally, the connecting arm of Falb in combination with claims 1 and 15 of the ‘678 patent anticipates the connecting arm and function of claim 12 of the application.
Application 18/723,273
12,555,678 Patent
1. (currently amended) A surgical tool control apparatus comprising: a main housing; a surgical tool control assembly installed in the main housing and configured to control at least one surgical tool; and a guide catheter control assembly positioned on a front end side of the main housing, and configured to control a guide catheter that guides a path of the at least one surgical tool, wherein the guide catheter control assembly comprises: a frame positioned on a front end of the main housing; and a first roller module and a second roller module installed in the frame, wherein the second roller module is configured to be movable toward the first roller module so that the guide catheter is gripped between the first roller module and the second roller module, wherein the guide catheter assembly is configured to be tilted with respect to the main housing, and wherein the guide catheter control assembly is configured to be driven while being tilted with respect to the main housing.
1. A surgical tool control apparatus comprising: a housing; and a control assembly comprising a frame connected to the housing, and a first roller module, a second roller module, and a third roller module installed on the frame, wherein the second roller module is configured to move toward the first roller module so that a first surgical tool is gripped between the first roller module and the second roller module, and move toward the third roller module so that a second surgical tool is gripped between the second roller module and the third roller module, and wherein the control assembly is configured to selectively grip either the first surgical tool or the second surgical tool by movement of the second roller module.
13. The surgical tool control apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a guide catheter rotating portion provided in the housing to rotate a guide catheter connected to a front end of the surgical tool control apparatus.
14. The surgical tool control apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a housing translational movement portion configured to move the housing forward or backward to a position where the surgical tool control apparatus is installed, to move a guide catheter connected to a front end of the surgical tool control apparatus forward or backward.
15. The surgical tool control apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a housing tilting portion configured to tilt the housing with respect to a position where the surgical tool control apparatus is installed.
2. (original) The surgical tool control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first roller module and the second roller module each comprise: a roller plate connected to the frame; and a roller member rotatably provided on the roller plate.
2. The surgical tool control apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the first roller module, the second roller module, and the third roller module comprises: a roller plate connected to the frame; and a roller member rotatably provided on the roller plate.
3. (previously presented) The surgical tool control apparatus of claim 2, wherein, in a state in which the guide catheter is gripped, the gripped guide catheter is configured to be moved in a longitudinal direction by rotating the roller members of the first roller module and the second roller module.
3. The surgical tool control apparatus of claim 2, wherein, in a state in which the first surgical tool or the second surgical tool is gripped, the gripped first surgical tool or second surgical tool is moved in a longitudinal direction by rotating the roller members of a pair of roller modules gripping the first surgical tool or the second surgical tool.
4. (previously presented): The surgical tool control apparatus of claim 2, wherein, in a state in which the guide catheter is gripped, the gripped guide catheter is configured to be rotated by vertically moving the roller member of at least one of the first roller module or the second roller module.
4. The surgical tool control apparatus of claim 2, wherein, in a state in which the first surgical tool or the second surgical tool is gripped, the gripped first surgical tool or second surgical tool is rotated by vertically moving at least one of the roller members of a pair of roller modules gripping the first surgical tool or the second surgical tool.
5. (original) The surgical tool control apparatus of claim 4, wherein the roller plate comprises an upper roller plate which is connected to the frame, and a lower roller plate which is positioned on a lower side of the upper roller plate and to which the roller member is rotatably connected, and the first roller module or the second roller module further comprises a vertical movement portion configured to vertically move the lower roller plate with respect to the upper roller plate.
5. The surgical tool control apparatus of claim 4, wherein the roller plate comprises a lower roller plate which is connected to the frame, and an upper roller plate which is positioned above the lower roller plate and to which the roller member is rotatably connected, and wherein the second roller module further comprises a vertical movement portion configured to vertically move the upper roller plate with respect to the lower roller plate.
6. (previously presented) The surgical tool control apparatus of claim 5, wherein the vertical movement portion comprises: a vertical movement driving motor; a vertical movement pulley configured to receive rotational power from the vertical movement driving motor; a vertical movement lead screw nut configured to integrally rotate with the vertical movement pulley; and a vertical movement lead screw that is configured to be engaged with the vertical movement lead screw nut and has one side connected to the lower roller plate to vertically move the lower roller plate in accordance with rotation of the vertical movement lead screw nut.
7. The surgical tool control apparatus of claim 5, wherein the vertical movement portion comprises: a vertical movement driving motor; a vertical movement pulley configured to receive rotational power from the vertical movement driving motor; a vertical movement lead screw nut integrally rotating with the vertical movement pulley; and a vertical movement lead screw that is engaged with the vertical movement lead screw nut and has one side connected to the upper roller plate to vertically move the upper roller plate in accordance with rotation of the vertical movement lead screw nut.
7. (original) The surgical tool control apparatus of claim 3, wherein the first roller module or the second roller module further comprises: a rotation driving portion configured to rotate the roller member with respect to the roller plate.
8. The surgical tool control apparatus of claim 3, wherein the second roller module further comprises: a rotation driving portion configured to rotate the roller member with respect to the roller plate.
8. (previously presented) The surgical tool control apparatus of claim 7, wherein the rotation driving portion comprises: a rotation driving motor; a rotation drive pulley configured to receive rotational power from the rotation driving motor; a spline nut configured to integrally rotate with the rotation drive pulley; and a spline shaft that is engaged with the spline nut and has one side connected to the roller member and configured to rotate the roller member in accordance with rotation of the spline nut.
9. The surgical tool control apparatus of claim 8, wherein the rotation driving portion comprises: a rotation driving motor; a rotation drive pulley configured to receive rotational power from the rotation driving motor; a spline nut integrally rotating with the rotation drive pulley; and a spline shaft that is engaged with the spline nut and has one side connected to the roller member to rotate the roller member in accordance with rotation of the spline nut.
9. (original) The surgical tool control apparatus of claim 8, wherein the rotation driving portion further comprises: a shaft support configured to be positioned between the rotation drive pulley and the spline shaft to prevent wobble of the spline shaft.
10. The surgical tool control apparatus of claim 9, wherein the rotation driving portion further comprises: a shaft support configured to be positioned between the rotation drive pulley and the spline shaft to prevent wobble of the spline shaft.
10. (original) The surgical tool control apparatus of claim 2, wherein the guide catheter control assembly further comprises: a horizontal movement portion configured to horizontally move the second roller module.
11. The surgical tool control apparatus of claim 2, wherein the control assembly further comprises: a horizontal movement portion configured to horizontally move the second roller module.
11. (previously presented): The surgical tool control apparatus of claim 10, wherein the horizontal movement portion comprises: a horizontal movement driving motor; a horizontal movement lead screw configured to be connected to the frame in a horizontal direction and receive rotational power from the horizontal movement driving motor; and a horizontal movement lead screw nut that is configured to be engaged with the horizontal movement lead screw and has one side connected to the roller plate to horizontally move the roller plate in accordance with rotation of the horizontal movement lead screw.
12. The surgical tool control apparatus of claim 11, wherein the horizontal movement portion comprises: a horizontal movement driving motor; a horizontal movement lead screw configured to be connected to the frame in a horizontal direction and receive rotational power from the horizontal movement driving motor; and a horizontal movement lead screw nut that is engaged with the horizontal movement lead screw and has one side connected to the roller plate to horizontally move the roller plate in accordance with rotation of the horizontal movement lead screw.
12. (previously presented) The surgical tool control apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a connecting arm configured to connect the guide catheter control assembly to the main housing, wherein the guide catheter control assembly is configured to be tilted or translate with respect to the main housing through the connecting arm.
6. The surgical tool control apparatus of claim 5, wherein the second roller module further comprises: a link structure support with a length which is changeable in a vertical direction in response to a spacing distance between the lower roller plate and the upper roller plate, while supporting the upper roller plate with respect to the lower roller plate.
14. The surgical tool control apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a housing translational movement portion configured to move the housing forward or backward to a position where the surgical tool control apparatus is installed, to move a guide catheter connected to a front end of the surgical tool control apparatus forward or backward.
15. The surgical tool control apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a housing tilting portion configured to tilt the housing with respect to a position where the surgical tool control apparatus is installed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 10, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., US 20200197111 (25 June 2020) in view of Choi et al., US 20210052339 (25 February 2021) and further in view of Falb et al., US 20210228841 (29 July 2021) and Liu et al., CN 111529065 (14 August 2020) (all previously cited of record).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a surgical tool control apparatus comprising:
a main housing (FIG 1, guide tray 12);
a surgical tool control assembly (FIG 1, guidewire driver 64) installed in the main housing (FIG 1, guide tray 12) and configured to control at least one surgical tool (FIG 1, guide wire 54) ; and
a guide catheter control assembly (FIG 1, sheath driver 62) positioned on a front end side of the main housing (FIG 1, base 60), and configured to control a guide catheter that guides a path of the at least one surgical tool (claim 1),
wherein the guide catheter control assembly (¶24, robotic controller 50 includes a sheath driver 62, and a guidewire driver 64) comprises:
a frame positioned on a front end of the main housing (¶25 “base 61 fixedly supported on the end of a flange plate 66 extending generally perpendicular to the mounting base 60, and here the base 61 forms a roller housing having two pairs of pinch roller assemblies 68a, 68b (FIGS. 3A, 3B)”; and
a first roller module and a second roller module (¶25, pinch roller 68a, 68b) installed in the frame.
Kim does not teach wherein the second roller module is configured to be horizontally movable toward the first roller module so that the guide catheter is gripped between the first roller module and the second roller module.
Kim does not teach wherein the guide catheter assembly is configured to be tilted with respect to the main housing, and wherein the guide catheter assembly is configured to be driven while being tilted with respect to the main housing.
However, Kim does teach a connecting arm configured to connect the guide catheter control assembly to the main housing (Fig 3A; ¶26, mounting base 60).
Choi teaches a medical robot (FIG 1, medical robot 1) comprising a guide catheter (FIG 2, guide catheter 61), a catheter control assembly (FIG 1, first driving device 10) includes a first roller module (first roller module 100) and a second roller module (second roller module 200) (FIG 7; ¶77). Choi teaches wherein the second roller module is configured to be horizontally movable toward the first roller module so that the guide catheter is gripped between the first roller module and the second roller module (¶79, “[t]he “clamping operation mode” of the first driving device 10 may be achieved by bringing the roller unit 110 of the first roller module 100 and the second roller unit 210 of the second roller module 200 closer to each other or moving away from each other”).
Falb teaches wherein the guide catheter assembly comprising a flexible track. Falb teaches wherein the guide catheter control assembly is configured to be tilted or translate with respect to the main housing through the connecting arm (FIG 3; ¶51).
Liu teaches a lifting drive assembly (FIG 4, lifting drive assembly 321; IDS submission FOR reference 4/14/2026, p. 19 of 24, Description of Reference Signs) where the “lifting and rotating of the main roller can be realized by the cooperation of the lifting driving component and the rotary driving component in the main finger component, and the rotary pushing or rotating backward of the component to be inserted is realized” (IDS submission FOR reference 4/14/2026, p. 20 of 24, fourth full paragraph). Although Liu is a machine translation, this section is interpreted to mean that the guide catheter control assembly is configured to be driven while being fitted with respect to the main housing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kim, Choi, Falb, and Liu, given that the prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single reference. Kim, Choi, Falb, and Liu teach in the same field of endeavor, that of guide catheter devices utilizing robotic systems. The prior art of Kim, Choi, Falb, and Lui contained a device which differed from the claimed invention by the substitution of some components with other components. Although Kim discloses the claimed base surgical tool control apparatus (main housing, guide tray, guidewire driver, guidewire, sheath driver (guide catheter control assembly), robotic controller, guidewire driver, rollers, and frames, Kim does not disclose wherein the second roller module is configured to be horizontally movable toward the first roller module so that the guide catheter is gripped between the first roller module and the second roller module. Kim does not teach wherein the guide catheter assembly is configured to be tilted with respect to the main housing, and wherein the guide catheter assembly is configured to be driven while being fitted with respect to the main housing. Kim does not teach wherein the guide catheter assembly is configured to be tilted with respect to the main housing. Kim does not teach wherein the guide catheter control assembly is configured to be driven while being fitted with respect to the main housing.
However, Kim does teach a connecting arm configured to connect the guide catheter control assembly to the main housing (Fig 3A; ¶26, mounting base 60).
Choi specifically addresses a medical robot (FIG 1, medical robot 1) comprising a guide catheter (FIG 2, guide catheter 61), a catheter control assembly (FIG 1, first driving device 10) includes a first roller module (first roller module 100) and a second roller module (second roller module 200) (FIG 7; ¶77). Choi teaches wherein the second roller module is configured to be horizontally movable toward the first roller module so that the guide catheter is gripped between the first roller module and the second roller module (¶79, “[t]he “clamping operation mode” of the first driving device 10 may be achieved by bringing the roller unit 110 of the first roller module 100 and the second roller unit 210 of the second roller module 200 closer to each other or moving away from each other”).
Falb specifically addresses a guide catheter control with a flexible track. Falb teaches wherein the guide catheter control assembly is configured to be tilted or translate with respect to the main housing through the connecting arm (FIG 3; ¶51).
Liu specifically addresses a lifting drive assembly (FIG 4, lifting drive assembly 321; IDS submission FOR reference 4/14/2026, p. 19 of 24, Description of Reference Signs) where the “lifting and rotating of the main roller can be realized by the cooperation of the lifting driving component and the rotary driving component in the main finger component, and the rotary pushing or rotating backward of the component to be inserted is realized” (IDS submission FOR reference 4/14/2026, p. 20 of 24, fourth full paragraph).
Because Kim teaches the base surgical tool control apparatus and a connecting arm configured to connect the guide catheter control assembly to the main housing (Fig 3A; ¶26, mounting base 60), a person of ordinary skill in the art, seeking more flexibility to control and guide the assembly when using a robotic arm would be motivated by the teachings of Falb to incorporate a flexible track wherein the guide catheter control assembly is configured to be tilted or translate with respect to the main housing through the connecting robotic arm. Choi and Liu each provide additional robotic control over the guide catheter control assembly within the robotic system. Choi’s enhanced guide catheter gripping roller solution is readily integrated with Kim’s base device and can be incorporated alongside using known assembly methods. Similarly, the flexible track and tilt/raise/lift mechanisms of Falb and Liu can be incorporated alongside Kim’s base model by utilizing Falb’s flexible track and Liu’s lifting drive assembly in order to provide more control of lifting and rotating the main roller as expressly motivated by Liu. These elements can be incorporated into the base module of Kim, modified by Choi, using known assembly methods without undue experimentation.
Because the references address the same engineering problem (robotic system based catheter guidewire tool control apparatus) and the proposed modifications are mechanically compatible and implemented by routine engineering practices (adding or substituting gripping rollers, adding a tilt/lift/rise mechanism and a flexible track to the existing base device), a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining these teachings.
The phrase “front end side” is broadly interpreted (BRI) in light of the guidance in the Specification at p. 19 as “a proximal end portion side”.
Regarding claim 2, Kim modified by Choi, Falb, and Liu teaches the surgical tool control apparatus of claim 1, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
Kim teaches wherein the first roller module and the second roller module each comprise: a roller plate connected to the frame (FIGs 3A, 3B,; ¶25 flange plate 66; and a roller member rotatably provided on the roller plate (FIGs 3A, 3B; ¶25 base 61 forms a roller housing having two pairs of pinch roller assemblies 68a, 68b).
The term “roller plate” is broadly interpreted (BRI) in light of the Specification at p. 2, such that the roller plate may before a function of connecting the roller module to the frame.
Regarding claim 3, Kim modified by Choi, Falb, and Liu teaches the surgical tool control apparatus of claim 2, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
Choi teaches wherein, in a state in which the guide catheter is gripped, the gripped guide catheter is configured to be moved in a longitudinal direction by rotating the roller members of the first roller module and the second roller module (¶77 “roller unit 110 of the first roller module 100 and a roller unit 210 of the second roller module 200 may face away from each other. The roller unit 110 of the first roller module 100 and the second roller unit 210 of the second roller module 200 respectively have rotation axes parallel to each other, and rotation directions thereof may be opposite to each other”).
Regarding claim 4, Kim modified by Choi, Falb, and Liu teaches the surgical tool control apparatus of claim 2, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
Choi teaches wherein, in a state in which the guide catheter is gripped, the gripped guide catheter is configured to be rotated by vertically moving the roller member of at least one of the first roller module or the second roller module (¶80 “[t]he “vertical operation mode” of the first driving device 10 may be achieved by moving the roller unit 110 of the first roller module 100 and the roller unit 210 of the second roller module 200 in opposite directions to each other in the vertical direction”).
Regarding claim 5, Kim modified by Choi, Falb, and Liu teaches the controller module control apparatus of claim 4, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
Choi teaches wherein the roller plate comprises an upper roller plate (FIG 5A, roller module 100; FIG 5B, roller module 200) which is connected to the frame (FIG 7, based module 300), and a lower roller plate which is positioned on a lower side of the upper roller plate and to which the roller member is rotatably connected (FIG 5A, roller module 200; FIG 5B, roller module 100), and the first roller module or the second roller module further comprises a vertical movement portion configured to vertically move the lower roller plate with respect to the upper roller plate (FIG 6).
Regarding claim 7, Kim modified by Choi, Falb, and Liu teaches the surgical tool control apparatus of claim 3, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
Choi teaches wherein the first roller module (first roller module 100) or the second roller module (second roller module 200) further comprises:
a rotation driving portion configured to rotate the roller member with respect to the roller plate (FIGs 11A-11C; ¶94, base module 300).
Regarding claim 10, Kim modified by Choi, Falb, and Liu teaches the surgical tool control apparatus of claim 2, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
Choi teaches wherein the guide catheter control assembly further comprises: a horizontal movement portion configured to horizontally move the second roller module (FIGs 11A-C; ¶¶47, 79, 93, 95).
Regarding claim 11, Kim modified by Choi, Falb, and Liu teaches the surgical tool control apparatus of claim 10, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
Choi teaches a horizontal movement driving motor (FIGs 11A-C; ¶¶47, 79, 93, 95, first driving motor 320 of based module 300); a horizontal movement lead screw (¶¶95-96, lead screw 330) configured to be connected to the frame in a horizontal direction and receive rotational power from the horizontal movement driving motor (FIGs 11A-C; ¶¶95-96, first driving motor 320 of based module 300) and
a horizontal movement lead screw nut (¶96, first nut 340 and second nut 350) that is configured to be engaged with the horizontal movement lead screw (¶96) and has one side connected to the roller plate to horizontally move the roller plate in accordance with rotation of the horizontal movement lead screw (¶94).
Claims 6, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., US 20200197111 (25 June 2020) in view of Choi et al., US 20210052339 (25 February 2021), Falb et al., US 20210228841 (29 July 2021) and Liu et al., CN 111529065 (14 August 2020) and further in view of Stahler et al., US 20120071895 (22 March 2012) (all previously cited of record).
Regarding claim 6, Kim modified by Choi, Falb, and Liu teaches the surgical tool control apparatus of claim 5, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
Choi teaches wherein the vertical movement portion comprises: a vertical movement driving motor (¶¶89-90, driving unit 120 including driving motor 122);
a vertical movement lead screw nut (¶¶100-102, 104, 105, lead screw nut 116) configured to integrally rotate (¶102); and
a vertical movement lead screw (¶¶100-102, 104, 105, lead screw 115) that is configured to be engaged with the vertical movement lead screw nut (¶¶100-102, 104, 105, lead screw nut 116) and has one side connected to the lower roller plate (¶96, base module 300) to vertically move the lower roller plate in accordance with rotation of the vertical movement lead screw nut.
Choi does not teach a vertical movement pulley configured to receive rotational power from the vertical movement driving motor.
Choi teaches a vertical movement lead screw nut that is configured to integrally rotate, as set forth above, but Choi does not teach that it is configured to integrally rotate with the vertical movement pulley.
Instead of teaching pulleys, Choi teaches that the motors operate to actuate bevel and spur gears rather than pulleys. Kim teaches idler pulleys at ¶28, but these do not rotate the rollers.
Stahler teaches FIG 79B where rotating the rollers “can be directly driven by a motor or driven indirectly by a series of gears, belts or pulleys (not shown)” (¶549).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kim, Choi, Falb, Liu, and Stahler given that the prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single reference. Kim, Choi, Falb, Liu, and Stahler teach in the same field of endeavor, that of guide catheter devices utilizing robotic systems.
The prior art of Kim, Choi, Falb, Lui, and Stahler contained a device which differed from the claimed invention by the substitution of some components with other components. Specifically, Stahler teaches that the guide catheters can either be directly motor driven or indirectly motor driven via a series of gears, belts or pulleys.
As set forth in the rationale above, because Kim teaches the base surgical tool control apparatus and a connecting arm configured to connect the guide catheter control assembly to the main housing (Fig 3A; ¶26, mounting base 60), a person of ordinary skill in the art, seeking more flexibility to control and guide the assembly when using a robotic arm would be motivated by the teachings of Falb to incorporate a flexible track wherein the guide catheter control assembly is configured to be tilted or translate with respect to the main housing through the connecting robotic arm. Choi and Liu each provide additional robotic control over the guide catheter control assembly within the robotic system. Choi’s enhanced guide catheter gripping roller solution is readily integrated with Kim’s base device and can be incorporated alongside using known assembly methods. Similarly, the flexible track and tilt/raise/lift mechanisms of Falb and Liu can be incorporated alongside Kim’s base model by utilizing Falb’s flexible track and Liu’s lifting drive assembly in order to provide more control of lifting and rotating the main roller as expressly motivated by Liu. These elements can be incorporated into the base module of Kim, modified by Choi, using known assembly methods without undue experimentation.
Additionally, one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have substituted the gears of Choi and Kim with pulleys taught by Stahler as equivalent alternatives between gears, belts, and pulleys, substituting one known element for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and would not have required undue experimentation.
Because the references address the same engineering problem (robotic system based catheter guidewire tool control apparatus) and the proposed modifications are mechanically compatible and implemented by routine engineering practices (adding or substituting gripping rollers, adding a tilt/lift/rise mechanism and a flexible track to the existing base device), a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining these teachings.
Regarding claim 8, Kim modified by Choi, Falb, and Liu teaches the surgical tool control apparatus of claim 7, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
Choi teaches wherein the rotation driving portion comprises:
a rotation driving motor (¶¶94-95, driving motor 320 rotates screw 320 of base module 300).
Choi does not teach a rotation drive pulley configured to receive rotational power from the rotation driving motor; at spline nut configured to integrally rotate with the rotation drive pulley; and a spline shaft that is engaged with the spline nut and has one side connected to the roller member and configured to rotate the roller member in accordance with rotation of the spline nut.
Instead of teaching pulleys, Choi and Kim teach that the motors operate to actuate bevel and spur gears rather than pulleys.
Stahler teaches guide catheter systems. Stahler teaches FIG 79B where rotating the rollers “can be directly driven by a motor or driven indirectly by a series of gears, belts or pulleys (not shown)” (¶549). Stahler also teaches FIG 79B where “elongate member manipulator 1100 may include a right spline coupling gear 1134, a left spline coupling gear 1135, a right leadscrew coupling gear 1140 and a left leadscrew coupling gear 1141. To rotate the rollers 1104, 1124, the left spline gear stack 1110 is driven by a spline belt 1112, which in turn can be directly driven by a motor or driven indirectly by a series of gears, belts or pulleys (not shown)” (¶549). Stahler also teaches FIG 79C where “[t]he roller actuator 1170 includes a one or more spline actuators 1172 having a spline shaft 1174 coupled to a spline nut 1176 mounted on spline nut bearings 1178. The spline nut 1176 is rotated by a spline gear 1180 which can either be directly motor driven or indirectly motor driven via a series of gears, belts or pulleys (not shown)” (¶553).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kim, Choi, Falb, Liu, and Stahler given that the prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single reference. Kim, Choi, Falb, Liu, and Stahler teach in the same field of endeavor, that of guide catheter devices utilizing robotic systems.
The prior art of Kim, Choi, Falb, Lui, and Stahler contained a device which differed from the claimed invention by the substitution of some components with other components. Specifically, Stahler teaches that the guide catheters can either be directly motor driven or indirectly motor driven via a series of gears, belts or pulleys.
As set forth in the rationale above, because Kim teaches the base surgical tool control apparatus and a connecting arm configured to connect the guide catheter control assembly to the main housing (Fig 3A; ¶26, mounting base 60), a person of ordinary skill in the art, seeking more flexibility to control and guide the assembly when using a robotic arm would be motivated by the teachings of Falb to incorporate a flexible track wherein the guide catheter control assembly is configured to be tilted or translate with respect to the main housing through the connecting robotic arm. Choi and Liu each provide additional robotic control over the guide catheter control assembly within the robotic system. Choi’s enhanced guide catheter gripping roller solution is readily integrated with Kim’s base device and can be incorporated alongside using known assembly methods. Similarly, the flexible track and tilt/raise/lift mechanisms of Falb and Liu can be incorporated alongside Kim’s base model by utilizing Falb’s flexible track and Liu’s lifting drive assembly in order to provide more control of lifting and rotating the main roller as expressly motivated by Liu. These elements can be incorporated into the base module of Kim, modified by Choi, using known assembly methods without undue experimentation.
Additionally, one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have substituted the gears of Choi and Kim with pulleys taught by Stahler as equivalent alternatives between gears, belts, and pulleys, substituting one known element for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and would not have required undue experimentation.
Because the references address the same engineering problem (robotic system based catheter guidewire tool control apparatus) and the proposed modifications are mechanically compatible and implemented by routine engineering practices (adding or substituting gripping rollers, adding a tilt/lift/rise mechanism and a flexible track to the existing base device), a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining these teachings.
Regarding claim 9, Kim modified by Choi, Falb, Liu, and Stahler teaches the surgical tool control apparatus of claim 8, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
Stahler teaches wherein the rotation driving portion further comprises: a shaft support configured to be positioned between the rotation drive pulley and the spline shaft to prevent wobble of the spline shaft (¶555).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/CHERIE M POLAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3771